Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bootcut jeans

• 14-08-2019 9:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Right, I'm not from the bog, I don't go mad chasin' after fellas with road frontage, I've never been in Coppers, etc. And I like fashion/style. (Just eliminating all the assumptions - not saying there's anything wrong with all of them).

But all this talk of men's bootcut jeans being the tool of the devil... unless they're poorly fitting - which looks bad for anything, I don't get it. All I see is a pair of jeans and they don't seem particularly bogman either. Can someone explain what's so hideous about them? Thank ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Right, I'm not from the bog, I don't go mad chasin' after fellas with road frontage, I've never been in Coppers, etc. And I like fashion/style. (Just eliminating all the assumptions - not saying there's anything wrong with all of them).

But all this talk of men's bootcut jeans being the tool of the devil... unless they're poorly fitting - which looks bad for anything, I don't get it. All I see is a pair of jeans and they don't seem particularly bogman either. Can someone explain what's so hideous about them? Thank ye.

Far better than skinny jeans.
    Who wants jeans that stick to the leg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Rodin wrote: »

Line dancing looks just stupid in skinny jeans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

And to anyone with a problem with 'boot cut' what do you think of 60's flares ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Boot Cut jeans sup the piss off a mens room floor like Gandhi guzzling a can of Lilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

If they're dark denim, they don't look so bad, but light / bleached boot cut jeans make a guy look like he just got released from the joy after a 20 stretch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Nevermind bootcut, 1970's yellow flares, round shades with baker boy hats are all back,
    just ask the chap with all the 'stlye': I.e. Harry (Styles).
    https://www.thesun.co.uk/tvandshowbiz/9622940/harry-styles-yellow-flares-london/
    To be fair, it's a great improvement on the dress incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Gaa players with calves bursting through their skinny Jean's < Bootcuts.

Shlug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I'd take boot cut jeans over skinny ripped jeans any day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Are all bootcut jeans all that bad with the right shoe (i.e. a nice pair of rugged boots)? It's when they're worn with pisscatchers* or a pair of sh*tty runners that things go badly wrong. They're always a risky play though, more likely you'll get the look wrong than right. I steer clear of them anyway.
    * https://www.dailyedge.ie/ultimate-pisscatcher-shoes-2105508-May2015/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭Penfailed

It's nigh impossible to buy a pair of bootcuts in a shop these days. It's all skinny, slim or straight...and they look sh1te!

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

Inferior to the straight leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

People who fret about the supposed hold Bootcut jeans have over the males of this island are genuinely fcking sad individuals.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Yurt! wrote: »
    Are all bootcut jeans all that bad with the right shoe (i.e. a nice pair of rugged boots)? It's when they're worn with pisscatchers* or a pair of sh*tty runners that things go badly wrong. They're always a risky play though, more likely you'll get the look wrong than right. I steer clear of them anyway.
    * https://www.dailyedge.ie/ultimate-pisscatcher-shoes-2105508-May2015/

Rumplestiltskin must be their target audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Tuco88

I find the slim/skinny stretch jeans very comfortable, like a pair of sweatpants/Joggers.

The super skinny ones are just stupid really.

Bootcut jeans are fine with boots... Just piss/puke soakers with shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Rodin wrote: »

There's a happy medium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I thought once there not skinny it's all good. So where's the best place to buy jeans these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

wranglers, nice boot cut jeans there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

If they hug your hips and make your arse look good enough to bite they are doing the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Penfailed wrote: »
    It's nigh impossible to buy a pair of bootcuts in a shop these days. It's all skinny, slim or straight...and they look sh1te!

Dunnes selling them still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Here’s hoping Aongus von Bismarck picks this up. He’s a fan of boot cut jeans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Used to wear Boot Cut. Went into a shop in Berlin looking for a pair about 10 years ago. The girl politely suggested I cop my self ta fuq on and try Regular or Slim fit. Best advice I ever got. I’ll never get the wasted Boot Cut years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Here’s hoping Aongus von Bismarck picks this up. He’s a fan of boot cut jeans

Pretty sure he has a google alert set up to keep him updated on these pressing matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,240 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Boot cut jeans, a phrase that always reminds me of the ads for unique (a mens clothes shop) on the now defunct City channel. They used to reel off offers on clothes and every second item was boot cut jeans, a phrase which they shot out at 100MPH.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,266 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Eh I wear boots, I need bootcut jeans. That's the point, for them to be able to fall over the boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

Straight leg for me.

Though I like when a woman wears it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

It's not the bootcut jeans thats the issue really, its what footwear is worn with them and the combination of the two.

As above if you are wearing boots then it makes sense to have bootcut jeans that fall over them. If you are wearing trainers or 'pisscatchers' as referred to earlier then chances are they are too long, they probably look bad and you are dragging the bottom of them along the ground making bits of them which is where a straight cut or skinny would be a better option. The right jeans with the right footwear and its all good!

Bootcut jeans is what you see on casual days at work, worn by fellas in their 40s who never had any dress sense, usually worn with hiking shoes. It's not a good look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

If they hug your hips and make your arse look good enough to bite they are doing the job.

Bootcut does the job better than any effeminate skinny jean on men.

2000254145_400_P5.JPG?sw=980&sh=980&sm=fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,088 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I don’t know what the hell any of you people are talking about.

There’s more than one type of jeans?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Didn't "Mom jeans" make something of a fashion comeback for women this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Yeah, seeing them everywhere of late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,266 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

With shoes it's sad lol, Some bootcut jeans are like flares, levis 512 are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Boot cut jeans aren't the worst, nor are skinny jeans, nor are ripped jeans,etc.
    The worst offenders are in my opinion are guys in jeans/tracksuits that are about 4 inches to short for them without socks with a pair of pasty ankles sticking out.

This is who wears bootcut jeans

https://youtu.be/7TOKgT9wseU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Criticism of them is a symptom of the growing fashion-consciousness of men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I don’t like boot-cut jeans but I used to wear them however they are a helluva lot better looking than skinny jeans and especially when the fella wearing the skinny jeans ya one of those bulky muscular types who skip leg day and end up looking like a puffed up rooster strutting around the yard trying to impress the chicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Most of the hate comes from the fact that for years most men in Ireland wore ill-fitting, faded bootcut jeans with frayed ends dragging through the puddles over a knackered up pair of Adidas, or if they were going out brown shoes that looked like they were pilfered from a tramp.

As such they have a terrible reputation and have become a go-to criticism of Irish dress sense for people devoid of original thought (I mean they went out 10 years ago).

Really any item of clothing that becomes ubiquitous is liable to be worn badly by many and will attract opprobrium.

A well-fitting decently made pair of bootcut jeans look perfectly fine, and for certain leg shapes will look better than the alternatives.
    For many men, if they do much exercise of their leg muscles they're liable to find skinny jeans constricting on the calves in a way that looks and feels bad.
    Men's style is more a matter of finding clothes that suit your body shape than slavishly following fashions, though you'd never think it to hear the choir of trend-chasers criticising boot-cut jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I don’t like boot-cut jeans but I used to wear them however they are a helluva lot better looking than skinny jeans and especially when the fella wearing the skinny jeans ya one of those bulky muscular types who skip leg day and end up looking like a puffed up rooster strutting around the yard trying to impress the chicks.

They are ridiculous looking on anything other than a stick insect malnourished male, or female, for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Bootcuts
    Brown boots
    Short sleeve patterned shirt (optional faux white t-shirt inside)
    White tshirt.

2003 how are ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Skinny jeans are for lads under 21 who never want kids or an unmangled wang.

Bootcut, decent...flares, better. Of course any type of jeans needs to fit well and show off your hole, if you have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Speaking as a rubenesque woman, I'd like to be able to buy *any* pair of jeans that wasn't skinny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

I like flares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Rarely if ever notice what style jeans ppl wear and frankly couldn’t care less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I like flares.

Flares are a dying breed. Terrible hard to find in shops these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Rarely if ever notice what style jeans ppl wear and frankly couldn’t care less
    Aye. Like "mom" jeans - are they not just women's jeans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Jeans are amazing. If someone walks into any pub and there not wearing jeans they deserve to be told to go home and come back when there wearing jeans as there not getting served otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,897 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Raconteuse wrote: »

Yeah but be fair, the jeans in the link are slim fit boot cut jeans. They're right on trend with the slimmer fit. Boot cut jeans of different eras were baggy and loose fit. Big difference. The jeans in your link are grand In my opinion. I wear boots in winter and they look gone to me.

TBH I don't care what people wear. Fashion snobbery is the same as all the other snobberys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

This thread has an awful feel of Stetsons and Stilettos to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo