Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David McSavage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

mloc123 wrote: »
    Remember that short time Rubberbandits were funny... and somehow he is dining out on it since, being the "voice of a generation". I assume he runs their twitter account now? With all the **** hot takes.

It's a shame because some of their old stuff is gas. To be honest I didn't watch much of the Savage Eye when it was shown originally but from the few clips I've seen it does look funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

As there were references to his relatives, I thought it might be useful and of interest to put it all down here. I'm not making any point at all.

Got ya, picked you up wrong there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

Was nicked from pat short - Andrews admitted that to short backstage one night.

Which pat shortt character?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Savage Eye had a lot of excellent material.
    However he always seemed very aggressive and mean spirited abusing people in Templebar and in any interview I've seen.
    I've always had my suspicions that with his family connections be most have had an easy ride, though he seems to have devoted his life to comedy, working his way up from a low level.
    So I feel fairly conflicted about him.
    I suppose he deserves respect for not selling out on a bland friendly guy image of the kind so many fame hungry charlatans who call themselves "comedians" do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Savage Eye had a lot of excellent material.
    However he always seemed very aggressive and mean spirited abusing people in Templebar and in any interview I've seen.
    I've always had my suspicions that with his family connections be most have had an easy ride, though he seems to have devoted his life to comedy, working his way up from a low level.
    So I feel fairly conflicted about him.
    I suppose he deserves respect for not selling out on a bland friendly guy image of the kind so many fame hungry charlatans who call themselves "comedians" do.

I think he changed his stage/public name so that he would not be immediately connected with the family name.

I first saw him when he was doing his stuff at the top of Grafton Street. Some time after that he appeared on tv, possibly as a guest on The Late Late Show. I certainly had no idea initially about his family ties, until it was mentioned by someone else, possibly on a chat show.

We need more Savage Eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭The_Dark_Lord

I think The Savage Eye is a work of genius. His stand-up material however, pales in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭worded

Met him briefly once in a pub and gave him a music CD gift and told him he should take his material to TV

Years later he took my advise

Talented funny fellow

The gift to make ppl laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I've posted about this before.

About ten/fifteen years ago I saw him busking his comedy in Temple Bar. A grop of young European students were heckling him and he started shouting and cursing uncontrollably at one of them telling him to fk off. At this point a lady stepped in, think she was a teacher or chaperone, saying he is only a child to stop. McSavage went for her, nose to nose with her screaming and cursing F*cks left right and centre. This went on for ages, and he just wouldn't back down, it was disgusting and bullying behavior I thought, pretty appalling.

So ever since then, no thanks, not for me

amdublin wrote: »

About ten/fifteen years ago I saw him busking his comedy in Temple Bar. A grop of young European students were heckling him and he started shouting and cursing uncontrollably at one of them telling him to fk off. At this point a lady stepped in, think she was a teacher or chaperone, saying he is only a child to stop. McSavage went for her, nose to nose with her screaming and cursing F*cks left right and centre. This went on for ages, and he just wouldn't back down, it was disgusting and bullying behavior I thought, pretty appalling.

I say fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

amdublin wrote: »

LOL, he's a gas man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Grey Fox

What do people think of him? I don't really find him that funny, I think he's very crude and goes way over the top. He seems quite egotistical and bitter aswell. I think a comedian can be funny without having to push things as far as he does.

I'm a big fan of his. Savage Eye was excellent and a lot of his songs are very funny (esp the one about the pigeon woman). He seems to have a lot of issues, as he has admitted himself, and I probably would find it hard to warm to his real life personality, but I really enjoy his style of comedy- its a shame he hasnt had more stuff on telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭badboyblast

He is excellent, comedy is very subjective, his show was excellent on RTE, his depiction of a scumbag is gas.

Caught him live in Dolans doing stand up and my friends and I love him, Joe Duffy used to be freaking over his piss take of him with the leathers on savage eye.

We need to see more of him on Irish TV, man is a legend in my eyes, met him in Limerick before, gas character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Capt. Autumn

David is a genius.

The Savage Eye is unsurpassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    LOL, he's a gas man.

So was Himmler!

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I used to see him cycling around Dublin. Wears a lot of corduroy. Has an exceptionally large nose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

The Savage Eyes was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭absolutegroove

McSavage’s investigation on Instagram into trying to find the Butter Nutter who is terrorising the canal benches (smearing butter and bananas on them) near Portabello is funny.

It is actually a true story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Anyone remember the I Have a Baby sketch from the Savage Eye. Pissed myself laughing at it at the time and would like to see it again. RTE player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,365 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I used to see him cycling around Dublin. Wears a lot of corduroy. Has an exceptionally large nose.

I see him cycling too. True he's not much to look at.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Anyone remember the I Have a Baby sketch from the Savage Eye. Pissed myself laughing at it at the time and would like to see it again. RTE player?

Yes that was one of my favourites, cant find the clip on youtube. Perfect satire of smug parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,792 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Grey Fox wrote: »
    Yes that was one of my favourites, cant find the clip on youtube. Perfect satire of smug parents.
    I found it on the RTE Player- Season 3, Episode 3 "Family".

It would be great if netflix gave McSavage a special. They have done this for other sketch comedians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭badboyblast

All the better for smelling puss#*s

Grey Fox wrote: »
    It would be great if netflix gave McSavage a special. They have done this for other sketch comedians.

Im guessing his comedy wouldnt fit with their woke narrative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

he is classic suppressed homosexual. best of luck to him.

He is excellent, comedy is very subjective, his show was excellent on RTE, his depiction of a scumbag is gas.

Caught him live in Dolans doing stand up and my friends and I love him, Joe Duffy used to be freaking over his piss take of him with the leathers on savage eye.

We need to see more of him on Irish TV, man is a legend in my eyes, met him in Limerick before, gas character

On Love ...
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-UjRhP_dbI

Im guessing his comedy wouldnt fit with their woke narrative

Didnt stop them giving Ricky Gervais a show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,572 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I remember seeing him performing in Temple bar etc and didnt find him funny tbh, I have also heard from a number of people he is an absolutely tit in real life, but the savage eye was imo absolutely fantastic, scarily spot on, I always laugh at the rose of tralee