Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mary Robinson had the audience in the palm of her hand..

• 27-12-2019 1:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

..according to a rather starstruck scribe who was keeping record of this momentous event in Cork for the Irish Examiner. Some activists in awe of Mrs Robinson had to roll out their yoga mats such was the demand for seating. One Climate Justice pilgrim had to get up half way through the service as he had a ferry to catch to Spain. Violent bouts sea sickness in the Bay of Biscay must have copperfastened his zeal. Mary , who's new book "Climate Justice" is available in bookshops now, was incredibly chillaxed at the event. I dont know if coffee tables are still sustainable but I have no doubt that a copy of "Climate Justice" will be a must have for everyone who realises we are in the End Times.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/views/columnists/alison-oconnor/alison-oconnor-chilled-robinson-offers-an-urgent-message-on-climate-change-crisis-972311.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I thought the thread title was referring to her inauguration as President of Ireland in a “Reeling in the Years” as we’re coming to the end of another year and another decade.

Another thread on climate shìte? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

I must run out and buy her book before its sold out, knew i forgot something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I thought the thread title was referring to her inauguration as President of Ireland in a “Reeling in the Years” as we’re coming to the end of another year and another decade.

Another thread on climate shìte? :(

Indeed. And compared to the ordinary family it will cost her’s feck all with her huge pensions. Easy for the well off to preach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Ah Jay, would you look at Big Bird?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

..according to a rather starstruck scribe who was keeping record of this momentous event in Cork for the Irish Examiner. Some activists in awe of Mrs Robinson had to roll out their yoga mats such was the demand for seating. One Climate Justice pilgrim had to get up half way through the service as he had a ferry to catch to Spain. Violent bouts sea sickness in the Bay of Biscay must have copperfastened his zeal. Mary , who's new book "Climate Justice" is available in bookshops now, was incredibly chillaxed at the event. I dont know if coffee tables are still sustainable but I have no doubt that a copy of "Climate Justice" will be a must have for everyone who realises we are in the End Times.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/views/columnists/alison-oconnor/alison-oconnor-chilled-robinson-offers-an-urgent-message-on-climate-change-crisis-972311.html

Alison o Connor piece on Mary Robinson.

The smug eulogising the smugger

Two insufferable doses

Mad_maxx wrote: »

Two insufferable doses
    How dare you speak about your betters like that? Just pay your taxes and shut up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

An awful sanctimonious pain in the arse. Can't stand her or her successor McAleese.

Herself and McAleese are two awful pain in the arses. Can't stick either.
    And they can't stick each other. Establishment lackeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Two insufferable doses

Incredibly sycophantic. The Irish media's adoration of Mary is off the scale.

o connor is the female michael o reagan

an establishment hack of the highest order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

No defence of Robinson here. But this thread is a prime example of sanctimonious tools who seem to think they'd do a better job but never bothered their arses.

The usual..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

Mary Robinson was a pain and Mary McAlesse is that 10 times worse than her !

Whatever bad they were as presidents , but there cocky busy body’s since they left office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Fair play to Mary I must put that book on my reading list it sounds interesting

listermint wrote: »
    No defence of Robinson here. But this thread is a prime example of sanctimonious tools who seem to think they'd do a better job but never bothered their arses.

The usual..

Mary couldn't be even be bothered finishing out her presidency. She has been jumping from one pensionable bandwagon to the next for the last thirty plus years.

Fair play to Mary I must put that book on my reading list it sounds interesting

Insomniacs everywhere are flocking to easons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

You hate oul Mary with one and and bate over vladi with the other hand ,

Strange creature .......

Mary couldn't be even be bothered finishing out her presidency. She has been jumping from one pensionable bandwagon to the next for the last thirty plus years.

Youre the usual Irish hurler from the ditch.one of many nothing new or special.

Go for it. Put yourself in office since I mean you've obviously got all your stuff together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

Snarky comment time.

Shouldn't she be realasing it free as an ebook to promote activism and save trees ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

This sort of incoherent rant is probably better suited to the current affairs forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 391 ✭✭Professor Genius

“I am of Ireland - come flatulate with me in Ireland “

Snarky comment time.

Shouldn't she be realasing it free as an ebook to promote activism and save trees ;)

It is harder to display righteousness on the Dart with an e-book. In any case Mary has given herself a free pass for everything in lieu of her self proclaimed "good works".

Youre the usual Irish hurler from the ditch.one of many nothing new or special.

Go for it. Put yourself in office since I mean you've obviously got all your stuff together.

What has Mary ever done for Ireland?

Mary Robinson was the first step on the road to a United Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

She wants the people of Ireland to keep repairing their washing machines in the name of climate change, while Mary gets her knickers washed courtesy of the Irish taxpayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

An awful sanctimonious pain in the arse. Can't stand her or her successor McAleese.

I've met both of them lots of times through the course of my work, and President Mary McAleese was an absolute lady. A pleasure to meet and chat with in the grounds of the Aras. A really nice person, I've the fondest memories of her.

Robinson on the other hand, well she was a different kettle of fish altogether and I'll leave it at that.

Mary Robinson was the first step on the road to a United Ireland.

Huh?.. how did you come to that conclusion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

I've met both of them lots of times through the course of my work, and President Mary McAleese was an absolute lady. A pleasure to meet and chat with in the grounds of the Aras. A really nice person, I've the fondest memories of her.

Robinson on the other hand, well she was a different kettle of fish altogether and I'll leave it at that.

“Big Bird” treated her outgoing staff in the Aràs like sh_#te!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I wonder, did she send signed copies to her oil producing Emirati buddies.

“Big Bird” treated her outgoing staff in the Arlike sh_#te!

How so?.

I'd work with and know a lot of members of staff in the Aras and not a single one would have anything bad to say about her or her family.

+100 !

How so?.

I'd work with and know a lot of members of staff in the Aras and not a single one would have anything bad to say about her or her family.

You said something completely contrary in the last post?

What have you

How so?.

Big bird refers to Robinson I believe

What have you

You’re some Mary fan.

You said something completely contrary in the last post?

Which one is "Big bird"?

Ok I may be getting mixed up, having a few O'Hara's IPA tonight..

I'm saying McAleese was a lady and exceptionally easy to get on with.

Robbo wasn't.

Big Bird, wasn't that Robbo?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

bubblypop wrote: »
    Big bird refers to Robinson I believe

If it's not even clear who it refers to then it's a ****e nickname.

Which is apt, because this is a ****e thread about nothing.

Robbo is the high priestess of champagne socialism in this country, she wrote the book on virtue signalling decades before it was a mainstream pass time of those who make all the right earnest noises but sacrifice nothing personally.

Without Mary, we would likely never have had una mulally, colette browne or aodhan o riordain

She inspired a generation of morally superior secular clergy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Robbo wasn't.

I thought Robinson was Noddy?

If it's not even clear who it refers to then it's a ****e nickname.

Which is apt, because this is a ****e thread about nothing.

It originated soon after she was elected president when a soldier in the army guard of honour made a remark that “here comes big bird” due to her wearing a bright canary yellow hat.

His remark was overheard and he was fined and reprimanded.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    I thought Robinson was Noddy?

She is noddy also.

That stems from her habit of nodding constantly when being interviewed etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Wilfuler.

It originated soon after she was elected president when a soldier in the army guard of honour made a remark that “here comes big bird” due to her wearing a bright canary yellow hat.

His remark was overheard and he was fined and reprimanded.

I'm smelling horsesh1t here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Stop ruining the "bitching about McAleese for no reason, just for the sake of it" buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Edgware wrote: »
    Ah Jay, would you look at Big Bird?

I thought big bird was dead !;)

Wilfuler. wrote: »
    I'm smelling horsesh1t here

Google it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Robbo wasn't.

Indeed,christened by the army I believe. One of them was reprimanded for saying it out loud ,if I remember correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Indeed,christened by the army I believe. One of them was reprimanded for saying it out loud ,if I remember correctly

It happened on the apron in Dublin Airport many years ago, she was dressed like an oversized canary!

I think the Mary Robinson Museum in Ballina is only costing us taxpayers about three million(double that by the time it's finished), excluding the price paid for the run down old gaff in the first place. Dark days ahead for transition year students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Mary Robinson was a pain and Mary McAlesse is that 10 times worse than her !

Whatever bad they were as presidents , but there cocky busy body’s since they left office
    I think she was an excellent President.

Aren't they all. Smile for the cameras, eat the free grub, rattle off platitude laden speech... rinse , repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Was it you who called her “Big Bird”.?