Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you were a teenager again what advice would you give yourself?

• 08-08-2019 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I saw a school do this the 6th years said what advice they'd give there first years selves if they got the chance to start all over again.
    I'd tell myself to
    Do different subjects.
    Switch schools.
    Stop doing some things to keep other people happy.
    Not take every teacher as seriously as I did.
    Not to rush into a college course.
    Choose friends a tad more carefully.
    Try and get a job sooner.
    To relax a more.

The class captain wants to see you completely fu<ked up and has no respect for you in fact he tells you in later yeArs he would never let into his own house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,859 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Don't be so self conscious. Work harder.

Don't invest as much in the opinion of others. Trust your own judgement more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

Keep pressuring my mother for that fcuking confirmation money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Plough more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Get confident, stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Buy bitcoins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Save 3 grand a year for a decade and invest in some high-interest account. Leave there for 40 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Don’t waste time with the PhD. Money doesn’t buy you happiness, but it certainly helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 aaqil jettson

banie01 wrote: »
    Buy bitcoins!

sell bitcoins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Ask the girl out, don't wait to find out almost 2 decades later that she also liked you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

6th years would not have much experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

Relax girl, it'll all work out the way it's meant to. Don't be so shy but don't lose yourself either. Go straight into special ed., forget college, forget leaving the country. Everything you need is right here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Get help, and don't be afraid to ask for help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

Deal with the low self esteem, it'll be the cause of some seriously stupid decisions later on :-|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Do not let anyone rob you of your confidence , your sense of self worth.
    Believe you are worth all that and more , because you are .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

Deal with the low self esteem, it'll be the cause of some seriously stupid decisions later on :-|
    Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Do not let anyone rob you of your confidence , your sense of self worth.
    Believe you are worth all that and more , because you are .

Ditto. Times 1000000.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Grow up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

FFred wrote: »
    Ditto. Times 1000000.

It can take a lifetime to regain your confidence , if ever , a daily battle . It's one of the things I tried to instill in my kids , to believe in themselves , no matter what they chose to do in life , to be true to who they are and not let anyone take that from them .

Sometimes it's easier to say to others than apply to ourselves :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Don't piss away your life talking sh1te on Boards.ie.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Everyone else is as lost and insecure as you are, so go with your gut not the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Hit the road and don't keep dreaming about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Nothing I would just listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

You were right; adulthood is better than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Gwildor

Buy a sh1t ton of shares in Apple. Middle aged you will thank you for it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Chill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

cut down on the W*****g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

TBH, and I mean this from the bottom of my heart... I'd have started listening to Mariah a long time before Butterfly (1997). What a beautiful soul and singer. <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,426 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Never, ever, trust a fart in bed.

I’m still not one to listen to my own “advice” so it probably wouldn’t have mattered, I’ve played that “roulette” since but never when the stakes were so high.

But, if I had listened, I wouldn’t have “blown it” with this hot girl I’d fancied all through college. Halfway through our final year we finally “clicked” and one thing lead to another and we ended up in the “sack” together.

All was going “swimming”, clothes off, getting good and close when suddenly I felt a bubbly “sensation”, figured it was a “run of the mill” job. Oh, how wrong I was.

As soon as I relaxed to let it out I knew. I tried to “clam” up but the damage was done. My whole body went stiff as board, I got up and run into the jacks. I had a whole story ready to explain that I had to “break wind” but was embarrassed to do it in front of her but my plan was foiled by the fact that the blast had gone “beyond the cheeks” and, in my haste, I’d smeared a small, yet noticeable, trail on the bed sheets so the “jig” was up.

She got up and left straight away. Obviously, I apologised profusely but she wasn’t for turning. Couldn’t blame her in fairness but I was fairly “well oiled”.

Anyway, saw her not too long ago. The attraction was, certainly, gone. She’s married with a couple of kids and, while there was still a “tinkle” in her eye, she now, sort of, resembled a “weeble”. Still though, that night, it’s one of those scenarios that runs through my head about twice a month and causes me no end of embarrassment.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Trust your own instincts...they are usually right.
    Don't try to please other people to seek approval.
    The bullying will stop, you will get loads of really genuine friends in college who will stay loyal to you.
    You will learn to accept being gay and stop hiding your true sexuality ... it will get better. Much better.

You will never fully get over Mum's shocking and sudden death but you will cope, you will manage and you will emerge a stronger person.

You will eventually learn to accept yourself for who you are. You are a good, kind, intelligent person with a lot to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

It’s okay to say no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

branie2 wrote: »
    cut down on the W*****g

Why, have you gone blind?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Nothing , I probably wouldn't listen anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Most people are two faced *****. Threat them as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Keep going you're doing grand.

Here's a few shags you shouldn't miss out on.

And yer wan is a total melt, cut her lose because she'll just cheat on you later anyways.

Everything else is great, maybe lay off the booze and weed a wee bit but you'll get to where you want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

Never, ever, trust a fart in bed.

I’m still not one to listen to my own “advice” so it probably wouldn’t have mattered, I’ve played that “roulette” since but never when the stakes were so high.

But, if I had listened, I wouldn’t have “blown it” with this hot girl I’d fancied all through college. Halfway through our final year we finally “clicked” and one thing lead to another and we ended up in the “sack” together.

All was going “swimming”, clothes off, getting good and close when suddenly I felt a bubbly “sensation”, figured it was a “run of the mill” job. Oh, how wrong I was.

As soon as I relaxed to let it out I knew. I tried to “clam” up but the damage was done. My whole body went stiff as board, I got up and run into the jacks. I had a whole story ready to explain that I had to “break wind” but was embarrassed to do it in front of her but my plan was foiled by the fact that the blast had gone “beyond the cheeks” and, in my haste, I’d smeared a small, yet noticeable, trail on the bed sheets so the “jig” was up.

She got up and left straight away. Obviously, I apologised profusely but she wasn’t for turning. Couldn’t blame her in fairness but I was fairly “well oiled”.

Anyway, saw her not too long ago. The attraction was, certainly, gone. She’s married with a couple of kids and, while there was still a “tinkle” in her eye, she now, sort of, resembled a “weeble”. Still though, that night, it’s one of those scenarios that runs through my head about twice a month and causes me no end of embarrassment.

Tragic and all as that is Emmet don't ever be embarrassed by the smudgehole acting up involuntarily! Was it a good'un?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

When I was 14 I had this big dream of going to fashion school the following year. There was one in my town.
    My grandfather, not a nice man by any means for the most part offered to pay for boarding at the top class fashion college close to the capital which would have required me to love cross country at 15. Being the moody teenage idiot I was I declined.
    I regret saying no to this day, I know now that I would've thrived being away from home and a quite toxic family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Keep doing what you're doing, you'll be fine"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Stop being so fcukin nice, it carried on into later life and being too nice in business only makes you poor and tired, some nice is ok, but being a cnut is better for you if judging by others is anything to go by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Keep playing some sort of team sport for as long as you can.
    Get tenants in to your house with you rather than living there on your own.
    Start every job with a plan to not stay there longer than 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭griffin100

Don’t get into a long term relationship at 18 and never ever turn down a sure thing, you’ll be old and repulsive to women for most of your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Di-spite what they say and do, its NOT you who is stupid,
    never ever pay a therapist who makes little of your fears and ideas's, actually dont talk to therapists at all, they dont have a clue what you've been through.

You are farrrrrrrrrrrrrr emotionally stronger that you think.

You did a great job of avoiding the abusers there were everywhere when you were small, go with those feelings in the future, your are bang on about Charley H

Finally, stop making a tit of yourself for that guy, he'll never love you the way you love him, but true love and better friends are ahead.
    Watch out for women, but embrace your interest in women's rights.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Gorteen

Relax. Everything will work out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,426 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Tragic and all as that is Emmet don't ever be embarrassed by the smudgehole acting up involuntarily! Was it a good'un?

I’m not embarrassed by it, S, I’m mortified!!

It was silent and “wet”. And hot. You know yourself when it “happens”. A shot ran up my body and I sobered up instantly.

Certainly wasn’t a “good’un”, this was a first “date”, if you could call it that. The potential was huge. I drank too much mostly due to nerves. I view it as a stain on my college years. A brown stain.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

Stay away from yourself. No, seriously. Myself and the bachelor (i live with a randy bachelor) do have these conversations the whole time. When i was a gosson he'd tell me to go easy on myself but I didn't listen. Too many videos of bibi around the house.

So, I'd listen to the bachelor. Go easy on yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭touts

I'd say nothing. Absolutely nothing. I'm happy where I am. Yes I'd prefer a better job but if I took a different course in college or opted for a different career path or took that overseas job offer or changed any number of other decisions I wouldn't have been in that spot on the street on my way from work when a girl I sort of knew passed by and we stopped for a chat. 17 years later we're happily married and have a great family. I'd kill anyone who tried to take that from me so there is no chance I'd give the teenage me any advice that might put me in a different spot on the street that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

"**** worrying about degrees and certificates and learn how to program, do as many online/technical digital marketing courses and start your own projects. Get a any old job, save money and move to Germany as soon as possible."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

You might as well try and fail at something you find interesting instead of failing at something you don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Just not to sweat the small stuff.

Oh and bang that Finnish blonde bombshell as yer GF is cheating on you.

First they came for the socialists...

I'd tell 15 year old me to meet Sarah. To this day I haven't met a person, fella or wan, that I got on better with. I was too busy chasing wans that had not the remotest of interest in me.