Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another example of that extraordinary Dublin 'wit'.

• 14-10-2019 3:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭

I was sent this earlier on the whatsapp.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/dhfid9/dublin_man_leaves_funny_recording_for_his_funeral/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x

Turns out that some 'gas ticket' from Dublin died during the week, and his immediate family decided to follow his last wishes by placing a speaker in his coffin so they could play back a real slice of legendary Dublin wit from the recently departed right after they had lowered him down. It amounted to some 'True Blue' with a voice that would cut glass going 'let me fooken' out, it's fooken baken' in here' etc etc . Seems he decided to record it before he departed off this mortal coil.

You can watch and listen to it for yourself, but is there anything less funny than a native of our capital city who thinks of themself as a funny guy? The entire video is a difficult watch to be honest - the recording at the graveside; the deeply uncomfortable priest having to witness this vulgarity, the lack of dignity in death; the desperation of the man himself to have wanted this as they lowered him down?

What say the good people of AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Listened to his son on joe Duffy tell the story behind it ,
    Dad was diagnosed twice with cancer and it was during treatment first time around he came up with the idea ,

Best funeral ever - only shame is many more will follow trying to out do this one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

giphy.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 322 ✭✭SJW Lover

is there anything less funny than a native of our capital city who thinks of themself as a funny guy?

Yes. Cancer is less funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Lance-kun

Sounds like he knew his friends and family would laugh at it. Talk about being a wet blanket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Offerings

A stranger called and sat in our sitting room, and drank tea.
    He asked questions about my father,
    whilst he lay in his coffin beside us.

We did not point to the offerings around the house that would have shown his character;

The jar of marbles and the catapult by the window
    for accurate sniping on barking dogs.
    The brass pipe, and Moroccan hash on the shelf,
    partook for pleasure, and later for the pain.

The clean pitch and putt clubs, and dusty trophies,
    the unfinished joke book, punchlines impotent without his charms

The biscuit tins of trinkets, dart shafts and flights, dead batteries and lost shillings,
    precious coins he hoarded for sentimental reasons.

We didn't produce family albums,
    Pictures and memories, singing in the car,
    tayto flaked ice cream melting in our laps,
    as we sang the chorus.

We wouldn't speak ill of the dead,
    or the burdens we carried in our hearts,
    of rages and stubbornness,
    of tempers and alcohol,
    till he mellowed from the pipe.

We spoke instead in circles,
    in clichés and banal generalities,
    unable to express adequately the booming laughs that followed him,
    or the pain that we couldn't.

So we boxed him up and posted him to the Cathedral.
    My sister sang like an angel and made me cry,
    and the stranger gave the homily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Ah it goes on a bit and the language is unnecessary (somebody think of the childer!) but that is actually quite funny (at the start at least)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I’m no fan of Dublin or the capital’s native “wit” but this discussion is far more tasteless than a dead man’s wish for giving his grieving family a crumb of comfort.

I would tell the original poster that it doesn’t really matter if he wouldn’t pull such a stunt at his own funeral, if you keep going through life with that attitude no-one will be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Didn't find the prank to be all that funny. A little cringe for my tastes.

Having a pop at the deceased is low enough through. I'm sure it brought a bit of comfort tk his kids and grandkids.

I'm all for criticising dubs (annoying loud voices, terrible humour, dress in tracksuits, West brits etc etc). No need to slag off someone's dead grandad to do it.

RIP to the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Dem Dubs are de salt of de earth. Won't hear a wurd said against them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Another bash Dublin thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

major bill wrote: »

Racism at its worst ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

major bill wrote: »

It's the inferiority complex. . . :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

From Dublin, don’t find it that funny tbh but if you knew him probably makes sense. I think for it to be touching it needed a nice message at the end, it just comes across weird. But it seemed to get a laugh from those grieving so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

respecting a dying mans wishes? ****ing dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It would have been better without all the swearing but “each to their own”, as they say.

Sure does beat the “country” model of funeral, keeping the deceased in the living room, the poor widow/daughter/sister/daughter-in-law run off her feet plying anyone who’s turned up from a 50 mile radius with “hang sangwiches” and having to put up with them until all the booze in the house runs out.

Then back at it again after the funeral, throngs of strangers trying to take as much free food and free drink as they can hold inside themselves while barely giving as much a “nod” of condolence to the grieving family.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

Some extraordinary Dublin "wit" there alright. :rolleyes:
    Talk about going out in style. Nothing classy here.
    They should have just stopped after the bagpipes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Fair play to him.

Clearly not a dry ****e like some here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

every second funeral will be trying to out do it now.

There’ll be lads and ladies singing their fave abba song

Ppl giving final thoughts on life death

Ppl settling scores with enemies

It’ll be just great ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Ppl settling scores with enemies

"And now we move onto liars..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

It would have been better without all the swearing but “each to their own”, as they say.

Sure does beat the “country” model of funeral, keeping the deceased in the living room, the poor widow/daughter/sister/daughter-in-law run off her feet plying anyone who’s turned up from a 50 mile radius with “hang sangwiches” and having to put up with them until all the booze in the house runs out.

Then back at it again after the funeral, throngs of strangers trying to take as much free food and free drink as they can hold inside themselves while barely giving as much a “nod” of condolence to the grieving family.
    I'm from the country and both my parents have passed and to be honest I loved that everyone came to the house. For my mother's wake at the house, it was a dry affair (so no scroungers looking for free booze :rolleyes:) and I was the resident sandwich maker. It gave me something to do and I was touched by the amount of people who came to pay their respects. People I'd never met before in my life who had gone to primary school with her. It gave a different perspective hearing them talk about her. And loads of people brought food with them for us. It wasn't all take, take, take.

After her funeral there was a free bar at the wake but people didn't take the p1ss and the bill wasn't that bad. The day after the funeral when the house was empty was the worst. Both me and my sister wanted everyone to come back to distract us from the awful emptiness we felt once it was all over but such is life and you have to learn to move on.

I don't know if you just have a warped view of country life or you come from a really strange part of the country where people turn into scabs when someone dies but I will be forever grateful to everyone who supported my family through two funerals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

That simply doesn't happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

What I say is that “What say you?” is a really annoying expression, Aongus Johnny.

If the burial means something to his loved ones and comforts them, that’s what matters.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I'm from the country and both my parents have passed and to be honest I loved that everyone came to the house. For my mother's wake at the house, it was a dry affair (so no scroungers looking for free booze :rolleyes:) and I was the resident sandwich maker. It gave me something to do and I was touched by the amount of people who came to pay their respects. People I'd never met before in my life who had gone to primary school with her. It gave a different perspective hearing them talk about her. And loads of people brought food with them for us. It wasn't all take, take, take.

After her funeral there was a free bar at the wake but people didn't take the p1ss and the bill wasn't that bad. The day after the funeral when the house was empty was the worst. Both me and my sister wanted everyone to come back to distract us from the awful emptiness we felt once it was all over but such is life and you have to learn to move on.

I don't know if you just have a warped view of country life or you come from a really strange part of the country where people turn into scabs when someone dies but I will be forever grateful to everyone who supported my family through two funerals.

Having had been part of two very large country funerals, they were both exhausting affairs. The country funeral has its nice parts but also some parts I find a bit taxing and cruel even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

F*ckin' hilarious in my book. Guy died like a boss. Fair play to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Having had been part of two very large country funerals, they were both exhausting affairs. The country funeral has its nice parts but also some parts I find a bit taxing and cruel even.
    Each to their own and we had different experiences but what aspect did you find cruel? I'm not having a go and don't want to come across as disrespectful. Just trying to understand the different perspective.

Thought the idea was funny, but it wasn't executed very well. Should have cut out the language a bit. Seems a bit crude and tasteless for a (his own) funeral.

That said, he knew he was dying, he obviously made a joke out of it and I'm sure any kids he had, or that attended, had a good laugh at it. They knew him better than I do, seen as I never met him, so I'd expect those at the grave appreciated his humour a bit better than us randomers online would.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Each to their own and we had different experiences but what aspect did you find cruel? I'm not having a go and don't want to come across as disrespectful. Just trying to understand the different perspective.

The funeral I attended as a teenager where a girl from my school was killed in a car crash. I think 10,000 visited the funeral home and her parents didn’t interact with anyone and were completely in shock. They sat by her (closed) coffin with their faces contorted in pain, her father clutching a frames picture of her. Honestly one of the saddest, cruellest things I’ve ever seen and they probably just organised it all on autopilot because it was the “done thing”.

My friend’s uncle’s funeral last year. His widow had people calling to her door on the way home from the pub the night before the burial to “pay their respects”. Uh huh, real respectful, keeping somebody burying their husband the next morning up ‘til all hours. She had a ‘House Private’ notice for the morning of the burial. People could have used their cop on there.

I’m having a closed casket at my funeral. Don’t want that person I didn’t like in school gawping at me. Only close friends and family will be invited to a viewing. My parents will want the funeral home bit but people stopping by should just be there to sympathise, not gawp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Good for him.

Never go quietly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

He was too cool for school for sure.

Personally I find it tasteless. Graveyard should be a place for respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

The funeral I attended as a teenager where a girl from my school was killed in a car crash. I think 10,000 visited the funeral home and her parents didn’t interact with anyone and were completely in shock. They sat by her (closed) coffin with their faces contorted in pain, her father clutching a frames picture of her. Honestly one of the saddest, cruellest things I’ve ever seen and they probably just organised it all on autopilot because it was the “done thing”.

My friend’s uncle’s funeral last year. His widow had people calling to her door on the way home from the pub the night before the burial to “pay their respects”. Uh huh, real respectful, keeping somebody burying their husband the next morning up ‘til all hours. She had a ‘House Private’ notice for the morning of the burial. People could have used their cop on there.

I’m having a closed casket at my funeral. Don’t want that person I didn’t like in school gawping at me. Only close friends and family will be invited to a viewing. My parents will want the funeral home bit but people stopping by should just be there to sympathise, not gawp.

House private doesn't apply to Mary and Joe, sure weren't they talking last Christmas.

The whole queuing up to shake hands/hug someone is retarded. Ya end up shaking hands with 10 people you don't know.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Feisar wrote: »
    House private doesn't apply to Mary and Joe, sure weren't they talking last Christmas.

The whole queuing up to shake hands/hug someone is retarded. Ya end up shaking hands with 10 people you don't know.

The filth of people’s hands too, ick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Clutterluck

I thought it was funny. His family and friends enjoyed it. Who cares if some miserable prick on the internet wants to have a moan about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/dhfid9/dublin_man_leaves_funny_recording_for_his_funeral/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x

Turns out that some 'gas ticket' from Dublin died during the week, and his immediate family decided to follow his last wishes by placing a speaker in his coffin so they could play back a real slice of legendary Dublin wit from the recently departed right after they had lowered him down. It amounted to some 'True Blue' with a voice that would cut glass going 'let me fooken' out, it's fooken baken' in here' etc etc . Seems he decided to record it before he departed off this mortal coil.

You can watch and listen to it for yourself, but is there anything less funny than a native of our capital city who thinks of themself as a funny guy? The entire video is a difficult watch to be honest - the recording at the graveside; the deeply uncomfortable priest having to witness this vulgarity, the lack of dignity in death; the desperation of the man himself to have wanted this as they lowered him down?

Was absolutely atrocious. Horrible to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Odhinn

He is/was grand. Your attitude though, not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

This actually made the news this morning here in Warsaw.
    Hadn't a clue what they were laughing at as they had the voice dubbed over.
    Makes sense now.
    Some light hearted humour during a hard event is ok in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

B-D-P-- wrote: »
    He was too cool for school for sure.

Personally I find it tasteless. Graveyard should be a place for respect.

Surely it's about respecting the wishes of the person being buried?

I'm not a fan of the idea but it's what he wanted. I think if the family were uncomfortable with it they probably we wouldn't have gone through with it. It's not like he was would've kicked up a f fuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Your less funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It was what it was.
    I was waiting for the prim and proper one's to be put out by it tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

theteal wrote: »
    It's the inferiority complex. . . :cool:

I too have an inferiority complex ........ but its not a very good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

SJW Lover wrote: »
    Yes. Cancer is less funny.

The curse of the big C

Will a cure for dyslecia ever be found

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Found it crass.

Best of luck to him anyway in whatever he does next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭jiltloop

If you want a good funeral idea look no further;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

A Jays grare oul Dublin wit no wat I mean Joe
    Reminds me of oul Bang Bang and all those oul Dubbalin pissheads, sorry, I mean characters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

Dublin's still a kip......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Funny ! How !

Ah no , twas Funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Thought it was funny and original (at least I haven't seen anything like it). Guy was obviously someone who loved a good laugh and joke. Fair play to him and RIP.

Given that there is a good chance some family members might read this thread, I think the opening post is quite obnoxious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

I'd take the country way anyday of the week tbh. It helps when someone you love passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Chr!st, each to their own like. If it brought a bit of comfort to his family, which I assume it did since they gave the go ahead for this to happen, then great. Its not as if he's posthumously launching a Netflix special you'll be forced to watch

If you want to have a go at unfunny Dubs, then there are much easier targets than a man's funeral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Found it awful to be honest. Have buried 5 very close relatives and I found that in bad taste regardless of his wishes.

Also the sharing. "Only in Ireland" Sure aren't we right craic! Eh no.Can't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Jesus Christ that's harrowing.

Yeah I've sometimes wondered is a large, open funeral in the case of an horrific tragedy just more agony for the loved ones. I remember being at the removal of a girl who was killed in a freak accident. It was horrific of course. Seeing her family just falling apart before our eyes, and yet this ritual was going on and on and on, and some felt they had to muster up the energy to engage with people, and then a family member couldn't let the coffin go when it was time. God it was traumatic. It felt like it should be done in private and in peace.

But then, people did genuinely want to show respects to the family and show how much she meant to them, and that in turn would mean a lot to the family also.

As for this story, that approach wouldn't float my boat but I like the idea of using humour in some cases. I know it's not appropriate always, but this man was "in on it" so I think it might have helped mourners that it was a little lightened rather than completely sombre.