Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let’s end door to door sales

• 20-11-2019 11:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭

I would like the power of after hours to do some good over the next few months.

Let’s end door to door sales. I’m sick of them knocking on my door whenever I sit down for dinner. I’m sick of their bosses lying to them about the huge money they will make while they advertise the business while not making any sales or commission.

Can we all, no matter how lonely we are go to the door and shout, I don’t buy anything at the door, then go back to our lives.

I do this. I tell everybody I know to do this. Can you do this?

What else can we end by shouting from behind a closed door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭MoashoaM

I got rid of my door months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

I did it as a summer job when I was 19. Amazingly character building and killed any shyness I had (out of necessity). However, nothing worse than a day in the rain and nothing to show for it if you didn't get a sale, which was over half of the days in what I was selling, even though I was up there with the highest sales people were doing.

I am one of those people who will buy from a door-to-door salesperson though. Partially because I've done it and know it could make someone's day, and partially because in the likes of home electricity there is a loyalty penalty if you don't move promptly after promotional periods often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There should be an opt out where anyone who ignores this calling to your house is fined €5k.

I'm sick of these low life scum calling to the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Had a guy call on Halloween night, now that is some sneaky ass tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Had a guy call on Halloween night, now that is some sneaky ass tactics.

Are you sure it wasn't just a big kid dressed as a door to door salesman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Are you sure it wasn't just a big kid dressed as a door to door salesman?

Ha yes that would be brilliant but unfortunately no.

By the way it's the 2nd time it's happened in the last 6/7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

I've a sign in my door, no unsolicited mail, no sales people, no canvassers - havent had any of the above for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

its like 80 or 50s technique that should been banned ages ago, dont mind fliers if its such a great deal then ok advertise, but better put people on call center support rather exporting it to 3rd world countries, and letting some poor sap make living by trying to sell some service in this day and age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I just don't answer the door unless I'm expecting someone to call, the video doorbell makes it easier to ignore the unwanted callers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭1874

robman60 wrote: »
    I did it as a summer job when I was 19. Amazingly character building and killed any shyness I had (out of necessity). However, nothing worse than a day in the rain and nothing to show for it if you didn't get a sale, which was over half of the days in what I was selling, even though I was up there with the highest sales people were doing.

I am one of those people who will buy from a door-to-door salesperson though. Partially because I've done it and know it could make someone's day, and partially because in the likes of home electricity there is a loyalty penalty if you don't move promptly after promotional periods often.

There are loyalty benefits from changing yourself too, at least one utility has loyalty benefits for existing customers, completely shut the idea down when I saw details of someone on my road on a hardcopy, I appreciate many use tablets now, but why take the risk when the benefits are already available.

Aside from the fact they knock and then persist and then still callback when there was no answer when Im resting up from shift, Id even a chap knock again after I already spoke to him, the same person, not like he was a different person from the same group doing the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Don’t have that issue here. Anyone calls to my home, I can shoot them..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

NSAman wrote: »

And people can shoot up your friends and family in school or work but hey..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

A polite "I don't buy from door to door sales people is all thats required"

They'll get the message quickly when there are no sales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

daheff wrote: »

What if it's 2 or 3 evenings a week when your just home after a day's work and the same companies are calling again within 2 months? It's not far off harrasment.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Never had one call to my house in my life. Have had people from various cults call but never anyone selling anything (other than the promise of eternal life).

irish_goat wrote: »
    Never had one call to my house in my life. Have had people from various cults call but never anyone selling anything (other than the promise of eternal life).

" would you like world peace and an end to suffering" opening line for one lot, havent see the Mormons in years though.

How do they pick areas to target, where I live you get waves of them from time to time, I know other areas where they are rarley seen even in bits of the area that is very wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,809 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Nothing any good is ever sold door to door.
    You can get better stuff in a shop or online, with a guarantee, why would you even bother?

A great deal of it is outright scamming too.

A particular hate are locals calling touting for utilities or insurance companies as if I owe them the custom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I fitted a small switch on the cabinet that houses my fuse board , the switch disconnects my doorbell.

We haven't had a salesman call in years , though one of her dopey sisters regularly reminds me our doorbell doesn't work, she thinks its hilarious as I'm electrician.
    Little does she know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Don't answer the main front door ever. Anyone who knows me and is calling in will knock on the window or tell me on the phone they are there.

Only time recently I did answer was when someone knocked on my own front door to the apartment, which is inside the building. And it was a scumbag scoping out the place, so was glad I answered that time. His friend was upstairs at the other apartments but they left once they realised there was no quick and easy way to steal anything.

I'm thinking of installing some real fake doors to avoid the TV License Inspector and Dee Forbes from getting in.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I am going to start a campaign to have more door to door sales persons, personally I think we dont have enough of them

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,222 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You should never open the door - an unopened door is a happy door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,438 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

irish_goat wrote: »

Same here. That's the joys of country life.
    Although in the summer, you might see a fella selling his gates off the back of a hiace but that seems to have died off too.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Ha! As if that ever works. As soon as you say that you get some wiley response like "is there anyone else in the house then?" "We're not actually selling I just want to see if you might be interested in the current deals we have"

Honestly they are desperate enough folk and it shows. No is saying no thanks and closing the door on their faces before they can get another word in.

I have no sympathy for them either. You decided to call me at my house, my own personal space where I get away from the world and relax. You expect me to give you the time of day when you try and interrupt that?

In a world where ads are stuffed into 30 sec videos. Flyers pushed in your face and constant exhausting advertising everywhere and anywhere. You think it's fair that even the place I'm living you get to come up with this crap unnanounced and expect me to give you the time of day? No and here's a face full of door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

NSAman wrote: »
    Are you Padraig Nally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

One cheeky cûnt who called last year got a hello in and almost an ambulance dialed for him when he put his foot on the rail for my porch door discouraging me from being able to close it.... I had to gently push him away and less gently tell him what might happen if he returned.

chrissb8 wrote: »

In a world where ads are stuffed into 30 sec videos. Flyers pushed in your face and constant exhausting advertising everywhere and anywhere. You think it's fair that even the place I'm living you get to come up with this crap unnanounced and expect me to give you the time of day? No and here's a face full of door.

This ^^^^ 1000%. You can’t watch a video on YouTube, can’t spend a while on Facebook without shît being pushed at you now. If that’s not enough of an invasion wañkers knocking on your door and trying to bully and harass you on your own property. Seems to be an increase of cold calling on phones too which I thought was a thing of the past...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Op is obviously some sort of anti-Capitalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Excuse me OP, can I share with you a message of hope from the bible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

zanador wrote: »
    I've a sign in my door, no unsolicited mail, no sales people, no canvassers - havent had any of the above for years.

Same here.

Bought a sticker like this and placed it directly underneath the doorbell.

https://www.ebay.ie/itm/NO-COLD-CALLERS-SALES-PEOPLE-OR-CANVASSERS-Sticker-1-off-100mm/252162380009?hash=item3ab60c90e9:g:1SUAAOSwo0JWP7z0

Easy and cheap fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭duffman13

There should be an opt out where anyone who ignores this calling to your house is fined €5k.

Probably a bit harsh calling them low life scum, some nice people out there doing a job they likely don't want but desperately need.

I wouldn't buy from them but I wouldnt be rude or a dickhead to someone trying to make a living. Could be sitting on scratcher earning near enough the same money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,590 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Jehovah's Witnesses believe that if you reject their door to door proselytising that's you goosed once Armageddon comes along.

So never answer the door and their god won't murder you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

duffman13 wrote: »
    I wouldn't buy from them but I wouldnt be rude or a dickhead to someone trying to make a living.

They are turning up uninvited to peoples homes, to interrupt them so they can read out scripted advertisements.
    I'd say the rudeness is on their side.

I remember two guys going around the houses and called to my door.
    One was obviously training the other.
    But he started off the conversation by trying/offering to shake my hand.
    I left his hand hanging there in the air until I knew why they were calling.

As soon as I heard it was bloody Phonewatch or whatever, I abruptly stopped their scripted sales act.

That "No cold callers" sign also probably helps deter burglars.
    Burglars will typically try ringing the bell to see if someone was in.
    Those signs would deter them a little more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

I'd really like to see an end to door to door sales too. It's not like it's a man going door-to-door with a sack of washing powder and selling a cupful (which was a thing, look it up)..

It's usually either a cowboy builder/gardener seeking to rip off an old person, or an agent on commission misleading someone.

There should be a register of door to door sellers with tax numbers/company numbers provided as an introduction, a written quote and a cooling off period. Stringent rules surrounding deposits (eg perhaps only may cover a percentage of materials) and no payment required without a valid invoice.

Garda vetting wouldn't be a bad shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Just get a 'no sales calls' sign.

I once did leaflet/junk mail delivery.

I remember one house having the mother of all go away signs.
    Along the lines of no sales, no jesus, no politicians, and a few cayegories, basically one big fck off sign.

And i respect that.

Must get one. Although its difficult to get a tasteful one with the right size.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

My myself and the missus had a row there a while back and i stormed off upstairs to sulk.

Cold caller knocks on the door and the missus answers - she's one of those gobshítes who just can't say no to people so she calls me down (from my high horse / bedroom) to do the dirty work - but i see at the door a vision, a drop dead gorgeous woman, maybe 30 years old, so naturally I see the chance to exact revenge.

I invite her in, offer her tea and biscuits, flirt to my hearts content - I am fúcking smashing this revenge shít. I feel alive!

Anyway, long story short - i now pay over the odds for my broadband and the missus still isn't talking to me.

So yea, i want this shít banned:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I think one of the reasons companies are using them is that the door to door seller can promise X, there's no recording, nothing in writing.
    By the time customer realises what they signed up to isn't what was promised, the agent is probably long gone with the commission and the company doesn't care.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Probably a bit harsh calling them low life scum, some nice people out there doing a job they likely don't want but desperately need.

I wouldn't buy from them but I wouldnt be rude or a dickhead to someone trying to make a living. Could be sitting on scratcher earning near enough the same money

x2,

Calling anyone doing a shite job to try make a living scum, is fairly scummy in itself.

Must be tough, up there at the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I haven't had one call in a long while.

I had a woman call to the house with her kid for a Poppy Appeal collection. The kid was obviously for emotional blackmail, called at 10 o'clock on a Sunday morning and all.

razorblunt wrote: »
    I haven't had one call in a long while.

I had a woman call to the house with her kid for a Poppy Appeal collection. The kid was obviously for emotional blackmail, called at 10 o'clock on a Sunday morning and all.

10 on a fûcking Sunday morning ? Sorry you could be calling with the best will and cause going but all you are getting will be a face full of door, the clown.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,222 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I used to have Eircom calling both by phone and to the door every other day.
    Each time, I'd say that I'd rather cut off my arms than be one of their customers (long story which involved them confirming in writing that they lied to me).
    Anyhow, they would always ignore me and call again a few days later.

In the end I wrote a letter to their Data Protection Officer (whose details at the time were very difficult to find) and demanded that I be removed from all marketing lists with immediate effect. If there were to be any further calls (by phone, door or post) there would be a charge of €10,000 per call.
    After hand delivering the letter into HSQ (and getting receipt), they never once called again!

Still wouldn't go with them, the contemptuous shower of...

What I hate most nowadays is those who start by saying how they aren't selling anything and it transpires that they want my bank details.
    Would you gwan ta feck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

we're with eir, since forever, and electric ireland, since forever too and no intention of changing.
    we've very few callers but if one does then i just tell them i dont do business at my door.

i definitely wouldnt give any details. just a polite no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Do you ever think that maybe, possibly, there's the slightest, small chance that you might be over-reacting just a smidgen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

My parents had an eir sales man at the door . They weren't happy with telecom eireann so signed up.
    Got the router in the post .
    Called them to set it up and they'd never heard of us !
    No money was changed hands but I've always thought of eir as a Mickey mouse operation since.
    Probably just bad timing on their part but still

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Wouldn’t call them that but once you accidentally open the door to this sort surely they can gauge a facial reaction and leave it at that? I try to hear them out but they cannot leave it. Incessant haggling; fight or flight seems to kick in at some point and I don’t want a scene on my doorstep with these people so the only cut off point is when the door once again comes between us. Homer/bush springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I don't get a lot of them but I worked in field sales briefly and this is just about the most miserable job out there.
    These sales people are aware that everyone hates them, the targets are crazy, the pay is bad and you're constantly compared to the one guy who worked there seven years ago and did double the target one week making bazillion euros.
    In that job are around 15% passionate people that eat, breath and sh1t sales and the rest is just so desperate to have any sort of job.
    It's lonely, frustrating and pressure and all in all it's so not worth it.

And I honestly don't know if it's worth to keep field sales in this day and age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

If you want to mess with the Mormons just insist that you will only talk to one of them without the other one. They can't do it because the whole preaching thing is tied them watch and snitching on each other.

The literally aren't allowed be alone or have privacy. It is really messed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I personally don't see any issue with door to door sales people as if I don't know your calling I'm not going to answer the door anyway

Do you ever think that maybe, possibly, there's the slightest, small chance that you might be over-reacting just a smidgen?

I don’t think it’s an over reactive comment, people get fed up to the back teeth of people who call to the door trying to sell things AND who then WONT take no for an answer.

It’s been a significant amount of time since I’ve opened my door to one, I’ll certainly listen out of respect then....”actually sorry, I’m not interested thanks” and just close the door... if they choose to try and continue with a ‘pitch’ not my problem. It’s my house and I’ll decide who I speak to. I don’t fûckin appreciate being forced to entertain unwanted sales pitches on my property...I say enough... get the fûck out of here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Stratvs

https://www.ebay.com/c/1831806285

Maybe one of those is the answer.

We have "No Junk Mail" on letterbox but still get bags for fake charity clothing collections.
    We have a "no door to door sales" under the doorbell. Mostly it works, but there was this one guy who called and when I answered he pointed to it and said, in justification for ringing the bell, "I'm not trying to sell you anything I'm here to save you money". He was from one of the power companies. I had to laugh in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Like anything, anyone who does that and makes a success of it then fair play to them as its not an easy gig. It must be like going around to every girl in the nightclub asking for the ride and being told F-off until you finally get one into the taxi..Just a polite no or don't answer the door, I don't think much of people who get abusive towards them either.