Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Church bells deleted from coca cola Xmas ad

• 06-12-2019 12:17am
    Registered Users Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭

The Coca cola 'Holidays are coming" ad has been given a new modern soundtrack which has fans of the original in a rage. It's not like it was hundreds of years old or anything, I'm sure we'll get used to the new tune, But... they've deleted the Church bells ringing at the beginning. Yer man still pulls the rope, and there's a single faint, electroniky kind of boink sound, integrated with the new music, but thats it. No Christian Church bells. Is this yet more offence avoidance pc madness?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

The muslims are coming, muslims are coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Saw the ad and got a little excited about Christmas, then heard the music and they’ve ruined it.

The ad, not Christmas.

Probably just someone in Coca Cola HQ trying to justify their huge salary. Swing and a miss I’m afraid.

Buy Pepsi this year. Its nicer anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

deezell wrote: »
    The Coca cola 'Holidays are coming" ad has been given a new modern soundtrack which has fans of the original in a rage. It's not like it was hundreds of years old or anything, I'm sure we'll get used to the new tune, But... they've deleted the Church bells ringing at the beginning. Yer man still pulls the rope, and there's a single faint, electroniky kind of boink sound, integrated with the new music, but thats it. No Christian Church bells. Is this yet more offence avoidance pc madness?

No ..just recognition that half the world doesn't celebrate christmass.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Hate that ad. Holidays me bollix. Say Christmas or feck off.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,675 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It sure sounds like it.

Personally, I’m not bothered either way about the advertising. What pisses me off is the shìtty little 1.25ltr bottles they have now instead of the proper 2ltr bottles of ordinary coke, but they have the 2ltr bottles of that piss they call Coke Zero :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Is it a marketing stunt?

Give us back our bells, Coke.
    Publicity.
    Coke gives us back the bells, and diabetes.
    Harrah for Coke!
    Epstein didn’t kill himself.
    Profit!!!

I think people are missing the fact that the guy who owns coca cola Muhtar Kent is a muslim. He is the main shareholder through a lot of his funds and businesses ...he is also chairman.

And its holidays are coming ....its for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

dreamers75 wrote: »
    The muslims are coming, muslims are coming.

In a truck... oh balls I've seen this one before.

Also, why does PC always have to ''go mad'' by the way? What's going on?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Well then it's ok. The minute that goes, you know PC and the SJWs have truly taken over.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

No no no. Pepsi leaves that awful cloying sugary taste in your mouth for days

Who gives a toss? That Coca-Cola ad was always religiously neutral, pandering to the widest possible market. The "Holidays Are Coming" refrain has been blighting the airwaves for decades, so to highlight the cynicism only now is hollow.

I love diet coke :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

I stopped buying Gillette after their anti man ad, now I gotta drop my roughly 20 cans of coke a year, bugger.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Then they can fck off, it doesn't concern them.

The day some part of Ramadan is changed by a marketing exec in case I might feel excluded is the day I tell them to forget me and just do their thing.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

Plus coke is also Kosher! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Pepsi Max ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

#wokechristmas

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

"The Coca cola 'Holidays are coming" ad has been given a new modern soundtrack which has fans of the original in a rage."

Exactly who is raging? Seems like a load of precious snowflake upset that their corporate sales pitch for liquid diabetes has changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Don’t see why you’d drink coke when club orange is a thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

A new modern soundtrack? They've taken the music from the other half of the original ad. Search the long version of the ad on YouTube. The music/ad is about 25 years old

• Registered Users Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I love Dave Chappelle.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Focus groups will be the death of anything even slightly risky to profit margins!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

For me over the 20 -30 years Christmas has become two distinct things. There is the Christian feast that celebrates the birth of Jesus, and that always included dinner and gift giving, overall feel good factor and family time. All very nice and brilliant when it works out well.

Then there is the over commercialised aspect that latched onto Christmas to get everyone to buy ****e they don't need. Every year, from Christmas jumpers to elves on the shelf there was some new "festive initiative"

So I think it might be a good idea to fully separate the two. Keep the Christian feast of Christmas for those that want it, but drop the pretence that all this commercialism has anything to do with Christmas.
    Coca Cola has feck all to do with a Christian Christmas celebration, is not a good idea to drop the pretence.

For me I enjoy both versions of Christmas, they can co exist.

I hate large corporations appropriating things like religious feasts to make money.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

oh no... not the imaginary war on Christmas

• Registered Users Posts: 5,810 ✭✭✭Cordell

So don't run the ad in that half of the world...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I've always been amazed at people saying this ad is a big party of Christmas for them. It's a ****e add, with an annoying song that's completely unchristmassy. Who cares what they do with it.

Try adding a squeeze of like along with the rum.

Feisar wrote: »
    I stopped buying Gillette after their anti man ad, now I gotta drop my roughly 20 cans of coke a year, bugger.

Beards and no diabetes FTW.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Of course this makes sense.

Why have the archaic, abusive Church with its ignorant and horrible traditions mixed up in anything these days?

Happy Xmas everybody, enjoy the holidays.