Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would you describe the Irish character

• 11-10-2019 1:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭

With images of love of a good time, light hearted, easy going, they all seem kinda at odds with our economy and high productivity ranking. How would you define Irish people in the 21st century. How do Dubs differ from rest of the country. I was having a conversation with a south Eastern European girl last night and was trying to explain Irish character. From my perspective I see us as having an aversion to seriousness and being overly earnest is definitely not a trait I'd associate with Irish people.
    But maybe that's just my bubble. When I think of Irish people, I think of Ross O Carroll Kelly, he's an extreme but a good example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

We're quiet until we've had a few drinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Quiet the character

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

We are laid back piss take artists in the general, moreso i find people from Dublin.

People from middle Ireland and ballygobackwards seem odd and 30 years behind dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭daveorourke77

Grand bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Very prone to group think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

Begrudging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Not being overly earnest is a great national character trait. You couldn't imagine a shítshow like Brexit befalling us in Ireland, simply because the majority of people would be sensible enough to realize you don't rock a boat that's sailing along nicely enough. Whereas the British get so hung up on earnest pursuits like "sovereignty" and "taking back control" that they don't realize or don't care that they are about to torpedo their own vessel.

That's enough marine metaphors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

B_ecke_r wrote: »
    Begrudging.

I hate how people say that. We are the total opposite. We big up every tiny little achievement and any sporting success like no one else does. Just because people think Bono is a wanker, which he is, doesn't mean we are seething at the success of others.

banal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

As a group our greatest weakness is being pushovers. "we" constantly look for validation from the trends of other nations. The good boy of the class. We fold like paper when put amongst other groups.

Individually we are quite the opposite amongst ourselves, I feel, quite headstrong and confident, even contrary.

You could say the same for a lot of countries, but it just feels far more extreme here.

Very strange!

beejee wrote: »
    "we" constantly look for validation from the trends of other nations.

like how everyone goes into meltdown if Americans or people in the UK see some hurling by accident on tv and go on to mention it on Twitter. The indo actually publishes articles on this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

We are laid back piss take artists in the general, moreso i find people from Dublin.

People from middle Ireland and ballygobackwards seem odd and 30 years behind dublin.

Depends on your version of behind.

Looks like your version of Ireland is a lot more backwards than you think.

Most of the professionals in Dublin are from the Country...

like how everyone goes into meltdown if Americans or people in the UK see some hurling by accident on tv and go on to mention it on Twitter. The indo actually publishes articles on this.

Oh sure, yep!

Definitely some kind of confidence problem when put beside other nations. But we'll eat the head off each other :p

Just because people think Bono is a wanker, which he is, doesn't mean we are seething at the success of others.

Does too. It means we’re seething at the success of loads of africans getting an irish passport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Complicated, varied, humourous, productive, practical, frivolous, generous, outward looking, insular, inventive, creative, open, insular, argumentative, co-operative...like every country we have people of all characters. Some of the biggest errors in politics, business and society through the years have come from assigning a single character trait, or a particular series of traits, to a nation or a region as a whole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

nthclare wrote: »
    Depends on your version of behind.

Looks like your version of Ireland is a lot more backwards than you think.

Most of the professionals in Dublin are from the Country...

Love this
    I'd ask for stats but you know yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Can I ask the OP, how would you define people of other countries in a single encapsulating way.

Are French all prone to striking?
    Are all germans devoid of humour?
    Are all English obsessed with tattoos?

Generally speaking, I think the Irish are engaging, resourceful, witty and can work hard and unwind at appropriate times. I wouldnt say we are begrudgers as such, but we don't like people bigging themselves up too much.

Ross is a caricature of less than 1% of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

A bit thick in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The 'shur it'll be grand' attitude.

Can be both endearing and infuriating.

Beyond the gaa team, I really feel as though the character of Dublin is nigh on non-existent anymore, and I say that as a Dubliner.

A vacuum of personality has developed, but that's like most "big cities" I suppose.

Busy and bland for the most part. It's as appetising and interesting as a slice of white bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Agricola wrote: »
    Not being overly earnest is a great national character trait. You couldn't imagine a shítshow like Brexit befalling us in Ireland, simply because the majority of people would be sensible enough to realize you don't rock a boat that's sailing along nicely enough. Whereas the British get so hung up on earnest pursuits like "sovereignty" and "taking back control" that they don't realize or don't care that they are about to torpedo their own vessel.

We are a deeply unideological people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Bigboldworld

I hate how people say that. We are the total opposite. We big up every tiny little achievement and any sporting success like no one else does. Just because people think Bono is a wanker, which he is, doesn't mean we are seething at the success of others.

Disagree with this, I’ve seen it time and time again, we’re good at getting behind people when they are underdogs getting behind small achievements etc but when someone actually starts doing really well and are no longer an underdog they then become a wanker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Niall Toibin, considered by many the ultimate Corkman, used to tell a story about an English academic over here on a mission to complete a paper on the Irish in an attempt to capture the essence of "Irishness", as 'twere. "I am here," he thundered in the finest Received Pronunciation at some poor Finbar in a pub on barrack Street, probably MoKs, "to find out what it is that makes the Irish people tick!" Finbar thought for a second, and replied, "I dunno like, I suppose we're just tick!!"

And that, ladies and gentlemen, I submit, is a good chunk of the Irish character. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

We big up the success of our own teams or stars because it reflects well (or we hope) on us as a nation out to the others in the world. And it's only the ones that are out there representing the nation that get praise. Look at how much scorn is thrown on local celebrities

Begrudgery on a personal level is rampant. Almost every instance i've ever heard of someone normal doing unexpectedly well for themselves has been met with a begrudging voice by someone who knows them. Achievements are put down to luck or circumstance with a undercurrent of "who do they think they are" present.

The Irish are fabulous as a whole and I generally prefer Irish company no matter where I travel but bregrugery is 100% a big trait of ours.

We big up other goys.....uh...huhhuh.....

Disagree with this, I’ve seen it time and time again, we’re good at getting behind people when they are underdogs getting behind small achievements etc but when someone actually starts doing really well and are no longer an underdog they then become a wanker

Example?

Well whoever you do choose to get behind be sure to give them all your support.

Me I’ll be watching on from the eh, terraces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Childish Philistines on sugar-highs.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Begrudgery on a personal level is rampant. Almost every instance i've ever heard of someone normal doing unexpectedly well for themselves has been met with a begrudging voice by someone who knows them. Achievements are put down to luck or circumstance with a undercurrent of "who do they think they are" present.

You must know an awful lot of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Bigboldworld

Example?

One example would be someone in the workplace who works up from the bottom and starts doing well and making more money, initially it’s he’s a great worker then gets a few bumps and it’s he’s a wanker your man there, knows such and such he’s one of them now, all the guy did was work hard when others were lazy and suddenly he’s a wanker because he deservedly earns more money, that’s something I’ve personally witnessed a few times and think that mindset can apply to many industries music, entertainment you name it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Mad_maxx wrote: »

Now that you mention it, yes we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Now that you mention it, yes we are.

I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Example?

Saoirse Ronan is an example of someone who has done remarkably well, but gets a lot of abuse. Her accent has been picked on in particular, but if it wasn't that, it would be something else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Complicated, varied, humourous, productive, practical, frivolous, generous, outward looking, insular, inventive, creative, open, insular, argumentative, co-operative...like every country we have people of all characters. Some of the biggest errors in politics, business and society through the years have come from assigning a single character trait, or a particular series of traits, to a nation or a region as a whole.

That’s a very Irish thing to say.

Saoirse Ronan is an example of someone who has done remarkably well, but gets a lot of abuse. Her accent has been picked on in particular, but if it wasn't that, it would be something else

I think she's great, I think people pick on her accent because it's a bit Dublin, and anyone outside of Dublin seems to hate us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

Due to the nature of this thread, the following may contain some generalisations, but from what I have noticed during my life, I can say the following about the Irish, starting with the positive:
      • We are as a rule quite creative; music, literature, arts are encouraged in many families, more so than in other countries as far as I can see
      • I believe that our sense of humour is pretty sharp, many Irish are simply naturally funny and witty.
      • At least on a superficial level, we are very helpful to strangers
      • We are often very kind to others in times of need
      • People often have quite a rebel character, we are not as pedantic and a stickler for the rules as others - may depend on your opinion if this is positive/negative, I tend to like it
      • We tend to be extremely flexible with plans, arrangements, we are able to think on our feet quite well: "don't worry, we'll work something out"
      • There generally exists a desire to travel and to discover new countries
      • Along the same lines, we have a natural curiosity about others - maybe too much for some, but we do take an interest
      • Being brash or arrogant is looked down upon, people are quick to condemn someone who gets above his or her station much more than elsewhere
        Even though it can get sometimes out of hand, I think generally our pub scene is very positive, everyone gets involved, no distinction of class, age etc, especially in smaller places
      • We really respect the dead well, funeral processions I always find to be extremely "impressive" in this country, if this is the right and appropriate word of course
      • Our sporting structures (if not our organisational boards/associations) are generally well-run with many people generously giving up their free time to volunteer, especially given we have four main games

As for where we can improve:
          Our self-esteem is really quite lacking, there is a huge lack of confidence in people I find, which they tend to hide behind through being members of bigger groups, getting drunk, condemning people who go against the grain etc, individualism is frowned upon
        • As are those who stand out from the crowd, Irish people are definitely not comfortable with this
        • People generally have a great difficulty with being direct, straight and to the point, Irish folk will frequently avoid this whenever possible, sadly often preferring to gossip behind said person's back. Now we are clearly nowhere near as bad as the English for this trait, who take it to another level, but we as a general rule do not like confrontation
        • We do have a drinking problem
        • There is a tendency among Irish to overstate or believe our importance elsewhere is far greater than it actually is, I wouldn't say we invoke hugely strong emotions in that many people, maybe as a relatively small country we are seen in a positive light, but on the other hand, even in Europe people tend to see us as no different to the British and even worse (even allowing for historical confusion) part of the same country
        • Although we may be initially friendly, to befriend us if you are an outsider is a fairly tough ask, we tend to look inwards and fall back on those having something in common with us, as opposed to embracing diversity
        • Again expanding on the above, as much as we like to travel, we overwhelmingly pick the Anglophone countries and if we don't, we stay in huge groups from back home to lessen the impact of the culture shock, other nationalities travel solo far more often than we do
        • Catholicism and Catholic guilt still have a huge influence on our behaviour even in 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

We know ourselves. Well, we assume others do. Ah, sure you know yourself.

Sometimes charming, sometimes vulgar, often witty, usually warm hearted. Irish people are up for a laugh, and tend to have a healthy national ego - every Irish achievement, however slight, is lauded from the rooftops, which might be pride, might be insecurity, likely a portion of both. My perception of Dubliners is that they'd go the extra mile to help someone in clear distress, and it's also my perception of people from everywhere outside Dublin. Irish people curse a lot. A really lot. Perhaps a little too willing to believe that everyone elsewhere in the world adores them just for being Irish, regardless of behaviour.

So, funny, warm, not inclined to seriousness (a good and a bad thing), a willingness to make the best of situations, kind hearted, and easy going. Nice people.

Plot twist: I'm English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Candie wrote: »
        ...Plot twist: I'm English.

Bloody Brits, coming over here... complimenting us. Rabble! Rabble-Rabble!!

Candie wrote: »
        Perhaps a little too willing to believe that everyone elsewhere in the world adores them just for being Irish, regardless of behaviour.

Yes I meant to put this as well, it's quite a prevalent attitude and although I have seen glimpses of this attitude elsewhere, it's nowhere near as rife as the Irish tend to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

From living in the UK for a few years I think the Irish are a lot less restrained by rules for better or worse.

There is a natural charm associated with Irish people that is hard to pinpoint.

Bad points about our character our hangups about certain things that don't conform to the norm. Like everyone is expected to get married in a church even if they only darken the door once a year.

Another bad point is a general cohort of people will run the country down for any reason at all to absolve themselves from self responsibility.

While I'm at it there is an awful tenancy to have an inferior complex in relation to other countries. For instance, people saying we have a third world health service (we don't) and that the government is the most corrupt in the world (it isn't).

One example would be someone in the workplace who works up from the bottom and starts doing well and making more money, initially it’s he’s a great worker then gets a few bumps and it’s he’s a wanker your man there, knows such and such he’s one of them now, all the guy did was work hard when others were lazy and suddenly he’s a wanker because he deservedly earns more money, that’s something I’ve personally witnessed a few times and think that mindset can apply to many industries music, entertainment you name it

No that's just a f*cking gobsh*te. Not unique to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭machaseh

With images of love of a good time, light hearted, easy going, they all seem kinda at odds with our economy and high productivity ranking. How would you define Irish people in the 21st century. How do Dubs differ from rest of the country. I was having a conversation with a south Eastern European girl last night and was trying to explain Irish character. From my perspective I see us as having an aversion to seriousness and being overly earnest is definitely not a trait I'd associate with Irish people.
        But maybe that's just my bubble. When I think of Irish people, I think of Ross O Carroll Kelly, he's an extreme but a good example.

I am from the Netherlands and I've been living in Dublin for 2 years. In my experience irish people have the following traits:

- Sly and untrustworthy. They are very good at being very 'nice' with a nice smile, but then they f*** you over behind your back or talk sh*** about you. Absolutely awful.

- Pretentious and authoritarian when in any position of power. You can have the sweetest and kindest Irish colleague, but then they get a promotion to manager or a senior role. And OOOOFF then they completely change, they suddenly think they are everything and are always right and start to boast about themselves and belittle others. Super terrible attitude to have.

- Low level of education (at least compared to the Netherlands). The vast majority of Irish people do not know a second language, no not even the Irish language. Most of them are also unable to speak a standard variety of English, only speaking with their thick Dublin or whatever accent which for non-Irish people is very hard to understand. Luckily I've been living here for 2 years now so the Dublin burr is no issue for meself, but when I go to Belfast I have to ask my friend to translate it into Dutch for me.

- Drunkards. Not that that is necessarily a bad thing, I love me pints as well. But it would be quite uncommon to go out with your manager on friday night and have 10+ pints in the Netherlands while it's certainly not uncommon here.

- Absolutely no taste in terms of food. 'Fine dining' for your average irishman is having the largest burger at eddie rocket's.

- Oblivious about domestic politics and generally an attitude of 'I dont care'. A lot of things are wrong in this country but Irish people don't WANT change and seem to think that things that are wrong are so for a reason and can never be changed.

- Very friendly and kind, that has to be said in contrast to the negatives above.

-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Pretending to be successful when drowning in debt. Many are under pressure to try maintain the fake Celtic Tiger lifestyle.

machaseh wrote: »
        - Absolutely no taste in terms of food. 'Fine dining' for your average irishman is having the largest burger at eddie rocket's.-

Enjoy your febo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Pretending to be successful when drowning in debt. Many are under pressure to try maintain the fake Celtic Tiger lifestyle.

I think the celtic/septic tiger/bubble revealed a lot of latent snobbery in Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Mediterranean. Portugal, Ireland / Italy, Greece and Spain.

Brazil too. With the corrupt politics to match.

machaseh wrote: »
        I am from the Netherlands and I've been living in Dublin for 2 years. In my experience irish people have the following traits:

- Sly and untrustworthy. They are very good at being very 'nice' with a nice smile, but then they f*** you over behind your back or talk sh*** about you. Absolutely awful.

-

I wouldn't go quite as far as yourself or say it in as harsh a way, but I also agree with the above. Indeed, I will change my post to incorporate you and Candie's posts which I forgot to mention as well as a couple of other points.

Just out of curiosity, given that you are Dutch and from my experience Dutch people are extremely direct, would this be the biggest criticism you have of living here? Your language is fairly strong in the aforementioned example so I reckon it's up there all right, but I was just interested in what you had to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

beejee wrote: »
        Beyond the gaa team, I really feel as though the character of Dublin is nigh on non-existent anymore, and I say that as a Dubliner.

A vacuum of personality has developed, but that's like most "big cities" I suppose.

Busy and bland for the most part. It's as appetising and interesting as a slice of white bread.

The other Irish urban centres have always followed Dn to some extent. They are also following them in this regard. What is available in Ck, Lk, or Gy these days that isn't also elsewhere. Gentrification isn't the problem in our cities today. It's generification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Agricola wrote: »

If I can invite you to bring your vessel full about shipmate, you could put your telescope to your good eye and see that the Irish of just one century ago were getting quite worked up indeed about those very things you put in quotes. We suffered to do so too, shower of hard-head ****ers! Economic War anyone?