Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travellers Have Taken Over Carrickphierish Road...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Jesus they would want to be VERY affordable houses FFS. €180k plus to have your life made a misery living beside the absolute dregs of society. Waterford Council have to be the most useless absolutely shambolic version of a council in this country.

Your last statement is very strong.......are you basing it on the ‘traveller’ strategy or have you other examples....?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Asdfgh2020 wrote: »
    Your last statement is very strong.......are you basing it on the ‘traveller’ strategy or have you other examples....?

I wonder what happened to all those vans they bought a few years back, maybe they could sort out the lads in the halting site even more.....

Vans......? Not sure what you are talking about....can you refresh my memory. Sounds interesting

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thejournal.ie/vans-waterford-council-3859699-Feb2018/%3famp=1

Recall that one alright now.....a breakdown evident there alright.......would like to know if the €24,000 per vehicle include servicing and general maintenance.....?

No idea. The purchase/procurement was a fcuk up. What struck me about it was that the vehicles after being purchased were left unutilised while depreciating for months. That is just pure dysfunctional incompetence at all levels of an organisation.

Reading it again and Apologies and maybe I am missing something but it looks like there was an open to the public tender process/competition which a particular company won by submitting the lowest price....surely senior management were aware of this....I wouldn’t be aware of all the details of formally awarding a tender but when the story broke first the media made it sound like some council employee decided to award a contract to a van supplier with no bidding process....and the usual stuff about bribery/brown envelops etc.....?

• Registered Users Posts: 6 BroadcastStorm

Don't want do any hate speech but folks. I'm living in that area. If you know anyone planing to move in gracedieu area, please tell them to stay away. It's absolutely disgraceful and far bellow living standards. Watching them everyday, destroying properties, stoned cars, thefts etc. Few gingers from that camping site attacking kids with knifes, setting fires, enormous antisocial behaviour. Everything that you don't want in your neighborhood, you got it there. I hope that someone's gonna move them as far as possible from there, soon... Soon, there will be new estate built and I feel very sorry for those people who decide to buy house, near that hell on earth.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Looks like they've moved the caravans that were on the other side of the road across and fenced that side of the road off? Significant looking development going in opposite them? I really don't know what they will do with them because they won't move them. They'll probably add to that Gaza Strip halting site over time rather than put them out the Dunmore road way. The Carrickphierrish road has been thrown to them now unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Deiseen

Don't want do any hate speech but folks. I'm living in that area. If you know anyone planing to move in gracedieu area, please tell them to stay away. It's absolutely disgraceful and far bellow living standards. Watching them everyday, destroying properties, stoned cars, thefts etc. Few gingers from that camping site attacking kids with knifes, setting fires, enormous antisocial behaviour. Everything that you don't want in your neighborhood, you got it there. I hope that someone's gonna move them as far as possible from there, soon... Soon, there will be new estate built and I feel very sorry for those people who decide to buy house, near that hell on earth.

Are any of the councillors helping you? What about the Gardaí?

Deiseen wrote: »
    Are any of the councillors helping you? What about the Gardaí?
    No. There's no help from anyone. My son 10yo, on his way back from school, was attacked by those boys, just because he has a new bike. Threatened by knife! He managed to get home, but hes not going outside anymore. Gardai has been informed, they said: "we know those kids, we have a lot problems with them, stay away!" So much about help from institution that should stop that for good!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Record everything.

If you or your child go by like be did before, be there too even if it's waiting backs little, that's absolutely shocking and hope the kid will be ok.

Had similar stuff happen years ago, junkie in estate behind took my bike off me, was smashed around by three 19 to 21 year olds with 2x4s etc etc....

I honestly don't what we as society can do since huge protection and powers were given by enda....

Record everything.

If you or your child go by like be did before, be there too even if it's waiting backs little, that's absolutely shocking and hope the kid will be ok.

Had similar stuff happen years ago, junkie in estate behind took my bike off me, was smashed around by three 19 to 21 year olds with 2x4s etc etc....

I honestly don't what we as society can do since huge protection and powers were given by enda....

Terrible...
    I'm not sure if recording would help. Family from mount suir, who had a similar situation, she tried to defend her child. In the evening their house got stoned, car smashed. She called gardai, next evening they had visit from few "fathers". Very unpleasant and terrifying . My wife had quit her job to be able to escort him to school and back... That's all we can do so far. Waiting for a chance to get out of this hell...

Azatadine wrote: »
    Looks like they've moved the caravans that were on the other side of the road across and fenced that side of the road off? Significant looking development going in opposite them? I really don't know what they will do with them because they won't move them. They'll probably add to that Gaza Strip halting site over time rather than put them out the Dunmore road way. The Carrickphierrish road has been thrown to them now unfortunately.

Imagine this: you are builder/contractor, and you decide to build estate on that field, but on entrance you have a camper, toilet, dogs, rubbish and all bad things from end of society. Really bad sight on your construction site, devastating for your business and future of estate. What would you do? Would you pay them to move?

Neither they or their "culture" will ever add a scrap of value to society. Why they are even tolerated never mind protected as if they were some kind of special endangered group is beyond me.

Have you any solution.....? there are a lot of examples in history and even today where people have expressed views such as above and we all know the outcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

We're going down the road of racism here I see.

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭JaCrispy

What's racist about what he said? Why does everybody's default morale compass always point at racism? Pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭OhToBeByTheSea

What do you think travellers contribute to society?

JaCrispy wrote: »
    What's racist about what he said? Why does everybody's default morale compass always point at racism? Pathetic.

Look up the definition......and I think the post above ‘ticks’ a lot of the boxes...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I often wonder what the stock response from the Council is when you highlight the double standards with the planning application between travellers and non travellers. I mean, we all know the cold hard truth. The Guards are too scared of them to take them on in case their families are targeted. The dogs on the street know that and hence why they get away with murder.

But i had to jump through a million hoops to alter a wall outside my gaff. Forms and deadlines and follow up over the space of 6 months and here they are allowed to park up wherever they like and cause misery for their neighbours. Im curious as to what the official sugar coated line is though when these issues are raised with them..

When Im walking down that road and passing near that tribe I can hear a lot of things like "we don't want you here c***", "go back where you came from id***", "you're still here f****?"... So yes, we can talk about racism and discrimination....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Motivator

Would it be worth protesting or going to the papers about these gutter people? They are out of control and seeing as nobody is doing anything about it, why don’t residents up that way go to the local or national press? <<<snip>>>What’s happening isn’t fair on people who are trying to get on with life.

Mod edit: I understand your frustrations, but we can’t allow a post like that here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭JohnC.

The kid getting pellet gun shots to the face made national media. Did much happen with that in the end? Never heard anything after "Gardai are investigating".

We're well down the road of snowflake stupidity here I see. Not to worry love. Your type are in vogue. For now.

Snowflake? Really? Very Trumpian of you.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

We need to keep this thread civil, if we can’t then it will be closed and warnings and bans will have to be issued. I understand people are frustrated but posting crap on a public forum is not going to get you anywhere. People need to get their public representatives working for them.

Well it's clear there are racists in this thread considering a couple of people agreed to actual genocide.

Do you know what a "race" is?

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Seriously lads, especially friendlyfun, I even pm’ed you and told you why I deleted your post and then you go and repeat what I snipped out of the original post, ffs, if ye want the thread closed, then keep going the way he are and not only will it be closed, those continuing with it will be taking a holiday from the Waterford forum.

Do you know what a "race" is?

Yes and do you? I suppose you know more than geneticists from the RSCI.