Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vuelta a Espana 2019 Stage 7 - Onda › Mas de la Costa (183 km)

• 30-08-2019 2:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13,327 ✭✭✭✭

I couldn't find a stage thread.
    Classic Vuelta stage with a super steep finish.

c2e4c

bfe51

• Registered Users Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭cunavalos

Ridiculous looking finish, classic Joaquim Rodriquez finish so if the breakaway doesn't make it you have to fancy Valverde.
    With my Irish cap on, best case is for the breakaway to stay away and take all the points for stage win ahead of the GC contenders but the gap is falling to less than 2 minutes with 30km to go.

Tejay climbed off. James Knox is out too, not sure what happened but the camera showed him sat on the road after a possible crash.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,657 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Tuens in trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,327 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Teuns dropped

Another great grand tour for Dimension Data eh? Have they been in the break even once yet?

They came 14th in the TTT and won €360
    They won €360 for a Eddie Boasson Hagen finishing 17th in Stage 3.
    Stage 4 was a big plus for them... Another €360 for Dlamini finishing 17th, and then €900 for a EBH finishing 7th.

I'm scraping the bottom of the barrel here for positives :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,044 ✭✭✭✭neris

pity about knox he was doing a daily diary for the cycling podcast
    Tejay climbed off. James Knox is out too, not sure what happened but the camera showed him sat on the road after a possible crash.

That final climb looks horrific for the Fletcha recon with 36/27 set up

They came 14th in the TTT and won €360
    They won €360 for a Eddie Boasson Hagen finishing 17th in Stage 3.
    Stage 4 was a big plus for them... Another €360 for Dlamini finishing 17th, and then €900 for a EBH finishing 7th.

I'm scraping the bottom of the barrel here for positives :pac:

Spare a thought for Team Ineos, they have won the sum total of 360 swiss francs and been fined 200.
    No wonder the management look so pleased with themselves
    EDNToMfXsAEpVnH.jpg:medium

Seemingly another EF rider has crashed

• Registered Users Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Hard for the break today..you never know which break will make it any day

But I think Quintana will go well today

The incline today is horrendous but a good power climber can get up it fast

My knees are aching watching this,

This seems like a forever climb....

grandpa valverde

neris wrote: »
    grandpa valverde

Beggars belief

• Registered Users Posts: 13,734 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Some climb, goan ye old fecker Valverde, do it for us oldies like Horner did and then share the meds :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Some bullsh*t - a 39-year old convicted doper wins a tough stage like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,734 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

marvin80 wrote: »
    Some bullsh*t - a 39-year old convicted doper wins a tough stage like that.

With a good doctor, I still have a Grand Tour stage in me, don't be negative ;)

Quintana takes green from Sam

The 4 lead riders today will most likely provide the podium + 1 in Madrid (barring crashes or illness)

Then there will be a gap to the rest with Majka , Aru, Chaves, Kelderman & Podgcar making up the rest.

I know I should stop but I think if there today Nico would have finished around Aru and ahead of Chaves & Kelderman
    And still be in 5th

MPFGLB wrote: »
    The 4 lead riders today will most likely provide the podium + 1 in Madrid (barring crashes or illness)

Then there will be a gap to the rest with Majka , Aru, Chaves, Kelderman & Podgcar making up the rest.

I know I should stop but I think if there today Nico would have finished around Aru and ahead of Chaves & Kelderman
    And still be in 5th

I would probably agree with that, there was a definite chance of a solid top 10 GC position for Roche, hopefully will not affect his chances of getting a good contract for next season.
    If early reports are are correct and no broken bones is there a chance he will make it back for the Worlds in Yorkshire?

cunavalos wrote: »
    I would probably agree with that, there was a definite chance of a solid top 10 GC position for Roche, hopefully will not affect his chances of getting a good contract for next season.
    If early reports are are correct and no broken bones is there a chance he will make it back for the Worlds in Yorkshire?

The doctor said a couple of weeks ...
    Nico said he wants to try and get to Yorkshire...but depends how long before he can use the leg. I'd say he will be there but will his form that is the question

I dont think Esteban Chaves will make it to Madrid in top 10...I think he looks knackered already
    Takes so much time to come back

He may need another year

looks like knox isnt out

neris wrote: »
    looks like knox isnt out

Finished 29th 5 minutes down according to pro cycling stats, definitely had an abandon graphic during the stage but that was seconds after they showed him on the ground so likely premature with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Inquitus wrote: »
    With a good doctor, I still have a Grand Tour stage in me, don't be negative ;)

You never had even a club stage in you, go on out of that!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Decuc500

Apparently Valverde in English means 'Bad smell that won't go away.'