Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trends that are no more

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

The yoof of today should really work to bring that back. There’d be far more riding, and far less of the old identity politics stuff. Plus Chris De Burgh would get paid royalties.

Id love if there were ceili's to go to, great craic.

The Nal wrote: »
    Some of those are worth a fortune now. €100s and even €1000s.

anyone remember "The Pearlorian Cats": playing card sized stickers of cats dressed as hells angels, and other silly costumes

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I remember in c. 1998/1999 there was a craze of playing cards that had nudey women on them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

I remember in c. 1998/1999 there was a craze of playing cards that had nudey women on them!

Always preferred the pens than when you turned upside down the woman lost her clothes

Got caught one day in school and sent down to the head Christian brother, fecker confiscated it

Some of us still love a deck of porno cards :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,770 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Around a lot longer than that!

That may be the case but it was around then when they were a craze in our secondary school.

There was one teacher who couldn't control a class (there'd be roaring and shouting of the highest order and then he'd loose it) but he'd have to lock his classroom door and we'd be lined up outside.

There was one day he didn't lock it and two of the lads in my class got in and covered the blackboard in these yokes with blu tac. So there we were all lined up waiting for the teacher to come along and as he "unlocks" the door and opens it we half barged in before he could see the board and the whole lot of us were in hysterics.

We started shouting "jausys sir would ya look at the boobies on the ace of spades" etc :D

That may be the case but it was around then when they were a craze in our secondary school.

There was one teacher who couldn't control a class (there'd be roaring and shouting of the highest order and then he'd loose it) but he'd have to lock his classroom door and we'd be lined up outside.

There was one day he didn't lock it and two of the lads in my class got in and covered the blackboard in these yokes with blu tac. So there we were all lined up waiting for the teacher to come along and as he "unlocks" the door and opens it we half barged in before he could see the board and the whole lot of us were in hysterics.

We started shouting "jausys sir would ya look at the boobies on the ace of spades" etc :D

Days before Facebook what?
    A geography teacher walked out on us because we were so unruly in second year.
    Guess what fee paying school I woi be sending my son's to?

Days before Facebook what?
    A geography teacher walked out on us because we were so unruly in second year.
    Guess what fee paying school I woi be sending my son's to?

This guy was a Business Studies teacher and I did Business from 1st year up to 6th year. Did my leaving in 2004 so yeah...long before Facebook!

In first year we recorded him going mental on a dictaphone and another lad mixed it with rave music :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Pikey

bluewolf wrote: »
    ah no, block of icecream slice with wafers for a sandwich

Normally raspberry ripple (hated it)

Also kiwi pavalova was a big trend with my mother and aunts

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Omackeral wrote: »
    These stretchy mofos in the late 90s

m_5aad7d6f9cc7ef4fe8f7b0e3.jpg

I still wear these :P

This guy was a Business Studies teacher and I did Business from 1st year up to 6th year. Did my leaving in 2004 so yeah...long before Facebook!

In first year we recorded him going mental on a dictaphone and another lad mixed it with rave music :pac:
    TWO teachers with an average age of 75 years were employed my fee paying school this geography teacher was one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

I still wear these :P

DM incoming ðŸ˜

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Does anyone remember Boglins?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

The one I remember fondly was where you cut your jeans/ school pants/ whatever at the ankle. I tried a google search for an image, but its hopeless unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

J Mysterio wrote: »
    The one I remember fondly was where you cut your jeans/ school pants/ whatever at the ankle. I tried a google search for an image, but its hopeless unfortunately.
    I used to do this with my school trousers. It was always good fun on the last day of school when everyone was trying to rip each others trousers.

Men's earrings are on the Wayne.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Men's earrings are on the Wayne.
    Wayne who?

Wayne who?
    Is that you John Wayne?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

About 5 years ago those bracelets with all the saints on them, came and went quickly but I remember every barman at my work having them.

In Donegal you often will see lads that are still stuck in the 90's/early 2000s. Just the other day seen a fella with spiky gelled hair, eyebrow piercing (HUGE among the boys in the bog for some reason), bootcut jeans, striped polo with collar popped, car with loud exhaust and spoiler.

No doubt he has his occupation as 'full time mad bastàrd' on social media.

The Rachel haircut was huge back in Friends heyday.

Oh, I unfortunately have a permanent one: a tattoo of a chinese/japanese character which apparently does not actually translate to anything comprehensible. Any time I start to think I might be smart I just look at that tattoo and am humbled immediately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

Women wearing stripy tights in the late 90s. Always reminded me of the wicked witch of the west

• Registered Users Posts: 5,607 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Widespread alloy wheel theft.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,607 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Your Face wrote: »
    Does anyone remember Boglins?
    The holiday camp?

No, they were puppets or something.

Handheld games which only had one game on them, like Donkey Kong . Made by Bandai, CGL.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,715 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Handheld games which only had one game on them, like Donkey Kong . Made by Bandai, CGL.

I still have Gauntlet around somewhere. Took me ages to finish it. Great stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭iamtony

NAFF co.54 jackets.

Edit: https://naffco54.com/collections/best-sellers/products/the-bomber you can still buy them

• Registered Users Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Glenroe

WWJD?

- Nah. No Jesus-Phone for me for starters :)

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭zeebre12

Rufeo wrote: »
    Women wearing bootcut jeans?

Will the bootcut jean come back into fashion again? Didnt they wear tight trousers in the 70's like today?