Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism in McDonald’s

• 04-10-2019 8:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭

Just witnessed about 3 so called “unwell” strong dublin accent poorly dressed white Irish ppl give dreadful seriously aggressive racist abuse to a black security guard as he refused to allow them to use the toilet facilities. Plenty of profanities and threats to do this that and the other to the security guard.

One of them claimed to have his lawyer on the mobile phone while the incident was ongoing.

Why do the dublin non working junkie/drug addicts/unwell resort to racism so quickly?

On a side note I often notice they profess to being huge fans of the likes of 2 pac, snoop dog etc

Shameful carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Just witnessed about 3 so called “unwell” strong dublin accent poorly dressed white Irish ppl give dreadful racist abuse to a black security guard as he refused to allow them to use the toilet facilities.

Why do the dublin junkie/drug addicts/unwell resort to racism so quickly?

On a side note I often notice they profess to being huge fans of the likes of 2 pac, snoop dog etc

Shameful carry on.

From junkies? Well I never...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

they are the most vulnerable in society, leave them alone.

Did one of them have a pet poney with him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Why do the dublin non working junkie/drug addicts/unwell resort to racism so quickly?

I'd imagine it's because it's easy and obvious. They don't know the security guard personally so comment on his appearance and looks. You see it all the time on Sunday league football pitches too "You bald....", "Shut up you ginger...." or "Lanky....".

Most people don't do it because it's not acceptable, these people don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The Irish bleeding heart left eating its own again...
    Tune in next week when we discuss feminist hijabs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

Nothing but filth....get them out of the country as quick as possible.....bloody McDonald's...lol lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Because they are piece of **** junkies that's why. The security guard can console himself in that he was a job and making a meaningful contribution to society while the junkies will end dead squatting in some alleyway within the next few years being eaten by rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

But Dublin isn't a kip...apparently :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Incidental? There’s placism everywhere nobody likes McDonald’s

I saw a woman berate a foreign deli worker in mace the other day who forgot to wear gloves “Gerrup with those duuurty hands” :eek: the macism was strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Would they not just sh*te in an alley as they usually do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Because they jump on the first thing they see as being something to mock and abuse, in this case, the colour of the mans skin.

I've had a person like this attack me calling me a 'blind, speccy b@stard' etc while wearing glasses themselves.

They really are children. Volatile, opportunistic, abusive and aggressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,727 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

topper75 wrote: »
    The Irish bleeding heart left eating its own again...
    Tune in next week when we discuss feminist hijabs.

What do you want “the left” to do, exactly? It’s sh1t that a security guard got abuse by a drug addict.

Howninthenameofsweetsufferinjaysus is this a “the left” problem?

In other news: it’s raining today ra ra the left.

Rhyme wrote: »
    Because they jump on the first thing they see as being something to mock and abuse, in this case, the colour of the mans skin.

I've had a person like this attack me calling me a 'blind, speccy b@stard' etc while wearing glasses themselves.

They really are children. Volatile, opportunistic, abusive and aggressive.

True. Black people are too obviously black I mean we dont call orientals yellows or Indians reds do we

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

its half nine in the morning and they haven't had their first fix of the day

that's why they are grumpy

Bobblehats wrote: »
    True. Black people are too obviously black I mean we dont call orientals yellows or Indians reds do we

What?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Ye stuff like this grinds my teeth.

I would never mock anyone, for doing any type of job, as they are making a conscious effort to support themselves, families, contribute to society.

Now from my own experience it is what i would call "scummy" types who seem more racist in our society. The types who give out about foreigners taking our jobs yet these low life's have no interest in working. And i don't just mean junkies. I'm talking about your buggy brigades, long term unemployed etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

gifted wrote: »
    Nothing but filth....get them out of the country as quick as possible.....bloody McDonald's...lol lol

That's a bit harsh.

He was only doing his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Why do the dublin non working 'junkie/drug addicts/unwell' (Ref 1) resort to '[insert anti-social behaviour here]' so quickly?.

For answer, see already quoted Ref 1 in italics.

What?

They were compulsed to react to the most base obvious thing they did notice. A bit like like yourself to my post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Title is a bit misleading, I was expecting this to be about McDonald's staff being racist.

Should be edited to "scumbags being racist - quelle surprise"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Just witnessed about 3 so called “unwell” strong dublin accent poorly dressed white Irish ppl give dreadful racist abuse to a black security guard as he refused to allow them to use the toilet facilities. Plenty of profanities and threats to do this that and the other to the security guard.

One of them claimed to have his lawyer on the mobile phone while the incident was ongoing.

Shameful carry on.

Because they have no intellect to draw on when engaging in a challenge, so they rely on brutality and racism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭HailSatan

Salt of the earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

We should stick a few holes in the boardwalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

When did McDonalds start requiring a key code to access the jacks? It was never a first preference choice, but a McShít was always a good emergency option if you found yourself in urgent need of using the facilities.

Antares35 wrote: »
    Because they have no intellect to draw on when engaging in a challenge, so they rely on brutality and racism.

A bit like if you’re denied entry to your favourite bar by some east european bouncer for being too well lubed already you might utter slav. It might roll off the tongue like a derogatory term but it’s not really is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

What do you want “the left” to do, exactly? It’s sh1t that a security guard got abuse by a drug addict.

Howninthenameofsweetsufferinjaysus is this a “the left” problem?

In other news: it’s raining today ra ra the left.

My issue is that the left (well specifically those of a bleeding heart disposition on that side of political though) like to offer themselves up as the saviour knights for groups who they perceive to be the 'downtrodden'. One week that could be junkies. Another week it could be blacks. The idea that these disparate groups might not exactly be friends at a basic level is totally lost on bleeding heart types.

This cognitive dissonance is also evident in their kneejerk shoutback to any criticism of islamism and their simultaneous support for feminists and gay rights, utterley disregarding the inherent compatibilities.

As to what should they do? In this case - nothing. The security guard it seemed did his job. Some drug addled wasters took umbrage at being excluded (rightfully excluded if customer safety matters) and shouted moronic personal abuse. Water off a duck's back for any security guy worth his salt. If he wasn't black they would have slagged him for having a beard, big ears, baldy etc. There is no 'cause' here believe it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,420 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

My issue is that the left (well specifically those of a bleeding heart disposition on that side of political though) like to offer themselves up as the saviour knights for groups who they perceive to be the 'downtrodden'. One week that could be junkies. Another week it could be blacks. The idea that these disparate groups might not exactly be friends at a basic level is totally lost on bleeding heart types.

This cognitive dissonance is also evident in their kneejerk shoutback to any criticism of islamism and their simultaneous support for feminists and gay rights, utterley disregarding the inherent compatibilities.

As to what should they do? In this case - nothing. The security guard it seemed did his job. Some drug addled wasters took umbrage at being excluded (rightfully excluded if customer safety matters) and shouted moronic personal abuse. Water off a duck's back for any security guy worth his salt. If he wasn't black they would have slagged him for having a beard, big ears, baldy etc. There is no 'cause' here believe it or not.

You do realise that condemning discrimination on the grounds of religion, in no way supports any particular religion?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

You do realise that condemning discrimination on the grounds of religion, in no way supports any particular religion?

Of course he doesn't get it, reading his posts here there's a lot he doesn't get

• Site Banned Posts: 66 ✭✭Annurca Apples

I admire El Duderino's dedication to express his views on feminism and racism, without fail, if there is a thread discussing these topics he will be posting furiously on the subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

Title is misleading. Nothing to do with McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I worked in retail and junkies and travellers are the worst. All they do is cause hassle for security guards. I would hate to work in a shop in the Dublin city centre tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

Why do the dublin non working junkie/drug addicts/unwell resort to racism so quickly?.

As opposed to the softly spoken Cork / Limerick / Tipperary / Galway / insert county here/ junkies?

So "the left" did nothing wrong in this instance. In fact the left has done nothing at all which you say is the correct thing to do, but it's still "the left" at fault. Gotcha.

I wonder if "the left" is made up if different people who have different opinions and you just lump them together as "the left" as a single group as a handy way to dismiss them.

I admire El Duderino's dedication to express his views on feminism and racism, without fail, if there is a thread discussing these topics he will be posting furiously on the subject.

Thanks for your admiration. You probably haven't noticed that I didn't offer an opinion on either racism or feminism in this thread.

Edit. Are you my rereg?

AulWan wrote: »
    Title is misleading. Nothing to do with McDonalds.

Well it wouldn’t happen in Supermacs.

Because people who either are, or perceive themselves to be, on the lower rungs of societys ladder bolster their self-esteem by trying to push others beneath them.

There are people who desperately want to feel better than someone - anyone - and they'll use anything obvious (like skin colour or nationality) to set them apart.

Candie wrote: »
    Because people who either are, or perceive themselves to be, on the lower rungs of societys ladder bolster their self-esteem by trying to push others beneath them.

There are people who desperately want to feel better than someone - anyone - and they'll use anything obvious (like skin colour or nationality) to set them apart.

Or they have less to lose by expressing their true opinions whereas others who are middle class and above would never dare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Just witnessed about 3 so called “unwell” strong dublin accent poorly dressed white Irish ppl give dreadful racist abuse to a black security guard as he refused to allow them to use the toilet facilities. Plenty of profanities and threats to do this that and the other to the security guard.

Shameful carry on.

I always believed racism was only a middle class thing.

I never thought that poorer people who just couldn't quite catch a break in life could be racist.

I guess you learn something new every day.

Or they have less to lose by expressing their true opinions whereas others who are middle class and above would never dare.

LOL. I doubt drug addicts are making those calculations in the middle of trying to get into a public toilet to shoot up.

I always believed racism was only a middle class thing.

I never thought that poorer people who just couldn't quite catch a break in life could be racist.

I guess you learn something new every day.

I get that you're doing a little skit. But why would you even bother? Who ever said poor people can't be racist? Where's the comedy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Ah they had a tough upbringing, it’s not their fault that they’re utter scum bags with zero intelligence. You can console yourself with the fact that within 10 years most of them will have OD’d or been shot...which is nice.

LOL. I doubt drug addicts are making those calculations in the middle of trying to get into a public toilet to shoot up.

I don't think you get how people work. They don't need to make calculations to be themselves, if anything it's the middle class people who are making the calculations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Screw Attack

Dubs; can't live with them, can't kill them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Dubs; can't live with them, can't kill them either.
    Yeah cos Dublin is the only place with a drug problem or racists....
    Stupid post

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I think the bigger question is what was the OP doing in McDonalds at 9:30 in the morning?

You might say, "ah it's Friday, let him have his Egg McMuffin".

But is he late for work? Is he hungover and on the mitch from work? What is his agenda here? WHAT IS HIS AGENDA?

I don't think you get how people work. They don't need to make calculations to be themselves, if anything it's the middle class people who are making the calculations.

Middle class people who want to shout racial abuse at a black security guard for not letting them into a toilet to shoot up. The y might be making that calculation and deciding not to do it. Most people probably don't feel much need to shout racial abuse in the first case so don't have to do much calculation.

Do you often need to do the "will I shout racial abuse or not" calculations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

faceman wrote: »
    I think the bigger question is what was the OP doing in McDonalds at 9:30 in the morning?

But is he late for work? Is he hungover and on the mitch from work? What is his agenda here? WHAT IS HIS AGENDA?

I kinda wish I was all 3 this morning.

Middle class people who want to shout racial abuse at a black security guard for not letting them into a toilet to shoot up. The y might be making that calculation and deciding not to do it. Most people probably don't feel much need to shout racial abuse in the first case so don't have to do much calculation.

Do you often need to do the "will I shout racial abuse or not" calculations?

Based on your response I don't think you understood what I said.

Most people do stop themselves from doing things that are socially unacceptable. For some people that means stopping themselves from making racist remarks. Believe it or not, closet racists exist, don't be so gullible.

faceman wrote: »

Tbh I’m wondering what his gender is after that little hissy fit. A day in the life op; skin he’s in I doubt he’s bothered half as much. It never goes away so get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

I get that you're doing a little skit. But why would you even bother? Who ever said poor people can't be racist? Where's the comedy?

Lefties and liberals. All the time.

Poor people and working class read Karl Marx books and aren't racist. They're just poor because of 'the man'. Who has prevented them from ever a break in life.

They understand that capitalist mechanisms are the real enemy in life.

Karl Marx sez.