Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jesus wept

• 25-09-2019 10:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭

What other online phrases annoy you?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Darwin award.. anyone using that phrase is a prime candidate for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

"As the fella said"......Who?

"Grand stretch in the evenings" like its a surprise every year

"IMO", "BTW" etc. Abbreviations are for teenagers.

Spell it out, you lazy so and so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭bdmc5

"Won the internet" & "Broke the Internet"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Moist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

go figure

i'm not going anywhere ye prick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

But like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,243 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

I thought this thread was going to be about the user Jesus wept. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭FarmerBrowne

People who say "period" at end of sentence, so patronising 😖

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭threetrees

The dog's boll**ks.
    I hate that phrase over any other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Are ya coddin me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

"IMO", "BTW" etc. Abbreviations are for teenagers.

Spell it out, you lazy so and so.

OMG, R U srs?

‘Woke’

You might as well write ‘100% dickhead’ on your forehead. You big dripping bell end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭houseplant

The phrase "grinds my gears" REALLY... gets on my goat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

bdmc5 wrote: »
    "Won the internet" & "Broke the Internet"

How could I have forgot those two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

"First world problem"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

“I won it on eBay”

How the fück is being willing to pay more money than everyone else for something considered “winning”?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

elperello wrote: »
    FFS

What have I done this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

JayZeus wrote: »
    ‘Woke’

You might as well write ‘100% dickhead’ on your forehead. You big dripping bell end.

Do you have issue with the word itself, or that its used incorrectly or just that there is a term for those who are "perpetually aware of issues"

Snotty wrote: »
    Do you have issue with the word itself, or that its used incorrectly or just that there is a term for those who are "perpetually aware of issues"

No thanks. I’ll leave that bait for someone else who feels the need to explain the obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

People who say "period" at end of sentence, so patronising 😖

It's just the yank "full stop" though isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Gargantuan..... I love that word. So hard to get it into a sentence these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

'Whoosh' is particularly annoying. No, I've never been on the receiving end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Jesus wept has been around for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Here you go OP

Expressions you hate

Last entry was only at the weekend so its been fairly active.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Darwin award.. anyone using that phrase is a prime candidate for it

I assume you’re joking. Somebody commenting that, say, playing Russian Roulette is a game for Darwin Award candidates... makes the commenter a Darwin Award candidate? How do you get there?

When was the last time someone used it like that though? For years now it's just been to have a guffaw at actual accidents that just aren't everyday types

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

"Lad"

When was the last time someone used it like that though? For years now it's just been to have a guffaw at actual accidents that just aren't everyday types

Aaah, various online discussions? That’s usually where I see the term used. Rarely enough in real life, but if it’s used correctly, it doesn’t annoy me at all. If the freak accident is caused by somebody doing something really, really stupid, I don’t see the problem. I remember some Irish crim shooting himself in the head maybe a decade ago showing off. That’s an example where I heard it used in real life. And, it was true.

I can’t say I’ve heard it used in relation to any freak accident that occurs personally. Usually freak accidents are reacted to with sympathy, in my experience, especially if it was clear that nobody was at fault or that the error was something that could have happened to anyone. There’s often a very clear difference between that and somebody doing something moronic. And if that moronic thing causes injury or death, fuck ‘em, quite frankly.

As an example the guy who drowned proposing to his wife a few days ago. Judging by the pictures it was just a tragic accident, and yet there the phrase popped up

Eeeee, I found that story really sad personally... but, water must be respected. That incident does straddle that line, I think. I made up my own criteria above but I’m going to stick with it. Could that accident have happened to anyone? Not really. I feel really sorry for the chap who died but what he did was very risky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Arghus wrote: »
    Jesus wept has been around for ages.

since the time of Moses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

libtard cuck

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Language is broken.
    Even typing that pains me.

Remember text speak?

I remember hearing the term 'Jesus wept' for the first time by a friend back in the 90s and remember thinking WTF?

Language is alive and always evolving.
    Long may it, eh, live.

I don't really care about most things but ending a response with something like "good gentleman" or "kind sir" annoys me. It's more of a Reddit thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭facehugger99

*Grabs popcorn.

Which I always assume is shorthand for 'I am a dick'.

Also, anyone ending a bolloxy ramble with "Thoughts?" can fcuk right off too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

houseplant wrote: »
    The phrase "grinds my gears" REALLY... gets on my goat.

Have you got an actual goat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

JayZeus wrote: »
    ‘Woke’

Depends on the context.

Black Americans using it as an awareness they are frequently the victims of social injustice and racism? No. Perfectly correct. It's needed, too.

White SJWs using it as an ego trip? Yes - totally agree with you.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭bodun

"Dropped"
    As in "The new U2 album dropped last night".
    Usually used by the cnuts who write for joe.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"Choooooone"

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,907 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Fixed that for you.

Links?

What part of...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

"I'm not going to lie to you..."

Consider please how what you are saying might carry the same meaning without you saying it at all.
    Consider how you might merely be using it a preface to make yourself sound clever or funny. Does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

"Wow, just wow"
    "I'd say you are great fun at parties"
    "yawn"

All used by people with no comeback or counter argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

topper75 wrote: »
    "I'm not going to lie to you..."

Consider please how what you are saying might carry the same meaning without you saying it at all.
    Consider how you might merely be using it a preface to make yourself sound clever or funny. Does it?

Also "To be honest" and "In fairness / TBF". In my experience often used when people are lying and being unfair.

*Grabs popcorn.

Which I always assume is shorthand for 'I am a dick'.

Also, anyone ending a bolloxy ramble with "Thoughts?" can fcuk right off too.

Discuss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Hector Mildew

"See you on the flip side" Not fully sure what it means but it annoys me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

/ thread.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

1: Bastardising "To be, or not to be".
    3: Adding "gate" to anything to imply a scandal.
    2: Badly Numbered Lists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

Here you go OP

Expressions you hate

Last entry was only at the weekend so its been fairly active.

Keep up the good work. You’ll make moderator one day.