Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRISH MEN VERY UNDERWHELMING IN THE LOOKS DEPARTMENT?

• 13-08-2019 1:00pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 109 ✭✭IIGeminiII

This is something I hear very frequently from foreign friends. Particularly French, Spanish, Eastern European and South East Asian Women. To be fair, they also reckon that Irish men are kind of low-confidence perma-children, so I guess it's not just looks, but if we are honest, Irish men are not generally considered good looking. American women do like the Irish, so there's always the exception to the rule.

I'm frequently told I'm very good looking, but there is Spanish Blood on my mother's side so that explains that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Nuh uh ...they fly as **** like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,283 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

This thread again :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

RMAOK wrote: »
    This thread again :rolleyes:
    To be fair, it's usually about Irish women, but will become about Irish women in due course... :)

Anyway, plenty of extremely attractive Irish men with a sense of humour you cannot beat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Every country has its dogs but you'd swear we were gremlins the way some people go on. Theres a reason why Foreign women are attracted to Irish men its not all about looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭bullpost

Raconteuse wrote: »
    To be fair, it's usually about Irish women, but will become about Irish women in due course... :)

Anyway, plenty of extremely attractive Irish men with a sense of humour you cannot beat!

But in general they are correct we are pretty average , myself included. And plenty of average Irish men make up for this with their character and humour.

major bill wrote: »
    Every country has its dogs but you'd swear we were gremlins the way some people go on. Theres a reason why Foreign women are attracted to Irish men its not all about looks.
    And the Irish people who say it - no self awareness unfortunately.

There are some extremely good looking nations, like Italians, Swedish, French, so therefore because we don't overall look like them, we are automatically ugly. No in between could be possible. When of course we are somewhere in the middle - like most countries. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

IIGeminiII wrote: »
    I'm frequently told I'm very good looking, but there is Spanish Blood on my mother's side so that explains that.

Was worried I was a munter there for a second but I have French blood, we cool bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

CAPLOCKS? OP clearly means business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Nice start by the OP but a little more examples (boasting of his conquests, criticising Irish men he knows) would improve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,874 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm very attractive!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Yeah but women are annoying so it all balances out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

I’m sorry do we have distinct looks? It’s not like we all have brown eyes /hair/skin or whatever ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Bobblehats wrote: »
    I’m sorry do we have distinct looks? It’s not like we all have brown eyes /hair/skin or whatever ,

The spud head and the walk like your leading cattle always gives it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Speak for yourself, OP. I'm pretty fly for a white guy. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,947 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Can't they go back to where they came from?

And don't let the door hit you on the way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

It doesn't count when its your ma telling you how good looking you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Feck that! I'm bloody Gorgeous so i am.

*brushes back long luxurious hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

We're from a small gene pool on weather battered island, what do you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,854 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Irish men are real men. Not some pretty boys who know where to buy moisturiser.

We look like bull dogs chewing a wasp.
    We didn't get hit with the ugly stick, we hit every branch falling out of the ugly tree before landing on our faces!

We're not underwhelming in the looks department. We are an assault on the eyes and demand your attention.

And that is a mark of pride.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Irish people in general aren't known for their looks.

That's why we have a bit more in the personality department compared to some other nations.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'm very handsome anyway. Think the classical image of Jesus, but maybe a stone overweight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Yes, we are ugly hence the need for drink to make us funny in an attempt to play the our strengths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

yes we're not a particularly attractive race. The Vikings stole all the good looking women from Ireland and Britain hence why the Swedes and Danes are fairly jaw dropping.

Maybe we need a queer eye for the straight Irish guy. Never been done from what I can tell. Truely revolutionary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Maybe we need a queer eye for the straight Irish guy. Never been done from what I can tell. Truely revolutionary.

Quaaare eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

What do people expect? We're Celts, on an island that is battered by rain most of the year, not like most of europe where the sun shines most of the year. Scotland and Endland are similar. There is more people in England also, so there will be more good looking people. Anyway, it's a pointless conversation, no one can drastically change how they look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,643 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

yes we're not a particularly attractive race. The Vikings stole all the good looking women from Ireland and Britain hence why the Swedes and Danes are fairly jaw dropping.

Nope.They took them to Iceland. This explains why the Icelandic people look kind of Irish but way, way better looking!

Quaaare eye

Yes yes, this could be Al Porter's comeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Well my mammy said I'm handsome :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

...To be fair, they also reckon that Irish men are kind of low-confidence perma-children, so I guess it's not just looks...

I've heard that sentiment before and it rings true. An American girl once told me that Irish men are shy when sober, obnoxious when drunk. Maybe it's the segregated schools that are to blame... I don't know.

On the looks side, a Korean lady once told me that when she came here she expected a load of Westlife-looking fellas, but was disappointed to discover the prevalence of the "potato-belly".

On the whole though I think we don't do too bad. Irish men couldn't have asked for better promo with the American "market" than the film P.S. I Love You!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Tomw86

It fecking does too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

The OP makes a reasonable point in fairness. A lot of Irishmen are hideously ugly. It's a damning indictment when you realise that most of them spend more on drink in a month than they do on dental work in a decade. Or that they think they will 'get away with' a €12 haircut that makes them look like someone in the isolation unit of Mountjoy. And while you can't fight genetics, you can use clothes to improve your appearance. So that means no bootcut or distressed jeans, Jack Jones shirts, Superdry jackets, or canvas belts.

And then some of them get very tetchy and defensive when you point this out, or suggest that the reason they are so unsuccessful with women is because they have teeth, hair and clothes that are disgusting.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Back in the good ol' days we could post in the Know Your Nerds thread to prove our dashing features, but that'd be a bit of a GDPR minefield these days...

Al Porter's cum on your back

I'll refer you to the title of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭realmoonunit

My mammy says I am handsome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Al Porter's cum on your back

That situation is bad and deserves to be condemned

Bobblehats wrote: »
    That situation is bad and deserves to be condemned

You're right - post reported.

AVB makes a good point.

Standman wrote: »
    I've heard that sentiment before and it rings true. An American girl once told me that Irish men are shy when sober, obnoxious when drunk. Maybe it's the segregated schools that are to blame... I don't know.

On the looks side, a Korean lady once told me that when she came here she expected a load of Westlife-looking fellas, but was disappointed to discover the prevalence of the "potato-belly".

On the whole though I think we don't do too bad. Irish men couldn't have asked for better promo with the American "market" than the film P.S. I Love You!
    I don't know that the manchild is as prevalent in Irish society today though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Bit it does count when it's your ma telling me how good looking I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

bullpost wrote: »
    But in general they are correct we are pretty average , myself included. And plenty of average Irish men make up for this with their character and humour.

Irish men are fairly attractive, about the same as the English or Germans. Better than the Spanish. French men are the quintessential wimps.

The younger lads are looking after themselves too.

I agree about the clothes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Irish men are fairly attractive, about the same as the English or Germans. Better than the Spanish. French men are the quintessential wimps.

The younger lads are looking after themselves too.

Better then Spanish or French, I really don't think so. German men aren't great either so I don't think that's a great example.

Irish men are too fat and wear stupid clothes. They also drink too much. They are very non sexist though in comparison to Mediterranean types and tend to treat you as a person which is nice. But that's most Northern Europeans.

Not all of them of course, complete generalization. Some are lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I'm frequently told I'm very good looking ...

Mum's are the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭turbbo

Irish men are too fat and wear stupid clothes.
    - Not all of them of course, complete generalization. Some are lovely.

Pointless post of the year award.

Better then Spanish or French, I really don't think so. German men aren't great either so I don't think that's a great example.

The Spanish look largely the same. Not having brown eyes is an advantage there. The French can be pretty rather than handsome. A generalisation I know. But that’s what’s happening here.
    Irish men are too fat and wear stupid clothes. They also drink too much. They are very non sexist though in comparison to Mediterranean types and tend to treat you as a person which is nice. But that's most Northern Europeans.

Clothes yes. But younger guys are clearly looking after themselves. My generation was a lot worse (I’m 39).

Betcha have an awful lisp though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

tumblr_lj52ixmZ3G1qdgm48o1_500.png

Irish men are dressing more like their plonker cousins on the continent and are worse for it.

Physically, I agree, we're atrocious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭kevcos

I find myself masturbating a lot and there is no f'ing I'd give a handjob to an ugly, therefore proof that I must be half decent.

Physically, I agree, we're atrocious.

I put it down to years of inbreeding. But sure we're great craic!