Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Expressions you hate

when someone is being interviewed and asked a question and they say
    "that's a very good question"...…….. It could be the most banal stupid obvious question in the world, something a 5 year old would ask and they still say "that's a very good question"...….NO its not.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,493 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The spit of his father.

Awful.

'Legends'...………...everyone is a legend these days! Ordinary ,common sportspeople - total legends! FFS

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

'Legends'...………...everyone is a legend these days! Ordinary ,common sportspeople - total legends! FFS

Do ye need a hug maggie?

"generation emigration"

• Registered Users Posts: 30,192 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Walk in their shoes, walk a mile in their shoes, etc.

"I'm not gonna lie" "I hear ya" "lets give a shout out"...………………….hate these expressions. Looking at you Ciara Kelly!

:eek: WOW, Genuine anger

Who's Ciara?

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭patmahe

Snowflake, used to describe anyone with a differing viewpoint to yours to try and belittle them or invalidate their opinion because you see it as soft. I tune out as soon as I see or hear it used because its no longer a debate its a bad slagging match.

patmahe wrote: »
    Snowflake, used to describe anyone with a differing viewpoint to yours to try and belittle them or invalidate their opinion because you see it as soft. I tune out as soon as I see or hear it used because its no longer a debate its a bad slagging match.

Unless of course the person in question is indeed a snowflake

• Registered Users Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Then I turned around and said. . . And then she turned around and said.

:eek: WOW, Genuine anger

Who's Ciara?
    Newstalk lunchtime show with Ciara Kelly ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Righty O

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Whoop Whoop!

Have only ever seen it written on social media, usually when someone is heading off on holidays or Justin Bieber has announced he's playing in Dublin, but it drives me fcuking mad

k

How difficult would it have been to type either ok or okay? Is your life that busy?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Woke is something I did this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭mikep

Thanking you..

Cushtie

• Registered Users Posts: 3,907 ✭✭✭trashcan

GBX wrote: »
    Holibobs

Ah no, they’re my favorite biscuits !

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭abff

when someone is being interviewed and asked a question and they say
    "that's a very good question"...…….. It could be the most banal stupid obvious question in the world, something a 5 year old would ask and they still say "that's a very good question"...….NO its not.

When someone says "that's a (very) good question", it usually indicates that they need time to think of a response and are using that expression as a way of buying a bit of time so that they can gather their thoughts.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,753 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Centres of Excellence.
    Family Hubs.
    Known to Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Gerianam

spendy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

Cushtie

Like Cushty?

I like that one. That's a Delboy saying :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Here's me head and me arse is coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭crossman47

Maybe someone has already posted these but

Perfect (when you have just ordered a meal)
    Guys (to any group, male or female)

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭topnotch

Anything Buff. Movie Buff, History Buff etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

"I didn't do nothing"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Marhay70

Or worse again, "She got herself pregnant", frequently used by my mother. The amount of women she knows who've had an Immaculate conception is astounding.

It's not unknown, in my experience, for women to direct the instrument of their downfall to its ultimate destination, so you could actually say, "she got herself pregnant" ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,359 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I done it. I seen it.

FFS, you did it and you saw it.

topnotch wrote: »
    Anything Buff. Movie Buff, History Buff etc.

and anything Guru, wellness Guru, food Guru, Fitness Guru...…….nobody is an expert or a teacher anymore, they're a Buff or a Guru :p

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Caegan

Can you be Pacific....

Sweet Jesus it's SPECIFIC