Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Ali is back on two feet working hard.

MedicalEarlyHeifer-size_restricted.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,701 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

where's the ball? good news anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Henderson lifts the CL Trophy and can't even make the list of 55.

Clearly covering ground, having lots of energy or running your hand through your fringe every 30 seconds aren't part of the criteria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Starfleet Student

18 months since Sean got attacked wow time really does fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,294 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Matip was good, very good, but no he wasn't better than VVD no matter how many times you want to post it.

He was every bit as good and better in quite a few games actually

How com shaq isn't playing tonight

shamrock55 wrote: »

He said he wanted to concentrate on his club career. Although, you'd think game time, in his case, would help his club career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,270 ✭✭✭fyfe79

He wasn't interested. Which is something I didn't think was allowed by UEFA.

I would say Matip was constantly the best defender at the club from when he got back into team from about February to the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Tbf if Coulson said our home jersey was red there’d be one or two posts contesting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

ah hear anytime anyone says x was better than VVD you'll get a debate

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Tbf if Coulson said our home jersey was red there’d be one or two posts contesting it.

That poster has some fixation with the two of yous did ye piss in his cornflakes or something it beyond a difference of opinion he literately hates the two of you.

Turtyturd wrote: »

That's funny coming from you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

18 months since Sean got attacked wow time really does fly.

Was great to see him in good form at croke park for the all Ireland on Sunday and it'll be a pity he'll miss the replay due to rehab.

Hopefully he'll get back to somewhat normality soon enough.

That poster has some fixation with the two of yous did ye piss in his cornflakes or something it beyond a difference of opinion he literately hates the two of you.

He prob has good reason

maxresdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

If we paid 50M for Matip I'd say we got a bargain. Was never really his biggest fan but his form has been pretty amazing tbf.

However, I'd start VVD over him every time given the choice, and I know who I'd rather partner Gomez or Lovren. I'm not sure I'd agree Matip has been the better player for half a season but he certainly had better games. VVD overall game is better and I think Matip benefits greatly from that calmness and organisation he brings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

fyfe79 wrote: »
    He wasn't interested. Which is something I didn't think was allowed by UEFA.

I think the confederations only intervene if the nation contests it. Like Matip with Cameroon - they were unhappy so FIFA deliberated on it and he couldn't play in the interim.

If the Swiss are happy with Shaqiri sitting it out, no reason for anyone to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

I must have missed something.

I thought VVD was the best in the world, I thought we were a VVD injury away from being royally fcked.

Apparently not, we have Matip who's the better player!

Cop on ffs! Matip was excellent the 2nd half of last season no one is denying that, he may have had the occasional game better than VVD no one is denying that, was he better than VVD the colossus, the behemoth, the imperious for half a season? he was in his bollox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭ballyargus

Phil Babb looked great beside McGrath. Phil Babb benefited greatly from the organisation and calmness that McGrath brought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭The Good Ole Boys

I'm just happy Matip stepped up. Hope he can keep it up too. VVD is certainly the leader of the defence though and that counts for a lot.

Whatever you are paying your English teacher it is worth every penny.

I must have missed something.

I thought VVD was the best in the world, I thought we were a VVD injury away from being royally fcked.

Apparently not, we have Matip who's the better player!

Cop on ffs! Matip was excellent the 2nd half of last season no one is denying that, he may have had the occasional game better than VVD no one is denying that, was he better than VVD the colossus, the behemoth, the imerpious for half a season? he was in his bollox!

In fairness I don't think anyone said matip is the better player, just that when he came in he was every bit as good as Virgil which he was and I don't think anyone could argue otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭The Good Ole Boys

rofl lol thread lamooo

In fairness I don't think anyone said matip is the better player, just that when he came in he was every bit as good as Virgil which he was and I don't think anyone could argue otherwise

Coulson stated that Matip was the better player for the 2nd half of the season, I disagree, nobody in the world can claim that. I wouldn't be even bothered to challenge the point tbh only for the fact it's approx the 20th time that exact opinion was trotted out like it was fact.

Harry Wilson player of the month at Bournemouth.

Whatever Villa price Grealish at, Liverpool should look for 25% more for Wilson as he is a more impactful player.

NukaCola wrote: »
    If we paid 50M for Matip I'd say we got a bargain. Was never really his biggest fan but his form has been pretty amazing tbf.

However, I'd start VVD over him every time given the choice, and I know who I'd rather partner Gomez or Lovren. I'm not sure I'd agree Matip has been the better player for half a season but he certainly had better games. VVD overall game is better and I think Matip benefits greatly from that calmness and organisation he brings.

giphy.gif

Coulson stated that Matip was the better player for the 2nd half of the season, I disagree, nobody in the world can claim that. I wouldn't be even bothered to challenge the point tbh only for the fact it's approx the 20th time that exact opinion was trotted out like it was fact.

I didn't cop that tbh, I certainly wouldn't say matip was better in 2nd half of season, like it was written in stone but I would say he was equally as good or just as good, don't think anyone could say for a fact that he was better, but isn't it great that we can have these comparisons between the two all the same

Does the Club World Cup get aired on any station here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,548 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Does the Club World Cup get aired on any station here?

Think some matches were on BT Sport a couple of years ago, not sure if they still have the rights for it though.