Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nimbyism is actually grand sometimes

• 01-08-2019 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭

Read this today:
    https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/dr-criticises-ministers-huge-nimbyism-over-blocking-methadone-clinic-in-her-constituency-940941.html
    Dr criticises Minister's 'huge nimbyism' over blocking methadone clinic in her constituency

Minister Josepha Madigan has come under fire after her constituents received a letter confirming that a methadone clinic will not be located in their area.

The Culture Minister has distanced herself from the letter saying that she had not approved the wording before it was sent out to residents in Ballinteer in Dublin.

The letter in Ms Madigan’s name reads:

"I am pleased to reassure local residents that following representations from my office to the Department of Health, I have been informed that a new methadone clinic will not be developed at the Ballinteer Health Centre as the existing services are adequate.

I know many people were concerned about this prospect following the closure of the methadone clinic in Baggot Street.

This health centre is used by many local residents and would not be suitable as a methadone clinic."

Dr Gareth McGovern, Medical Director of the Priority Medical Clinic, has accused her of nimbyism or 'not in my back yard'.

Dr McGovern said: "I mean the disturbing part of this that upset me somewhat was that she was rejoicing in the fact that she had blocked it happening.

"It's huge nimbyism, isn't it?"

Labour Senator Aodhán Ó Ríordáin said the minister was “a disgrace”, asking: “Does she genuinely believe that no local residents have drug problems?

"It says everything about Fine Gael’s approach to the drugs crisis.”

Solidarity TD Mr Murphy added that the letter was “quite disgusting and demonstrates typical Fine Gael snobbery.”

If I was in constituency that minister would have earned my vote for the next election.

The majority of Heroin addicts are in and around town, what the hell would they be moving a clinic like that out to Ballinteer for?

This is absolutely nimbyism, but in this case I'm all for it!
    Imagine spending €500k on a nice home out in Ballinteer (or where ever) only for the Dept Health to open up a clinic for smack heads across/down the road.
    I'd be furious!

I still feel that most forms of nimbyism is wrong, IE people that block infra projects etc (that save our trees bulls*t with the red ribbons boils my blood).
    But in this case it's completely justified.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

From Baggot Street to half way up the Dublin mountains?! What on earth were they thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Indeed methadone clinics only really should exists in suburbs of the poor and congregated in and around all our tourist hotspots. :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Calhoun wrote: »
    Indeed methadone clinics only really should exists in suburbs of the poor and congregated in and around all our tourist hotspots. :pac::pac::pac:

They should be in a central location close to where the issue exists. IE Dublin city centre.... Not Balinteer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,191 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

'I had no oversight of the letter' is the excuse reason this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

grahambo wrote: »
    They should be in a central location close to where the issue exists. IE Dublin city centre.... Not Balinteer

No no i hear you we keep it in the slums with the poor and send all the methadone addicts into one central location. We do not attempt to integrate into other areas.

Nimby-ism is never a good thing, its why this country is so messed up. You can guarantee when it comes to it not all representations are equal.

People are always giving out about the concentration of heroin-addicted people in town. It's upsetting the tourists they cry (tourists numbers rise steadily, but it matters not).

But then someone suggests care in the community and nope, can't have them out in communities either.

And we have hardly any public detox beds. Nor rehab. That's our choice too.

Where do you you want them to go??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Read this today:
    https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/dr-criticises-ministers-huge-nimbyism-over-blocking-methadone-clinic-in-her-constituency-940941.html

If I was in constituency that minister would have earned my vote for the next election.

The majority of Heroin addicts are in and around town, what the hell would they be moving a clinic like that out to Ballinteer for?

Imagine spending €500k on a nice home out in Ballinteer (or where ever) only for the Dept Health to open up a clinic for smack heads across/down the road.
    I'd be furious!

I still feel that most forms of nimbyism is wrong, IE people that block infra projects etc (that save our trees bulls*t with the red ribbons boils my blood).

There really is no hope for the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

So no addicts or travellers in Joseph's neck of the woods. That sort of thing is only for the plebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Read this today:

I'd be furious!

There is an argument about whether it was right to consider locating it here but "delighted" is really not the right word at all. There are so many other ways to pass on the news without the glee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

I have no problem with nimbyism when it’s in my back yard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

what about objecting to student accommodation where you live? I ask because I'm aware of a recent case of that occurring..

There is a conflict of interest. There needs to be a mechanism for cases where there is a conflict of interest.

Is Ballinteer a culturally significant area? I don't think so so I don't see how the office of culture has an effect on it.

Ballinteer has lots of schools and too many wannabe howayas affecting regional accents and trying to act hard as it is. So I don't think a methadone clinic should go there. But I also think the minister abused their position to block it.

Not out into the Suburbs where people have worked or have committed to working their whole lives to have a nice place to live, and make a positive contribution to society.

Not like the shakeys they want to send out there, who have contributed nothing to society and in fact a major drain.

Heroin addicts are the most selfish people you'll ever come across in your life.
    F*ck em!

So I don't think a methadone clinic should go there. But I also think the minister abused their position to block it.

I disagree
    All politics are local politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Not out into the Suburbs where people have worked or have committed to working their whole lives to have a nice place to live, and make a positive contribution to society.

Not like the shakeys they want to send out there, who have contributed nothing to society and in fact a major drain.

Heroin addicts are the most selfish people you'll ever come across in your life.
    F*ck em!

You do know... People work in and live in the city centre. Surely you know this?

In fact the biggest and wealthiest global firms are all based in the city centre. not the suburbs. Does their wealth trump yours since were talking about money and positive contributions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

People are always giving out about the concentration of heroin-addicted people in town. It's upsetting the tourists they cry (tourists numbers rise steadily, but it matters not).

But then someone suggests care in the community and nope, can't have them out in communities either.

And we have hardly any public detox beds. Nor rehab. That's our choice too.

Honestly I don't care.. I have no time for drugs or junkies in general.

I grew up on the northside in a "disadvantaged area" myself with a lot of low-level crime and drug use around us. I never felt the need to get involved with that myself

I'm tired of this trend of "wah wah, it's not their fault/they're disadvantaged/poorly educated" etc nonsense and the idea that we should feel sorry for these people and go out of our way to help them. They made their own bed.

listermint wrote: »
    You do know... People work in and live in the city centre. Surely you know this?

In fact the biggest and wealthiest global firms are all based in the city centre. not the suburbs. Does their wealth trump yours since were talking about money and positive contributions

There aren't many global firms around Talbot St, Eden Quay or Abbey Street to be fair...

Not trying to be smart with ya.
    But that's where the problem is, it's where the solution should be too.
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »

I grew up on the northside in a "disadvantaged area" myself with a lot of low-level crime and drug use around us. I never felt the need to get involved with that myself

I'm tired of this trend of "wah wah, it's not their fault/they're disadvantaged/poorly educated" etc nonsense and the idea that we should feel sorry for these people and go out of our way to help them. They made their own bed.

#metoo

I grew up in Kilbarrack (IE Roddy Doyles Barrytown)
    Major drugs problem out there.
    Anyone stupid enough to get involved in heroin deserves nothing bar a kick up the hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

How do you know how many addicts live in and around that area?
    Do you have figures?

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    How do you know how many addicts live in and around that area?

They congregate around there, so "there" is where the problem is.
    OR is central to where the problem is
    Do you have figures?

No, do you?

They congregate around there, so "there" is where the problem is.
    OR is central to where the problem is

No, do you?

I'm asking about the BAllinteer and adjoining areas.

And cut the aggression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

There aren't many global firms around Talbot St, Eden Quay or Abbey Street to be fair...

Not trying to be smart with ya.
    But that's where the problem is, it's where the solution should be too.

#metoo

I grew up in Kilbarrack (IE Roddy Doyles Barrytown)
    Major drugs problem out there.
    Anyone stupid enough to get involved in heroin deserves nothing bar a kick up the hole.

Kilbarrack has a few junkies that largely keep to themselves. The inner-city is where we have a major issue. Abbey Street would seem to be an ideal spot for some sort of injection/methadone centre if these facilities are really going to 'take it off the streets' which o doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,181 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Read this today:

I'd be furious!

How do you know it was because of her it was stopped she could be using it to get more votes and you are falling for it

I'm asking about the BAllinteer and adjoining areas.

And cut the aggression.

I'd imagine heroin usage in that part of the city is low, however that being said I'd also imagine another type of drug use in that part of the city would be quite high.
    Which in fairness is far less "visible" but much more of an epidemic.

It'd be interesting to know why a clinic was planned for there.
    Was it be based on local (catchment area) needs?
    Do the inevitable x amount of addicts in the area bus themselves into the city centre etc etc and if so, why should residents and users of the city centre suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

As much as I believe people with addictions should be looked after I would not be happy about something like this opening in my neighborhood. This is largely because I would have zero faith that the necessary policing and other controls on anti social behaviour that should accompany such sevices would be provided.

It'd be interesting to know why a clinic was planned for there.
    Was it be based on local (catchment area) needs?
    Do the inevitable x amount of addicts in the area bus themselves into the city centre etc etc and if so, why should residents and users of the city centre suffer.

The only bad areas out that way that would be within the catchment area, that I know of is Whitechurch and Pearse Brother park

But again, these areas suffer from a different type of drug.

The reality is that there probably wasn't any planning.

Back to the Nimbyism thing.
    In this case it's completely unfair and not justifiable that the Dept of Health are moving an inner city problem out to middle class suburbs.

On the other hand Infra issues like Bus Connect are justifiable, because the people out in those areas are the ones using their cars to get to work OR are the ones dependent on a good transport system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

boombang wrote: »
    As much as I believe people with addictions should be looked after I would not be happy about something like this opening in my neighborhood. This is largely because I would have zero faith that the necessary policing and other controls on anti social behaviour that should accompany such sevices would be provided.

Used to live near one and that is exactly how it goes. Busloads of walking dead arriving every week to get their methadone and spend a few hours robbing the local shops and generally being scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

Cork?

I propose we resettle the midlands with em

_blaaz wrote: »
    I propose we resettle the midlands with em

No thanks. We're over our Dub quota as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,120 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Used to be very easy to find out how much pharmacies got paid for methadone, but complaints got the info pulled off the net

I'd be astounded if there isn't already a fair few methadone patients in the area. It isn't just a city centre issue and part of the reason it seems like it is that everyone is being sent *to* the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

the problem with this whole story is that the clinic supposedly was never planned for ballinteer in the first place. it was all rumours that ran rife on local facebook pages and every local minister and Councillor tried to find out the truth behind the rumours and all raced to be the first to report that it wasnt going ahead. this is old old news to many people living in the area.

it is simply a case of josepha trying to be seen to have a part in preventing something that was never going to happen in the first place. Shane ross already investigated the rumors and rubbished them at residents association meetings back in January and reposted the same information again in mid july. neale richmond posted the same information as did several councillors so it is not unique to josepha.

to the person asking about numbers of addicts in ballinteer, going on visuals alone this is not a major issue at all for the area, cant recall ever seeing a very obvious addict but it is a common sight in town (i know that addiction is not always visible before people comment on that). I dont doubt there are some poor victims but the area has by no means got a heroin probelm to the extent that it needs a clinic.

also, I dont think it is an accurate depiction of ballinteer to say it is rife with "wannabe howayas",what does that even mean? who wants to be thought of as a howaya? ridiculous post!

lastly, whatever about ministers and councillors jumping on bandwagons to try and say they did something for the local area, I will one hundred percent give my vote to those who do things for the area i live in. I dont care how many people complain about shane ross, that man tries so hard for his constituency and calls to doors more outside election times than he does during election time that he deserves my vote many times over. any constituents who dont vote for him are foolish in my eyes. while he may be thought of as an idiot nationally he isnt locally and that is the biggest impact we see. if we dont have some fool in power from our own area we will have some fool from another area making the same decisions but not benefiting where I live. so if josepha ever does anything for her constituency she should of course broadcast it and let her constituents know that she is working for them.

I grew up on the.. .
    no offence but I don't really need your life story. The question was "where do you want them to go"?

Should we have more detox beds? Leave them in the city centre which is a major tourist spot? Disperse them to suburbs?

Really, the question wasn't rhetorical. They have to live somewhere. There's no point whingeing if we don't know where they should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

No thanks. We're over our Dub quota as is.

Can we not just let em.run loose on the abandoned bogs

Kinda like a safari type effort?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Treatment services for addicts, like all services, are best provided close to where the addicts live so that they can easily avail of them. The exception is complex, higher level services like say Radiology which have to be centralised for efficiency, but methadone services aren't like that they're more primary in nature, like GPs or public health clinics.

So if addicts are best treated close to where they live then we should have metadone clinics in Ballinteer for Ballinteer's addicts. The idea that they should all be sent into town where they are easy prey for pushers and other bad influences and make ****e of our capital is ridiculous. Some of the people going on about protecting the property prices in the suburbs from the city centre scum need to move out of the 80s and set your pagers to 2019.

Incidentally suburban treatment centres have existed for some time without issue. Lots of pharmacists would be on the methadone scheme, even in "nice" areas and Howth village has had a clinic that gives out methadone for over a decade without issue.

_blaaz wrote: »
    Can we not just let em.run loose on the abandoned bogs

Kinda like a safari type effort?

Attenborough would be over filming in no time.

Here we see the lesser spotted Deco...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Graham, isn't Josepha a good friend of auld swinging Bailey and quite involved/implicated in your other thread?

You can't be flinging those votes around willy nilly, you may end up supporting insurance fraud.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Treatment services for addicts, like all services, are best provided close to where the addicts live so that they can easily avail of them. The exception is complex, higher level services like say Radiology which have to be centralised for efficiency, but methadone services aren't like that they're more primary in nature, like GPs or public health clinics.

So if addicts are best treated close to where they live then we should have metadone clinics in Ballinteer for Ballinteer's addicts. The idea that they should all be sent into town where they are easy prey for pushers and other bad influences and make ****e of our capital is ridiculous. Some of the people going on about protecting the property prices in the suburbs from the city centre scum need to move out of the 80s to set your pagers to 2019.

Incidentally suburban treatment centres have existed for some time without issue. Lots of pharmacists would be on the methadone scheme, even in "nice" areas and Howth village has had a clinic that gives out methadone for over a decade without issue.

I could be totally and completely wrong but I think that a pharmacist in dundrum fills methadone prescriptions as I have seen people receive little cups of green liquid that are drank on the spot. Is that methadone? or am I very wrong? why cant all pharmacies in the country have the capability to fill methadone prescriptions? then it is available everywhere and there is no large concentration of addicts in any one area (related to receiving methadone, it wouldn't solve concentrations due to socio economic issues obviously)

I presume clinics provide more services than just offering methadone, they must conduct tests but why are these not done in a GP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The beauty of pushing the problem to where the politicians live is that they are then forced to deal with it.

As long as politicians and the "fruit of their labour" exist in two worlds they never meet, and the politicians can keep fooling themselves they do a good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

greenttc wrote: »
    I could be totally and completely wrong but I think that a pharmacist in dundrum fills methadone prescriptions as I have seen people receive little cups of green liquid that are drank on the spot. Is that methadone? or am I very wrong? why cant all pharmacies in the country have the capability to fill methadone prescriptions? then it is available everywhere and there is no large concentration of addicts in any one area (related to receiving methadone, it wouldn't solve concentrations due to socio economic issues obviously)

I presume clinics provide more services than just offering methadone, they must conduct tests but why are these not done in a GP?

I don't know the full details of the scheme currently but certainly not so long ago many pharmacies did it, for good money, and I suspect still do. The green liquid you saw is indeed methadone. Similarly GPs could assess and probably still can, and it used to be a very nice earner if you were willing to accept the very occasional scumbag thrashing your surgery because he felt he deserved more happy juice.

theteal wrote: »
    Graham, isn't Josepha a good friend of auld swinging Bailey and quite involved/implicated in your other thread?

You can't be flinging those votes around willy nilly, you may end up supporting insurance fraud.

Nice Spot!
    Indeed she is!
    Her family were Solicitors that advised aren't they?
    I think the FG probe cleared her despite the fact they would have made €11,500 off the claim.

Thank God I don't live in either constituency!

Just goes to show that crap and sh*te that's been thrown around.
    It's getting impossible to see the wood through the trees!

no offence but I don't really need your life story. The question was "where do you want them to go"?

Should we have more detox beds? Leave them in the city centre which is a major tourist spot? Disperse them to suburbs?

Really, the question wasn't rhetorical. They have to live somewhere. There's no point whingeing if we don't know where they should be.

We all know where they live.. generally "disadvantaged" areas with low employment and education. I see no need to have them trekking across the city to mollycoddle their addictions.

Let's start with the next generation (because it's a cycle that carries over) by ensuring that school attendance is mandatory by enforcing regular inspections and welfare sanctions on the parents if not.

Next have AGS actually out enforcing more than just speeding on motorways or hiding in the stations in these areas by ensuring the resources and training are in place and a visible Garda presence is evident on the streets. Part of this is reforming the justice system so scum with dozens of convictions don't just keep taking the piss and playing the system but serve real time. Punishment needs to become a major deterrent, not a minor inconvenience or indeed benefit to widen their networks.

Those who want help should be helped with social welfare programmes and medical support via local hospitals and health centres. The rest are a lost cause and just need enforcement action, not bleeding hearts.

Far more beneficial than this softly-softly enablement approach that such people only laugh at and take advantage of.

We all know where they live.. generally "disadvantaged" areas with low employment and education. I see no need to have them trekking across the city to mollycoddle their addictions.

Let's start with the next generation (because it's a cycle that carries over) by ensuring that school attendance is mandatory by enforcing regular inspections and welfare sanctions on the parents if not.

Next have AGS actually out enforcing more than just speeding on motorways or hiding in the stations in these areas by ensuring the resources and training are in place and a visible Garda presence is evident on the streets. Part of this is reforming the justice system so scum with dozens of convictions don't just keep taking the piss and playing the system but serve real time. Punishment needs to become a major deterrent, not a minor inconvenience or indeed benefit to widen their networks.

Those who want help should be helped with social welfare programmes and medical support via local hospitals and health centres. The rest are a lost cause and just need enforcement action, not bleeding hearts.

Far more beneficial than this softly-softly enablement approach that such people only laugh at and take advantage of.

I think AGS do a great job given their resources and working conditions.

I agree though that the penalties for breaking the law in Ireland are very soft.
    We need more Prisons but again, we're back to the Nimbyism.

No one wants one near them

I for one wouldn't be overly concerned if there was a prison near me so long as grounds around the Prison were well maintained and there was no congregation area for people being released from Prison. (Like a nearby shop or something)
    IE once the get out they f*ck off to where ever it is that they're going and dont hang around the Prison waiting for people or hassling locals.

I think AGS do a great job given their resources and working conditions.

I agree though that the penalties for breaking the law in Ireland are very soft.
    We need more Prisons but again, we're back to the Nimbyism.

No one wants one near them

I for one wouldn't be overly concerned if there was a prison near me so long as grounds around the Prison were well maintained and there was no congregation area for people being released from Prison. (Like a nearby shop or something)
    IE once the get out they f*ck off to where ever it is that they're going and dont hang around the Prison waiting for people or hassling locals.

Agreed - The prison in Portlaoise is smack in the middle of the town and doesn't seem to cause any issues for the locality. All you need is security and enforcement

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I don't know the full details of the scheme currently but certainly not so long ago many pharmacies did it, for good money, and I suspect still do. The green liquid you saw is indeed methadone. Similarly GPs could assess and probably still can, and it used to be a very nice earner if you were willing to accept the very occasional scumbag thrashing your surgery because he felt he deserved more happy juice.

so if there is a pharmacy in dundrum that gives out methadone what would be the point in a designated clinic 15mins of a walk up the road in the health centre in ballinteer? again, i know that it was all just rumours so it doesnt even matter. but if the rumours had have been true is it that assessments would have been done in the health centre then?

And with all of this in mind, that there is availability of methadone in pharmacies in all sorts of areas, is the large concentration of heroin users in the city centre really anything to do with addicts coming from the suburbs to get their methadone or is it that they need to go to the city centre to get assessed and then can fill their prescription anywhere they like? how often is assessment done typically?

does this show of nimbyism mean nothing really as it will have no impact on the city centre anyway because it wouldnt draw addicts out to ballinteer (if there had been truth to the rumour).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,264 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Just in case anyone is looking for some actual facts

https://twitter.com/AddictionsPMC/status/1156669595882840069

Or some feedback on the 'dangers' arising from similar clinics

[[url]

Just in case anyone is looking for some actual facts

https://twitter.com/AddictionsPMC/status/1156669595882840069

Or some feedback on the 'dangers' arising from similar clinics

https://twitter.com/ranelaghbutcher/status/1156450727771934721?s=19

sums up everything I have said on this thread. all just rumours from social media that have long been addressed and every politician in the area wanted to say they had a part to play. its just more politics that it is being discussed at all and the media jumping on the bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

it is simply a case of josepha trying to be seen to have a part in preventing something that was never going to happen in the first place.
    I'd say its a bit of that, but also something that jars like this
    https://www.hotpress.com/opinion/medical-professionals-slam-minister-josepha-madigans-blocking-methadone-clinic-dublin-rathdown-constituency-22783332

Darach Ó Ciardha, a GP working in Jobstown and Tallaght Cross, says: "I’m sorry, but Fine Gael can’t simultaneously promote Sláinte Care and its laudable principles of 'right care, right time, right place' and permit Ministers to issue frankly stigmatising missives to constituents relating to citizens on methadone treatment programmes."
    And then there's this
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/josepha-madigan-says-she-didnt-give-prior-approval-to-letter-despite-it-bearing-her-signature-940807.html

" .. The recent letter to constituents, the wording of which did not receive her prior approval before sending, provides an update on the issue,” the spokesperson said.

The Irish Examiner asked how the Minister can claim not to be aware of the wording of the letter given it bears her signature. A response is awaited.
    Does she put her signature to a lot of stuff she doesn't believe in? Or does she means she's giving her ex post approval? Or what?

Now, yes, the folk she'd expect to vote for her won't want methadone clinics, any more than they wanted a halting site. But is this approach going to work well for her? Is suspect we'll see. Are people happy to appear crass?

Balf wrote: »
    I'd say its a bit of that, but also something that jars like thisAnd then there's thisDoes she put her signature to a lot of stuff she doesn't believe in? Or does she means she's giving her ex post approval? Or what?

Now, yes, the folk she'd expect to vote for her won't want methadone clinics, any more than they wanted a halting site. But is this approach going to work well for her? Is suspect we'll see. Are people happy to appear crass?

I think you have to look at the wider picture here. every poitician in the area gave the same info to constituents in some shape or form, have a look at their facbeook posts on local pages.

id say every politician in the country has similar letters/tweets/facebook posts/newsletter stories for similar issues in their own areas, this is not a new tactic at all. of course they will all play to what their constituents want.

it is just all political that josepha is being highlighted for doing what they all do. and the media love to run stories on it. none of it matters either way cause the people that matter to her (the constituents) see the real story, they either realise that all politicians in the area did the same thing and its all nonsense or they are blinded by her "support" for their nimbyism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

I think you have to look at the wider picture here. every poitician in the area gave the same info to constituents in some shape or form, have a look at their facbeook posts on local pages.
    You'll appreciate, the issue is around:
    1. She's a Minister.
    2. When challenged, she says she didn't clear the wording appearing over her signature - whatever that's supposed to mean.

Yes, they all engage in this kind of thing. Like your mother used to say, would you follow them if they jumped off a cliff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

are there a lot of heroin addicts living in ballinteer?