Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

worst financial decision you ever made?

• 30-08-2019 4:31pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭

At any age? Doesn't have to be something like investing in bull**** stocks but rather even spending money on some frivolous purchase.

For me it has to be in 5th year when I didn't want to go to study in my school so I handed up the money to the school but skived for 2 hours every day for a month until it was over. I should have just kept it. It was €300 in an envelope that I handed in. They didn't even call my parents to tell them I wasn't attending cause they didn't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Bought a fry up in a cafe in ranelagh village. They don’t include tea or coffee in the price.

14 odd quid for a breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

Got a credit card with a limit of 3 grand while in college. Didn't pay it back for years. Credit rating suffered. Every time I think about it I get annoyed at mysel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

BDI wrote: »
    Bought a fry up in a cafe in ranelagh village. They don’t include tea or coffee in the price.

14 odd quid for a breakfast.

Jesus Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Rufeo wrote: »
    Jesus Christ.

Place two doors up was doing them for 9 50

Nicer ones.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

CosmicFool wrote: »
    Got a credit card with a limit of 3 grand while in college. Didn't pay it back for years. Credit rating suffered. Every time I think about it I get annoyed at mysel.

That's really funny because I overdrew my account by €200 as a student (19yrs old) and BOI just sent me letters but then closed my account.

I checked my credit rating with the Irish Credit Bureau and I found no statements on me which is interesting.

What would have happened if you just flat out refused to pay it?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Bought a horse that turned out to be chronically unsound .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Eircom Shares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭moonlighting_1

Signing up for eir broadband and phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,503 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I spent a load on drink on nights out in clubs in college just to get through the night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Selling aapl after I worked there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

That's really funny because I overdrew my account by €200 as a student (19yrs old) and BOI just sent me letters but then closed my account.

I checked my credit rating with the Irish Credit Bureau and I found no statements on me which is interesting.

3 grand credit card is a bit different than a €200 overdraft to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Buying a couple of Barbara Streisand tickets for her kildare concert with the intention of making a killing on ebay....but the concert wasn't an instant sell out like i anticipated and there were still tickets available on the day...so i had to sell them off outside the venue at below face value :(

(i know serves me right, never ticket touted since)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Sure, you're only just finished secondary school you said yesterday. Wait until you have real financial decisions to make.

Mine usually worked out fine but I did get stung for a few grand with Eircom Shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Looking at bitcoin few years ago and was going to throw €100 in for a see.

Mentioned it to a friend and he pout me off.

Be worth few million now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Not buying property after the crash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Not bashing Ireland but not leaving when I could.

Getting involved in online gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Doing a year long course in voice acting that set me back 5 grand. Just before I moved to Ireland and it all rendered useless.
    I don't like to talk about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Baby01032012

I invested 10000 in an investment recommendation I came across on Boards.

At one point it was worth 25000..now worth 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

At any age? Doesn't have to be something like investing in bull**** stocks but rather even spending money on some frivolous purchase.

For me it has to be in 5th year when I didn't want to go to study in my school so I handed up the money to the school but skived for 2 hours every day for a month until it was over. I should have just kept it. It was €300 in an envelope that I handed in. They didn't even call my parents to tell them I wasn't attending cause they didn't know.

Your parents must be very wealthy for you to waste their €300 like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Bought my house at the Celtic tiger peak. But I suppose I sold an apartment at the peak too so could have been worse.

Anyone going to admit buying an investment property in Bulgaria?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Paying out £12,500 over two years back to a 'recruitment company'. Went in knowing the terms but was so desperate for a job at the time that I went along with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Got married...

LirW wrote: »
    Doing a year long course in voice acting that set me back 5 grand. Just before I moved to Ireland and it all rendered useless.
    I don't like to talk about this.

Yeah, should definitely get your money back ;)

For me, cars. Always cars. To be fair, it's my one indulgence, just happens to be an expensive one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,808 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I recently bought a USB adapter to use for having sound working with my headphones. I installed some software on it which was to make the sound work from it. I clicked on a file inside the folder on my laptop & minutes later it left me with trojan software & malware on it. The worst €10 that I have ever spent. Buyer Beware!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

Laughing at a work colleague when he told me to buy some bitcoins when they first were available... I remember he won a 1000 euro on a starch card and used a lot of it to but the coins ...we gave him an awful slagging.. he was a huge nerd and big into gaming at the time but he hung onto a lot of the coin and sold them about 2 years ago and last I heard he made a huge profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Neames

Ran up a load of debt on a few credit cards.

Interest was crippling. Eventually cleared the debt, am very careful with money now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,534 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I had a 2k credit card maxed out aged 21.
    Nothing to show for it only a trip to the States and a lot of shopping bags.
    But I guess I have the memories and I paid every cent back but it always taught me to save for anything extravagant in the future.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Joined my 3 brothers invitation only card game ... they fleeced me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Signing up for eir broadband and phone.

I made that mistake too. They mis-sold me a package and told a lot of lies, so after giving them €45 a month for way too long, the easiest way to extricate myself from the contract was to cancel the direct debit and tell the cunts to shove it up their arse. For months, they kept texting and emailing me, reminding me that my bill (over €300, including the early cessation charge) was overdue. I just ignored it. Fuck 'em.

Then they set the debt collectors onto me. Ironically, for people whose job is to threaten and intimidate, they were lovely to deal with. I explained why I wouldn't be paying under any circumstances and I forwarded all the tedious correspondence I had with Eircom onto them. They were very sympathetic and reassured me that I wouldn't hear from them again. One email and one five-minute phone call was all it took.

Four years on, I still get the odd automated email from Eir, reminding me that I owe them various random sums of money (sometimes it's €254, sometimes it's €300). Cunts can't even get that right.

I still get annoyed when I think not just about the money, but about all the time I wasted on them - the emails, the letters, the PMs to their useless reps on here, the phone calls, being kept on hold for hours, having to explain the same thing different people every time.

Shower of cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,146 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Bought a brand new car on finance in 2008 as it was becoming quite obvious it was all going to end badly.

Was refused the manufacturer finance but BOI handed me the cash over within three days! So it was me *and* a multi billion valued financial institution acting unawares.

Still have it, though.

L1011 wrote: »

Still have it, though.

Still paying it off? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Exact same thing happened to me with the same bank and same amount. it was a phone contract I cancelled within a day due to poor coverage that took money out that bank account I wasn’t using for 5 months. Threatening letters made great firelighters. Never made the ICB database either. Wasn’t the banks fault or mine, it was those clowns at 3 Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭wally1990

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    Paying out £12,500 over two years back to a 'recruitment company'. Went in knowing the terms but was so desperate for a job at the time that I went along with it.

Interested to know about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Got married...

This and having kids at a young age .Completly hinders earning potential and costs a fortune .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭Pipmae

Spending the best part of the proceeds of two SSIA saving accounts on cars. WTAF were we thinking..... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

scwazrh wrote: »
    This and having kids at a young age .Completly hinders earning potential and costs a fortune .

May be the case, but I know many who have a fortune but left it too late to have kids, or are spending that fortune trying to have them.

Those kids are your fortune.

*High fives*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Being almost ready to sign on the line for an investment property yet 6 years later when the bust happened being unwilling to buy that same property for 30% of its price, I would have doubled my money in 2-3 years had I bought at the bust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

wally1990 wrote: »
    Mehaffey1 wrote: »

Interested to know about this

I was one of many people recruited to work in agriculture overseas. Money was paid back direct debit from my wages and I went for the highest repayment options possible to be clear of the debt.

The package I paid for included the company overseas finding my job, education, flight out, visa and introductory food and essentials package.

I'm terribly bitter and wary of such things now. I managed just fine every step of the way but worked my ass off for two years for half the reward of anyone who went down the same employment route independently.

Happily though I've been through those times and now enjoy my work, life and money immensely, maybe even more so because of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭puppieperson1

worst financial decision is going to work 5 days a week commuting 2 hours a day - should have had a few sprogs and gone on the lone parents and got a house for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Any time I travel with Bus Éireann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭BazzyB

Bought a brand new car..because my perfectly fine car developed another oil leak after an engine rebuild and I lost sight of the big picture in a weekend of craziness. 3 year pcp to pay off now on a car I don't even really like. Lesson learned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I kind of did the opposite of that.

I wanted to do a course but i wasn't sure. So i enrolled. And kept attending classes but i kept the fee for the first year almost then dropped out having not handed out a penny. I kept dodging them.

Then i dropped out they never came looking for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Any time I travel with Bus Éireann.
    I know what you mean.

But then parking.gas and owning a car is just as expensive etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,146 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Still paying it off? :pac:

Even then, 11 year car loans weren't what they offered lads in their early 20s with zero repayment history (well, I had a credit card but it wasn't well managed to say the least).

5 year loan and paid off in time. With an insane amount of interest, double figures all the way through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Forty Seven

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Not buying property after the crash

Bought property after the crash after my silver and gold investments made me quite a lot during it. Property now being repossessed after a seperation.

Win some, lose some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Bank shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

_Brian wrote: »
    Looking at bitcoin few years ago and was going to throw €100 in for a see.

Mentioned it to a friend and he pout me off.

Be worth few million now.

Same as. Sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Bought a house in 2006. At its lowest, house was worth 110k less than it cost. Now probably worth 60k less than it cost.

Would like to move but have to chip more off mortgage before that happens.

Living in Kerry so fluctuation not as pronounced as say Dublin.

With hindsight, cud have held off a year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭MissD93

Smoking cigarettes 😓 I quit last January and can’t get over how much money I have now/money I spent over four years