Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda allegedly took bribes in visa stamp scam for non nationals

• 17-08-2019 9:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭

Wouldn't expect RTE, Irish Times etc to report much on this!

https://extra.ie/2019/08/17/news/irish-news/garda-bribes-immigration-scam-approval
    A major corruption investigation is under way after a garda allegedly took bribes to give ‘several hundred’ foreign nationals permission to stay in Ireland illegally.

Up to 800 men and women from Pakistan and India paid €10,000 each to have the garda stamp a form stating they had shown the necessary documents granting them the right to work here and claim benefits, it is alleged.

Officers believe the garda was in league with a Pakistani ‘fixer’ in the high-level immigration fraud.

The Pakistani man organised busloads of his fellow countrymen to travel to the garda’s station, where the officer would stamp the documents, it is alleged.

There are now deep concerns within An Garda Síochána that the scam allowed criminal elements arrive here and ‘disappear’.

The men and women involved had entered Ireland legally on student visas, and when those expired they should not have been permitted to remain. Detectives say that the ‘fixer’ and the garda split the €10,000 payments between them.

This high-level immigration scam allegedly went on for more than six years and detectives have established that as many as 1,000 men and women were granted work permits to remain in Ireland and claim benefits.

Sources also say that there are some ‘serious concerns’ about the background of some of the men and women granted permission to stay.

It is understood that the gardai have been trying to track down all the people who were granted status to remain here, but many have ‘disappeared’.

One source said there were ‘valid concerns’ that criminal elements had exploited the system and their whereabouts is now unknown.

Extra.ie can reveal that a major criminal investigation into the scam is now almost complete and developments are due imminently.

The investigation is being led by local detectives, and the Garda National Immigration Bureau is also involved in the extensive probe.

Extra.ie understands that the garda concerned was taken in for questioning when concerns arose about the high number of Pakistani and Indian nationals being granted work permits by the rank-and-file officer.

The garda ‘made some admissions’ when being quizzed by colleagues almost two years ago, Extra.ie understands. However, the officer has not been arrested.

Gardai have been ‘painstakingly’ investigating the complex case since, and have been ‘shocked’ by the scale of the alleged crime.

A Garda spokesman declined to comment on the investigation when contacted by this newspaper.

A spokesman said: ‘An Garda Síochána does not comment on ongoing investigations.’

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Rubbish I don't believe this because we all know the Garda are too busy.

Those breath tests don't just fake themselves you know.
    By the way sarcasm alert this is really easy to believe.

idm-10.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭enricoh

He made some admissions two years ago, but has not been arrested yet! So this guy is still in a job. He'll probably be told to take early retirement at worst.
    We truly are a joke of a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭zell12

a garda
    only one garda at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,802 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

A lot of unnamed "sources" and "allegdly" in that "article"

Never heard of Extra.ie before.

Ah never mind

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/ansionnachfionn.com/2018/02/09/extra-ie-the-daily-mail-offshoot-in-ireland-no-one-has-heard-of/amp/

It’s been a year since the flashy Buzzfeed-style website, Extra.ie, was launched on the internet market in Ireland by DMG Media, formerly the Associated Newspapers, and the parent company of the odious right-wing Daily Mail newspaper in the United Kingdom. So far, it remains a fairly low-key publication, with relatively little known about its staff or editorial team. It’s based in the same Ballsbridge office address as its sister site, the celebrity-obsessed Evoke.ie, and the “Irish edition” of the UK Daily Mail, so presumably it is sharing some of the same resources.

zell12 wrote: »
    only one garda?

Yes one bad apple the rest are in total shock there was a stampede by other officers to report this rogue bad apple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Ah never mind

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/ansionnachfionn.com/2018/02/09/extra-ie-the-daily-mail-offshoot-in-ireland-no-one-has-heard-of/amp/

The sort of language is used by all media outlets until the Guards are forced to issue a fuller statement.

Another well known Irish news site are looking into it as well.

Ah never mind

The Guards are PROVEN to lie and they have been PROVEN to be corrupt.

Just ask Maurice McCabe.

The source to this story has no bad track record we are aware of so that makes them more credible then the Garda straight away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Ah never mind

Quick. Defend, deflect and deny.

Say it with me. The leader is good the leader is great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭KevRossi

enricoh wrote: »
    He made some admissions two years ago, but has not been arrested yet! So this guy is still in a job. He'll probably be told to take early retirement at worst.
    We truly are a joke of a country.

If there are 1,000 + of them, then the Garda is probably 'helping with enquiries', It will be some job to track them down, which is the most important thing right now, though I doubt many of them will be deported. Either way, once they have 5 years here in a steady job they can claim Irish citizenship which is another joke.

Some amount of money involved as well - 1,000 x €10,000, so the Garda should have pocketed a few million of that, if so I reckon he's not the only one on the take. Could get very big this one, though the Gardai will attempt to spin this as small as possible.

How can we spread this far and wide?

Blueshoe wrote: »

It'll probably headline rte's six o clock news!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

Quick. Defend, deflect and deny.

Say it with me. The leader is good the leader is great

WE SURRENDER OUR WILL, AS OF THIS DATE..

Ah never mind

Never heard of extra. Ie and posts a description of it by ansionnachfionn. Com who we all know well and respect!! Oh dear!

It'll probably headline rte's six o clock news!

Not a hope.

Trump , Brexit and Syrian refugees playing the tin whistle get the headline news spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,149 ✭✭✭Allinall

You fight the good fight.

Maybe make up a sandwich board and park yourself on O'Connell bridge.

You could also take some advertising space on buses. I believe CIE are short of a few bob.

God speed.

Not on boards.ie that is for sure try political Irish you can discuss things over there without jumping through hoops and it is growing all the time.:)

So iv heard

Allinall wrote: »
    You fight the good fight.

Maybe make up a sandwich board and park yourself on O'Connell bridge.

You could also take some advertising space on buses. I believe CIE are short of a few bob.

God speed.

Il give it a shot on Sunday. If I get no traction il just give in and try and get in on the racket myself. Might as well make a few quid out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Il give it a shot on Sunday. If I get no traction il just give in and try and get in on the racket myself. Might as well make a few quid out of it.

Except you'll go to prison if caught.

The Guards involved will be suspended on full pay pending an investigation and then assigned other duties.

Except you'll go to prison if caught.

The Guards involved will be suspended on full pay pending an investigation and then assigned other duties.

Only if you accept it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Just ask Jerry McCabe.

The source to this story has no bad track record we are aware of so that makes them more credible then the Garda straight away.

Maurice McCabe. Jerry McCabe was killed in the line of duty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Speaking of punishments for this sort of thing, what ever happened to the lads working in Dublin Airport running that illegal immigration scam for years?

Maurice McCabe. Jerry McCabe was killed in the line of duty

My apologies.

However my point is still valid.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Speaking of punishments for this sort of thing, what ever happened to the lads working in Dublin Airport running that illegal immigration scam for years?

Hush now that has safely gone done the memory hole.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Stephen Gawking

Just ask Jerry McCabe.

Think you're getting your McCabes mixed up there mate.

I already said sorry.

When is Regina Doherty going to resign. It's hard to keep on top of the revolving shït show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not the first, nor the last, time a person in a position of power exploits it to gain financially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Nothing to see here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Serious stuff if true, over 1000 illegal migrants in the country with Garda assistance and corruption.

Ah never mind

idm-10.jpg
    Good enough for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Ah never mind

why do you go out of your way to try dismiss anything that might suggest that some holes in the immigration system here exist.

anyone that Garda stamped for should be deported.

why do you go out of your way to try dismiss anything that might suggest that some holes in the immigration system here exist.

anyone that Garda stamped for should be deported.

Some holes?

As for your point in green I am sure the powers that be will be right on that.:D

Just ask Maurice McCabe.

So does the daily mail.

Never heard of extra. Ie and posts a description of it by ansionnachfionn. Com who we all know well and respect!! Oh dear!

Is there anything wrong in what i posted?

<SNIP>
    Good enough for you?

From the same media company!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Joe Kane

zell12 wrote: »
    only one garda at it?

Doubt it. I also doubt that that station / garda was the only station & garda in the country at this. I live in a small enough town & it's pretty full of non eu nationals too & it baffles me the amount of blind eyes and the back up they get from the gardai when it comes to them breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Joe Kane

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Serious stuff if true, over 1000 illegal migrants in the country with Garda assistance and corruption.

Majority of them will be house cleaning / babysitting / cutting their lawns / & painting for them etc. Give them a few quid & have there backs etc if they ever get into any trouble.

This crap is well known up & down the country. It's unreal now what's going on with the gardai. They're a massive threat to the ordinary joe soap in society & the country as a whole. A breed of a mafia is what they could be described as.

Joe Kane wrote: »
    Doubt it. I also doubt that that station / garda was the only station & garda in the country at this. I live in a small enough town & it's pretty full of non eu nationals too & it baffles me the amount of blind eyes and the back up they get from the gardai when it comes to them breaking the law.

Me too. The Garda station opens at 10 am closes at 4pm. Town is full of non nationals. They all work though. Long hours too.
    All of the locals were let go and these hard working boys were brought in. There is also rumours of a direct provision centre opening in the next village.

In fairness though there is very little trouble around. It's normally drunk locals if there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Should we be surprised , the same day we have major newspapers reporting a gsoc enquiry into misuse of warrants.

One Garda stamped around 800 forms? That didn't raise suspicions? If that's a normal amount for a single Garda to do then just how many are done total in a year? FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Muahahaha wrote: »

And all their relatives too, if such paperwork allows this.

Wasn't there something similar to do with Taxi licences not long ago last year, PSVs dished out to illegal migrants using fake documentation.

Add in sham marriges to non-EU folks, mainly focused on Indian, Pakistani and Bangladeshi.

The member of the force or members need to be punished heavily and anyone who purchased needs to be shipped home.

Calhoun wrote: »
    The member of the force or members need to be punished heavily and anyone who purchased needs to be shipped home.

Totally agree but nether is going to happen and we all know it.

Well it's an immigration issue but not the normal kind, something like this does damage to immigrants on a whole.

This shows some extreme compliance in breaking very serious law. What else are they doing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭Acosta

The mention of Maurice McCabe reminded me about some of the stuff that came out when he told his story(and when he told it again when official Ireland were ready/forced to listen).Stuff was going on with other Guards working in the station he was based at. He mentioned pissed up Guards driving around in unmarked cars and trampling on a serious crime scene. Was there ever any follow up from anyone in the media about what became of these Guards?
    If these guys are still serving in the force is that not a pretty big story?

Well it's an immigration issue but not the normal kind, something like this does damage to immigrants on a whole.
    This shows some extreme compliance in breaking very serious law. What else are they doing ?

Handing out PSV licences without any due care or process (not carrying out a proper vetting process).

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/latest-taxi-drivers-federation-surprised-by-rate-of-arrests-during-illegal-immigration-crackdown-860505.html

As many as one in four taxi drivers stopped at recent illegal immigration checkpoints are suspected of being in a sham marriage.
    According to the Irish Times, an operation was put in place to coincide with Ed Sheeran's Dublin concerts in May(2018).

Of the 110 drivers stopped, 26 are believed to have paid to marry a woman from Europe so they could have the right to work in Ireland. What a sham.

Handing out PSV licences without any due care or process (not carrying out a proper vetting process).

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/latest-taxi-drivers-federation-surprised-by-rate-of-arrests-during-illegal-immigration-crackdown-860505.html

As many as one in four taxi drivers stopped at recent illegal immigration checkpoints are suspected of being in a sham marriage.
    According to the Irish Times, an operation was put in place to coincide with Ed Sheeran's Dublin concerts in May(2018).

Of the 110 drivers stopped, 26 are believed to have paid to marry a woman from Europe so they could have the right to work in Ireland. What a sham.

If you were a taxi driver you should be outraged as this damages the industry on a whole.

If you were a passenger also, it's hardly as if the cash takings will be featuring in any of their tax returns, more likely thrown into a plastic bin back at the office, to pay off the sham arrangers/gang masters.

Well of course but more from the perspective that the taxi license is given out to perform a public service and my understanding is there is some level of auditing on the person.

You could potentially getting yourself into a unsafe situation.