Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar would be 'happy' to see Orange Order march in Dublin every yea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Wasn't that already tried..and failed??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

The Orange Order is a sectarian organisation.
    I'm sure there's a law somewhere telling them to fck off.

I don't want that sh1t down here wrecking my city again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

He also said
    Mr Varadkar added: “There would have been a lot of Orange lodges in Dublin and Wicklow at a time – and all over the country – so if we’re serious about respecting each other’s identities, each other’s values; if we’re serious about parity of esteem, it’s not the sort of thing you can pick and choose.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Well I suppose if Saoradh are allowed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭terryduff12

All the pride marches he`s been at lately have gone to his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Next he'll invite the KKK over...very similar "organisations"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Sir Oxman wrote: »

Think you will find it was locals tjat wrecked the place.

Saying that i don't see it happening anytime soon again, leave them up North among their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Some people are just too liberal. Varadkar is one of them. All sunshine, rainbows and lollipops in his planet.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Some people are just too liberal. Varadkar is one of them. All sunshine, rainbows and lollipops in his planet.

He doesn't do consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

I reckon there could be a blue flu in response if this was ever a serious possibility...

The guards got a battering the last time those lads were down in Dublin. Both physically and in print

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,990 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Why does anyone have to march in city centre and cause disruption? Can they not just book a section of stephens green, the iveagh gardens or phoenix park and do what they want to do?

Seems less about being free to express themselves culturally - as should be their right - than putting it into peoples faces.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭joseywhales

He is exactly correct and those who wish to see a United Ireland should really support his stance, he has identified the only way to move forward. If you let them March and you join in sattirically, you will take the steam out of their bluster. Let them down here , we will have a laugh about William of orange.

We will culturally appropriate them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

How can a country allow a celebration of its own defeat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

This lad wants his bread buttered on both sides.

Someone needs to tell the gasun when that happens the sandwich falls out your fingers.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Leo's virtue signaller is the size of the bat signal

dark-knight-rises-commissioner-gordon-bat-signal-m43426.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

While it would be galling to have that shower drag their knuckles down some street in Dublin, for all those who genuinely want a United Ireland, this kind of gesture is gonna be necessary. And given the sensitive nature of things in the north right now, Leo is hardly going to give anything other than a standard generic politicians response to a loaded question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Don’t particularly want to see this crowd in Dublin nor do I think a United ireland is worth the huge price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

While it would be galling to have that shower drag their knuckles down some street in Dublin, for all those who genuinely want a United Ireland, this kind of gesture is gonna be necessary. And given the sensitive nature of things in the north right now, Leo is hardly going to give anything other than a standard generic politicians response to a loaded question.

They should be treated like any organisation. The can apply and based on the merits and number of people interested be judged on that. I don't believe in just letting them because it would be nice, I don't think we owe them anything.

Leo is a nothing. It's just unfortunate he's playing Taoiseach while he saves up for his gap year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

The only United Ireland is an Ireland without unionists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

They should be treated like any organisation. The can apply and based on the merits and number of people interested be judged on that. I don't believe in just letting them because it would be nice, I don't think we owe them anything.

Leo is a nothing. It's just unfortunate he's playing Taoiseach while he saves up for his gap year.

Well there's whats fair, and then there's dealing with that crowd of children. I don't think its necessary to put something on in Dublin, but again, if people are interested in a United Ireland down the line (and I know a lot of people are not), then something like this could happen in order to promote 'a more inclusive society for Unionist people.' Similarly, we can say goodbye to Amhran na bhFiann.

No. I'm all for equality. It could happen but we have an inclusive society. The Orange order need make moves in that direction. A unionist would have the same rights as you and I. If that's not enough they can contact their local TD.
    I'm completely cool with a new flag and anthem by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m not familiar with the Orange Order or why they’re so unwelcome in the Republic (guessing they couldn’t behave themselves the last time they were down?), but it appears the head of the organisation slapped away Leo’s attempt at an olive branch :pac:

However, the current Orange Order boss, Mervyn Gibson, has thrown cold water on the idea.

“The Orange brethren who reside in the Republic of Ireland, as Leo Varadkar points out, parade in Rossnowlagh each year.

“They currently have no plans for a parade in Dublin.”

Apply some cream to that burn :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Goodshape wrote: »
    Nah.

What's wrong with DublinLive?

doylefe wrote: »
    Christ Almighty, genocide is a proven failure.

sabat wrote: »
    How can a country allow a celebration of its own defeat?

Bit simplistic isn't it? It was two foreign monarchs,the winner didn't even speak English, I couldn't care less about the 1600s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,990 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Bit simplistic isn't it? It was two foreign monarchs,the winner didn't even speak English, I couldn't care less about the 1600s.

It would be good if we could reach that point.

But usually not a good idea to celebrate victory in a civil war... the roman republic did not allow it until Caesar and that was the beginning of the end of the republic.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Leave them at it. If we could persuade our own imbeciles to leave them at it then after a few years of marching with a handful of people watching and no fuss being raised they will soon get bored.

It's all down to our own morons though so I hold out little hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I personally don't care either way. Let them march.

However he is nuts to suggest this and think its going to go over well with Irish people in general. In fact i think it could mean a swell in support for the likes of SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Orange Order is inherently reactionary and sectarian and he’s a tit for lauding them. I’m not saying he should be putting a boot into them but jumping up and down singing their praises is just f*cking stupid. The Ku Klux Klan or people blackfacing as African slaves is cultural tradition in some places, it doesn’t mean there’s anything positive about them.

FTA69 wrote: »
    The Orange Order is inherently reactionary and sectarian and he’s a tit for lauding them. I’m not saying he should be putting a boot into them but jumping up and down singing their praises is just f*cking stupid. The Ku Klux Klan or people blackfacing as African slaves is cultural tradition in some places, it doesn’t mean there’s anything positive about them.

Not all of them are like that. They do have extremists obv.

I've met one or two online though who are nice people.

I don't think the south is really ready to take people from the Orange order as individuals at all.

And the orange order isn't ready to revamp and get rid of the extremists or cut ties with the DUP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Not all of them are like that. They do have extremists obv.

I've met one or two online though who are nice people.

I don't think the south is really ready to take people from the Orange order as individuals at all.

And the orange order isn't ready to revamp and get rid of the extremists or cut ties with the DUP.

It's a bigoted and sectarian organisation by its very nature.

Some of its members may not be as openly outspoken or vocal as others, but sectarianism and bigotry is at the very heart of its existence.

In saying that, a few parade's in a contained area of Dublin where they're starved of the Oxygen of attention and controversy they crave might soon soften their cough and bore them into believing it's not worth the time and effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

doylefe wrote: »
    The only good union is one with us, not one with UK :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

i say let them go full hog. in fact they should do all their marching, from May or whenever they kick off the black marches all the way through. At least people in the north wont have to have the hassle for a change

It's a bigoted and sectarian organisation by its very nature.

Some of its members may not be as openly outspoken or vocal as others, but sectarianism and bigotry is at the very heart of its existence.

In saying that, a few parade's in a contained area of Dublin where they're starved of the Oxygen of attention and controversy they crave might soon soften their cough and bore them into believing it's not worth the time and effort.

I know two members who are two of the sweetest soundest human beings I know.

And their brother is a member he is married to an asian woman.

How many people have met Orange order people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

If I were to guess I'd say he's merely paying lip service to the idea as a way to counter the anti unionist accusations the DUP are flinging at him regularly these days. Probably to wind them up a bit too.

elfy4eva wrote: »
    If I were to guess I'd say he's merely paying lip service to the idea as a way to counter the anti unionist accusations the DUP are flinging at him regularly these days. Probably to wind them up a bit too.
    Its going to wind a lot of Irish people up too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

He is exactly correct and those who wish to see a United Ireland should really support his stance, he has identified the only way to move forward. If you let them March and you join in sattirically, you will take the steam out of their bluster. Let them down here , we will have a laugh about William of orange.

I think your spot on. It would be easier to say we don't care about your flag waving and leave them on with it.

People must remember if you want your rights to be respected and your beliefs then you have to accept other peoples beliefs too.

Maybe it would all become a lot more placid if we didn't have such a fuss about them, its like children screaming and moaning on the floor, just leave them at it to tire themselves out

Its going to wind a lot of Irish people up too though.

I think it's more important than ever for folks in the Republic to take a more easy going approach to these things, it seperates us from the perpetually offended Orange Order and DUP

However even if its a serious remark and I'd be no lover of the order and their sectarian rhetoric, but if a march in Dublin even went some ways to help comfort moderate unionists on the inclusivity of a united Ireland I would contentedly be able to ignore said march.

elfy4eva wrote: »
    I would contentedly be able to ignore said march.

So would I.

Would everyone tho?

So would I.

Would everyone tho?

No, and it's not hard to understand why one could easily be riled up by the idea of a display which has a certain disdain for the origin of our country. However it is time we kept the high ground on this issue. The DUP is doing nothing but damaging itself these days, violence at bonfires and the associated flag burning's are seen as the thuggish actions that they are. The republic needs to be the opposite of that and I would urge those who would be riled up to take it easy and play the long game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

The Orange Order is a right wing extremist sectarian hate organisation who are anti-secular and have a particular hate for LGBT people nevermind other Christians. They are more Loyalist than Unionist, that is they don't represent ordinary Unionism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Might as well invite the KKK over to March in the saint Patrick's day parade while we're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

I’d say he can shove that ... but I’ll be accused of some homophobic BS....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Sir Oxman wrote: »

Now now now !! Tolerance !! Tolerance !! Tolerance!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Il be out throwing bricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Reading this thread

There will never be a United Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

ChikiChiki wrote: »

He was very illiberal 10/15 years ago

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet