Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Outsider - HBO *Spoilers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I don't know anything about this story but that scene
    where the girl said 'No!'
    made me jump!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

It's an interesting one. The first half of the book is excellent but the second half is truly appalling so if they take it in a different approach it could be good.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Man, what IS with all the King adaptations at the moment, they truly are everywhere. Presumably the author himself is getting a tidy line of cheques in the post over the last couple of years.

This looks interesting, suitably creepy, and another case of Bateman stretching his dramatic acting chops, though his range isn't exactly wide & varied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,830 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Why oh why change one of the main characters (who's established in another TB & Book series) to a completely different person? I really dont understand why that had to be done.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭blueshade

The book was OK, nothing special so I don't think I'd bother with this. I didn't watch Pet Semetary, the old one was creepy enough and this one looked too real, especially since we lost 2 pets this year. Since the release of IT there's been a rush to cash in on remakes of his back catalogue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

It starts on Sky Atlantic 13th of January 2020 at 9pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Really enjoyed the opening double episode.

I hadn't read the book so didn't know what I was heading into and I don't know what the King ending is.

Great performances so far from Bateman & Mendelsohn.

Just hope like all King adaptations the show runners can actually pull an ending out of it that King usually gives.

1 and 2: Oh jeez.. this show can be damn creepy in places!

Every freakin time it
    goes to yer mans wife and daugthers house and they are alone/in the dark it feels like there's gonna be a jump scare!

The victim
    and his family :( The kid murdered, mother heart attack, brother dead and father.. braindead? F**k!

WTF
    did yer man do to the kid? Sodomised and... Eat through his backbones? It looked like he'd been hollowed out.. but I didn't really stick around long enough to get a good look.
    WTF
    happened to that pig/boar/warthog thing? Are they implying there's a connection?

Because of Mindhunter, I'm checking crowds in the background to see if there might be any hints.

Then there's this
    guy in the hoodie.. I'm not sure he's the culprit here.. but there's definitely something up. It looks like he's been burned alive in a fire but survived? He might be a red herring.

One possibility is
    this other detective .. who obviously know detective stuff.. and hunts and maybe did that to the pig/boar/warthog thing,

Will have to see what's up with
    this nurse.
    The other clues I'm seeing are the cut with this nurse. So then that's blood that could have been used in the van. Fingerprints are probably easy to copy.
    Then it would seem that the family has a stalker.

Before that was all coming together, I was thinking..
    supernaturl: doppelganger or non-supernatural: twin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Butson

Haven't read the books.
    First two episodes brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I read the book when it first came out and enjoyed and this is a faithful adaptation so far, has a bit of a True Detective Season 1 vibe about it and there is some supernatural elements to it. Really enjoying it so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭This is it

Brilliant so far, really enjoyed the two episodes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Echo the above, I know nothing about the book and went into this with a completely clean slate. First two episodes extremely promising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Just watched the first two episodes and I’m really enjoying it. Getting a True Detective vibe from it as well. Maybe a little Bosch?

I’m looking forward to the next one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Really reminds me of True Detective also. The same atmosphere of foreboding and gloom, the same beautifully shot panoramic camera-work. The autumnal, dusky kinda look.

:eek: :(

3:
    The scene in the barn
    creeped me out
    The scene with the shadow passing the little girl
    creeped me out

WTF was
    that about in the prison!

Ooooo boy this show is creepy.

Slydice wrote: »

WTF was
    that about in the prison!
    What happened Terry Maitland has happened before, unfortunately not everyone has an alibi as strong as his though, hence being in prison
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

DvB wrote: »
    What happened Terry Maitland has happened before, unfortunately not everyone has an alibi as strong as his though, hence being in prison
    so who was the guy coming to kill him? a relative of the victims maybe?

sweetie wrote: »
    so who was the guy coming to kill him? a relative of the victims maybe?
    Could have been anyone, assume child killers are considered the lowest of the low in the criminal community with no shortage of people willing to inflict violence on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭thatsmighty

Enjoying this show greatly

I half had that much. I was wondering
    what made the guy kill himself instead of trying to live/fight

Slydice wrote: »
    I half had that much. I was wondering
    what made the guy kill himself instead of trying to live/fight
    IIRC in the book it was explained as the injustice of it all that made him commit suicide rather than allow someone do him harm on the basis he was a child killer when he knew he wasn't & had been wrongfully imprisoned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭peddlelies

First two episodes were brilliant.

Bit of an "under the dome vibe" off the third, which isn't a good thing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭ollkiller

Watched all 3 episodes now. Loving it. Acting is fantastic. Great sense of dread and a True Detective vibe to it. Easily the best thing on TV at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

watched the first 3 last night. excellent start. see the true detective similarities. score really adds to the sense of dread and creepiness

OmegaGene wrote: »
    Holly gibney name seemed familiar and then it clicked with me, mr Mercedes.
    Episode 3 has me wanting more

Thats the one thing so far thats disappointing me. In the book its the same Holly Gibney as in Mr Mercedes and it even references events in that trilogy, but they've gone in a completely different direction here which is a shame as the outsider is listed as the first in the Holly Gibney series of books King is meant to be working on.

I prefer this character version

We'll agree to disagree so.

I prefer the way Justine Lupe plays the part as to me its incredibly like the character as I had pictured her when reading the books.

To be fair though i've only seen her in 1 episode so far, happy to see how the series (& her character) develops.

We'll agree to disagree so.

I prefer the way Justine Lupe plays the part as to me its incredibly like the character as I had pictured her when reading the books.

To be fair though i've only seen her in 1 episode so far, happy to see how the series (& her character) develops.

I agree, silly decision by the producers of this show. It would be different if Mr Mercedes was off the air but the actress on that show nails the Holly from the books. It's a shame HBO didn't do a deal with AT&T Audience to use the same actress in both series.

Glad its not just me that thinks Justine Lupe nails it. I thought she was superb in Mr Mercedes & actually pictured her in the part when reading the outsider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

AT&T owns HBO and Warner Bros and they will be closing down The Audience Network original shows later this year and move them into HBO Max.

So they could quiet easily have used the same actress however she is a very in demand actress at the moment so maybe she wasn't available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

Episode 4 was another good one although I think the guy from the stripclub, one of the cops and a character from this episode all look a bit similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭Homelander

Without reading spoilers - incredible show. Please watch it. It kills me that shows this good fall by the wayside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Butson

A lot of people on the reddit page not impressed with the supernatural route its going down.
    Surely that's whats going for it?

Otherwise its just another detective show?

I think its great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Liking this but my god it's a bit on the slow side.

I haven’t read the book/books but I thought that it was clear from day one that’s where it was going

In the books it (not plot spoilers but I'll add a tag anyway)
    comes out of absolutely nowhere around 60% of the way through, with essentially

"hey y'know this thing that happened that we can't explain, uh... what if it's something supernatural that I saw in this film once".
    "oh yeah, cool, why not"

Up until then it appears to be a mystery who-dunnit thriller, and it completely spoilt the book for me as a result.

They're going the right approach with the TV show for getting it in much earlier.

Cina wrote: »
    In the books it (not plot spoilers but I'll add a tag anyway)
    comes out of absolutely nowhere around 60% of the way through, with essentially

"hey y'know this thing that happened that we can't explain, uh... what if it's something supernatural that I saw in this film once".
    "oh yeah, cool, why not"

Up until then it appears to be a mystery who-dunnit thriller, and it completely spoilt the book for me as a result.

They're going the right approach with the TV show for getting it in much earlier.

Bizarre how different people can have different perspectives.
    When I was reading the book, to the best of my memory anyway, I was barely into it when I was aware of there being a
    supernatural element, in fact IIRC it was well identified by the events in the barn, surrounding Terrys murder at the courthouse & the appearance of the outsider to Terry's daughter & the other cop
    I certainly had been well aware of it prior to Holly Gibneys appearance & subsequent suggestion displayed through
    playing the movie on her laptop
    I might have to go back & read it again. To be fair it wasn't a long read.

Standman wrote: »
    Liking this but my god it's a bit on the slow side.

My Mrs said the exact same thing last night.

Bizarre how different people can have different perspectives.
    When I was reading the book, to the best of my memory anyway, I was barely into it when I was aware of there being a
    supernatural element, in fact IIRC it was well identified by the events in the barn, surrounding Terrys murder at the courthouse & the appearance of the outsider to Terry's daughter & the other cop
    I certainly had been well aware of it prior to Holly Gibneys appearance & subsequent suggestion displayed through
    playing the movie on her laptop
    I might have to go back & read it again. To be fair it wasn't a long read.
    Right but in the book
    Terry's murder only happened around half way through, as I recall, the events of the barn were after that. The first two episodes of the TV show actually cover the first 300 pages of the book, in the first two episodes there's nothing potentially supernatural beyond the elephant faced hoodie guy, and he's not even mentioned in the book at that stage.

The barn (second half of the book) is where things get a bit weird but it's not until Holly comes along that they start talking about some non-human killer instead of giving us a rational explanation for a murder we've spent 300-400 pages trying to piece together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

nc6000 wrote: »
    Episode 4 was another good one although I think the guy from the stripclub, one of the cops and a character from this episode all look a bit similar.

I didn't even recognise him as being played by Paddy Considine at first.
    I saw his name in the credits and had to look back through it.

Cina wrote: »
    Right but in the book
    Terry's murder only happened around half way through, as I recall, the events of the barn were after that. The first two episodes of the TV show actually cover the first 300 pages of the book, in the first two episodes there's nothing potentially supernatural beyond the elephant faced hoodie guy, and he's not even mentioned in the book at that stage.

The barn (second half of the book) is where things get a bit weird but it's not until Holly comes along that they start talking about some non-human killer instead of giving us a rational explanation for a murder we've spent 300-400 pages trying to piece together.

Maybe it was my perception of the authors back catalogue affecting my judgement but i remembered the direction towards
    supernatural
    stuff starting earlier, in saying that you may have read it more recently than I have & I have a skewed perception looking back but I definitely felt long before half way into the book that this wasn't a straightforward murder hunt/detective novel, so i'd be very surprised at many being caught out and percieving it as a 'twist' or suchlike.

4: Eerie music but not as creepy this time. The investigation feels really compelling. The
    cop dumping all the stuff in the woods was wierd. Feels like he's been body snatched but I could've sworn the thing that dropped into the horse stall in the barn before the attack seemed bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

Very good show if it is supernatural then he it has his helpers with spreading it around a bit like a ........ virus

Feels a bit like a long X-Files episode. Really enjoying it though

5: Ok I thought the creepiest bit this episode was
    the dream the Asian cop had where the hoodie looming over her baby.

Guessing that maybe
    Hoodie is like a controller and the cop is being remote controlled. That the guy who died by SWAT team was a previous controlled.

I find it a little strange how the detective is being given two warnings to stop investigating or he will die, but anyone else just gets killed along with their entire family

The actress playing holly has really nailed it, I don’t think the one from mr Mercedes would come across as good she isn’t as mature imo

Disagree this Holly is nowhere near the socially inept lady portrayed in the book and the actress who plays her in Mr Mercedes. I'd go as far as to say they should have just introduced this character as a new character.

I’m not going from the books at all just purely the tv, the screws in mr Mercedes came across like an awkward teen than a private investigator and I couldn’t imagine to police even listening to her
    Maybe they should have changed the name totally
    That's how she is portrayed in the books and Mr Mercedes TV series my memory might be wrong but I don't recall her having a love interest like in this show. So I agree they should just gone with a different character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

Disagree this Holly is nowhere near the socially inept lady portrayed in the book and the actress who plays her in Mr Mercedes. I'd go as far as to say they should have just introduced this character as a new character.
    Absolutely agree. No doubt I'll be leapt on and accused of racism but the actress isn't right for the role. She feels like she's playing a role and she's playing it badly imo. I read the Mr Mercedes books and watched the TV versions, her character is white and this actress was a diversity pick. Holly's character was well established and choosing an ethnic minority actress to play her is ridiculous. It would be nice if they started being true to the books and stopped trying to force diversity down everyone's throats.

It's not even a race thing probably blame the screen writers on this but here is an example from Mr Mercedes and that Holly I said to myself when watching that she nailed it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I haven't watched Mr. Mercedes. But that actor seems to play her a bit less mature than in the outsider.