Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phrases your parents constantly used in your childhood.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,236 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Were you born in a barn (every time the door was left open)

Hay is for horses

You make a better door than a window(when you’re standing up blocking the tv)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Clean your room or I'll kill Santa (My dad was a prick)

You had your own room?

And a Dad?

You lucky, lucky bas8trad.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

'That's the why'

Still pisses me off thinking about it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

'I'll brain you' was another classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

You'll never amount to anything.
    What'll we do with you.
    We pack you off to England.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Rubberlegs wrote: »
    My Dad with his whiissssshhhtttt, the news is on, every evening at 6:)

I do that now

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Raffo69

"Shut your mouth and eat your dinner"

"If your friends put their hand in the fire would you?"

"Don't have me tell you again"

"Get up them stairs"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭worded

If we didn’t eat our porridge it got progressively more threatening starting with ...

The head on you and the price of turnips

I’ll redden your ear

Then .... both ears ....

Then .... I’ll do the river dance on your head

Then ...

I will poke your eyes out with my knitting needles

I will drive over you, and then reverse back over you to make sure I finish you off

That was my grandparents, my folks were a lot worse

Ah the good old days

• Registered Users Posts: 14,354 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

"The man"

He was always there, watching and keeping an eye, waiting for you to start play-acting.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

don't just look at it..... suck it

• Registered Users Posts: 21,094 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

sugarman wrote: »
    "I know you're a pain but I can't see through you" when blocking the Tele.

"You'd make a great door but a sh1te window" was the different take on that in our house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

“(S)he’s at every dog fight” or “You don’t have to be at every dog fight”. A favourite of my father’s and I’ve carried it through life. It’s his way of saying “be cool”. Whenever I couldn’t afford a night out in college, I thought of that. The world will keep on spinning if I can’t make it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

stone the crows

right as rain

it's white all over (a frost, not a racist remark)

and "try hard" was a name they used for number two in the loo.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

"There'll be tears before bedtime!" when we were getting too excited... when it was a hectic game of Monotony oops MONOPOLY with my big brother and his mates she was always right.. as in " It's NOT FAIR! He got a hotel on Park Lane!"

"No pudding until you've eaten your dinner!" * WHY did puddings always look more tasty than dinners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

If you fell "hows the floor?".

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭flowerchild

“Who have you helped today?”

“What do you think?”

• Registered Users Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

"You'll get square eyes watching that telly"

"There's kids staving in Africa"

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭BrenMar

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Clean your room or I'll kill Santa (My dad was a prick)
    This made me laugh so much!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

"Is she doing a line with yer man?"

She wasn't talking about cocaine! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Thepillowman

Even Pudsy Ryan wouldn't do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Not really a saying, but my dad used to (and still does) say "Dingin'! For something that's good/cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

"You'll play with the cat 'till he scrabs you" when we were teasing somebody.

"You'll not stop 'till ye break it" when we were tricking with something.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

"Our Lord is there watching you" - referring to spooky Sacred Heart picture with the follow you everywhere eyes.

"School days are the best days of your life" - me bollox they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

They'd make a tinker out of ya - my mother, describing us kids to others.

Ya tantalising little bastards - the same mother getting ready for exercise with the wooden spoon.

Did you meet anyone you like better than yourself - my old maiden auntie whenever you came in from being out

Your bladder is too close to your eyeballs - my father, regularly to me. I cried easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

"If your head wasn't on your shoulders you would lose it."
    "You're laughing now, you'll be crying in a minute."

"Where is my bike?" ... "Up in Nellie's room behind the wallpaper" :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

“You can go to bed after Glenroe” was the norm on a Sunday night.

“Shut your mouth and eat your dinner”, was another regular

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Pick a lane, any lane.

Are you going to ****ing turn or spend all goddamn day indicating?

You want a medal or a chest to pin it on?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Any time dad was gone out it was always “to see a man about a dog”. We never got a dog :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Any time dad was gone out it was always “to see a man about a dog”. We never got a dog :(

• Registered Users Posts: 22,236 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

My Dad used to call farts 'Air Fresheners' Which was cute until that one time I was in the back of a car with a bunch of my under 12 hurling teamates on the way to a match (way more kids than seatbelts but those were the days) and someone farted, and me like the eejit that I am said 'Who's after doing an air freshener?'

He also used to call that small castle between limerick and Ennis 'Bun Mousey' because it was smaller than Bunratty. Another embarrassing moment in front of my gaa teammates, thanks dad.