Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

See through plastic boxes to openly display students mobile phones.

• 15-12-2019 12:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭deezell

So this earnest school principal has designed see through plastic cases for school kids to place their mobile phones in, attached to the front of the students' own STEEL lockers. This is apparently to prevent them bringing phones into class.
    Am I missing something here? Does the open display of your €600 phone in a plastic box somehow incentivise you to not put it in your secure locker, or sneak it into class? Why not stick the €50 Granny gave you in beside it? Maybe take a pic and post it on Instagram, is that the reasoning? Free IPhones, drop into Kilcock school, (preferably during class)?
    I'd really like to know.

1576231293520.jpg--kildare_principal_designs_ingenious_phone_boxes_attached_to_lockers.jpg?1576231293000

Read all about it here

https://www.leinsterleader.ie/news/news/501891/kildare-principal-tackles-phone-use-during-class-by-creating-ingenious-boxes.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Who supplies the plastic boxes? I’m sure that’ll be more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

BDI wrote: »

Made in China

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I'm waiting for the insurance claim when someone comes in smashes them open. why cant they go on the inside of the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭deezell

He's patented the design. It's all in the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

I remember buying my 1st phone back in the day in Phibsborough and standing waiting for the bus with this massive Eircell bag basically screaming, I've a brand new phone, rob me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

" each box has a key which can be removed when the box is locked" genius!

I'm failing to see the USP here. Can you imagine the racket when hundreds of phones are vibrating inside plastic boxes?

Hopefully someone kicks them all off and robs the phones so that his little money making scheme dies on its arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Would it not have been a better design to have them on the inside of the door?...Off to the patent office with me, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Alternatively, they could leave them at home and survive just fine like every other school kid for countless generations before. Some of us didn't even have a house phone, FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Alternatively, they could leave them at home and survive just fine like every other school kid for countless generations before. Some of us didn't even have a house phone, FFS!

Well said! Thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

All you do then is open the drawer in the kitchen,take out an old phone and bring that in and put it in the plastic box while keeping your good phone on you on silent.
    It’s then google away my friends and a+ Exam results all round.

It’s a makey up, bullsh1t idea.
    A plastic solution to a fake plastic problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Eggonyerface

I hate this attitude. The world has moved on. People like knowing where their children are through Google family link etc and knowing they can contact them if needs be.

Fair enough no phones in class,proper order, but kids don't come straight home from school, especially secondary school like this appears to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

They're on the outside so the principal can see that they're there and students aren't cutting corners. In fairness, it's not a bad idea just badly executed. I'm thinking back on some of the anti-social types I went to school with and they would definitely figure out some way to get to them and sell them on.

They should just enact a zero tolerance policy to phones. See your phone in class goodbye to your phone until your parent can come in and collect it themselves. The kids will only cop on to bring an old 2nd phone in and put it in the box anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Would it not have been a better design to have them on the inside of the door?...Off to the patent office with me, lol.

You wouldn’t see them then and realise what a genius the inventor was and how all our lives have been changed for the better.
    Move the fcuk out of the way sliced pan.
    Lol,what a time to be alive.
    There’s families on the streets and living out of suitcases in hotels, but plastic boxes on a locker is where we are at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Why not just ban having phones in the school? They do this in ours and it works. If you are caught with one, it’s €10 fine and kept by head for 3 days first offense. Parents have to agree to it at the start of the year. 700 pupils and I have never seen a pupil with one out anywhere.

when i saw the picture originally, i thought they were boxes to be put in the front of the classrooms, so you could drop off the phone and pick it up on the way in and out. and keep an eye on it during the class so nobody could steal it.
    in front of lockers? no point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I hate this attitude. The world has moved on. People like knowing where their children are through Google family link etc and knowing they can contact them if needs be.

Fair enough no phones in class,proper order, but kids don't come straight home from school, especially secondary school like this appears to be

Google what now?
    What's wrong with a simple phone?

Parents unable to say no cos Johnny down the road has got a brand new smartphone.

Google what now?

Parents unable to say no cos Johnny down the road has got a brand new smartphone.

Simple phones are more of a statement these days, the wrong kind of one.

Google what now?

He won't have for long if he leaves it in one of these "Rob Me Please" boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

deezell wrote: »
    He's patented the design. It's all in the article.

The idea came to him a few months ago, and it's patented already? I'm not convinced. I'm also not convinced it's original enough to earn patent protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Mr Hegarty designed the transport acrylic boxes...

I assume they mean ‘transparent’, not ‘transport’?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭893bet

You wouldn’t see them then and realise what a genius the inventor was and how all our lives have been changed for the better.
    Move the fcuk out of the way sliced pan.
    Lol,what a time to be alive.
    There’s families on the streets and living out of suitcases in hotels, but plastic boxes on a locker is where we are at.

Does every thread have to be about the “homeless”.

Jesus ****ing Christ.

80 percent of the “homeless” are not homeless, just looking to force the councils hands.

They can all **** off at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

They know where they are: school.

893bet wrote: »
    Does every thread have to be about the “homeless”.

Jesus ****ing Christ.

80 percent of the “homeless” are not homeless, just looking to force the councils hands.

They can all **** off at this point.

80%.
    Where did you get that statistic?

Seems pretty pointless. Where I am is zero tolerance. You get it back at the end of the year even if you get caught with it the first week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

i think the point is to have them visible, so the principal can see who hasn't left their phone, could be easy for roll call as well. no phone left on display? you're marked absent for the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭893bet

80%.
    Where did you get that statistic?

Pulled from my arse the same way all the “homeless” stats are.

i think the point is to have them visible, so the principal can see who hasn't left their phone, could be easy for roll call as well. no phone left on display? you're marked absent for the day...

Don’t own phone? Don’t exist in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭SuperS54

He had them made in China apparently.

I'm struggling to understand the concept here and the article doesn't shed any light. What is the purpose of putting the phone in a locked box which is attached to the door of a lockable box? Why not lock the phone in the lockable metal box rather than the lockable plastic box?

SuperS54 wrote: »

I'm struggling to understand the concept here and the article doesn't shed any light. What is the purpose of putting the phone in a locked box which is attached to the door of a lockable box? Why not lock the phone in the lockable metal box rather than the lockable plastic box?

Because he doesn’t care about the security of the phones, his main concern is making money from his patent and someone has already invented the locker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Why not just ban having phones in the school? They do this in ours and it works. If you are caught with one, it’s €10 fine and kept by head for 3 days first offense. Parents have to agree to it at the start of the year. 700 pupils and I have never seen a pupil with one out anywhere.

Ban phones ? No I think that’s a little too much.

Schools just need to police the students so if say a phone goes off in class or they are caught using it there is a serious and heavy duty deterrent.

If outside on the way home a kid got into some trouble or there was an issue at home where the family needed to contact them, what then ? Because the school have no interest in policing the issue it’s not just good enough to say, don’t bring them.

In my job ‘aviation’ there was one individual who could not stop being on his phone, we were then told.. ‘no personal phones airside’...instead of dealing with the ‘individual’ and THAT problem the rest of us get cut off....then we are dealing with a late flight, a couple of extra hours in work we have no way to contact our loved ones who are... putting on dinners, waiting to go to the cinema or whatever....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭E36Ross

Nice little market there for one of the students to order a load of display phones and start selling them to others so they have something to 'display'

It’s a makey up, bullsh1t idea.
    A plastic solution to a fake plastic problem

Agree.

This man has found a solution with his invention, I can't think of what the problem was for the life of me.

E36Ross wrote: »
    Nice little market there for one of the students to order a load of display phones and start selling them to others so they have something to 'display'

What house doesn't have a drawer full of knackered phones? Use one of them.
    I wonder did he install the ones in his school gratis, or did he invoice Kildare VEC for €30 a throw. He even has a website for his 'invention'.
    http://www.phoneawaybox.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

SuperS54 wrote: »

In theory, to see immediately if pupils are leaving their phones behind as supposed to.
    If you tell them to leave them in their lockers they'll smuggle them into the classroom anyway, and you can't see into the locker.

In practice it's a poor idea anyway; all it takes is for the student to procure an old phone and leave it behind instead. Also, if you're checking the plastic boxes how do you know who's absent with their box legitimately empty on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭tscul32

My son's class last year they had a box for the kids to put their phones in at the beginning if the day - new school only 15 kids so little security risk. A couple of them had the phone they put in the box and their "real" phone that they kept in their bag.
    What happens if a kid forgets their phone that day (or if it's been confiscated by parents), do they get searched or reprimanded for not having their phone in the plastic box? Stupid idea.

Google what now?

This now...

https://families.google.com/familylink/

With this app my childs phone is locked during school hours and locked after a night time curfew. Everything they install has to be ok'd on my phone. Their location is constantly shown on my phone. Why would I give them a simple phone which has none of these features? Or I can't revolut them money if they're stuck,or they can't use Google maps while they're slowly given more free reign and becoming an young adult.

Generation's of school kids got by without smartboards or PC's or even central heating too. I can well afford another smartphone and the bill,and to be honest for the peace of mind it's an absolute bargain. Hilarious that you think it's a case of keeping up with the Jones

They know where they are: school.

My post had two paragraphs

This now...

https://families.google.com/familylink/

With this app my childs phone is locked during school hours and locked after a night time curfew. Everything they install has to be ok'd on my phone. Their location is constantly shown on my phone. Why would I give them a simple phone which has none of these features? Or I can't revolut them money if they're stuck,or they can't use Google maps while they're slowly given more free reign and becoming an young adult.

Generation's of school kids got by without smartboards or PC's or even central heating too. I can well afford another smartphone and the bill,and to be honest for the peace of mind it's an absolute bargain. Hilarious that you think it's a case of keeping up with the Jones

Some people have a stinking attitude to technology and you really are banging your head off a wall with the begrudgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭jrmb

E36Ross wrote: »
    Exactly, or otherwise they'll hand in a family member's old phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

deezell wrote: »
    1576231293520.jpg--kildare_principal_designs_ingenious_phone_boxes_attached_to_lockers.jpg?1576231293000

That dude has an EXTREMELY punchable face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

chrissb8 wrote: »
    They're on the outside so the principal can see that they're there and students aren't cutting corners.

Won't this lead to students hanging around the lockers, looking at their phones through the plastic to see if they have new messages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭threeball

Or perhaps ban phones til they're 16. They're nothing but bad news from diverting attention to 24/7 bullying. Kids don't need mobile phones

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I'm waiting for the insurance claim when someone comes in smashes them open. why cant they go on the inside of the door.
    Because the lockers are made of metal and that blocks the signal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

"Mr Hegarty has now also patented his idea for the phone lockers, with interest to install similar phone lockers expressed from other schools in Ireland and the UK. Mr Hegarty has also appeared on RTE Radio One and Morning Ireland in recent days to discuss his creative invention."
    Hilarious stuff altogether. Next he will be on telly, an example to all budding entrepreneurs..cute hoor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

i dont agree with this box on locker thing.

but reading posts that question whatabout kid 'needing' to be contactable etc makes me wonder how the heck did older generations manage without a phone/parents not always knowing where we were.

Shhh, don't trigger all the mommies and doddies with disposable income to burn!

They didn’t manage. You just didn’t hear about what happened them because there was no phones.

Shhh, don't trigger all the mommies and doddies with disposable income to burn!

There’s that stinking green eyed attitude now.

The technology didn't exist. People managed just fine putting a stamp on a letter and sending it to their relatives in America too. Not sure why we need Skype and whatsapp or even landlines