Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drill

• 28-12-2019 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭

I just have a cordless drill at the moment. Grand for odd jobs around the house for last few years.
    Will need to bore 4 small holes in concrete in a few days. Did a test today with my cordless but sure not worth a damn on the concrete - got nowhere.

So need to get a drill for the job and any future jobs. Just low key DIY. very occasional use to bore concrete holes from time to time. Hanging Curtains etc.

I see there are SDS drills, but don’t really know what they are or if I even need one.

Would a standard corded drill do me?

Not looking to spend much to be honest. Don’t neee anything fancy

2 options so far:

https://m.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/7106062/Trail/searchtext%3EDrill.htm

https://www.lidl.ie/p/p33598?productId=33598&countryCode=IE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,322 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Lidl ones grand for the job also comes with Chuck I see.

All round better one. Should have it for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

https://m.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/9147964/Trail/searchtext%3EDrill.htm

For concrete you need hammer

Better spending decent money on drill bits. The two batteries are handy

I have a drill similar to this and then bought a bigger plug in drill for concrete, use battery drill all the time, bigger drill maybe once every 18 momths

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    https://m.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/9147964/Trail/searchtext%3EDrill.htm

For concrete you need hammer

Better spending decent money on drill bits. The two batteries are handy

I have a drill similar to this and then bought a bigger plug in drill for concrete, use battery drill all the time, bigger drill maybe once every 18 momths

You may have missed the ops post. They are on a budget.

I understand the link I own Ryobi gear. But some folks use things as a once off. There's no point spending not once off money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

listermint wrote: »
    You may have missed the ops post. They are on a budget.

I understand the link I own Ryobi gear. But some folks use things as a once off. There's no point spending not once off money.

I did see the budget but you buy once and buy right, a battery drill is handy for putting furniture etc together. It might be better to spend a few quid extra and get a decent tool

If it wasn’t a budget buy I would recommend dewalt :-)

I did see the budget but you buy once and buy right, a battery drill is handy for putting furniture etc together. It might be better to spend a few quid extra and get a decent tool

I agree but opening their links I can see the money that is wanting to spend . I've a garage filled with DeWalt , Ryobi , worx , Hitachi and various other marques.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭obi604

listermint wrote: »
    Lidl ones grand for the job also comes with Chuck I see.

All round better one. Should have it for years.

When you say “comes with chuck” what do you mean? Do you mean you can use this drill with normal old
    School drill bits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Just buy the cheapest corded hammer drill you can find. Lidl do them from €20 but obvs timing is everything.
    Better still, just borrow one

Of the 2 you linked, I’d get the Lidl one.

In 4 years I’ve got by with just the cordless basic yoke from Argos. So don’t need anything fancy, just a bit more powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

The Lidl one is excellent. Had mine for around 4 years.

Discodog wrote: »
    The Lidl one is excellent. Had mine for around 4 years.

Thanks. Does it take standard drill bits also?

obi604 wrote: »
    Thanks. Does it take standard drill bits also?

Yes it comes with a standard chuck & an SDS one. Really good drill. I have used mine for small holes, shelving etc & breaking up concrete. It's very versatile & a good compromise between power & ease of handling.

I would practice on a spare block & get used to it. Also use the depth guage to stop drilling too deep. Once to use SDS you won't go back to standard drill bits. If Lidl have it, it's worth getting the box of extra SDS bits.

Yes it comes with a standard chuck & an SDS one. Really good drill. I have used mine for small holes, shelving etc & breaking up concrete. It's very versatile & a good compromise between power & ease of handling.

I would practice on a spare block & get used to it. Also use the depth guage to stop drilling too deep. Once to use SDS you won't go back to standard drill bits. If Lidl have it, it's worth getting the box of extra SDS bits.

this one is available now in Lidl: https://www.lidl.ie/p/p33598?product...countryCode=IE

by the sounds of it and the price of it, seems like its the one I should go for.

they also have SDS drill bits for a fiver

this one is available now in Lidl: https://www.lidl.ie/p/p33598?product...countryCode=IE

by the sounds of it and the price of it, seems like its the one I should go for.

they also have SDS drill bits for a fiver

Yes definitely.

I’ll definitely be practicing. Seems to me like it girates in your hand so will have to get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,373 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

mains powered SDS drill - Lidl had them a couple of weeks ago, might still have some in stock. I bought one earlier in the year, the difference between SDS and non-SDS hammer drill is unreal. The SDS goes into concrete in seconds where with a regular hammer drill you could be at it for a minute or more and destroying the drill bit while you're at it.

loyatemu wrote: »
    mains powered SDS drill - Lidl had them a couple of weeks ago, might still have some in stock. I bought one earlier in the year, the difference between SDS and non-SDS hammer drill is unreal. The SDS goes into concrete in seconds where with a regular hammer drill you could be at it for a minute or more and destroying the drill bit while you're at it.

Thanks. Yeah Lidl’s still have them, presume same as ones you speak of. Only came as offer 2 days ago - on the 27th Dec.

https://www.lidl.ie/p/p33598?productId=33598&countryCode=IE

Bought the lidl SDS drill earlier for 34.99. Haven’t tried it yet.
    Had a quick look through manual. See attached. I presume the setting to use for drilling a wall or concrete is ‘hammer drilling’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 james 17

The lidl one by a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Stigura

loyatemu wrote: »
    mains powered SDS drill ..... The SDS goes into concrete in seconds where with a regular hammer drill you could be at it for a minute or more and destroying the drill bit while you're at it.

This.

No experience of concrete. Here they built with Stones. Stone makes concrete seem like a sugar cube.

One day, I was leaning in and trying to physically Push my Hammer Drill bit into the stable wall. Absolutely laughable, in retrospect.

Mate turned up. Shook his head, in pity and disgust. Said I needed an SDS drill and went to his van .....

The rest is history. SDS made solid stones look like sugar lumps.

Stigura wrote: »
    This.

No experience of concrete. Here they built with Stones. Stone makes concrete seem like a sugar cube.

One day, I was leaning in and trying to physically Push my Hammer Drill bit into the stable wall. Absolutely laughable, in retrospect.

Mate turned up. Shook his head, in pity and disgust. Said I needed an SDS drill and went to his van .....

The rest is history. SDS made solid stones look like sugar lumps.

Good to know. So sounds like the lidl sds at 35 Euro is a complete bargain

At 35 yo, what's to lose? ;) I'll tell ye one thing? After years of miserible experience, buying top flight names, and having them consistently die on me; I'm now a 'cheap and cheerful' type myself.

Yes, I have Bosch and Hitatchi tools I've had for years and worked murderously. But, then, I have my little blue, no name, twenty five quid drill which'll probably outlast me and my brutally expensive gear.

At 35 yo, what's to lose? ;) I'll tell ye one thing? After years of miserible experience, buying top flight names, and having them consistently die on me; I'm now a 'cheap and cheerful' type myself.

Yes, I have Bosch and Hitatchi tools I've had for years and worked murderously. But, then, I have my little blue, no name, twenty five quid drill which'll probably outlast me and my brutally expensive gear.

I think it's probably worth paying extra for cordless tools, but only if you're going to be using them quite a lot, otherwise they just sit there with the battery slowly degrading.

Bought the lidl SDS drill earlier for 34.99. Haven’t tried it yet.
    Had a quick look through manual. See attached. I presume the setting to use for drilling a wall or concrete is ‘hammer drilling’

Any thoughts on this?

I think the setting is the third one on the dial - so at the 1 o clock position. The Hammer symbol is for the hammer action without rotation - for example when using the chisel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Maewyn Succat

Any thoughts on this?

I think if you have to ask this then you should find a concrete surface to practice on before you do any actual jobs with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Here's my €0.02
    I had a different SDS Parkside drill, 1050W, a monster for concrete. With the adapter chuck for round shank drill bits, I found it wasn't exactly spinning them on their central axis. So if someone might use them a lot, I'd suggest a regular chuck drill for that.

I think if you have to ask this then you should find a concrete surface to practice on before you do any actual jobs with it.

I can practice no bother. Just wondering when drilling concrete - if ‘hammer + drill’ should be selected.

It seems to work to with just ‘drill’ option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

I can practice no bother. Just wondering iwhwn drilling concrete of ‘hammer + drill’ should be selected.

It seems to work to with just ‘drill’ option.

Hammer + drill usually.

Some have hammer only, with no rotating, for chiseling or chasing work.

The non sds drills are only usable in brick really, and even then, its uncomfortable high frequency vibration drilling. sds though, is a different level.

You dont have to force the sds either, just enough pressure so you feel the hammer action.

Edit: Just looked at the photo you put up. Its the setting with drill bit and hammer you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Jape2019

Hi, sorry to hijack this thread but I didn’t know anything about an sds drill before now.

I’m putting up curtain poles in my house. I’ve a black and decker 600w hammer drill. Over the window I’m only getting about a cm or two into the solid wall. The previous owner seemed to have same problem as the previous curtain pole holes were the same depth.

I was thinking there must be a lintel or something over the window preventing me drilling deeper. Could this be just that my drill isn’t suitable and should be using an sds drill? Or will an sds drill have the same problem if there is a lintel there?

Jape; Got a strong magnet ....?

Seriously though; If any drill, in that position, is stopping dead at a given depth? Sounds like a lintel, doesn't it? I mean, if it's a hammer drill, with a masonry bit, going happily through what? Concrete? Then bouncing off? Quite possibly hitting steel.

Speaking as a genuine " DIYer ", not a professional with full on DeWalt cordless, brushless everything and a day job in the trade? I'd try a steel bit in the same hole. (Do they call them 'HDS'? Tend to be silver, rather than black) Shoot a drop of oil in that hole and go for it. See what happens.

Then again though? How 'deep' are lintels? Dunno :confused:

Either way though; No. I doubt an SDS would help. I'm waiting for someone who understands to explain this to both of us. But, SDS just seems to rip through Really hard core. Where a " Hammer Drill " will just spin and bounce. Chuck seems to loose its grip on the bit? Masonry bits are ghastly on wood, eg.

SDS bits have like vertical grooves in them. Maybe they allow the chuck to apply more torque than a straight, round bit can meet? But, either way; An SDS Drill? No. I Think it's just the grip they can hold on the Bit.

There ye go then. I've deliberately opened myself up as the sacrificial lamb, for the Experts to tenderise with passive aggression and baste in scorn :D

Gotta keep a sense of proportion! :pac:

Jape; Got a strong magnet ....?

Seriously though; If any drill, in that position, is stopping dead at a given depth? Sounds like a lintel, doesn't it? I mean, if it's a hammer drill, with a masonry bit, going happily through what? Concrete? Then bouncing off? Quite possibly hitting steel.

Speaking as a genuine " DIYer ", not a professional with full on DeWalt cordless, brushless everything and a day job in the trade? I'd try a steel bit in the same hole. (Do they call them 'HDS'? Tend to be silver, rather than black) Shoot a drop of oil in that hole and go for it. See what happens.

Then again though? How 'deep' are lintels? Dunno :confused:

Either way though; No. I doubt an SDS would help. I'm waiting for someone who understands to explain this to both of us. But, SDS just seems to rip through Really hard core. Where a " Hammer Drill " will just spin and bounce. Chuck seems to loose its grip on the bit? Masonry bits are ghastly on wood, eg.

SDS bits have like vertical grooves in them. Maybe they allow the chuck to apply more torque than a straight, round bit can meet? But, either way; An SDS Drill? No. I Think it's just the grip they can hold on the Bit.

There ye go then. I've deliberately opened myself up as the sacrificial lamb, for the Experts to tenderise with passive aggression and baste in scorn :D

Gotta keep a sense of proportion! :pac:

Two choices. Use a longer curtain pole & drill in the wall outside the lintel. Or get an SDS & never have a problem again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Jape2019

Thanks, I think the sds is my best option as I can’t go wider on one side because of a fitted wardrobe. Maybe I could go higher... how big are lintels?

Does it matter if the lintel is steel or concrete if I am using an sds?

An SDS drill won't drill through steel .
    It will hower get through the steal rope/rebar in your lintel if you have a good bit.
    the bit won't be much use after but it will get through.
    They brute force their way through the rebar rather than cut like a twist drill bit.

What’s good for drilling steel? Just a standard drill, is it?

Obi; In my ordinary drill, I use HSS bits on steel. They're silver, as opposed to the black ones.

What’s good for drilling steel? Just a standard drill, is it?

HSS. Use a slow speed & a lubricant like cutting oil. Often best to make a smaller hole first.

What’s HSS?

Could I use the sds with the standard chuck bit adapter?

What’s HSS?

Could I use the sds with the standard chuck bit adapter?

A type of drill bit made of hardened steel available in any DIY.

Yes. Just switch it to normal drilling.

The key is not to let the drill bit get too hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭cletus

Just to note, hss drill bits are not always silver. Just look for has on the pack/in the name.

The various shapes of different drill bits often give away their intended use

is a steel lintel likely only a cm into the wall?

I've found putting curtain poles up in our house to be a real PITA, and it's definitely concrete lintels that are the issue - they're harder than regular concrete blocks and a normal hammer drill struggles with them (particularly as these ones are 40 years old).

Post a picture of your drill and your bit.
    Close up of the tip (of the bit) .
    No rude comments please :D

What ye reckon of this one, any good for concrete :

Cordless Hammer Drill https://www.lidl.ie/p/p35726?productId=35726&countryCode=IE

Yes

Yes

But would not be as good as corded I presume.

Corded has more power, cordless more versatility

Would it actually drill through concrete easily? Or would it be a struggle

It should fly 6mm holes,90% of the time that's all you need.
    Anything over 10mm is for mains drill imo

It should fly 6mm holes,90% of the time that's all you need.
    Anything over 10mm is for mains drill imo

Hmm. Could be a good option so. Hard to get power sometimes in the places I’d be drilling.
    So defo so the this cordless is ok. It says “based on SDS” wonder what does this mean.

[url] https://www.lidl.ie/p/p35726?productId=35726&countryCode=IE [/url]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Aldi have Diy stuff in now too. Is the hammer drill in lidl better than this one.

https://www.aldi.ie/ferrex-18v-li-ion-combi-drill/p/701198322104000

Hmm. Could be a good option so. Hard to get power sometimes in the places I’d be drilling.
    So defo so the this cordless is ok. It says “based on SDS” wonder what does this mean.

[url] https://www.lidl.ie/p/p35726?productId=35726&countryCode=IE [/url]

Would this be better than an old school (non sds) corded drill?