Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

German style number plates, legality?

• 05-09-2019 11:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭

There was a discussion on social media today about whether the German-style number plates you see on some cars are legal or not.

What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Nope, not legal. There are clearly defined rules regarding letter type, spacing, size etc. on number plates
    But people still use them and probably only a small percentage get pulled on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

And besides, only a complete and utter dick head would use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The German style plates without the cutout on the number 0 or the state markings ARE legal.

Revenues policy sets out the dimensions of the letters and the display/positioning of the EU flag, IRL and county name in Irish. It does not designate a typeface (font) that must be used, therefore conforming to the rest is legal.

I had them on my second to last car for two and a half years and went through a dozen checkpoints without so much as a Garda glancing at them.

If you say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

I rest my case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think on an Irish registered car they look sh!te, particularly with how we were raped out of it by the EU on bondholder debt, I'd never ever do it on any car I'd ever own in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

A dickhead would use them. ‘Complete and utter’ status would require a Nurburgring decal as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

German style plates look well on the right car.

Over reaction thread or what...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

German style plates look well on the right car.

Over reaction thread or what...

On an Irish car they don't unless you are either 18.5 years old or an Eastern European confused with where you are living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

sdanseo wrote: »
    The German style plates without the cutout on the number 0 or the state markings ARE legal.

Revenues policy sets out the dimensions of the letters and the display/positioning of the EU flag, IRL and county name in Irish. It does not designate a typeface (font) that must be used, therefore conforming to the rest is legal.

I had them on my second to last car for two and a half years and went through a dozen checkpoints without so much as a Garda glancing at them.

If you say so.

Yea they are perfectly fine, however if you put the little stickers on them between the year and county like some people do then they are not legal. anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I think the German strike number plates are handy. They serve as a useful guide to how strict our police are at enforcing laws. I think their ongoing prevalence shows the the Traffic Corp up to be ineffective.

The ones with the sticker enrage me and instantly make me think the driver has a mental age of 10. Anything that hampers the plate's function of identifying the vehicle is totally unacceptable in my view.

Once you don't have that, then I think it's fine and down to personal preference. Interesting to know about the cut out in the 0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Surely those yellow redge plates with Irish registration numbers on them are far worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Worse/better doesn't really matter. They have a pretty strict set of rules for how plates are displayed.

Section 21 had even got pictures! Enjoy!

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1992/si/318/made/en/print

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Dyan

German's style but not a German licience plate, right? So it will not a legal or not problem.

Someone can order a customized German Pressed Metal Number Plate which material is high quality acrylic, motorbike, or even trailer will also can be used.

But I wonder you mean a real German licience plate in Ireland, then I either have no idea.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Surely those yellow redge plates with Irish registration numbers on them are far worse?

What are these? I've never seen one. Basically an Irish reg as produced by a UK supplier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

The other day I saw one that even had the state plaque - I think it was mimicking some county in Rheinland-Pfalz - and the TUV stamp. Each to their own but what's the point of that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

boombang wrote: »
    What are these? I've never seen one. Basically an Irish reg as produced by a UK supplier?

Like this:

https://www.eireplates.com/site/uploads/sys_products/yellowstandard.gif

Hilarious. Why would anybody want one of those? Just to alienate both Irish and British people simultaneously?

Some people are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

endacl wrote: »
    A dickhead would use them. ‘Complete and utter’ status would require a Nurburgring decal as well.

hyZYI2p.jpg

0ps5rWa.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I think they looks really good on any european car. The font is nice being a little bolder without being distasteful and pressed metal plates also look a lot nicer than the plastic ones.

I dont get them with the slash out of the zero or with all the fake tags and an Autohaus Wolfsburg plate surround but the German font on a pressed metal, otherwise legal plate is a tasteful upgrade to a car IMO.

The problem is generally those plates are on bastsedised yokes and people have come to associate the plates with tasteless cars, when the plates done right actually look quite well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Tikki Wang Wang

Genuinely thought it was only neo-nazis that used these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Really? I wouldn't think that. Just carheads. For me that's taking it a bit far, but harmless fun surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »

If it’s not in combination with dickhead plates, you’re in the clear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Thread has so far been an education in that I never knew these plates were so unpopular. Never struck me as a "boy racer" stereotype. Thought that was reserved for Glanzas and Civic saloons which sound rough, look rougher, have wheels a national average of four inches too big and drivers who can't grow beards.

The fancy fonts, yellow plates and italics a different story of course. Cheap tat.

German style font, with everything else being as per code and all entirely legal, is in reality a minor cosmetic change. Why the vilification?

I still think I will order them for my F30. They're legal, to me they look well, and suit the car. Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

I think they looks really good on any european car. The font is nice being a little bolder without being distasteful and pressed metal plates also look a lot nicer than the plastic ones.

I dont get them with the slash out of the zero or with all the fake tags and an Autohaus Wolfsburg plate surround but the German font on a pressed metal, otherwise legal plate is a tasteful upgrade to a car IMO.

The problem is generally those plates are on bastsedised yokes and people have come to associate the plates with tasteless cars, when the plates done right actually look quite well.

pics or gtfo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

sdanseo wrote: »
    Thought that was reserved for Glanzas and Civic saloons which sound rough, look rougher, have wheels a national average of four inches too big and drivers who can't grow beards.

The game has moved on since then to be fair. You are more likely to encounter a lowered dirty diesel Passat/ Jetta/ A4 with plumes of black smoke, gangsta music, a tacky "powered by the dole" and "haven't seen the Nürburgring" sticker on the back with the obligatory "whoosh" and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

boombang wrote: »
    Hilarious. Why would anybody want one of those? Just to alienate both Irish and British people simultaneously?

Some people are idiots.

Yellow plates used to be extremely common in border counties (I presume so that certain nordies would be less likely to damage your car up north) but are fairly rare now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I've never been stopped for having the German font plates or the small font jap pressed plates, I think it just depends on the guard that sees the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I’ve seen German ZV plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I view them as self preservation, for people who live in the border counties.

=-=

I don't mind the German plates on the German cars.

the_syco wrote: »
    I view them as self preservation, for people who live in the border counties.

=-=

I don't mind the German plates on the German cars.

Do they think unionists don’t understand the difference between a proper NI car and a ROI car with a yellow plate?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Do they think unionists don’t understand the difference between a proper NI car and a ROI car with a yellow plate?
    I find that the yellow plates often have the same font & layout as the UK cars.

Yeah but 05DL1234 doesn’t look like BBZ1234

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The 'German' font is not illegal per se. No font is specified in the SI, merely dimensions of character size.

Having said that, I think they look really naff on a car here.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,104 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Live and let live I say.
    It will only cost about €30 to change them if you buy the car and want get rid of them.

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    hyZYI2p.jpg

0ps5rWa.jpg

What a wanker :pac:

My buddy is just back from the ring, did 10 days there in an e46 330i (turbo)... nurburgring sticker on the boot now.

Don't judge everyone with the sticker.

That’s a bit like actually buying your car from Autohaus Munchen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I've seen a Sportage and a Duster with them lately...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭sk8board

I thought that nonsense had passed, as the nct generally weeds them out, but same a set of them on a “s6” diesel only last week lol.

I had a mk5 gti that had them about 10 years ago and I binned them. Bought the car from a local and he asked me if I’d ‘lost’ them :D
    Thankfully he had the originals in the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

On an Irish car they don't unless you are either 18.5 years old or an Eastern European confused with where you are living.

Considering vast amount of what you call Eastern Europeans in Ireland are Polish, I doubt they are too much into German plates considering history between those two countries.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Yeah but 05DL1234 doesn’t look like BBZ1234
    Yellow plate, with a GB tag. From what I've been told, it has saved their car from being torched, if they're doing a job in the wrong area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Never understood these bad never will. You don’t live in Germany, why the hell would you want German plates? Bizarre

Yellow plate, with a GB tag. From what I've been told, it has saved their car from being torched, if they're doing a job in the wrong area.

I doubt most of these lads:

have a job

visit Northern Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

I don't like these plates for the record.....
    But how did we go from number plate font/stickers to neo nazis

.......boards.ie :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Truckermal wrote: »
    I've seen a Sportage and a Duster with them lately...:pac:

I can't see how they would look any more "wrong" on those cars, than on any other car.

Brian Scan wrote: »
    I can't see how they would look any more "wrong" on those cars, than on any other car.
    Dusters are quite popular in Germany come to think of it.

Swapped my normal plates for...

e36.jpg

Carlowfornia reg.

IMG-3221.png

And sometimes I don't bother with a plate at all.

IMG-1644.jpg

Is this ok :pac:

Carlowfornia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

The absolute hack of that :D:D

fullstop wrote: »
    The absolute hack of that :D:D

Did I trigger you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Did I trigger you :pac:

Doesn’t bother me if you want to look like a tool :)