Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling Guards on aggressive and dangerous driver or not?

• 22-11-2019 10:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭

Was driving along the M6 today in very bad conditions- very heavy rain so was sticking to about 100KPH. I was coming up to a lorry going very slow so went to pass. There was a car a good bit back in the fast lane so no problem getting out, speeded up as much as was safe in the conditions to get passed the lorry fairly quickly.

The guy catches me while I'm in the process of passing the lorry flashes me aggressively as I was obviously holding him for 10 seconds that he couldn't afford. I reacted by giving him the finger (I know!) as he passes and he slows down and shoves over towards my lane, leaving maybe an inch or two between the cars. He drives on like this for maybe 30 seconds, trying to intimidate me driving over and back towards my lane but I continue on my normal path.

I know I was totally in the wrong giving the finger but his behaviour is atrocious. Have his reg. Worth calling the guards and see if they could be arsed doing anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

Was driving along the M6 today in very bad conditions- very heavy rain so was sticking to about 100KPH. I was coming up to a lorry going very slow so went to pass. There was a car a good bit back in the fast lane so no problem getting out, speeded up as much as was safe in the conditions to get passed the lorry fairly quickly.

The guy catches me while I'm in the process of passing the lorry flashes me aggressively as I was obviously holding him for 10 seconds that he couldn't afford. I reacted by giving him the finger (I know!) as he passes and he slows down and shoves over towards my lane, leaving maybe an inch or two between the cars. He drives on like this for maybe 30 seconds, trying to intimidate me driving over and back towards my lane but I continue on my normal path.

I know I was totally in the wrong giving the finger but his behaviour is atrocious. Have his reg. Worth calling the guards and see if they could be arsed doing anything?

Call traffic watch and report , at worst they will not follow up,but at least they might call to the driver to inform them their behaviour was reported and this might make them see sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,832 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

If you have a dash cam just bring the footage to the local garda station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭moby2101

100% report this asshat.

He will kill someone if he doesn't get a reality check.

I had to report dangerous driving some years ago OP.

Went the whole nine yards, court appearance etc... Judge took a fairly dim view of the behaviour and put him off the road for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

If you have a dash cam just bring the footage to the local garda station?

Think I will buy myself one as a Christmas present. Lesson for me here also to not react to bad/rude drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭moby2101

You don't need the footage to go and make a statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Why did you pull out on a car you knew to be going faster than you and clearly going to over take you? Making the other driver brake from a higher speed because you drive out in from of them is also dangerous....They're probably thinking you didn't check your mirrors

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Why did you pull out on a car you knew to be going faster than you and clearly going to over take you? Making the other driver brake from a higher speed because you drive out in from of them is also dangerous....They're probably thinking you didn't check your mirrors

No, he wouldn't have needed to brake as he was a good bit back. I always check mirrors, blindspot and judge their speed if someone is back a bit so usually would never even hold anyone up. He caught me as I was doing a slow overtake due to the very bad conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Ah, now!

There was nothing wrong with what OP done. He was in lane 1, wanted to over take, moved to lane 2, got into lane 2 and was mid overtake when someone wasnt happy that he wasnt driving harder as they were rocketing up lane 2 :rolleyes:

It's the sort of piss poor driving you see daily across the country. Happens me most mornings on the M11 on the way to Dublin. I've no issue doing 130-135km/h when I can.

You'd be making good progress in lane 1, want to overtake someone doing 120 or whatever, nobody close behind, go to overtake, the overtake can take a few seconds as the person you are overtaking usually speeds up when you get out and then some space cadet in a 520d is up your arse before you know it flashing and hand gesturing you out of the way because I got in his way while he was cruising in lane 2 at 170-180kmh with no regard for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

No, he wouldn't have needed to brake as he was a good bit back. I always check mirrors, blindspot and judge their speed if someone is back a bit so usually would never even hold anyone up. He caught me as I was doing a slow overtake due to the very bad conditions.

Your contradicting yourself. So because you thought the conditions were bad enough you did a slow overtake. If he didn’t need to brake he wouldn’t have caught up on you.

Ah, now!

There was nothing wrong with what OP done. He was in lane 1, wanted to over take, moved to lane 2, got into lane 2 and was mid overtake when someone wasnt happy that he wasnt driving harder as they were rocketing up lane 2 :rolleyes:

It's the sort of piss poor driving you see daily across the country. Happens me most mornings on the M11 on the way to Dublin. I've no issue doing 130-135km/h when I can.

You'd be making good progress in lane 1, want to overtake someone doing 120 or whatever, nobody close behind, go to overtake, the overtake can take a few seconds as the person you are overtaking usually speeds up when you get out and then some space cadet in a 520d is up your arse before you know it flashing and hand gesturing you out of the way because I got in his way while he was cruising in lane 2 at 170-180kmh with no regard for anyone.

Exactly, it is unusual that I would be going so slow on the motorway, was going at 130kph on the outward journey as conditions were good. I was using common sense in slowing down in torrential rain and only moved into the overtaking lane at all because the lorry was going very slow and as above didn't do anything wrong in my overtaking procedure.

The more relevant point here is what he did in reaction to my giving the finger in reaction to his rudeness, which was stupid by me but downright dangerous from him. Don't feel like calling the Guards but maybe people like him are better off getting a lesson as he may hurt someone.

heroics wrote: »
    Your contradicting yourself. So because you thought the conditions were bad enough you did a slow overtake. If he didn’t need to brake he wouldn’t have caught up on you.

I can drive 100s of KMs on motorways and never touch the brake! Including coming up to slow overtakers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Give it a week and consider your situation .

You might feel like going full legal now, but if you end up in court giving evidence, that'll be 12 months down the line.

A day off work, and a waste of time.

Give it a few days for the red mist to clear.
    Then consider your options, and consider what inconvenience it will cause to you.

(Awaits backlash)

Ah, now!

There was nothing wrong with what OP done.
    Why not wait the 10 seconds until the car was past.

As it's spelt out above the OP went to do a slow overtake on a motorway when a car was in the overtaking lane driving at speed.

As it is the OP has hindered traffic. Why not just wait if all your doing is a slow overtake, you shouldn't be forcing other traffic to brake.

I'm not excusing the other drivers behaviour but looking at it from both sides they could both claim legitimately the other driver was the cause of the problem.

I can drive 100s of KMs on motorways and never touch the brake! Including coming up to slow overtakers!

Just wait until you start using cruise control and then you'll see :pac:

he was cruising in lane 2 at 170-180kmh with no regard for anyone.

Nah, I've had this crap happen me while doing the legal limit from dozy drivers doing a safe* slow overtake often followed by a brake check or headlights on full.

Why not wait the 10 seconds until the car was past.

As it's spelt out above the OP went to do a slow overtake on a motorway when a car was in the overtaking lane driving at speed.

As it is the OP has hindered traffic. Why not just wait if all your doing is a slow overtake, you shouldn't be forcing other traffic to brake.

I'm not excusing the other drivers behaviour but looking at it from both sides they could both claim legitimately the other driver was the cause of the problem.

The lorry was going so slow I made the decision to move to overtake even with a car in lane two a bit back as sitting behind the lorry at such low speed with all the spray and torrential rain causing very bad visibility was a dangerous spot to be in. Felt justified as further on there was a car I approached in the driving lane doing maybe 80 and was too slow really as it was not visible until very late. Was rough out there.

I didn't cause him to brake as he was still a good bit back and he took maybe 10 seconds to get to me. All he had to do was ease off the accelerator as he approached me and wait for 10 seconds as I passed the lorry.

Felt justified

A common problem.

You've proven my point above, you were fully aware the car was over taking at speed, you pulled out, you blocked them and now you're whinging as they were pissed at you for it.

All because you felt you had the right to do so.

But he had to slow because you decided m to pull out In front of them so either you couldn’t judge their speed correctly or thought f*ck them I’m gonna pull out here anyway

Missed the post above wher you felt justified because you didn’t want to slow down behind the lorry so even though you knew there was a car overtaking at speed in the outside lane you pulled out anyway and you wonder why they were annoyed

Justified means I had a right to do it, look it up in a dictionary. I did nothing wrong here. It happens me most days where drivers will pull out right in front of me to pass another vehicle instead of letting me pass them first. This is not the case here

He was way back, hundreds of metres back and it was dangerous for me to be stuck behind the lorry in the conditions it wasn't just an inconvenience.

Anyway the rights and wrongs of it are mute. He was not justified in trying to run me off the road even if I was in the wrong.

Also read the whole thread as you obviously only skimmed to have that opinion ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,016 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Gives a driver the middle finger and surprised at road rage back - he would have probably happily gone on his way bar your attitude to him
    Maybe just brush it off in future and move back to the other lane and let them go on their merry way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

You moved out to overtake a lorry with a car well behind you. Not only did he have time to catch you but you were still overtaking for a further ten seconds?

Rodin wrote: »
    You moved out to overtake a lorry with a car well behind you. Not only did he have time to catch you but you were still overtaking for a further ten seconds?

Torrential rain!!!!!! Like Lorenzo and Ophelia combined :pac: Normally I have no problem getting the boot down when overtaking and never hold anyone up. It was fkn bucketing it down. Comprehension/reading skills here, jeesh.

Didnt seem a problem for the guy behind.

fritzelly wrote: »
    Gives a driver the middle finger and surprised at road rage back - he would have probably happily gone on his way bar your attitude to him
    Maybe just brush it off in future and move back to the other lane and let them go on their merry way

Agree totally on my behaviour. He was rude, I was rude back but trying to run someone off the road is a little bit extreme. Who said anything about being surprised, the point here he shouldn't be on the road if he was trying to run someone off it under any circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,016 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Firstly if the conditions were as bad as you said then maybe you shouldn't have been overtaking in the first place
    Took over 10 seconds to pass the very slow lorry - something doesn't add up
    Shouldn't be overtaking anyone if you can't finish the manoeuvre quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Was driving along the M6 today in very bad conditions- very heavy rain so was sticking to about 100KPH. I was coming up to a lorry going very slow so went to pass.
    What do you call very slow? 90km/h? Because taking 10 seconds to overtake it when going at 100km/h seems to mean that the truck wasn't going very slow.

Yeh , shows his level of intelligence. I have no problem getting the foot down when conditions are good but the downpours then were seriously hazardous. Poor visibility and dangers of aquaplaning meant it was no brainer to slow down.

This as the reason I didn't speed up more even though I could see him gaining on me when I was overtaking. Usually I would as I hate holding up people.

Yeh , shows his level of intelligence. I have no problem getting the foot down when conditions are good but the downpours then were seriously hazardous. Poor visibility and dangers of aquaplaning meant it was no brainer to slow down.

This as the reason I didn't speed up more even though I could see him gaining on me when I was overtaking. Usually I would as I hate holding up people.

But he wasn't going faster than you before you moved into overtaking lane? He accelerated after you moved out? Or did you misjudge his speed?

Without camera footage it's your word against his and your version doesm't add up.

Took you approx 300metres of road to overtake a slow moving lorry.

fritzelly wrote: »
    Firstly if the conditions were as bad as you said then maybe you shouldn't have been overtaking in the first place
    Took over 10 seconds to pass the very slow lorry - something doesn't add up
    Shouldn't be overtaking anyone if you can't finish the manoeuvre quickly

Whatever Perry Mason there:). I've said what happened and the reasons why I did it. I probably haven't explained it very well but I'm done explaining.

In any case whether I was right or wrong is besides the point - there is no reason why someone should try to run someone else off the road. I am on the end of ****ty driving like the rest of us every day on the road and wouldn't dream of using my vehicle to attack someone else's

Whatever Perry Mason there:). I've said what happened and the reasons why I did it. I probably haven't explained it very well but I'm done explaining.

In any case whether I was right or wrong is besides the point - there is no reason why someone should try to run someone else off the road. I am on the end of ****ty driving like the rest of us every day on the road and wouldn't dream of using my vehicle to attack someone else's

((100km/h x 1000 (m/s) ) /3600) x10 secs = 277metres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭mankteln

Had an experience like this earlier today. Was on the motorway coming up to an exit, I'm in the outside lane going past the traffic that's slowing to exit, there's car behind me (maybe for ten seconds) but I'm not going to move in until I'm past the slow moving traffic (I'm going 120km). Get past the traffic stick on my indicator see nothing in the mirror and start moving into the inside lane. lad behind me must've been in my blind spot shoots past me on the inside lane really close. I give him a blast of the horn (actually barely ever use it as there's generally no point, I approach any situation where's there's another car assuming like there might be a mistake this was such a mad move) and he slams on his brakes in front of me, I brake indicate to move past him and he pulls out in front again and slams on the brakes again blocking me. I move back in and he pulls off and away

It was unusual circumstances for me as in normal conditions I am a fast overtaker and get back into lane 1 quickly as soon as it's safe especially if I see anyone approaching from behind. So maybe the fact that I wanted to get out behind the lorry asap for safety reasons and the fact that I couldn't overtake quickly due to the condition caused the situation so maybe misjudged by me in that way - live and learn. I never caused him any danger/made him break all I did was hold him up for a number of seconds so no need to flash me.

mankteln wrote: »
    Had an experience like this earlier today. Was on the motorway coming up to an exit, I'm in the outside lane going past the traffic that's slowing to exit, there's car behind me (maybe for ten seconds) but I'm not going to move in until I'm past the slow moving traffic (I'm going 120km). Get past the traffic stick on my indicator see nothing in the mirror and start moving into the inside lane. lad behind me must've been in my blind spot shoots past me on the inside lane really close. I give him a blast of the horn (actually barely ever use it as there's generally no point, I approach any situation where's there's another car assuming like there might be a mistake this was such a mad move) and he slams on his brakes in front of me, I brake indicate to move past him and he pulls out in front again and slams on the brakes again blocking me. I move back in and he pulls off and away

Wasn't a 181 White Golf by any chance :D?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭mankteln

Wasn't a 181 White Golf by any chance :D?
    Ha no just happened to be a 161 Audi (who would've thought), must be his second car.
    Above anything I was just shocked how could anybody do something so dangerous!
    I do 600-700km weeks often more, I would usually never sound my horn at anyone (literally every day there'd be an excuse but what's gained?)
    Today was classic example of my number one rule of driving, assume everyone else is a simpleton, don't care if I'm right or wrong I'd rather just get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

If other people want to risk it they can be the ones aquaplaning away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

i would have over take the lorry in good time instead of coming up to it
    not decidng to do so when someone has already done the logical thing and anticipated the lorry .
    or stay where i was and drop back if it was so dangerous

its a lorry, easily spottable as they are huge and firing out clouds of mist .

nothing worse than those crawling up to 5 feet of a lorry then deciding to over take when they see another car gaining in lane 2

i think you pulled out on purpose , gave the finger and got abused for it - in a bad and dangerous way yes
    but you are both at fault here, and imho you more so .

yer man is going to say you pulled out in front of him if the cops contact him .

maybe he was ill, or going to visit someone ill, or just got bad news to rush home for ,
    best thing to do is let em pass , not play ' im right f*ck you '

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Some people drive like idiots regardless of the conditions. Doesn't mean they are driving correctly for the conditions

DaDumTish wrote: »
    not decidng to do so when someone has already done the logical thing and anticipated the lorry .

nothing worse than those crawling up to 5 feet of a lorry then deciding to over take when they see another car gaining in lane 2

i think you pulled out on purpose , gave the finger and got abused for it - in a bad and dangerous way yes

yer man is going to say you pulled out in front of him if the cops contact him .

maybe he was ill, or going to visit someone ill, or just got bad news to rush home for ,

Did you miss the bit where he was driving along sideways, pulling into my lane to try and push me into the hard shoulder? Even if I was in the wrong he was trying to intimidate me with a dangerous weapon, if I went off the road and my toddler in the back was killed would you say he wasn't to blame.

No justification for what he did even if you consider me in the wrong. If a Guard saw him he would get jail, do you think I would get jail for as you assert I made a bad manoeuvre that caused a slight delay which caused no danger.

What's up with the comprehension on here, don't comment if you don't even read the OP properly please.

Cabaal wrote: »
    Some people drive like idiots regardless of the conditions. Doesn't mean they are driving correctly for the conditions

Exactly I adjust to the conditions which was part of the reason why I overtook so slowly. Was why I held him up as I couldn't accelerate heavily to avoid holding him up. OK I misjudged it s due to the unusual conditions creating unusual driving situation but was definitely a once off as I never hold people up like this. He just had no patience whatsoever.

Some people are thick and if they are used to driving at 140/150kph continue like this in any conditions. Snow, belt on, sheets of rain with no visibility, no bother belt on. In france the motorway speed limit goes down in heavy rain, which makes sense.

DaDumTish wrote: »

There were other cars passing the lorry just before this so I couldn't ok. I didn't do anything on purpose, if the conditions weren't bad I would have flew past the lorry and numpty wouldn't have been held up. Ok then maybe it was a slight misjudgement but nothing deliberate so stop making up stuff in your head. What he did amounted to attempted murder in those conditions. He was inches from my car trying to make me swerve when I had a child in the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

You flicked the bird at him after causing him to brake in heavy rain. And he reacted badly. Well there's a surprise. So he was a few hundred metres back. Did you take the time to see if he was moving at a much greater speed than yourself?

I do not condone trying to run someone off the road, but there's a cohort of drivers out there who think nothing of making rude gestures at people and get all shocked when there's a reaction. You wouldn't do it to someone's face in a shopping centre, so why do it on a motorway? Do you assume there won't be any consequences?

And don't even waste your time going to the Gardai. I have direct experience, and I wasn't the one flicking the bird. Nothing will happen without dashcam footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

mankteln wrote: »

That's why you should always do a shoulder check before you change your lane. Plenty of legal reasons for another vehicle to be in your blind spot along with the potential illegal passing of your left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

OP probably should have waited until Knightrider was past him before overtaking the truck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

It was unusual circumstances for me as in normal conditions I am a fast overtaker and get back into lane 1 quickly as soon as it's safe especially if I see anyone approaching from behind. So maybe the fact that I wanted to get out behind the lorry asap for safety reasons and the fact that I couldn't overtake quickly due to the condition caused the situation so maybe misjudged by me in that way - live and learn. I never caused him any danger/made him break all I did was hold him up for a number of seconds so no need to flash me.

If I'm overtaking a large vehicle throwing up loads of spray I put the foot down and get past ASAP. You are invisible to traffic approaching from behind and you can't see ahead no matter what speed you are doing, so better to get out of the danger zone fast.

If you hadn't stuck the finger he'd have driven on. You did wrong by giving the finger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Report his bad behaviour by all means, but unless you have dash cam footage, it's your word against his.
    "I was safely driving along, preparing to pass a lorry, and an idiot pulled out under my nose.
    Never indicated. Give me the finger, then speeded up to not let me back into my lane"
    Happened me years ago.
    Fellow pulled out onto road from a car park after I passed it, accelerated so close to my bumper, his lights disappeared.
    Then swung left, passed on hard shoulder, pulled out in front, slammed on the brakes, and then swung right and up a slip road.
    Reported him, Guard took statement.
    A different zGuard contacted me a week later, knew the client and not his first motoring infraction.
    Guy claimed he was not driving the car that night.
    Couldn't prove it happened, my word against his.
    Guard rang me on and off for a month, looking for me to withdraw the allegation. I refused, and after six or seven calls they give up.

Del2005 wrote: »
    If I'm overtaking a large vehicle throwing up loads of spray I put the foot down and get past ASAP. You are invisible to traffic approaching from behind and you can't see ahead no matter what speed you are doing, so better to get out of the danger zone fast.

If you hadn't stuck the finger he'd have driven on. You did wrong by giving the finger.

Yes I acknowledged that I was wrong doing that but he was rude in flashing me and I wrongly was rude back. I didn't cause him to brake, he had plenty of time to slow down., it happens me every day when I'm passing out people and you just have to show patience. It was a once off due to the conditions.

He escalated being held up slightly/a slight misjudgement from me in extreme conditions to rudeness, I responded with rudeness and he escalated to intimidation, being totally reckless and risking other peoples lives.

Can't see how i was worse here:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,754 ✭✭✭weisses

The car coming up behind you and flashing their lights is always fault ....I Don't understand the discussion

Try do it with a garda patrol car in front of you or during your driving test ... See how that works for you