Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Heated Gaming Topics Discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

pixelburp wrote: »
    Oof. I'd forgotten that that hysterical jihad, masquerading as righteousness, was over one single person. I mean she seems a bit unlikeable, but Jesus Christ the histrionics over one slightly sketchy woman were a sight to behold. Imagine if that indignation had have been put to good, practical use. But soft targets are too easy for paper tigers.

I think it didn't help she was/is a somewhat unlikable person, much like Sarkeesian.

The whole thing was an entire joke, and while honestly it did show a lot of 'bias' from certain media outlets, it was largely just an excuse to harrass Zoe Quinn herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Apparently zoe quinn slept with a kotaku writer to get a favourable review.... for her game that kotaku never reviewed
    Positive coverage. Not reviews. Which she did receive multiple times from various journalists and outlets so you've got your facts wrong.
    And even if she did sleep with someone well that's how non incel adults interact with people sometimes and there's nothing wrong with that.
    Nothing wrong with it... until you're covering the products of people you're sleeping with/personal relationship and have the tag of journalist to work. Also she didn't just sleep with 'someone'. It was 5 lads in the industry, 2 of whom worked for gaming journalist sites Kotaku and Rock Paper Shotgun, both of whom also released positive coverage of Zoe's products without disclosure to readers of the relationship (happened earlier in 2013 with a female, too): That's an advertisement and it's illegal to do that in some parts of the world. Many ethics policies were updated after the gamergate controversy. They've never apologised and people still reference these hacks and their buddies as sources of anti-gamergate rhetoric despite literally being involved balls deep figuratively and literally.
    That's if that even happened considering the accusations are flaky at best.
    There's mountains of evidence showing she has extremely bad character traits and is a pathological liar. She's a self-labelled killer (almost definitely a lie) and rapist (by her own standards). The accusations that sparked gamergate were actually tame for her record and only a trigger for the wider issue. Most of gamergate is not about her or that situation: it was just the last straw and when Alec Baldwin coined the hashtag.
    I just looked at the fall out from afar while facepalming and lamenting the state of videogame 'culture'. Or should I say man child culture.
    Yeah yeah we all know you hate gamers (and therefore yourself?) because incel, toxic masculinity man child baby crying alt-right white nazi blah blah blah blah <insert latest wrong-think buzzword>
    It was a tragedy but
    But nothing. I'm convinced people like Quinn and the journo clique could probably commit a federal crime and anti-gamergate goons would still manage to convince themselves it ain't so bad. Just double down till the stars burn out.
    Sonics2k wrote: »
    The whole thing was an entire joke, and while honestly it did show a lot of 'bias' from certain media outlets, it was largely just an excuse to harass Zoe Quinn herself.
    The people who received the most criticism (not much harassment actually happened) were men proven by the use of the gamergate hashtag (the only way it existed back then) and the FBI report which concluded the whole thing was a big nothing burger. Quinn was also shown to be doxing herself to continue the victim narrative which she milks for money to this day using crowd funding donations on important things like banned breast implant surgery.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,094 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Here’s the ‘positive coverage’ in question on Kotaku... a story about a failed reality show, written - by all accounts, including the disgruntled ex who started the whole sorry affair - before Grayson and Quinn had a romantic relationship: https://kotaku.com/the-indie-game-reality-tv-show-that-went-to-hell-1555599284

There’s also a Rock Paper Shotgun piece by Grayson referencing Depression Quest (literally three positive words about it), written several months before the above: https://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2014/01/08/admission-quest-valve-greenlights-50-more-games/

GamerGate is a misogynistic harassment campaign / conservative culture war movement, where even the inciting incident is based on a farcical exaggeration and/or outright distortion of the facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

How come it is only since gamer gate that "misogynists" who I am sure some here will go out of their way to describe them as "white and angry" suddenly came out of the woodwork? which just reeks of the overly progressive ideology that has swept the entertainment industry in America and has spilled into film, comics and games bringing the whole quality way down.

The same kind of phenomena suddenly appeared after Trump got into power, the media suddenly created a "white supremacist" problem in America.

I do not think these things are actually anywhere near as big a problem or widespread as the News would have you believe, It is instead a boogie man that the media has created in order to fool people to switch on or click on their outlets.

In regards to just gaming I do not want to know what my character's sexual preference, pronouns or politics are, these were never important in the past and IMO are still not important and have no place in gaming.

Be careful of people who insist gamer-gate is about harassment. Want to abuse women? Game journalism is definitely the way to go.

Matt Hickey: Fined point three million USD for running a fake porn agency to get laid.
    #GamerGate is a bunch of women-hating future rapists!

Devin Faraci
    The losers in #GamerGate are mad at women because women want nothing to do with them!
    I have more respect for ISIS than the anti-Quinn people
    GamerGate isn’t about ethics. It’s about stopping women from having voices, it’s about keeping progressive ideas out of games and it’s about attacking any kind of game that doesn’t fit the mainstream, shoot-em-up vision of video games these deeply emotionally stunted people have
    Faraci had to apologise later for sexual assault.

Peter Bright whom often said things like kill all gamers and criticised anime for being for pedos was arrested for child sexual assault.
    there is no good faith interpretation of gamergate, because no part of it was ever in good faith. it wasn't a legitimate complainet cooped by bad guys; it was bad guys trying to give themselves a paper thin cover

Male feminist ally and Quinn associate Robert Marmolejo: Position: anti harassment
    We need to take action against #GamerGate and the ideology that spawned it
    Used his position to abuse 20 women

Jamie Killstein, another feminist
    #GamerGate is about sexism, not ethics.
    Left his job after sexual misconduct claims

Juan Thompson: Made bomb threats to jewish sites
    #GamerGate threatens and victimizes vulnerable marginalized groups.

Amazon's Izzy Galvez, anti-gamergate and anti-abuse specialist. Thanks to a gamergate operation is exposed as being a pro-doxing piece of shyte.

Sunil Patel, outspoken anti-gamergate author
    Gamers are dead, Gamergate is dead, what's next, ETHICS IN JOURNALISM IS DEAD
    Apologises and is fired later for inappropriate behavior towards women.

Joss Whedon
    Many good people think #GamerGate is about journalism & artistic freedom. That's like working at #KlanDayKare. The name means hate, guys.
    His ex-wife: "hypocrite claiming feminist ideals": link. This brings an end to his fan site.

Sam Kriss (VICE) who accuses gamers as for being misogynist racist etc has to later apologizes to sexual assault victim. Also lives with his mom because lol muh basement.

Rupert Myers. Anti-gamergate. Journalist. You guessed it. Fired for sexual misconduct.

Matt Conn, anti-gamergate mouth piece. Notably hired Zoe Quinn and Jim Sterling for VA work. Quits after claims of theft, racist and sexual harassment. His replacement? Toni Rocca, another anti-gamergate freak who claims gg is misgonysts, nazis, transphobic etc etc. He/she/whatever also has to step down due to sexual harassment claims (and blackmail using trans-phobia allegations as leverage). Jeez they just can't get someone who isn't a disgusting degenerate for these anti-gamergate, anti-hate type organisations. :rolleyes:

And as I mentioned earlier Quinn's whole f*cking family apparently vacation at Epstein's rape Island. I wouldn't turn my back on any of the bug eyed weirdo screaming about muh gamers and lying about gamergate for years now.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,226 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Bad people are bad people regardless of what side of a debate or 'left v right' they fall on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Shítbags are shítbags regardless of career or ideology, honestly that shouldn't even need saying, and reaching for whataboutery is weak. Doesn't change the reality that "gamergate" was a flaky excuse wrapped around a harassment campaign. That some attacking it were themselves dirtbirds doesn't negate, it's just poetic irony.

Of course, I'm sure being such paragons of ethics and nobility of conscience, these "campaigners" have moved on to other big social issues worth fighting. :pac: Especially journalism related issues, like fake news or Facebook? Right? Or maybe most have slunk back to their fora to rage against those SJWs putting women in their ww2 shooters... :rolleyes:

Richard Lewis recently put the mainstream game journalism industry on blast while accepting an award. Absolutely brilliant.
    https://nichegamer.com/2019/11/17/esports-journalist-richard-lewis-calls-out-kotaku-polygon-and-waypoint-for-bad-reporting-gatekeeping/

The clip:
    https://streamable.com/hf1pn#

^^^I was about to post the same, fair play to him.

Here on youtube also,

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 50,806 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

So a gamergater who once called gamergate a 'consumer movement' (*snigger*) gets his 1 minute of fame.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

I thought for a split second this was Richard Lewis of Curb your Enthusiasm fame.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,094 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Hopefully, the Quartering makes 18 videos about a tweet to get me back on track.

Bumping this because this is too funny to not share. TheQuartering: Truly the world’s most easily dunkable man:

https://twitter.com/9_volt_/status/1196797843639541762?s=21

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

For the laugh I tried to watch that video just now but I turned it off when thequarterling began by advertising (ahem) manscaping products.

ERG89 wrote: »
    For the laugh I tried to watch that video just now but I turned it off when thequarterling began by advertising (ahem) manscaping products.

“Balls to this... UGH, NOT LITERALLY”

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I don't want to ask, yet I must:, what on earth is "manscaping"?

Am wondering if perhaps Quartering is some long form, Stephen Colbert form of satire in actuality. That or he's just a shameless outrage peddler who knows how easily that nonsense sells on YT.

Since he's being brought up, The Quartering was physically attacked by the calm, collected anti-gamergate types at GenCon once by Loter, defending her ladyship's (Sarkeesian) honor. Of course he was sued... not for money but settled for a public apology which shows TQ was more interested in exposing and displaying the absolute hyprocrisy of these "woke" anti gamer maniacs than he was money.

An unfounded hitpiece (dime a dozen) by a 'game journalist' against TQ had to be pulled before they would face a libel lawsuit. Here's the apology by The Escapist editor. It was trying to label him literally every wrong-think buzzword under the sun.

Also worth noting that cnet's hitpiece "angry youtubers" was leaked to TQ before it was even published, probably by cnet staff whom take TQ's side but are apparently too afraid to bring it up internally to stop the sh*tpiece (the clique at work), which was being conjured for months and so had to pass it to him like it was a bloody wikileak. CNET staff also contacted TQ advertisers to take away his sponsors (as others seem to be triggered by here), which is a huge ethical violation because they're activists, not journos. In fact game journo activists was a trending term used a little while back. The only thing these hitpieces did was increase the sub and follow counts for everyone they tried to smear, too.

In other heated trivia, the responses to this tweet are gold

https://twitter.com/Polygon/status/1194691200843956224

• Registered Users Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I have watched a few of Jeremy's videos to get an idea of why there seems to be such strong forms of hate towards him from a few posters here, I dont get it, the guy seems well spoken, intelligent and logical. Calling out things that are ridiculous in the gaming scene seems to be his thing which is fine. He also says he was not even around during gamergate.
    An unfounded hitpiece (dime a dozen) by a 'game journalist' against TQ had to be pulled before they would face a libel lawsuit. Here's the apology by The Escapist editor. It was trying to label him literally every wrong-think buzzword under the sun.

Games journalism is like a cesspit over there where they are all in bed together(metaphorically) and if one of them want to misrepresent someone all the other will jump on board.

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SomeSayKos

The only thing worse than the Quartering are the people who eat the sh*t that he shovels

SomeSayKos wrote: »
    The only thing worse than the Quartering are the people who eat the sh*t that he shovels

Classic no substance response. Can you explain why you dislike him? As there is a chance I am missing something. Did he physically attack someone? Does he spout Hate speech? Or is it guilt by association?

I think i dislike him because he's a pathetic human being with a creepy agenda. Really creepy like. I'm getting the creeps just thinking about it now

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 50,806 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Does he spout Hate speech?

Yes.

Yes.

Personally I watched 35 of his videos about Captain Marvel and gave him the benefit of the doubt that maybe he just didn’t like the film.

Video 36, though, I definitely started to question whether there might have been something more to it.

Hate speech is a joke. Making videos critical of the industry... so scary and creepy! Responding to hitpieces via youtube - how dare they! They need to get an ad-ridden, corporate owned journo site. Then they can literally have associated with convicted pedophiles and it won't matter because absolutely nothing can break the narrative they need to maintain. Assault, pedos, fake porn agencies, proven lies, libel, blackmailing, doxing, suicides, secret mailing lists... still not as bad as muh hate speech. They're not all like that after all :rolleyes:

But gamers and youtubers are the problem because they've got the wrong opinions and have video formats I don't like, ok? I mean just look at him announcing clearly his sponsors in the opening of his videos... what a creep! He should hide them like the respectable journalists did until a literal gamergate operation got the USA's FTC to enforce disclosure.

Christ, this thread has become awfully circular and festooned with whataboutery.

Dogpiling sucks, but I refuse to feel sympathy for an outrage peddler who stirs the nest then, surprise, gets called out by those he's trying to incense. More fool them I suppose; but Quartering occupies about the same cultural space as Logan Paul. Professional drama merchants, who won't starve knowing the right buttons to press, with all the elegance of hammer.

But Kotaku!! KOTAAAKKUUUUU...

TETSUO!

Hate speech is a joke. Making videos critical of the industry... so scary and creepy! Responding to hitpieces via youtube - how dare they! They need to get an ad-ridden, corporate owned journo site. Then they can literally have associated with convicted pedophiles and it won't matter because absolutely nothing can break the narrative they need to maintain. Assault, pedos, fake porn agencies, proven lies, libel, blackmailing, doxing, suicides, secret mailing lists... still not as bad as muh hate speech. They're not all like that after all :rolleyes:

But gamers and youtubers are the problem because they've got the wrong opinions and have video formats I don't like, ok? I mean just look at him announcing clearly his sponsors in the opening of his videos... what a creep! He should hide them like the respectable journalists did until a literal gamergate operation got the USA's FTC to enforce disclosure.

I think video games are fun

• Registered Users Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭nix

pixelburp wrote: »
    this thread has become awfully circular and festooned with whataboutery.

Hehe pretty sure thats why this thread now exists :pac::D

That is fair enough and from watching around 16 of his videos now he has gone overboard a few times, I mean I would say to him "make your point but do not insult the person you are criticising."