Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

400km range cars

• 08-10-2019 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭

I heard i think the minister on the radio talking about electric cars and that 400km cars would be available next year in ireland.

im curious what cars she was talking? this would be more suitable for my use than anything current.

so which cars was she talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭JohnC.

Kia Niro and Soul and Hyundai Kona are over 400. Various Teslas, but they would be mostly higher end in terms of pricing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Anyone seen What Car's "real range" tests?

https://www.whatcar.com/news/what-car-real-range-which-electric-car-can-go-farthest-in-the-real-world/n18162

Very surprising.

iPace placed higher than a M3P!

Only the Kona, iPace and e-Niro exceeded 400km.

Their methodology includes charging from dead to 100%, doing a controlled mixed route, measuring the energy taken to recharge back to 100% and then extrapolating range based on total recharge energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Waiting to hear how four hundred km range isn’t enough for some motorists !

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Waiting to hear how four hundred km range isn’t enough for some motorists !

Read on FB earlier people posting that 600km would be the turning point.

It was 200 a few years ago, then 400, now 600 :)

OP, there is already many 400+ km range EV’s in Ireland for sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

kceire wrote: »

There's some journalist on twitter looking for people who switched back to ice because of range anxiety reasons.

Such is the level of debate on the subject

What do the cheapest 400km battery cars cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭axe2grind

With current charging infrastructure 400km is not enough for me. With a good charging infrastructure 300km is more than enough.
    The latter point will be overlooked in favour of higher range.

axe2grind wrote: »
    With current charging infrastructure 400km is not enough for me. With a good charging infrastructure 300km is more than enough.
    The latter point will be overlooked in favour of higher range.

Genuine question

Where are you driving for 400km range.

Where exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

What do the cheapest 400km battery cars cost?

About 40k for the Kona i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

listermint wrote: »
    Genuine question

Where exactly

City to city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Can’t wait for the thousand km capable ev car and still hearing the nonsense!

Mike9832 wrote: »
    City to city

You are not who I asked. And your answer is ridiculous unless your from cork which explains the arrogance of the answer.

Limerick to Dublin
    Cork to Dublin
    Galway to Dublin
    Cork to Galway
    Kilkenny to Belfast

Open a map

Big country

Genuine question

Where exactly
    With no destination charging, then the 'range' from home without charging is half.
    Most weekends I travel for rural based sports events, about once a month greater than 200km away. This weekend sneaks in under, 190km one way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭adunis

Oh sweet baby Jebus,what a load of bo@@#cks,do you not pee ?so you're gonna sit in your car for 3 hrs driving and not stop ?
    RANGE IS NOT THE PROBLEM
    More chargers

axe2grind wrote: »
    With no destination charging, then the 'range' from home without charging is half.
    Most weekends I travel for rural based sports events, about once a month greater than 200km away. This weekend sneaks in under, 190km one way.

Sorry the same people who dream up these scenarios such as yourself. Fill the car to with twenty. Or leave with half a tank and stop and fill and eat on the way.

These requests have more holes in them than that ice berg caused on the hull of the titanic.

Your painting an idealised scenario which I doubt you even stick to yourself. We are at a point now where you can stick 60 percent plus charge back into vehicles in the space of time it take for you to grab a coffee.

What more do people want

They want it for s71tbox money and tomorrow......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

I've a e-Kona, bought it in July and have put up a little over 15K km since then, mostly motorway driving as I commute from near Dundalk to Dublin but some country driving as well. The commute alternates between 180km - 220km per day.

In that time I've had the car in Mayo for a week, regular weekends with the in-laws in Westmeath and last weekend was in Wexford for 3 days. In all that time I have had no issues with range except 1 morning when I forgot to charge it over night so had to use a fast charger during lunch.

The drive from Wexford home was about 230KM, so about 460KM round trip that was probably closer to 600KM by the end. I stopped to charge once on the way down for about 30 minutes, used a public charger in Wexford for about 2 hours and then drove home non-stop. I'd also driven home non-stop from Westport a few weeks previously.

My mileage is higher than most, and I've little patience to be waiting around for chargers to become available and so far I have not had a single issue that was not caused by my own forgetfulness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

adunis wrote: »
    Oh sweet baby Jebus,what a load of bo@@#cks,do you not pee ?so you're gonna sit in your car for 3 hrs driving and not stop ?
    RANGE IS NOT THE PROBLEM
    More chargers

I used to drive a lot as part of a previous job and often had to do return trips to the other end of the country. You learn to hold your pee, make sure you go before you leave, and I would regualy do 3 or 4 hour trips without stoppng, and if i did stop, its 10 mins max for a quick toilet break and maybe diesel. The last thing I'd want after a hard day, is sitting in a bleak service station waiting for my car to charge, i just want to get home. Very few of the customers i visited had charging points, maybe 2 or 3, even trying to run a cable into the premises would have been an ordeal.

While EVs suit plenty of people, they are still unsuitable for a lot of people. Someone mentioned its 40k to get a vehicle capable of doing 400k, that is a big outlay.

A little off point, but I wonder will companies reduce mileage rates for employees using their own electric car? If they remain at current rates, it might be a good tactic to make people switch, everyone likes a little extra in their pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭JohnC.

RANGE IS NOT THE PROBLEM
    More chargers

Can't speak for others, but I certainly prefer to get home than stop for McDonalds. Never felt the need to stop for a pee either. I've only ever been in a motorway services once, to see what it was like. It would be nice to be able to continue that instead of being forced to have unnecessary (for me) stops.

We'll know when range anxiety is finally solved when someone can ask a simple question about range in an EV forum without people getting triggered. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

A little off point, but I wonder will companies reduce mileage rates for employees using their own electric car? If they remain at current rates, it might be a good tactic to make people switch, everyone likes a little extra in their pocket.

My company did a review for hybrid and EV’s and they have published that EV’s will be paid at full rate for 5 years. Hybrids will be paid at mid rate regardless of size.

I am looking forward for M3 LR to arrive so i can do my bi-weekly Cork > Belfast visit, i will pocket €670 for each trip :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭Orebro

Don't be lumping this lad in with the Cork crowd! :D

Orebro wrote: »
    Don't be lumping this lad in with the Cork crowd! :D

Have to hear his lilt first.

Could be strong :)

Cmere boi what's all the Cork baitin stuff about like........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Lumen wrote: »
    We'll know when range anxiety is finally solved when someone can ask a simple question about range in an EV forum without people getting triggered. :D
    Well, people still continue to drive on fumes so it's debatable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

the tipping point was never 200.

the thing now is how are second hand cars going to fare on range IMO thats going to be key to mass acceptance

krissovo wrote: »
    My company did a review for hybrid and EV’s and they have published that EV’s will be paid at full rate for 5 years. Hybrids will be paid at mid rate regardless of size.

I am looking forward for M3 LR to arrive so i can do my bi-weekly Cork > Belfast visit, i will pocket €670 for each trip :D

Now that would get me back on the road, and in an EV. Will it do Cork - Belfast return on one charge?

Back to range .........
    I drove professionally for years,anybody who thinks they're some kinda hero or doing themselves (or anybody else) any favours driving without taking a break for hours on end is a gob****e pure and simple tachographs and legislation are there for a reason.

Now that would get me back on the road, and in an EV. Will it do Cork - Belfast return on one charge?

What do you mean by "on one charge"? With one charging stop in Belfast?

Not comfortably. Model 3 LR has a range of about 450km at 120kph, and that's in ideal conditions. Cork-Belfast is about 420km.

Wet roads and low temperatures significantly affect range, and battery will lose a few % capacity over time. Plus you might get a headwind both ways.

Always going to be 2 and potentially 3 depending how heavy On the juice I am.

I now have a Irish driving license so I can get points again so that should help with range.

Someone mentioned its 40k to get a vehicle capable of doing 400k, that is a big outlay.

Which has 10k off it with grants/vrt etc, it's a 50k car and it's diesel version costs 20k

Back to range .........
    I drove professionally for years,anybody who thinks they're some kinda hero or doing themselves (or anybody else) any favours driving without taking a break for hours on end is a gob****e pure and simple tachographs and legislation are there for a reason.

What is the current legislation? I never drove for a living per se, it just happened that my job might be in Cork today and Donegal tomorrow, so i did a lot of driving. I was never given any guidance about my driving hours.

What do you mean by "on one charge"? With one charging stop in Belfast?

Not comfortably. Model 3 LR has a range of about 450km at 120kph, and that's in ideal conditions. Cork-Belfast is about 420km.

Wet roads and low temperatures significantly affect range, and battery will lose a few % capacity over time. Plus you might get a headwind.

It will do about 350km max at that speed

Tesla's are amazing though, the only proper EV's on the road with range/charge speed/power/efficency/private charging network

A 5 min charge will complete that Belfast journey, such is the speed that liquid cooled battery can charge at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

200 was exactly what the tipping point was for me a bit over 3 years ago when I decided to buy a new EV.

The 120km or so range of the Leaf 24kWh just wasn't enough for the one family car (had another car, but that was a classic 2 seater). Then the Ioniq was launched with about 200km range and that suddenly was enough. So I bought it.

What is the current legislation? I never drove for a living per se, it just happened that my job might be in Cork today and Donegal tomorrow, so i did a lot of driving. I was never given any guidance about my driving hours.

It’s for professional drivers only, you are however subject to your company policies on travel & working hours.

Model 3 LR has a range of about 450km at 120kph, and that's in ideal conditions. Cork-Belfast is about 420km.

Can you even buy one of these? How much? I can't find either answer, even on Tesla web pages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Can you even buy one of these? How much? I can't find either answer, even on Tesla web pages?

He means the LR AWD and yes you can buy it here, there are 3 models on the Irish market:

SR+
    LR AWD
    P

It’s for professional drivers only, you are however subject to your company policies on travel & working hours.

However the company may be liable in an accident if they didn't have appropriate policies in place .

the thing now is how are second hand cars going to fare on range IMO thats going to be key to mass acceptance

200 was mine, once the leaf hit it with the 40 it was perfect for a second car. 3 months later we realized it’s not far perfect for our 1st car and picked up a 2nd EV. We could live with that but the m3 makes a perfect 2 EV car household

unkel wrote: »
    He means the LR AWD and yes you can buy it here, there are 3 models on the Irish market:

SR+
    LR AWD
    P

Cheers!

Can't see a price on their site for long range. Do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

400km is the point for me. Mayo to Dublin without stopping.

The problem with charging points. They are not located at every garage like petrol pump s. you have to go looking for a point. Until that changes mass acceptance is a long way away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Cheers!

Can't see a price on their site for long range. Do you know?

€57,990 it took two clicks from Tesla.com to find it

Mike9832 wrote: »
    It will do about 350km max at that speed

https://www.reddit.com/r/teslamotors/comments/8ztvc8/model_3_consumption_on_german_autobahn_74mph_120/
    120 km/h (74 mph):
    - Consumption: 164 Wh/km (264 Wh/mi)
    - Range: 450 km (280 mi)

Also

https://teslike.com/range/

3-km-912.png

However the company may be liable in an accident if they didn't have appropriate policies in place .

Our company had no policy around driving, I would technically have been off duty once I finished the job, even though I could have been 300km away from home. I am wandering off topic again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭mr chips

I know when it comes to discussing EVs, there are eejits who keep shifting the goalposts on range, or insist that battery life is only a few years before your EV becomes a moneypit or whatever, and of course 9 times out of 10 that's all just trolling. But a couple of ye seem to struggle to accept that there are people who genuinely have greater range needs, and the aggressive judgmentalism from one or two folk in here is misplaced. Never heard the saying "your mileage may vary"?

I regularly do a weekend trip of around 430km each way, about 8 times a year on average but it has been 10. For the vast majority of those, my partner is in the car with me. We nearly always have a time by which we have to arrive, so we stop only as long as we have to for a comfort break and to fill the tank, then swap driving and carry on. The maximum driving time that either one of us does in one go is usually around a couple of hours, but that's entirely reasonable - anyone who drove professionally knows that's only half the amount of time you'd be behind the wheel before having a mandatory break.

Especially on a long journey you do regularly, time spent in transit is dead time. So 15-20 minutes is the most I want to delay on a long trip like that, and I only want to make that sort of stop once - the next driver swap is immediate, out/in/go. Nearly all the trip is on motorways/dual carriageways, so the cruising speed is usually 125 kmh for a good 400 of those 430km (allowing for lower speeds around the M50 and M7 roadworks etc). In order to do two stints of 260-ish km at motorway speeds and not be arriving in turtle mode, the WLTP range of an EV that would suit this trip will have to be above 350km, probably more. That's just the reality for me.

People chat back and forth about a wide variety of options they'd like on their EV like summon, adaptive cruise, self-drive or whatever and nobody shoots them down for expressing their preferences for any of those. Someone was talking about spending an extra six grand just to enable full self-drive on their Tesla when it's not even currently legal here - and why wouldn't they if that's what they want to do? - and any replies suggesting this wasn't advisable were nevertheless polite and congenial. Yet there's always a snarky response when anyone says "I want 500km of range". Maybe take a deep breath or two ...

So its a simple choice for you in what you value more, time or the benefits of ev’s. The additional (max) 30 minutes with average EV it would take for your journey verses the cost of fuel etc.

It comes down to how people are programmed to dislike change, personally i am happy for you as you are one less competitor for the fast charger.

Sorry the same people who dream up these scenarios such as yourself. Fill the car to with twenty. Or leave with half a tank and stop and fill and eat on the way.
    You have me so wrong, I don't know whether to laugh or cry :(

These requests have more holes in them than that ice berg caused on the hull of the titanic.

Your painting an idealised scenario which I doubt you even stick to yourself. We are at a point now where you can stick 60 percent plus charge back into vehicles in the space of time it take for you to grab a coffee.

What more do people want

I am painting my personal need. I am not saying this applies to everyone. Currently the charging infrastructure is not good enough FOR ME without significant compromises for me in a 400km range vehicle. The main compromises is significant detours to get to rapid charger assuming it is working and available.

The charging infrastructure is a work in progress, more Ionity sites coming and of course charging for charging. Although I think it will be a step behind what is needed for years to come. I am hoping I am wrong. With an adequate charging infrastructure, the need for longer range is reduced. 400km is overkill for all my local needs. Half that is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭mr chips

So its a simple choice for you in what you value more, time or the benefits of ev’s. The additional (max) 30 minutes with average EV it would take for your journey verses the cost of fuel etc.

It comes down to how people are programmed to dislike change, personally i am happy for you as you are one less competitor for the fast charger.

Indeed - and when the time comes to buy my first EV, which will almost certainly be a used one, I may well weigh up the options and decide that getting the likes of an e-Corsa or MG ZS necessitating at least two charges on those long trips is worth the sacrifice in order to reduce the impact of my journey. But it's not what I want. If my circumstances change and I can consider buying an EV brand-new, of course I'll go for something that will allow me to continue travelling the way I currently do, but that's unlikely to happen for at least another three years. Otherwise, there'll be the usual tussle between what's possible and what's desirable - I'd happily live without autonomous driving, automatic parking or even LKA, but for me it'd be a real drag to need two or three 20-minute stops on a trip that's already close to 5 hours with just one break.

Ideally, I'd be able to convert one of my old cars to an EV with 500km of range, but that's a bit of a pipedream! I'm much more of a candidate for what people characterise as the Dacia Sandero of EVs, so long as the range and performance work for me (and it ideally doesn't have Gen 1 Leaf looks!). I don't want to see the benchmark for cars at the more affordable end of the market settle between 200-250km of range over the next few years. I don't want EV ownership to be something I end up describing in terms of compromise, sacrifice etc - I want it to be something I can unequivocally recommend to every EV sceptic I encounter.