Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working today

• 20-12-2019 3:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭

Is anyone doing much? I am in the office working away...but I seem to be in the minority..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭TwoMonthsOff

Finished since 12.30, back on the 5th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

gmisk wrote: »
    Is anyone doing much? I am in the office working away...but I seem to be in the minority..

Pfft you amateur.....

Play games on computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Pfft you amateur.....

Play games on computer.

All blocked in mine. Asked the systems to unblock Netflix but no luck. Been a long day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

YouTube is getting hammered today in between conf calls.. 'Uncle Tonys Garage' is the latest binge-fest in last hour.. and I'm not into muscle cars either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Went in disgustingly hungover
    Went home at 1 disgustingly hungover.
    Now I lie on the couch disgustingly hungover.
    No more disgusting hangovers come January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Christmas holidays started today. Just checking work email every now and again in case anything comes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Rx713B

in today, tomorrow & Monday - :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

In today, Monday and Xmas Eve and I still have no xmas shopping done :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Now of to the pub so not so bad.
    In 23rd, 30th and 31st but hey my choice will be nice quiet days and already in Dublin so might as well!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Rx713B wrote: »
    in today, tomorrow & Monday - :mad:
    gazzer wrote: »
    In today, Monday and Xmas Eve and I still have no xmas shopping done :(

Amateurs, that is just bad planning. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

In today til 5, Monday until 1

Won't be doing a tap Monday, come in, eat grub, give pressies and go...

Back in 27th til 1 also

I work every second year for it, so I won't be working it next year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Went in disgustingly hungover
    Went home at 1 disgustingly hungover.
    Now I lie on the couch disgustingly hungover.
    No more disgusting hangovers come January.

You'll be grand by 9pm tonight and pinting away. Just remember the first one is the toughest. After that there is no stopping you.

Christmas Eve shopping with a hangover is not good. Happened me in 2002- pissing rain around Grafton Street trying to buy everything, carry everything and then get to Heuston for the train to Cork- stuff of nightmares and downright bad planning.

I kid you not but my mother was bought an electronic mincer...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭gibgodsman

Been in work since 9am, finished at 4, done literally nothing all day as there is no one we do business with open, we close today and reopen on the 2nd, not too bad, but I know for a fact on the 2nd and 3rd we will do nothing as no one in our sector will be open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

"Working" now

Have to hang around till 5, half day next Monday and Tuesday. There won't be a tap of work done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

in today but work seems pretty much done as of half an hour ago, just waiting to get the nod to head away now really. I've been on boards all day basically, but we got free food and a bottle of wine to take away so Im happy enough to be in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Just got the nod, Im out lads and ladies. Merry Christmas to all !!

WrenBoy wrote: »
    Just got the nod, Im out lads and ladies. Merry Christmas to all !!

Hang on there a second … did you ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

I can understand the kids being finished school today, but why are people doing feck all in work? Christmas Eve isn't till Tuesday.

I rang the two lads who work for me and one of them was in the car on the way home two hours early and the other picked up half asleep.

Two formal warnings coming on Monday, which is also a work day.. as is Tuesday, but i told them I'd take the hit on that, and this is how I'm thanked.

Peatys wrote: »
    I can understand the kids being finished school today, but why are people doing feck all in work? Christmas Eve isn't till Tuesday.

I rang the two lads who work for me and one of them was in the car on the way home two hours early and the other picked up half asleep.

Two formal warnings coming on Monday, which is also a work day.. as is Tuesday, but i told them I'd take the hit on that, and this is how I'm thanked.

Fire their useless asses, you deserve better.

You'll be grand by 9pm tonight and pinting away. Just remember the first one is the toughest. After that there is no stopping you.

I’m going pub in 2 hours and I’m ****ing terrified.
    I’ll be back to update you on the hangover tomorrow.
    I can’t remember what it’s like to be normal anymore.
    I do not understand how alcoholics lead this life constantly. Hats off to them the freaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭gibgodsman

Majority of major business are closed today, I work in the printing industry and every single company we do business for or with including all our paper suppliers, maintenance contractors are finished today until the new year. Only small businesses and retail will be open in between, banks are closed sure

Nobody’s head is mentally in work. It’s over, it’s Christmas you lost. Relax and have a pudding or something. I blitzed out of work 4 hours early. Boss won’t know I’ll get paid everyone’s a winner. People should be winding down now. Busiest year ever! Not even a Christmas party was organised by my company. So stuff them.
    I encouraged the lads under me to leave early as well.
    Couldn’t give a toss now until January.

Now back to my hangover.

Edit: life’s too short.

I do not understand how alcoholics lead this life constantly. Hats off to them the freaks.

Have a shandy, ease yourself into it, once you are getting it back into your system your endorphins will release and you will be back on track. It's Christmas bitch... enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

I'm in work and have had nothing to do all day so I'm going to head home soon. I've taken holidays for the couple of days next week which the office is open meaning I'll be off for almost 2 weeks

They don't get hangovers. In fact the first hint of hangover has them reaching for the bottle.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Have a shandy, ease yourself into it, once you are getting it back into your system your endorphins will release and you will be back on track. It's Christmas bitch... enjoy yourself.

Hahaha! Love this

They don't get hangovers. In fact the first hint of hangover has them reaching for the bottle.

Yes so true. But still they must go through some pain a lot of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

In today, hoping to go by 4.30. In Monday, half day Tues, half day Fri, half day Monday and off NYE
    Oh the joys of the health service :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Nicetrustedcup

Just heading home to take meetings from home this evening why do the us love late meetings on a Friday for us in Ireland

Then working Monday and Tuesday, Monday have 3 or 4 things to do and I be working from home on Tuesday

Then I am off to like the 3rd ?

Just heading home to take meetings from home this evening why do the us love late meetings on a Friday for us in Ireland

Then working Monday and Tuesday, Monday have 3 or 4 things to do and I be working from home on Tuesday

It is classic posturing. They are showing you who is in charge, making sure you are alert and not going to flake on them over the next few weeks. They despise the fact that the Private sector in Ireland shuts down for 10 days, it does not suit them at all. In the states people will be working Stephens Day and Christmas eve. The really ambitious types will get in on Xmas day as well, especially if they are not Christians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

gmisk wrote: »

I'm in the office until Xmas Eve. I stopped working about Wednesday of this week.

It suits their schedule that's why.

My manager got called on Christmas day last year by the division director to attend a meeting with the other worlwide managers to discuss call stats. He's a Christian btw just doesn't have a home life or family and they tend to just have Christmas day off unless they have saved up vacation time

Yes so true. But still they must go through some pain a lot of the time.

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/xehe2g

DubInMeath wrote: »
    It suits their schedule that's why.

My manager got called on Christmas day last year by the division director to attend a meeting with the other worlwide managers to discuss call stats.

Classic US posturing.

"Get that Irishman on the call as well, he either works for us or he wants to waste his time with his family and friends"

Americans are chunts.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Classic US posturing.

"Get that Irishman on the call as well, he either works for us or he wants to waste his time with his family and friends"

Americans are chunts.

Some are most definitely tends to be management level, and that's international.

Yet the US teams in the last two companies I've worked with have been the least productive.

Back to the basis of the thread, off since Monday and not back till the 7th.
    Other half is public sector and on half days on the 25th and 26th and back on full days from the 27th, but off new years eve and day.

Went in around 10am, home at 1pm and off until the 6th. Heading for a feed of beer shortly for the Christmas party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

in today, last day before christmas
    Not a tap done since the morning really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Teacher. Have the bulk of my timetable squashed into Wednesdays and Thursdays. Finished yesterday. Not back till the second Wednesday of the new year.

Hardship! :pac:

endacl wrote: »
    Teacher. Have the bulk of my timetable squashed into Wednesdays and Thursdays. Finished yesterday. Not back till the second Wednesday of the new year.

Hardship! :pac:

I used to think teachers had it handy with the short days and holidays.. but after two years of my kids in national school, i think the teachers deserve a pay rise, shorter days and longer holidays.. it's not the kids they have to put up with.. it's their parents! Self centered big kids most of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,243 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

ELM327 wrote: »
    in today, last day before christmas
    Not a tap done since the morning really.

Same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

gibgodsman wrote: »
    Majority of major business are closed today, I work in the printing industry and every single company we do business for or with including all our paper suppliers, maintenance contractors are finished today until the new year. Only small businesses and retail will be open in between, banks are closed sure

Banks open until Christmas Eve. Back on 30th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

flat out - havent stopped all day (expect to post on boards) :)

work for a small software company phones havent stopped all day

same on monday tuesday and friday next week i expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭wally1990

I wish I was off

Work in an accountants and have clients ringing non stop and emailing today

Can I discuss X and Y
    I'm tidying things up before I go, can I ask X
    Can you do X or Y

Mental busy, everyone else's down time is causing me to be busy because they can focus on themselves

Then the Aul question, are you off now today (no I'm here until the 24th, oh that's great can I ring you Tuesday to discuss X for 5 min, oh I'll ring ya Tuesday to discuss my 2020 tax credits I got )

FFS people

Multiple that X 100000

Ugh

Give me Guinness and a fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

15 minutes to go (IT support helpdesk). Was busy today

In Monday, Tuesday & Friday next week, hopefully it will be quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Had a few days holidays left so took yesterday, today, Monday and Tuesday off.
    Back in Monday 30th.

wally1990 wrote: »
    I wish I was off

Work in an accountants and have clients ringing non stop and emailing today

Can I discuss X and Y
    I'm tidying things up before I go, can I ask X
    Can you do X or Y

Mental busy, everyone else's down time is causing me to be busy because they can focus on themselves

Then the Aul question, are you off now today (no I'm here until the 24th, oh that's great can I ring you Tuesday to discuss X for 5 min, oh I'll ring ya Tuesday to discuss my 2020 tax credits I got )

FFS people

Multiple that X 100000

Ugh

Give me Guinness and a fire

You are doing it wrong, I’m friends with a few accountants (across a few different practices) most of them are on the beer since lunch time today and won’t be seen again until the new year. Offices closed down for the full Christmas.

If you aren’t there you won’t have to answer the phone, let them call in the new year.

You are doing it wrong, I’m friends with a few accountants (across a few different practices) most of them are on the beer since lunch time today and won’t be seen again until the new year. Offices closed down for the full Christmas.

If you aren’t there you won’t have to answer the phone, let them call in the new year.

The cro don't wait, they just issue you with 3 year audit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

Not finished till Sunday. Back the 3rd. Can't wait to finish up. No interest this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Was in 11-3 today, finished until the 2nd now.