Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is rural Ireland.

• 01-10-2019 2:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭

one of the most common phrases these days is Rural Ireland. it is a subject of constant discussion here and across the media in general.
    But where is it?
    is it everywhere outside Dublin? is it only places that dont have street lights?

it has a bit of a Brexit quality to it, it means different things to different people. the average resident of even a small Irish town does not consider themselves a rural dweller, yet there are probably many people that would consider Galway city to be in rural Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

If some culchie thinks because the live in a town they don't live in rural Ireland that is their problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

If you zoom out on Google Maps satellite images its everywhere that isn't a depressing grey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

It's where people don't have to remember when it was all fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Zamboni wrote: »
    If you zoom out on Google Maps satellite images its everywhere that isn't a depressing grey.

So the Phoenix park is considered rural now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

I read the thread title in Ali G's voice for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Ehhh! Fields, meadows, bogs, hills, mountains and seaside, country roads. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Basically everyone outside of the The Pale and the other cities (whatever they maybe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,430 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

D3V!L wrote: »
    Basically everyone outside of the The Pale and the other cities (whatever they maybe)

Wouldn’t even include the other “cities”. It’s pretty much anywhere outside the M50, not including the North.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Our Great Father in the east has made many empty promises to our people. He makes a treaty and we have peace. But then he announces a post office closure. We make a new peace treaty and he closes a Garda station or builds an Aldi trading post at the edge of town just beyond the hurling field. What will become of our people?

Gerry Mór O'Rourke
    Great chief of the Roscommannii Sioux, 1876

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

Where family love takes on a whole new meaning....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Well hell that's where I live son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

September 1913
    What need you, being come to sense,
    But fumble in a greasy till
    And add the halfpence to the pence
    And prayer to shivering prayer, until
    You have dried the marrow from the bone;
    For men were born to pray and save:
    Rural Ireland’s dead and gone,
    It’s with O’Leary in the grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Definition of Rural from National Spatial Strategy (CSO and OECD use similar definitions)
    Quote:
    “Rural” is defined as District Electoral Divisions (DEDs) with no population centre above 1,500 people, with a population density below 150 per sq. km, and which are not part of an urban district or borough, ie it broadly refers to open countryside and rural villages.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    If some culchie thinks because the live in a town they don't live in rural Ireland that is their problem.
    Well, if someone thinks that a person is automatically a "culchie" because of where they live or where they are from then they are automatically a wanker.

Vita nova wrote: »
    Well, if someone thinks that a person is automatically a "culchie" because of where they live or where they are from then they are automatically a wanker.
    Well it pretty much goes with the definition the culchie is going to be from a particular type of location. They aren't going to be from Ballymun are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Its where you have a local shop for local people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Well it pretty much goes with the definition the culchie is going to be from a particular type of location. They aren't going to be from Ballymun are they?
    No, but while all thumbs are fingers not all fingers are thumbs.

Vita nova wrote: »
    No, but while all thumbs are fingers not all fingers are thumbs.
    Jasus just accept you used a particular bad way to argue a point against a joke. Now one of my fingers is up but I can assure you it isn't a thumb, can you hazard a guess✌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Anywhere there's an agricultural college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Anywhere they moan about Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

It must be the place that moronic very anti one off housing urbanite gobshyte Emaon Ryan reckon he can put wolves.

And to think some eejits see the green party as our saviours.

God deliver us from gobshytes.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Yeah that what it seems to mean in its most common context. Anywhere people have a delusion that everything is somehow better in the Dublin and that they're all alone when it comes to crime and access to services

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

So yiz could eliminate culchies by stopping being so feckin headwrecking, is what you're saying? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Its outside my house :)

We're just back from back garden picking the last of the blackberry's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

September 1913

Changing Romantic to Rural does not make it so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

It's the place where some people from the cities and larger towns dump their rubbish.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

It's as much cultural as a case of numbers, take Galway

Somewhere like maree looks rural but the vast majority who live there now in one off houses are blow ins with professional jobs in Galway city, it's not rural in the way somewhere like glenamady is where most are seed, breed and generation

It similar to the phrase D4 it's more a cultural idea that a real place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭galwayllm

If you're not a west Brit you're a cultie... According to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Rural ireland is defined as being a place you might be able to afford a house if you could find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Any small town, village or crossroads with a pub that opens in the daytime - example Drumlish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

It doesn't exist, it's been long eroded and destroyed by ribbon development and one off housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Ush1 wrote: »
    It doesn't exist, it's been long eroded and destroyed by ribbon development and one off housing.

Where do you think the 8M+ plus people were living 170 years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Whereas Dubs try to forget that most of them are descendants of people who lived (or still live) in the tenements and their grannies were scrubbers who serviced the Tans down in Monto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's where people don't ask you for "spare change".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Paddy223

I would classify my area as rural Ireland. The nearest basic shop and pub is 10 minute drive and nearest town is 20 mins. Surrounded by nothing's but fields, hills and sheep. On top of this we have no ADSL broadband and instead of magnificent speeds of 1mbps with three Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Edgware wrote: »
    Whereas Dubs try to forget that most of them are:
    1. descendants of people who lived (or still live) in the tenements
    2. and their grannies were scrubbers who serviced the Tans down in Monto
    I live in Dublin.
    Like many Dubliners I was born elsewhere, in my case in mid-Leinster.
    My grandmother ran a pub and farm in mid-Leinster.
    I live in the suburbs.

I can easily forget your image of Dubliners.
    We are not West Brits, or Jackeens, or any of your fantasies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The only moaning I heard about Dublin outside of Dublin was to do with the media. That RTE is too Dublin dominant and that many things which happen outside of Dublin aren't reported on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

In much smaller structures within much smaller areas with way less roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Upforthematch

Rural Ireland is where people say they go up to Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Rural Ireland is where people say they go up to Dublin!

Some of us go down to Dublin.

Correct use of grammar dictates that you will always use "up" when travelling to the capital city. Of course if you regard Belfast as your capital or indeed London then it would be quite appropriate to use "down" if indicating that you are travelling to Dublin.

I live in Dublin.
    I live in the suburbs.

If born elsewhere you are not a Dubliner but I understand your wish to leave the Bog of Allen behind and claim to be a native of the leafy suburbs of suburban Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

flagmount co clare, the land that time forgot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭begsbyOnaTrain

If you've never had a thousands strong candlelit prayer procession with "Dealers out" placards in your locality, you probably live in Rural Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Someone posted earlier about rural Ireland being everyone else outside of Dublin. Very intriguing and it got me thinking about other city dwellers from Belfast, Cork Limerick, Tallaght and Galway. I still don't mention the words Kilkenny and city in the same sentence. Let's be honest Kilkenny is still a town with a big castle in it and a pub called Langtons were Gards and nurses meet to get drunk together and have casual sexual encounters after they dance and shout "yahoo" at each other for a few hours on a Saturday night. One night club does not a city make, no matter how many cathedrals there are. I hope you are listening Longford, Athlone, Sligo and Waterford. Oh yes Waterford I have had my eye on you for a while.

Here the lines are drawn between general culchie behaviours and the more (or less) civil behaviours of the big city smokers. Waterford is a prime example. An old port city with a Norman twist. Identifying with Munster while acting very Leinster indeed, the stench of betrayal, how do you live with yourselves?

The plight of the Corkonian must be tough. Even after tackling the inherent problems of dialect and accent it must really sting to question ones existence, particularly if your mid west like BallinCollig or somewhere out the Macroom road, not good. The smell of cow shight must be everywhere around there and yet your still heading out to Washington street at the weekend looking to pull fine things from Montenotte or Douglas, one with a polished accent and brown eyes, something to show your pals like. A tough start lets be honest, the boat to Swansea seems a viable alternative. The question still remains if your from Cork, are you city or county, hurling or football, soccer or rugby , brown eyed or blue? Do you hang around eating Vegan on Lavitts key or are you taking the bus to Cobh for ice creams? What to do like? Please see below for the night club acid test.

Your not getting away with it either Limerick. Although you do get a pass as there is a very distinct line formed between your culchies and townies. You either come from a farm or the gubberment pays for your house, I get it, we have that in west Dublin too, I understand. It is regrettable that you have to share the river Shannon with a pile of tattooed numpties who are hell bent on eradicating each other by force alone. If I became mayor of Limerick I would throw them all naked into a gated Thomand Park and tell them that the last man alive gets a lifetimes worth of free electricity, peat briquettes and eat all you want for a year voucher with Abrakebra, that would sort it out, problem solved.

Your getting away with it for the moment Belfast and Galway , but I will be back.

Everyone should be aware that the concept of a town being a city if it has a cathedral is bullshight made up by your parents when you where in the car going on summer holidays, it is simply not true. The actual genuine identifier of a city is whether or not it houses more than one nightclub which is open seven nights a week until 3 in the morning at least. If it doesn't it is not a city , simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

^^^^^
    Cool story.
    Next to nothing to do with the thread mind, but sure so what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I live in Dublin.
    I live in the suburbs.

Nothing worse than a wantabee.;)
    IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Someone posted earlier about rural Ireland being everyone else outside of Dublin. Very intriguing and it got me thinking about other city dwellers from Belfast, Cork Limerick, Tallaght and Galway. I still don't mention the words Kilkenny and city in the same sentence. Let's be honest Kilkenny is still a town with a big castle in it and a pub called Langtons were Gards and nurses meet to get drunk together and have casual sexual encounters after they dance and shout "yahoo" at each other for a few hours on a Saturday night. One night club does not a city make, no matter how many cathedrals there are. I hope you are listening Longford, Athlone, Sligo and Waterford. Oh yes Waterford I have had my eye on you for a while.

Here the lines are drawn between general culchie behaviours and the more (or less) civil behaviours of the big city smokers. Waterford is a prime example. An old port city with a Norman twist. Identifying with Munster while acting very Leinster indeed, the stench of betrayal, how do you live with yourselves?

The plight of the Corkonian must be tough. Even after tackling the inherent problems of dialect and accent it must really sting to question ones existence, particularly if your mid west like BallinCollig or somewhere out the Macroom road, not good. The smell of cow shight must be everywhere around there and yet your still heading out to Washington street at the weekend looking to pull fine things from Montenotte or Douglas, one with a polished accent and brown eyes, something to show your pals like. A tough start lets be honest, the boat to Swansea seems a viable alternative. The question still remains if your from Cork, are you city or county, hurling or football, soccer or rugby , brown eyed or blue? Do you hang around eating Vegan on Lavitts key or are you taking the bus to Cobh for ice creams? What to do like? Please see below for the night club acid test.

Your not getting away with it either Limerick. Although you do get a pass as there is a very distinct line formed between your culchies and townies. You either come from a farm or the gubberment pays for your house, I get it, we have that in west Dublin too, I understand. It is regrettable that you have to share the river Shannon with a pile of tattooed numpties who are hell bent on eradicating each other by force alone. If I became mayor of Limerick I would throw them all naked into a gated Thomand Park and tell them that the last man alive gets a lifetimes worth of free electricity, peat briquettes and eat all you want for a year voucher with Abrakebra, that would sort it out, problem solved.

Your getting away with it for the moment Belfast and Galway , but I will be back.

Everyone should be aware that the concept of a town being a city if it has a cathedral is bullshight made up by your parents when you where in the car going on summer holidays, it is simply not true. The actual genuine identifier of a city is whether or not it houses more than one nightclub which is open seven nights a week until 3 in the morning at least. If it doesn't it is not a city , simples.

So you are basically a dub who has spent some time in Cork and the odd weekend in Kilkenny, probably on a stag or something similar.
    You don't display any in depth knowledge of Limerick and Waterford and then totally leave out Belfast and Galway.
    Although you may be back to tell us about the Galway nightclubs you visited on a stag weekend in the West.

Oh and I can point out a couple of places in Dublin where guards and nurses hook up and even one where you can throw in the prison officers into the mix.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

Wouldn’t even include the other “cities”. It’s pretty much anywhere outside the M50, not including the North.

realistically there is only one city in Ireland anyway, so I guess you could anywhere outside Dublin might be considered rural Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

15 to a room in Dublin, and no-one had holiday homes in the Wesht ... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 jameson4me

West of the M50