Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emma Watson is Self-partnered? WTF.

• 09-11-2019 11:46pm

Emma Watson is a special kind of eejit.

She thinks of herself as ‘self partnered’, rather than single.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/self-partnered-emma-watson-the-sudden-rise-of-the-single-positivity-movement-1.4074875

I think she should just accept that it’s okay to be single and happy if that’s how you are.

The self-partnered thing is just sad and a bit pathetic. I can’t help but think she’s probably deeply unhappy and unfulfilled, on her own. Not surprising really, with the sheite she spouts to anyone who listens. Who’d love that? We all know some sad old spinster, but she’s well on her way and far in advance of her years. I bet she has cats though.

She needs someone to tell her to cop-the-f***-on before she ends up a wrinkled old man-hating dose of misery with a legacy consisting of no more than a few kids films and a load of bitter whinging and excuse-making on talk shows.

I hope people see her as the plonker she is. You’re not supposed to accept life on your own, not at her age. WTF has gone wrong in her head?

dose of misery, is it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

Self partnered is just a stupid self coined term, she’s an Incel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,438 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'd go one further and describe myself as 'self lover'.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

She's just single - not self partnered, not an incel. Single.
    JayZeus wrote: »

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/self-partnered-emma-watson-the-sudden-rise-of-the-single-positivity-movement-1.4074875

I think she should just accept that it’s okay to be single and happy if that’s how you are.

The self-partnered thing is just sad and a bit pathetic. I can’t help but think she’s probably deeply unhappy and unfulfilled, on her own. Not surprising really, with the sheite she spouts to anyone who listens. Who’d love that? We all know some sad old spinster, but she’s well on her way and far in advance of her years. I bet she has cats though.

She needs someone to tell her to cop-the-f***-on before she ends up a wrinkled old man-hating dose of misery with a legacy consisting of no more than a few kids films and a load of bitter whinging and excuse-making on talk shows.

I hope people see her as the plonker she is. You’re not supposed to accept life on your own, not at her age. WTF has gone wrong in her head?
    Crikey, it's a stupid expression and she seems like a bit of an eejit and yeah a "single positivity" movement just seems like protesting too much, but that's it. What's all the other venom in aid of?! Why the dig about cats and the mention of a "sad" old spinster?

I'd go one further and describe myself as 'self lover'.

[penny_drop]

Self-partnered = A wanker.

[/penny_drop]

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Why the dig about cats and the mention of a "sad" old spinster?

worst crime a woman can commit in life to be fair

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Does that not mean she jills off a lot?

If it doesn't, don't tell me... Let me keep that image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

The most over rated looking woman on the planet.

She's just single - not self partnered, not an incel. Single.

Crikey, it's a stupid expression and she seems like a bit of an eejit and yeah a "single positivity" movement just seems like protesting too much, but that's it. What's all the other venom in aid of?! Why the dig about cats and the mention of a "sad" old spinster?

Venom? Dig?

Yeah, try reading my post again without taking it as something directed at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'm going to tell the fiancee I'm now a Daily Life Existence Sharer.

She'll be thrilled I'm sure.

Venom? Dig?

Yeah, try reading my post again without taking it as something directed at you.
    Where did I indicate I took it as something directed at me? It was directed at Emma Watson obviously. And I actually agreed with a lot of it but then it started to escalate into strange anger, and she's a fairly young woman so "sad old spinster" isn't relevant. Nor is having a cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Damn I wish I was self partners with her

Omackeral wrote: »
    The most over rated looking woman on the planet.
    Not really anymore because of her wokeness, but before that, yeah, I could never understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Does she talk to her partner I wonder?

A three some would be interesting..
    And on that note I'm off to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

potter-broomstick.jpg

Where did I indicate I took it as something directed at me? It was directed at Emma Watson obviously. And I actually agreed with a lot of it but then it started to escalate into strange anger, and she's a fairly young woman so "sad old spinster" isn't relevant. Nor is having a cat.

Escalate? Read the first line of my OP. Again. Fairly consistent throughout. Strange anger? She’s a dope. She’s an irritating actress who thinks the world should pay attention to the drivel she comes out with.

Nah, being an ‘attractive’, wealthy, apparently healthy and single woman aged 29, trying to convince the world that she’s ‘happy’ with that is absolutely the kind of stuff that will lead her to remain single until she’s a sad and lonely old woman with cats she says are her ‘babies’.

She should make a truly fulfilling life with someone. There’s no such thing on your own. You can be happy, but that’s not a full life to have led if you do so by choice.

So yeah, old sad spinster, at 30. Guaranteed she’ll have cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Augme

Personally I think your reaction to Emma Watson is a lot more pathetic then her using the term self partnered. Did she ignore your fan mail or something?

So what's the story then? Does it mean you are not looking for anyone at all and would turn down everyone as if you were in a relationship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Escalate? Read the first line of my OP. Again. Fairly consistent throughout. Strange anger? She’s a dope. She’s an irritating actress who thinks the world should pay attention to the drivel she comes out with.

Nah, being an ‘attractive’, wealthy, apparently healthy and single woman aged 29, trying to convince the world that she’s ‘happy’ with that is absolutely the kind of stuff that will lead her to remain single until she’s a sad and lonely old woman with cats she says are her ‘babies’.

She should make a truly fulfilling life with someone. There’s no such thing on your own. You can be happy, but that’s not a full life to have led if you do so by choice.

“Be ****ing happy like me you sad spinster dope!” a ‘happy’ man yelled at someone who didn’t ask him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

She can be a bit over passionate in her approach to things which I find very cringy and hard to listen to but I watched an interview with her and she said her term 'self partnered' was coined as a response to the constant questions about her being single and when she would get a boyfriend, get married and have kids.

Most single women know how annoying and intrusive those questions can be, especially people in relationships, sometimes talk to single women over a certain age like their desperate for love and need a partner when in fact thats them projecting their own feelings onto other people. Most single people are actually very happy being single.

Instead of explaining herself every time she was asked about her love life she said she was self partnered, the phrase grew wings and seems its come back to bite her as now she's been asked about this term and has to explain herself and her singleness further.

The way she says it makes her sound preachy.

It definitely seems like protesting too much (well maybe not - just seeing Airyfairy's post now).

But... you can't be fulfilled single? Depends on the person surely. If a person themselves feel they cannot be fulfilled single - that's them but they can't read other people's minds.

Are bachelors "sad" for the crime of being single (which doesn't affect people who don't know them)?

And she might have dogs - or no pets. All kinds of people have cats - some people take too much of their cues from TV.

No, at 30 she's not a sad (why sad?) "old" spinster.

Welcome back, Jay. Always bring a dash of colour to this corner of boards. With a ripple of humour beneath the surface that others overlook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Good for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

Still think there's something about her that's just .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

This is a new one to me....

Imfedel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Gonad

That’s why I’ve managed to stay single this whole time

https://media0.giphy.com/media/l3fZTOPfzmcdPlek8/giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭goalscoringhero

JayZeus is a special kind of eejit.

They are pretty judgemental of other single folks who perceive themselves as ’self-partnered’

I think JayZeus should just accept that it’s okay for others to perceive themselves as self-partnered and be happy if that’s how they are.

The judgemental thing is just sad and a bit pathetic. I can’t help but think JayZeus is probably deeply unhappy and unfulfilled, on their own. Not surprising really, with the sheite they spout to anyone who listens. Who’d love that? We all know some sad old spinster, but JayZeus are well on their way and far in advance of their years. I bet they have cats though.

They need someone to tell them to cop-the-f***-on before they end up a wrinkled old man-hating dose of misery with a legacy consisting of no more than a few After Hours posts and a load of bitter whinging and excuse-making on other forums.

I hope people see them as the plonker they are. You’re not supposed to accept life on your own, not at their age. WTF has gone wrong in their head?

That's some over the top vitriolic reaction to a stupid phrase coined by someone you consider an eejit.

The option is there to ignore her, and move on with your life.

It definitely seems like protesting too much (well maybe not - just seeing Airyfairy's post now).

But... you can't be fulfilled single? Depends on the person surely. If a person themselves feel they cannot be fulfilled single - that's them but they can't read other people's minds.

Are bachelors "sad" for the crime of being single (which doesn't affect people who don't know them)?

And she might have dogs - or no pets. All kinds of people have cats - some people take too much of their cues from TV.

No, at 30 she's not a sad (why sad?) "old" spinster.

Your life will never be truly fulfilled if it’s not shared with someone you love. You might be happy with your life, but that is not at all the same thing.

Also, it’s ‘sad old spinster’, because ending up as a spinster (old, look it up) is indeed a sad way to end an unfulfilled life.

Same goes for sad old men who made poor decisions that lead them to spend their lives without the joy of sharing it with another.

And she is definitely going to end up alone except for her cats if she doesn’t cop on to herself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

At least you didn't get worked up about it, OP

/looks up old - nope, it's not aged 30.

Weird when people post something for opinions and then object greatly to opinions being given. Good bit of that here.

Very weird to be bothered by others being single (and it clearly is a "bothered" post, before the denial starts).

Stupid woman, being happy single. Obviously she's wrong.

She should know better - like the OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Self partnered= f**ks herself. Fair play enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Your life will never be truly fulfilled if it’s not shared with someone you love. You might be happy with your life, but that is not at all the same thing.

Also, it’s ‘sad old spinster’, because ending up as a spinster (old, look it up) is indeed a sad way to end an unfulfilled life.

Same goes for sad old men who made poor decisions that lead them to spend their lives without the joy of sharing it with another.

And she is definitely going to end up alone except for her cats if she doesn’t cop on to herself.

This post illustrates exactly why she had to make up this new phrase. I couldn't really see her point until I read this. Thanks OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Ralphyroo

The term self partnered is a bit ridiculous but you would never ever see a Male celebrity in his late twenties being asked why he hasn't got a wife/husband, or is he afraid of dying alone with his cats.
    Such utter crap.
    Are you married OP? Or with a significant other?
    I find Emma Watson slightly irritating because she seems to be the spokesperson for all sorts of "woke" ****. But I don't think it's a bad thing that shes happy to be happy on her own. And I think its absolute bull**** that a 29 year old woman has to justify being single.
    What's her alternatives. Wait till she meets someone who makes her happy and she makes happy.
    Or settle for some gob****e like you

Welcome back, Jay. Always bring a dash of colour to this corner of boards. With a ripple of humour beneath the surface that others overlook.
    Remember now, tigger likes the chicken and toby prefers the tuna.
    Nah BH, their posts are dripping with spite actually. Thought you'd see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I'm lost for words.....

This is a **** shoe

/looks up old - nope, it's not aged 30.

Weird when people post something for opinions and then object greatly to opinions being given. Good bit of that here.

Very weird to be bothered by others being single (and it clearly is a "bothered" post, before the denial starts).

Weird when people think serious opinions are being sought. Or when they think anger lies beneath the surface. Or when they think their expressed opinion holds more validity than another, here, in After Hours.

Do not watch Falling Down, John Wick or The Enforcer. They will break you, even though they’re created for pure entertainment. You’ll wring your wrists so badly your fingers will fall off and you’ll never be able to open the ring pull on the tin of Sheba or unlock the front door to go buy chips in your dressing gowns.

I suppose the cats will get a decent meal, eventually, whilst with any luck Emma Watson will read about it all in the Sunday World and see the error of her ways. She’ll go get someone to love, live happily ever after and stop telling people it’s okay to accept life as a sad spinster with a dozen cats is an okay way to go.

Christ...

Why would anyone give an interview these days?

You're pressed with annoying questions as to your relationship status (why do of care what actors think or do about anything as long as they can act ? Daniel Day Lewis is anonymous outside of acting, I don't manu to know his opinions on anything), and make an off the cuff remark and this happens

We hold actors to very high standards. Can she act should be all that is important when talking about an actor (she's not great for the record)

There’s an awful lot of ye now disagreeing with my take on Miss Watsons predicament. Grand so. But you won’t be getting any responses on the personal questions your asking me. Because it’s both irrelevant and beneath me to discuss my fullfilled personal life with strangers on the nerdweb.

All I’ll say is that there’s a fair few of ye are probably single and happy enough to be so. Grand. You likely don’t know what you’re missing out on or if you do have an inkling you’re terrified of what it means to openly acknowledge you’re basically alone and don’t want to be so.

Either way, Emma Watson’s full of crap and she’s definitely a cat lady in the making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

You tell her OP. You tell Emma Watson about her unfulfilled life of having achieved more in her life than most people will ever achieve in their lifetimes. You tell her with her level-headed approach to the media spotlight and her advocacy work on the international political stage as an ambassador for the UN.

Or, you could just acknowledge that you’re talking shìte, you’re drunk, something which might possibly explain why you give a shìte for Emma Watson’s welfare as though she should ever care what your thoughts are on how she chooses to live her life.

I’d say she happens to be doing quite well for herself and her expression that she is self-partnered is just Emma Watson being Emma Watson. It’s fine, she’s happy. Good for her. It’s not an expression I’d use myself, but I can think of many more worthwhile things to be bothered about than Emma Watson’s welfare :pac:

Nah BH, their posts are dripping with spite actually. Thought you'd see that.

On the contrary, surely cannot be alone in finding some of the invective hilarious.

Some people go clubbing on a Saturday night, this thread is infinitely more entertaining.

I knew it.

Her cats are Bubbles and Domino.

Microwave dinners for one, 3 for 2 in Iceland.

Brigit Jones Diary and a nice cardigan, she’ll be all set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Self partnered is just a stupid self coined term, she’s an Incel.

I don't think you understand what incel means

On the contrary, surely cannot be alone in finding some of the invective hilarious.
    No just personal and nasty.

You tell her OP. You tell Emma Watson about her unfulfilled life of having achieved more in her life than most people will ever achieve in their lifetimes. You tell her with her level-headed approach to the media spotlight and her advocacy work on the international political stage as an ambassador for the UN.

Or, you could just acknowledge that you’re talking shìte, you’re drunk, something which might possibly explain why you give a shìte for Emma Watson’s welfare as though she should ever care what your thoughts are on how she chooses to live her life.

I’d say she happens to be doing quite well for herself and her expression that she is self-partnered is just Emma Watson being Emma Watson. It’s fine, she’s happy. Good for her. It’s not an expression I’d use myself, but I can think of many more worthwhile things to be bothered about than Emma Watson’s welfare :pac:

You’d be mistaken if you think I care about any of that. She’s another celebrity looking for things to do that make her feel valued. She’d find more meaning and happiness if she had someone to go home to that didn’t leave furballs on the sitting room floor. Until then, let’s just let her pretend she’s as happy on her own as she could be if she went and found someone.

No just personal and nasty.

I think you should just ignore me. I’m not good for you and I’m clearly not into you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I knew it. Her cats are Bubbles and Domino.

What's wrong with cats? Cats are great.

You okay hun?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 391 ✭✭Professor Genius

She’d want to wind her long neck in if she wants to get a decent dose of prime length.

What's wrong with cats? Cats are great.

You okay hun?

Cats are indeed great.

No cat would ever make up for the absence of the person I wake up beside each morning.

No, Wrinkles Watson, not even a dozen cats.