Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asked to leave premises over wheel chair user

• 29-08-2019 12:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭

I go to a local coffeehouse 2 or 3 mornings a week to read the papers and generally take it easy for an hour or two. On one of the mornings, I got up to use the bathroom, however there was a small Que for the men's toilet so I decided to pop into the disabled toilet because they are always empty. When I finished up and exited the toilet, there was a wheelchair user outside waiting to use the toilet.

The wheelchair person was very irate and quickly confronted me. He accused me of being inconsiderate a*hole, and said typical behavior from the likes of myself. He said he was now late for some appointment and just carried on giving out. Initially, i tried to explain that its tough sh*t that the toilet is occupied and that he had to wait. I understand that toilet is designed to facilitate wheelchair users but it doesn't entitle a person to skip the Que per se. Everybody has to Que dont they? wheelchair or not.

Anyway, when i pointed that out he went ballistic and asked to see a manager, he then started to complain to the manager about how this is unacceptable and that I should have more respect. The manager agreed with the wheelchair user and said if I cant follow the rules I wasn't welcome. I argued that there was no rule but i was eventually asked to leave.

I don't think this was fair, I didn't do anything wrong. If anything the wheelchair user was being obnoxious to me and the manager was afraid to disagree. Has anyone had similar experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Maybe if you had apologized instead of being so rude then you wouldn't have been barred. He doesn't have a choice of toilet like you do. Just wait for the other one, especially if its a small queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I don't think this was fair, I didn't do anything wrong. If anything the wheelchair user was being obnoxious

Wheelie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Talk about ****ting where you eat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Fiddlesticks99

Apologize for what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

The wheelchair person was very irate and quickly confronted me.

Probably cos you called him a wheelchair person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

You should have wiped your unwashed piss* hands all over his face. The cheek of him being all disabled and looking to use the toilet specifically designed for one's such disabilities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You're a weirdo and you seem to get off on making up stories about people in wheelchairs. What your deal?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=110838154

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

If you're not disabled you shouldn't use the disabled toilets, or if you do use them just apologise and say it was an emergency.

OP is a troll, just look at his previous threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭smilerf

I go to a local coffeehouse 2 or 3 mornings a week to read the papers and generally take it easy for an hour or two. On one of the mornings, I got up to use the bathroom, however there was a small Que for the men's toilet so I decided to pop into the disabled toilet because they are always empty. When I finished up and exited the toilet, there was a wheelchair user outside waiting to use the toilet.

The wheelchair person was very irate and quickly confronted me. He accused me of being inconsiderate a*hole, and said typical behavior from the likes of myself. He said he was now late for some appointment and just carried on giving out. Initially, i tried to explain that its tough sh*t that the toilet is occupied and that he had to wait. I understand that toilet is designed to facilitate wheelchair users but it doesn't entitle a person to skip the Que per se. Everybody has to Que dont they? wheelchair or not.

Anyway, when i pointed that out he went ballistic and asked to see a manager, he then started to complain to the manager about how this is unacceptable and that I should have more respect. The manager agreed with the wheelchair user and said if I cant follow the rules I wasn't welcome. I argued that there was no rule but i was eventually asked to leave.

I don't think this was fair, I didn't do anything wrong. If anything the wheelchair user was being obnoxious to me and the manager was afraid to disagree. Has anyone had similar experiences?
    I'm sorry but he was right. You were inconsiderate and your justification is pretty lame

That's your que to take a permanent hiatus from boards.

his disability is not the issue here, don't straw man the point please

Apologise for posting this kind of ****e first of all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

his disability is not the issue here, don't straw man the point please
    You aren't even a good troll. Of course that's the issue, you used the disabled toilets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Is that you Larry David?

No....its just a toilet. That happens to facilitate the disabled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Being in the disabled jacks when not disabled.

Anyway i saw this on Larry David. You need to break your leg or something and then that guy will get cured miraculously and you can get your own back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

c'mon now OP...did this really happen??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

The OP knows that they shouldn't have used the disabled customer's toilet.

It may not even have happened.

Don't take the bait.

Coffee house? Cafe or coffee shop.

Queue.

Fin.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

You're a weirdo and you seem to get off on making up stories about people in wheelchairs. What your deal?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=110838154

OP's on a roll!

I'll get my coat and exit via the ramp.

But that was one of my points? Why do i HAVE to be disabled to use it. Its just a toilet

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Fair play for keeping all your trolls consistent at least, every one is a "I did something shi'tty but it was the other person's fault, woe is me"

Initially, i tried to explain that its tough sh*t that the toilet is occupied and that he had to wait. I understand that toilet is designed to facilitate wheelchair users but it doesn't entitle a person to skip the Que per se. Everybody has to Que dont they? wheelchair or not.

He’s in the Q for the disabled toilet. It would make no sense to wait for other queues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

If there are no free parking spots apart from a disabled one, would you use it?
    Tbh you come across as a bit of a dick here.
    The person is in a wheelchair and needed to use a toilet specially designed for someone in a wheelchair.
    Why didn't you just wait like all the other able bodied people?
    Gob****e of a thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

But that was one of my points? Why do i HAVE to be disabled to use it. Its just a toilet

We can arrange a disability for you if you continue with these stupid threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Fair play for keeping all your trolls consistent at least, every one is a "I did something ****ty but it was the other person's fault, woe is me"

There's some decent detail in there as well. Always alluding to the fact that he's on the dole too - going for 'sure they take everything Joe' angle.

Need to mix it up more though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

Bit like you have to be a woman to use the women's toilets and a man to use the men's.

He had to wait for his toilet because you wouldn't wait for yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Surely this thread is proof enough that the OP has at the very least a significant intellectual disability?
    That'd qualify him to shít anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Forty Seven

but it doesn't entitle a person to skip the Que per se. Everybody has to Que dont they?

You don't see the contradiction in using the disabled toilet to skip a queue and then telling him he has to wait?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

There's this girl that's been on my mind
    All the time, Que-Que-Quedio oh oh
    Now she don't even know my name
    But I think she likes me just the same
    Que-Que-Quedio oh oh

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

There's some decent detail in there as well. Always alluding to the fact that he's on the dole too - going for 'sure they take everything Joe' angle.

Need to mix it up more though.

Pity he didn't mention his ADHD kid again as well to really tie it all together

Some of them are changing rooms right enough.

There is another reason to not use the disabled toilets. If you get stuck then they’ll think you’re disabled when they get you out, and eventually you will end up on a trip back to Manchester with the gay disabled group who were on a day out, some of whom will be handsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Obviously the op is playing with us

But this was genuine I would just say that not all disabilities are visual and tell him to cop on. He would have no right to know what your disability is .

No hang on, if a car park is full, what does anybody have to do? What if the disabled space is occupied by another disabled user? Its tough crap.

My point is these inconveniences apply to everybody.

Same with the toilet, if it was occupied by another wheelchair user then the result is the same, the next user has to wait.

It wasn’t though. It was you.

No hang on, if a car park is full, what does anybody have to do? What if the disabled space is occupied by another disabled user? Its tough crap.

My point is these inconveniences apply to everybody.

Is this a form of counselling for your disability?

yeah but the result is the same, why are you splitting hairs? Outrage is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

OP, all you needed to do was say, "not all disabilities are visible".

Dick move but it gets you out of the situation.

First they came for the socialists...

You told the disabled person that every one has to que and its though s**t but you used the disabled toilet so you didn't have to que...why doesn't queuing apply to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Should have said:

"Oh yeah? Well,

(•_•)

I have

( •_•) >⌐■-■

Crohn's"

(⌐■_■)

*guitar strumm*

Yyyyeaaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!

At least there's one objective person in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

At least there's one objective person in here
    The word is objectionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Que?

I didnt skip any Q, I just used a different toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Disabled toilets aren't just for wheelchair users. They're also for people with medical conditions which mean they sometimes need to go to the toilet with very little warning. That's why they should be kept free wherever possible. Most people can wait in line to use the jacks, but some cant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Tasfasdf

What if he didn't have visual disability , could the cafe for slandering him in front of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Which isn't designed for people like you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

OP on hols:

First they came for the socialists...

That was skipping the abled toilet.

You wait. You wait.

Because the toilet was free