Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When is it worth lying on your CV?

• 19-09-2019 8:43am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13

The answer to this we always hear is "it is never worth lying on your CV". But let's rephrase the question to "when is it worth the gamble of lying on your CV?" In other words sometimes it can pay off. And I'm not talking about stretching the truth, I'm talking about lying.

By and large, of course it's best not to lie. But the only reason a career coach will always say not to lie on your CV because they have to cover their own ass. Or else because they've no imagination. They can't be seen to say something like "sometimes it works but just be aware you're taking a gamble there, and keep very careful track on the things you lied about". Or if they said something like "it's impossible to predict if an interviewer will notice such a detail, and whether or not they'd go to the trouble to verify it". So can you lie about minor things that are far in the past?

It's all very well to put whatever it takes on the CV to get you to interview stage, but if you're going to lie about something, you should keep track of it so you don't get caught out. It'm a matter of asking yourself "do I have a referee that associated with the job where I lied? and may they ask for that referee?". But all in all, if you're clever about where you lie, it can work really well to go with a good impression you make in an interview.

I view it as a gamble that depends on a lot of factors. It also depends where you are in your career, and on the company who's interviewing you. If you're just starting out, then you don't have a reputation to ruin. It's funny interview coaches can't be seen to say this. Maybe it's because most of them were never in that position in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

whatever about sometimes exaggerating I think flat out lying is just plain stupid and probably result in being fired

for example, claiming you have a qualification you don't is just wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Make sure you don't tell a lie so big that you end up in this position.

AcrobaticHideousKawala-size_restricted.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 PeteTown

Riskymove wrote: »
    whatever about sometimes exaggerating I think flat out lying is just plain stupid and probably result in being fired

for example, claiming you have a qualification you don't is just wrong
    Yes, but now that you mention it I once got a job that surprisingly didn't vet my qualifications. Could I have known this in advance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

My CV is unexplained gaps interspersed with lies.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭belfe

Is easy.

Only when you are sure that nobody will ever find out and only if you know that you can do the work that you claim that you know how to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Generally never but no harm in stretching jobs to cover too many gaps. Make sure you can tell the lies well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭IsThisOneFree

I've interviewed a dozen or so people over the past 2 years for some tech positions. Whatever about lying, I can say that a good percentage of the candidates exaggerated on their CV. Personally I would only put a particular skill on my CV if I was pretty proficient in it. Some of the CV's we got had skills listed on them just because the person had touched it once or twice, but didn't really know how that technology worked. These were weeded out very quickly in a technical phone screen so they never even got to the face-to-face interview stage.

So maybe you could say employers are expecting a certain amount of exaggeration. But as for lying ... if you're having to "keep track" then it sounds like a fairly complex lie, or series of lies ?? What kind of lie are we talking about here ? Do you really want to get a job based on a lie and give up your current job, only to to fail probation at the new place because you were dishonest ? And end up with no job at all. I can't see how that would ever be worth it. Even if you did pass probation, do you want the stress of turning up a job every day that you won't be able to do because you lied about your abilities ?

And lastly, remember that a good percentage of companies use agencies ... they're looking at CVs every day, and I'd be fairly confident they could spot a fake CV a mile off.

Do you really want to get a job based on a lie and give up your current job, only to to fail probation at the new place because you were dishonest ? And end up with no job at all. I can't see how that would ever be worth it. Even if you did pass probation, do you want the stress of turning up a job every day that you won't be able to do because you lied about your abilities ?
    Better than being on the dole living with your parents. Wouldn't you say? Thought so!

Fake it til you make it!
    And lastly, remember that a good percentage of companies use agencies ... they're looking at CVs every day, and I'd be fairly confident they could spot a fake CV a mile off.
    No they can't. How could they? Lets say if someone referred to a technical term in an unusual manner on their CV, the agency company wouldn't be able to spot that because they probably wouldn't even know what the term means. Someone like you would know what it means though!

You can't tell if a CV is fake or not unless you verify it with colleges and referees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭tastyt

The truth gets you nowhere.

Fake it until you make it and don't worry about being honest with your employer, they'll lie to you forever telling you how much you mean to them and all sorts of ****e.

Truth is, when profits are down and the **** hits the fan , you and your colleagues will be the first to suffer.

Never feel guilty about anything you get from a corporate. If it's a small or family run business I'd feel a little different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I put in my cv that I was ceo if google, and when they stated that my name didn’t appear when googling ceo of google, I told them, as ceo of google I had instructed that my name doesn’t show under such a search.

I think they were impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Spoof the fúck away.

There's one simple golden rule - don't lie yourself into a job you can't do, you'll just be caught out and sacked.

Once you don't do that, they'll either reject you, in which case you're no worse off, or give you the job, in which case happy days - you now have a job you CAN do.

Once you prove you can do it, nobody will give a rats arse about your cv in few days or weeks.

Morals, shmorals - morals don't pay your mortgage!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

RbrgRCO.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭Qrt

I’m thinking of doing it myself. I’ve never had a job (here) and just got rejected from Centra as a Sales Assistant 😔

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Don't walk over the side of a cliff without a rope to pull yourself back up. 90% of the jobs you will receive offers for are based on how you perform in your interview and that essentially means how the interviewer perceives you as a person, in plain English … whether or not they like you.

Appointments are popularity contests, most semi skilled jobs can be done by anyone. Obviously your not going to make a dentist or an air traffic controller with a dodgy CV, but you could easily land a fat salary in " Property Management" if you stick your neck out.

I know people who survive in companies on their popularity alone, meaning I know they don't get up to much and still keep their jobs. The thing is in many organisations that is all it takes, keeping your head down, plámásing the really big egos and appearing keen, it works. Most senior **** in organisations just want to feel like they are right all the time and be told how great they are, the higher up you go the more clowns there are, believe.

So if you have a decent neck on you and are able to traverse your own bullshít you should be fine, everyone else is at it.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Don't walk over the side of a cliff without a rope to pull yourself back up. 90% of the jobs you will receive offers for are based on how you perform in your interview and that essentially means how the interviewer perceives you as a person, in plain English … whether or not they like you.

Appointments are popularity contests, most semi skilled jobs can be done by anyone. Obviously your not going to make a dentist or an air traffic controller with a dodgy CV, but you could easily land a fat salary in " Property Management" if you stick your neck out.

I know people who survive in companies on their popularity alone, meaning I know they don't get up to much and still keep their jobs. The thing is in many organisations that is all it takes, keeping your head down, plámásing the really big egos and appearing keen, it works. Most senior **** in organisations just want to feel like they are right all the time and be told how great they are, the higher up you go the more clowns there are, believe.

So if you have a decent neck on you and are able to traverse your own bullshít you should be fine, everyone else is at it.
    That's all very informative, but it's beside the point here. Your personality doesn't get you into the nterview.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

PeteTown wrote: »
    That's all very informative, but it's beside the point here. Your personality doesn't get you into the nterview.

Yes but your spelling certainly will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

tastyt wrote: »

Fake it until you make it and don't worry about being honest with your employer, they'll lie to you forever telling you how much you mean to them and all sorts of ****e.

Truth is, when profits are down and the **** hits the fan , you and your colleagues will be the first to suffer.

Never feel guilty about anything you get from a corporate. If it's a small or family run business I'd feel a little different

Totally agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

as long as you don't lie to a US multinational you'll be fine...they forensically go through your whole life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

If your surname is Ward, Joyce or McDonagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Frankly, my field of work is so small and my surname is relatively unusual, so I don't have to put anything other than my name on the CV. Prospective employers can just get all the info from the internet and from people who work in the same area. I could lie about my hobbies, I suppose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

victor8600 wrote: »
    Frankly, my field of work is so small and my surname is relatively unusual, so I don't have to put anything other than my name on the CV. Prospective employers can just get all the info from the internet and from people who work in the same area. I could lie about my hobbies, I suppose?

Are you Lionel Messi?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

as long as you don't lie to a US multinational you'll be fine...they forensically go through your whole life!

A friend told me that she applied for a job and was asked for proof of her Leaving Cert results.

She's 47 years old and did the Leaving in the same year the Berlin Wall came down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

victor8600 wrote: »

Ahern ? As in you've never had a bank account Ahern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Are you Lionel Messi?:D

More like Kevin Mitnick, but in a more niche software development area.

go through a PAS competition, lie the bollix out of the form, spoof the interview.

ive begun to think its the best way forward tbh, from recent observations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Lying is never worth it.
    Being economical with the truth can work at times. I didn’t get a good grade in my degree so I just left it off and if the interviewer never asked I said nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Bullsh1t might get you in the door, but it won't keep you in there.

Never a good idea to outright lie on CV. Bound to catch up sooner rather than later.

Over-inflation of roles done and bit of exaggeration is one thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

This 100% in stone. I’ve seen and known people do extraordinary things for their employer week in week out, completely get taken for granted, maybe given the odd ‘thanks email’ but when shît hit the fan and things went wrong, a mistake etc... they were left completely in the cold and knives were out...

Corporates tend to have seriously short memories... as to what conditions under and why they hire people in the first place being two memory failures, what they are entitled to expect from an employee is another especially as regards their job scope.

No guilt, they give, means you earned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Bullsh1t might get you in the door, but it won't keep you in there.

Never a good idea to outright lie on CV. Bound to catch up sooner rather than later.

Over-inflation of roles done and bit of exaggeration is one thing.
    I'd say you lied on your mod application. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Guy Person wrote:
    I'd say you lied on your mod application.

sssssshhhhh !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭mel123

PeteTown wrote: »
    Yes, but now that you mention it I once got a job that surprisingly didn't vet my qualifications. Could I have known this in advance?

Im in a big multinational and they never asked for any of my certs that were on my CV and they never contacted anyone for a reference.

Damn am i pissed i didnt know this, i would have been better qualified and bigged myself up a lot more had i of known, and in turn id be a lot better paid!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

mel123 wrote: »
    Im in a big multinational and they never asked for any of my certs that were on my CV and they never contacted anyone for a reference.

I’d say that’s very much an exception. It could have been that from your CV and from your interview that they found you to be an obviously suitable and very much the desired candidate. It can be hassle too chasing up companies for references, often they can’t be arsed getting back. Also many companies now will just give a generic response such as confirming the length of service and that there hadn’t been issues etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

A friend told me that she applied for a job and was asked for proof of her Leaving Cert results.

She's 47 years old and did the Leaving in the same year the Berlin Wall came down.

If I was to go permanent I'd literally have write my life story on a whiteboard and 3 a major background check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Strumms wrote: »
    Also many companies now will just give a generic response such as confirming the length of service and that there hadn’t been issues etc...

That's very true and certainly the policy in the last few places I've worked. You can ask someone for a character reference but that's about it and even then many people won't be willing to help if there's any potential reason for concern.

As a manager myself, I hate being asked unless I'm honestly happy to recommend someone. I don't particularly like when staff try adding me to LinkedIn either.
    Whatever about peers or senior staff who add me, I just think it's a bit of a conflict, but then I'm not a big fan of social media anyway to be honest which means no one is offended when I just don't respond.

One of mine works in AML ( anti-money laundering ) and the background checks for the job were unreal including checks on myself and her father and sibling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Whatever you do, don't say you're fluent in a language if you're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

I haven't done it but small lies are harmless I guess.

I know one guy who got a 2:2 degree who lied and said he got a 2:1. Now anyone who has applied for graduate positions in the past few years will know that many companies will say minimum of a 2:1 grade degree.

It wasn't checked and he got the job for which he otherwise would never even have been called for interview. Now a few years on, the grade of his degree doesn't matter anymore, it'll be all about the work experience he's got since getting that job. So it worked out pretty well for him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Omackeral wrote: »
    If your surname is Ward, Joyce or McDonagh

Guy meets a girl at a nightclub, after a few drinks and a chat, she invites him back to her place.

He call a taxi and they set off for her place, after twenty minuets they arrive at a halting site and the taxi stops.

Confused the guy says, "but I thought you told me that you were a nurse,"

"no2 she says, "I told you I was one of the Ward sisters, and thanks for the lift home boss."

Since LinkedIn became quasi-obligatory*, how can anyone really lie on their CV?

It would have to pertain to something so trivial that nobody would notice, so would be unlikely to swing an application.

*I was once told by a HR guy that he wouldn't consider hiring someone who didn't have linkedin or social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

The way people here talk about working in corporate jobs-threads like Biggest Scandal in Workplace- makes something like being a sewer cleaner sound like a dream job. :pac:

Never in a million years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Guy meets a girl at a nightclub, after a few drinks and a chat, she invites him back to her place.

He call a taxi and they set off for her place, after twenty minuets they arrive at a halting site and the taxi stops.

Confused the guy says, "but I thought you told me that you were a nurse,"

"no2 she says, "I told you I was one of the Ward sisters, and thanks for the lift home boss."
    Was she a Ward sister in Cappagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

The biggest fecking spoofers of them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,425 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Over the years I've known quite a number of people who spoofed their way into the left seat of commercial airliners. And others who turned up for interviews claiming to be Captains but as soon as they sat in the simulator seat they automatically tried to adjust the seat using the wrong hand which would indicate that they were actually used to flying in the right seat as a first officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Since LinkedIn became quasi-obligatory*, how can anyone really lie on their CV?

It would have to pertain to something so trivial that nobody would notice, so would be unlikely to swing an application.

*I was once told by a HR guy that he wouldn't consider hiring someone who didn't have linkedin or social media.

It's called content marketing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

when?

if you were unemployed and they gave you the fake smile and cold shoulder treatment for daring to be unemployed, thus perpetuating your cycle of 'you cant get a job because youre unemployed which means you can't get a job ... '

that would be an acceptable time.

another might be if you quite rightly told an upstart to go fck himself and walked out thus leaving you in the position in the later interview of having to talk about why you left your last job.

that too might necessitate a lie. because they wouldn't treat you fairly, so lie your ass off.

i made the right decision in telling an upstart to go shove it, and then lied my way into new (better) work (after a nice lazy holiday), i highly recommend it.

as soon as they hear 'dispute' they'll just rule you out anyway, you could be wronged like martin luther king and they're still just going to think 'oooh trouble maker'.

you wont get a fair shot, so fck them back in advance and just lie.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I guarantee other applicants are lying on there cv. I have done it but only a little that i could get away with if i did get the job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 200 ✭✭Uncle Charlie

Everyone lies on their CV I think its just a matter to what degree.