Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Casual Friday

• 02-08-2019 6:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭

During the hot weather a couple of weeks ago, one of the girls in work wore in what can best be described as a shirt. Other than a pair of strappy sandals, the rest of the outfit was MIA.

The next day, an email was circulated from senior management reminding us of the company's dress code policy - we feel that the two events were not wholly unconnected.

What is your place of work like regarding dress code?

Can you let it all hang out or do you have to button it up?

Has anyone worn in something so inappropriate that eyebrows (and possibly other appendages) were raised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

My workplace is casual everyday.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

All I want to wear today is shorts and a tshirt. Unfortunately I need to wear trousers and a shirt at minimum. By the time I get to work I will already be sweating like a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Some people have difficulty in differentiating their workplace from their private lives

Often gone to work in my underwear and eaten cheetos all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Dress code in my place assuming you aren't meeting clients is "wear clothes - please".

T-shirt and non-sports shorts is fine for my role even if meeting clients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Yippee its Friday so I get to wear white shirt, black trousers, black tie, some ornaments, its a chilly 38°C so gonna wear a jacket and top the whole thing off with a hat.

Gotta love uniforms.

Imma stripper its victoria secret all day everyday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

Often gone to work in my underwear and eaten cheetos all day.

Can we see proof of this please?

Imma stripper its victoria secret all day everyday!
    Oh and this too please. Thank you in advance.

Autecher wrote: »
    Oh and this too please. Thank you in advance.
    Sure Club Lapello thursday nights through sunday.

Say the names vibes at the door you get discount and a free drink!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

We are pretty casual any way. Most people wear jeans in or smart casual every day. A question came in a couple of weeks ago to ask if we could wear shorts given the hot weather and the 'people team' said yes. Now we get to see the men in very casual shorts and their big hairy legs all over the place....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

My last job (not this one which I finish today, thank fook) was a large global company. The office is next door to St. Pauls Cathedral in London, so fairly swanky. In the 3 years I was there it was very interesting to see the evolution of the dress code. When I first started it was all suited and booted. Then after a while there was a backlash against the neck tie - I vaguely remember some report stating they were bad for the environment or some such. Then later the suit started to fade away and then it was common to see jeans/chinos with a decent shirt. By the time I left, shirts and shoes were gone too. It's runners and t-shirts. No complaints our end, we're networks and infrastructure, not exactly customer facing so the suit made little sense in the first place.

I'm back into Central London on Monday for another company with a bit of global reach. The contract states smart casual - I still don't know what that means.

Sure Club Lapello thursday nights through sunday.

Say the names vibes at the door you get discount and a free drink!
    The sad thing about this is that even though I am 99% confident you are joking that tiny 1% chance means I actually will do this. :(

Expect an angry PM from me tonight ILYV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

We've moved to a "dress for your day" model, if you're at your desk all day treat it as a casual Friday.
    So far so good though I prefer a shirt and trousers Monday through Thursday, there are always one or two that blur the line though.

I think I've posted before but in the last place I was at, the Office Manager (a jobsworth if ever there was one) sent a nasty reminder about the dress code policy on casual days. This wasn't the office official spiel but ones she had added to, they included the line "round neck tshirts are not allowed", in the Male section.

I replied all, asking "where does it say this in the Policy please provide a link", she bit back with some spiel about it, to which I replied all with "you yourself are wearing a t-shirt today".
    It was worth the 86 out of office replies I received and the half a dozen "did you mean to reply all?" and more than a dozen "ooooh, she is NOT happy" responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭tjhook

theteal wrote: »
    I'm back into Central London on Monday for another company with a bit of global reach. The contract states smart casual - I still don't know what that means.

"Smart Causal" can mean anything from trousers, good shirt and shoes (but no tie), to Jeans and a non-ripped t-shirt.

If it was me, I'd play it safe for the first day or two, wear something more like the former. Then adapt to whatever the culture is. That's assuming there's no way to ask somebody there in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

fairly casual here, no jeans is the general rule.

On friday jeans are grand.

When it was boiling a while back i wore fairly smart shorts and no issue.
    I did work in a place which was generally formal... people took the piss...wearing boardshorts etc...so a more formal dress code became mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Suited and booted as I am every day. Casual wear is for the pub or back garden, not the workplace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

'Smart casual' as it's called. Rules have relaxed slightly recently and we can wear jeans, but they have to be plain black and fitted. Nothing with any rips, logos, decoration etc.
    Smart top. No t-shirts.

I'm female, but similar rules apply to men. The tie rule has been relaxed.

No runners or any sports style shoes on either sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Suited and booted as I am every day. Casual wear is for the pub or back garden, not the workplace.

Ah that depends on the workplace in fairness.

I work in construction and its shirt, pants and shoes. Being well groomed is as important as anything. Out and about meeting clients so it's important to represent the company well. I abhor those soft shell jackets every man and his dog wears these days with the company logo on it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,750 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

'Smart casual' as it's called. Rules have relaxed slightly recently and we can wear jeans, but they have to be plain black and fitted. Nothing with any rips, logos, decoration etc.
    Smart top. No t-shirts.

I'm female, but similar rules apply to men. The tie rule has been relaxed.

No runners or any sports style shoes on either sex.

is your boss a male? the dirty dog!. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I work in an office job where I never meet clients or customers so its actually incredibly dumb that I have to wear shirt and trousers mon to thurs. Casual friday is pretty casual but there's always some eejit that takes it too far every now and then leading to those emails telling people what casual is despite 99.5% of staff knowing exactly what casual is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

tjhook wrote: »
    "Smart Causal" can mean anything from trousers, good shirt and shoes (but no tie), to Jeans and a non-ripped t-shirt.

If it was me, I'd play it safe for the first day or two, wear something more like the former. Then adapt to whatever the culture is. That's assuming there's no way to ask somebody there in advance.

Yup, I'm going to play it safe initially i.e. shoes/chinos/shirt. It's a tech job so I'm half expecting I'll be over-dressed but not by much.

Also, this thread just reminded me that "Casual Friday" in my old place just meant that we were in the pub by 1 o'clock :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

426308.jpg?b64lines=CkkgSEFWRSBNSVNQTEFDRUQgTVkgUEFOVFMuIA==

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭ollkiller

I've worked in places where it's shorts and a t-shirt to other offices where its strictly suits only. I've always found the more strict the dress code the more c***s you have to work with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Full suit, tie and jacket, well polished shoes. If you aren't wearing this, are you even in a real job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,491 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Today I am working from home so I am wearing only a pair of jocks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

We don't have a Casual Friday but everyday is fairly casual for me; black jeans, casual shirt (also black), and safety boots. Some dress smarter but even senior management often opt for the company 'uniform', which consists of a polo shirt with the company logo, while others (depending on their job) wear a variation of this. I'm happy wearing my own clothes, logo-free. (The company buys the safety boots, though.)

In the hot weather, shorts are allowed but there are guidelines of what sort (I think) although I personally haven't worn a pair of shorts since I was about 6 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 dsagra

Jeans (or shorts in summer, if you want) and casual t-shirt as in most IT companies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

We're a very casual, non customer facing office where band t-shirts and jeans are the norm but we're not allowed wear shorts in the office regardless of how hot it is.

Never made any sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

theteal wrote: »

Please consult this guide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Our place has the same "dress for your day" model referred to above, but as clients can be onsite this still means looking presentable and so most wear trousers/shirts/suits.

Fridays are "casual" (so jeans rather than trousers) but it's an idiotic notion that was no doubt dreamed up by some HR type somewhere to "show the company cares". My workload and role doesn't change on Fridays so why is casual clothing acceptable then and not the rest of the week?

Me I just wear trousers and a shirt every day. Work from home Fridays though so can wear what I want :p

Completely casual, wearing shorts, a t-shirt and runners all week normally it’s jeans and a t-shirt/polo.

Might wear a shirt and trousers (not formal trousers, normal chino type) if there is an important meeting etc but it’s not a rule just something I decide myself.

For the most part dress codes at work are ridiculous once people don’t take the total p*ss and wear tracksuits (which some did in my last job). Wearing suits is even worse, totally pointless for most people and a ridiculous thing to have to wear everyday sitting in an office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

every time I read one of these threads, and there seems to be a similar thread almost once a week in some form or another, i always think of when I did the year in australia thing and worked in offices over there. it was fairly common to see older men in very formal looking shorts with socks pulled up to their knees. it was like it was formal business attire but for the man who wears shorts. I always thought it looked funny but practical for the hot climate they lived in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

greenttc wrote: »
    every time I read one of these threads, and there seems to be a similar thread almost once a week in some form or another, i always think of when I did the year in australia thing and worked in offices over there. it was fairly common to see older men in very formal looking shorts with socks pulled up to their knees. it was like it was formal business attire but for the man who wears shorts. I always thought it looked funny but practical for the hot climate they lived in.

Company I previously worked for had these shorts/socks combo in their global dress code policy as they had an office in Bermuda... So a few of the lads were going to put it to the test in Dublin but no one followed through!

In my current role we are "smart casual" bar Friday. Normally wear a shirt/polo and chinos, with shoes during the week.

Casual Friday would be jeans with runners and a tshirt/polo. Sports tops, tracksuits, shorts etc are not permitted. People do wear sports tops, lad in front of me has an Ireland rugby polo top on today, no one will bat an eyelid.

We currently have a casual summer (basically the same code as a Friday), some people are looking to get it cancelled with the clothes they are wearing, they think they are on their summer holidays. Not sounding sexist but its always the female members of staff who want to ruin it for all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭magic_murph

During the hot weather a couple of weeks ago, one of the girls in work wore in what can best be described as a shirt. Other than a pair of strappy sandals, the rest of the outfit was MIA.

The next day, an email was circulated from senior management reminding us of the company's dress code policy - we feel that the two events were not wholly unconnected.

Can you let it all hang out or do you have to button it up?

Has anyone worn in something so inappropriate that eyebrows (and possibly other appendages) were raised?

Any pictures - to give my full opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

We used to share a building with a finance company and Monday to Thursday it was all suits but Friday was smart casual day so all the men wore pretty much the same polo branded shirt, chinos and deck shoes. It was like a uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

At lunch the other day a girl walk out of a corporate office of a bank beside mine with a mini on that barely covered her ass, and she had a big ass. When she sits down she was definitely sitting on her panties only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

is your boss a male? the dirty dog!. :pac:

lol :D my boss is male but I don't think it would bother him if we turned up in pyjamas, and that goes for both men & women. He's fairly laid back.

No, it's the psychotic bitch from hell HR manager who made the clothing rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

When I was working, I wore smart casual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

My boss has me wearing a shirt and pair of slacks, it's considered smart but not too formal. Occasionally I'll wear steel capped boots depending if I'm on site or visiting offices.

It's a fairly hot day today, and im currently in the S.E part of the country, sun beating down in the motor - of which the Air con decided to stop working as of the 14th of July, so I've a trail of sweat making its way down my back, and scrotum seems like it's been welded to the side of my right thigh.

I work for myself btw. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »
    Company I previously worked for had these shorts/socks combo in their global dress code policy as they had an office in Bermuda... So a few of the lads were going to put it to the test in Dublin but no one followed through!

In my current role we are "smart casual" bar Friday. Normally wear a shirt/polo and chinos, with shoes during the week.

Casual Friday would be jeans with runners and a tshirt/polo. Sports tops, tracksuits, shorts etc are not permitted. People do wear sports tops, lad in front of me has an Ireland rugby polo top on today, no one will bat an eyelid.

We currently have a casual summer (basically the same code as a Friday), some people are looking to get it cancelled with the clothes they are wearing, they think they are on their summer holidays. Not sounding sexist but its always the female members of staff who want to ruin it for all!!

It does seem to turn into a "who's the sexiest" competition.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

it must be awful not being allowed wear what you like, you can only wear slacks not jeans and you must have a piece of material hanging from your neck. work places like offices are ridiculous when you think about it, employees treated like children. it wouldn't matter if I had a salary of 2 million a year, I'd never go back to having a boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

We are pretty casual any way. Most people wear jeans in or smart casual every day. A question came in a couple of weeks ago to ask if we could wear shorts given the hot weather and the 'people team' said yes. Now we get to see the men in very casual shorts and their big hairy legs all over the place....
    At least they're not GAA shorts (I hope)

My place is fairly casual, as I sit here in a recycle your droids Star Wars t shirt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭kikilarue2

I've worked for two huge organisations that would compete with each other in certain sectors in the last few years that had opposite policies on this.

In one, they placed huge value on perception. The right look, the right watch, the right facial hair. The dress code was so specific it detailed what fabrics women are allowed to wear.

In the other, there was no dress code. None at all. Most people wore shorts and t-shirts, some came in wearing gym gear. In weather like this, younger women would come in wearing crop tops. Most people would dress up a bit if clients were coming in but there was no obligation to.

The result? In Company 1, your progression is all about how you're seen and whose arse you kiss. In Company 2, your progression is determined by the quality of your work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Work in a market, a few places have a uniform or an apron or jacket that you cant see what people are wearing anyway. But most places are very casual, I'm in a shirt jeans and trainers, I'm looking across at a girl in a t-shirt and leggings. Tends to be a mixture of very hippie and very scobey styles. Lots of men with long hair and women with short hair. Lots of tattoos.

We're most of us paid like sh1t but today...nya nya nya to you office people :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

In the last office I worked in women could wear what they like and men had to wear shirts and slacks etc, the kind of clothes I hate and struggle to organise for a week. Was especially apparent in summer when women wore flip flops etc. Sexism at its finest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Giblet wrote: »
    Full suit, tie and jacket, well polished shoes. If you aren't wearing this, are you even in a real job?

So, you're an undertaker then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Giblet wrote: »
    They keep paying me, so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Mankini ban in our office in hot weather. Found out the hard way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I work in a government office but we have no face-to-face dealings with the public, so our dress code is very much wear what you want unless it's obscene.

I generally (almost always) wear jeans and a soccer jersey with Doc Martens. Others wear formal shirt, tie, trousers, most people wear what I think is smart/casual. Occasionally I wear a short sleeve shirt with buttons and get asked if I'm going to an interview :D

There was an optional office uniform a few years ago and some women (but no men) opted to wear this.

One stupid rule that was enforced until last summer was that men could not wear shorts to work. There was a reason for this. Over 20 years ago, one of the lads came to work wearing very revealing, tight shorts and was sent home (he returned later that day wearing a full three-piece suit with overcoat and Fedora hat!) True story - I know the bloke.

When last year's temperatures soared, we were told it was OK for men to wear shorts, and thankfully, everyone who chose to wear them did at least wear smart looking, reasonably-lengthed shorts.

I quite like wearing a suit and tie when I have to, but I would absolutely hate having to wear one to work every day.