Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you kill insects

• 11-09-2019 8:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭magic_murph

Like Ants, bees, wasps, spiders etc basically any crawling or flying entity thats not paying rent in your house

Smash them or softly escort them out of the house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The car takes out a few thousand in a good motorway run. Does that count?

What about yourself??

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,986 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Wasps, flys get either spray of vapona or a swat.
    Spiders I put outside and don't kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Wasps yep, anything else no.

I was stung by a wasp last year for the first time ever. Hurt like a mother****er.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mattser

I love watching Spring/Winterwatch etc. on Auntie Beeb.
    According to them the insect population is down 35% since 1975.

It's hardly due to Vapona and the Indo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Nope. Not even wasps. Everything has a purpose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I don't kill any of the lads on your list OP. I think anyone who kills bees or spiders is nuts.
    I kill flies of all varieties. They breed easy. They spread pathogens. I kill moths I find in the house but I leave them alone outside.
    I really like other critters who keep the flies down - bats, spiders, swallows and suchlike. My noble allies in the war on disease.

Mattser is right though - the big game is under unprecedented pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,656 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Only flies, bluebottles and wasps, although I've only had an issue with the latter this summer.

I assassinated an earwig last week, stupid thing was on the chair beside me at work.
    Hadn't seen one in years.
    Best kill ever, it never stood a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

those massive wolf spiders i catch and release. if i cant get to them or they are inaccesible ie behind a sink or something i spray them with bug killer.
    Fruitflies i kill hate them blue bottles same everything else bees wasps i help them out window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Spiders get left alone.

Everything else gets caught in a glass and escorted off the premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,876 ✭✭✭Feisar

No, I operate a catch and release scheme but the last spider I saw in the bath tub I dunno, will have to grease his feet when I relocate him!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,961 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I enjoy a good spider. Had one that lived beside my bed for ages last year. I wish Boris well but I fear he may be dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

Like Ants, bees, wasps, spiders etc basically any crawling or flying entity thats not paying rent in your house

Spiders aren't insects.
    And yes, I kill them. I used to escort spiders out of the house but now I just stamp on them.
    Wasps are evil. I like to kill them slowly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I usually let them out.
    I don't like killing things unless it's Ray D'Arcy.
    I would beat him to death with a brick.

We currently have a big wolf spider scurrying around the house. I'll be honest he frightened the bejaysus out of me on Saturday morning when i saw him on the wall in the living room but apparently they come alive this time of year to breed so best of luck to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,832 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Tend not to kill things if it can be avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I'm a live and let live type with everything bar flies. Although i have snapped and carried out a few wasp massacres this year and last - there is a ridiculous amount of them where i live, as in hundreds of them everywhere. There could easily be 15 or 20 of them in my house at any given time during the summer, i try to guide them out windows and whatnot but it's just a never ending chore.
    I've never been stung but everyone else has been, it certainly looks painful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

We currently have a big wolf spider scurrying around the house. I'll be honest he frightened the bejaysus out of me on Saturday morning when i saw him on the wall in the living room but apparently they come alive this time of year to breed so best of luck to him

Just googled these fellas, one came running at me the other night and i'm not ashamed to admit i screamed like a 6 year old girl. Scared the bejaysus out of me. I normally catch them and throw them out a window, but this fella i just left to his own devices and cowered in fear for the night in case i'd angered him somehow and he'd be out for revenge.

Ye, my mrs has now reverted to locking our bedroom door at night in the fear he jumps in next to her.

I'll tell you gow big this thing is, i was told to "get rid of it" and a pint glass wouldn't cover it, so got some plastic bowl thing and put it out the back.

But the joke is on the mrs as mr wolf is back in the house in the utility room :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Fruit flys and wasps.

I have massaceres slugs in the garden at nightime.... i feel terrible after, genuinely. It would be so avoidable if I brought a torch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Waspcatchers are easy to make for anyone having a problem. They work really well. They are basically sugar junckies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

The only insect I kill are mosquitoes.

Only scumbags kill bees and spiders.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

I use imitation insects to kill white trout ;D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 Asian Scammer

I reckon that during the warmer half of the year that I kill about 3 moths a day by clapping my hands together. Therefore I probably kill about 500 moths per year!

I often wonder if there'd more a greater population of moths in the house if I didn't kill so many! Probably not, but I like to think my killing of them reduces the abundance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not deliberately, but might remove a leg or three on a Daddy Long Legs, and see how long it lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Apiarist

I don't squash insects inside. Firstly, why kill a living thing, and secondly, it's unhygienic to have insect body parts splattered around. I use a matchbox to catch an insect or a spider, then release the creature outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

I don't kill anything, on purpose anyway.

People forget that wasps are important for the world's ecosystem. They are specialist pollinators and kill vast numbers of crop-devouring insects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Yes, but only the good ones like bees and spidersಠ_ಠ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

I mostly escort insects out of the house, with strict instructions never to come back.

The exception is midges.

Some months back I was cleaning out the car, and I was plagued by midges. I had the vacuum running and I started sucking up the cloud of midges around me. It was very satisfying, more so when I remembered the "turbo switch", was at it for about 10 minutes non stop, I swear it was sucking midges in from the mountain, I must have sucked a good ten thousand, reaching up high with the tube extension..

My wife returning from Supavalue, with a "what the feck are you doing" stopped my evil plan to remove all midges in the valley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Don’t kill anything apart from greenfly(if they’re inside). Spiders might get vacuumed up occasionally if they make a web. Back garden is full of bumblebees during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Never ever bees, and never seen a wasp out here but would leave them if outside and feed them . Anything in my private comfort zone has to go one way or another. Odd though that when you spray then open the door, the big loud flies head for the hills..

would not kill wasps unless inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Everything except bees. I must be like Hitler or Pol Pot in the insect/arachnid world.

no, i would feel bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

No, I hate to see any little creature running for its life. Everything has a purpose.

I've a couple of spiders that live by my bed and I don't have the heart to hoover them up. I spray a bit of tea tree around the bedside table every now and again and they vacate for a while but they always come
    Back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I kill them all because it’s good for the population, if there are too many then food is slim and starvation occurs, better to go by a quick stamp or squat than to starve to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

SlowBlowin wrote: »
    I mostly escort insects out of the house, with strict instructions never to come back.

The exception is midges.

Some months back I was cleaning out the car, and I was plagued by midges. I had the vacuum running and I started sucking up the cloud of midges around me. It was very satisfying, more so when I remembered the "turbo switch", was at it for about 10 minutes non stop, I swear it was sucking midges in from the mountain, I must have sucked a good ten thousand, reaching up high with the tube extension..

My wife returning from Supavalue, with a "what the feck are you doing" stopped my evil plan to remove all midges in the valley.

roflol!

I keep ants so no. I've a spider on my window sill called peter, but I assume he's just passing through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

Yes. I cannot stand creepy crawlies so they get as quick a death as I can give them.
    I'm a gentle person really....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

No , unless there's a fly in my room when I'm trying to sleep or a spider , the thoughts of one climbing into my mouth or ear when I'm asleep is enough to make me not sleep

I find the below link good for helping with Spiders

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5Mx9WO4Qn0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Flies and mosquitoes can get ****ed. I try not to kill other stuff. My pool often has bees in it from the hive next door and I'm forever fishing them out and saving them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭hgfj

Cockroaches. They really disgust me. I've never seen one in Ireland but the ones I saw in Texas were huge. Imagine an insect so big that you can actually HEAR it as it scuttles across the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

hgfj wrote: »
    Cockroaches. They really disgust me. I've never seen one in Ireland but the ones I saw in Texas were huge. Imagine an insect so big that you can actually HEAR it as it scuttles across the floor.

Oh yeah them as well, filthy disgusting things. Cannot stand them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Anything larger than a thumbnail freaks me out.

I usually adopt a 3-step process that has served me well over the years;

1) Throw heavy book.
    2) Girly scream.
    3) Run away.

I'll check back later when I've calmed down and deal with the remains.

I have noticed an influx also of Toilet Spiders(Not there actual name). If you keep the seat down sometimes they'll just sit there for hours on end. Just watch out for that................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,961 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I have noticed an influx also of Toilet Spiders(Not there actual name). If you keep the seat down sometimes they'll just sit there for hours on end. Just watch out for that................................

Poisonous too, so I've heard.

Not all, but some. One nipped the back of my leg a couple of years ago. Like a stinging sensation but was grand after some antibiotics. No biggie

This was similar to the one in my house

https://imgur.com/gallery/J67pkdy/comment/653353721

I kill flies a lot for sure. I tend to leave the more traditional pollinators off though so not big on killing bees or wasps. Normally befriend spiders rather than kill them.

There is a monster one living in our house which makes so much noise we originally thought it a mouse. The kids have named him Spindles for some reason. He sometimes comes out at night and does a lap of the living room and disappears back into his hiding place. No idea why he does this. Spiders do not normally have a jogging fitness regime do they?
    The car takes out a few thousand in a good motorway run. Does that count?

I remember the number of insects our car used to obliterate when I was a kid. We would drive from Dublin to Belfast to get the Ferry over to Scotland in the old days. ANd the windscreen was a mass of destruction.

Now I can drive that route or to Cork Sligo or Galway and I would be lucky to hit a single insect. Where are they all gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Id kill anything which is not in danger and multiples quickly, like fruit flies. But id never kill a honey bee, always usher it out an open window. Id never kill a butterfly either