Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Cork's Pubs Better Than Dublin's?

• 29-07-2019 7:38am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 129 ✭✭

There seems to be a bit of myth that Dublin has the best pubs in the country, and while we can all agree they have a few gems, I'd say Cork has them bate. Easier to walk from one absolute masterclass of a public house to the next in Cork also, due to the size.

My own mind is made up, but what say ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

There seems to be a bit of myth that Dublin has the best pubs in the country, and while we can all agree they have a few gems, I'd say Cork has them bate. Easier to walk from one masterclass of a public house to the next in Cork also, due to the size.

No. Cork has very few decent pubs in the city. Has some great rural pubs though within the county.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 129 ✭✭Ecce No Homo

No. Cork has very few decent pubs in the city. Has some great rural pubs though within the county.

You couldn't be more wrong.

Off the top of my head, if we are just doing Cork City Center:

Tier I:The Oval, Sine E, The Fenix, Coughlans, Callanan's, Tom Barry's, The Mutton Lane, Maynes, The Long Valley, The Hi-B

Tier II: The Shelbourne, The Corner House, The Vicarstown, Dan Lowry's, An Spailpin Fanach, Charlies, Fionbarra etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Not in a million years, and I do enjoy out a night out in Cork but cmon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

There seems to be a bit of myth that Dublin has the best pubs in the country, and while we can all agree they have a few gems, I'd say Cork has them bate. Easier to walk from one absolute masterclass of a public house to the next in Cork also, due to the size.

As someone born and raised 20 mins from the city centre, eh, wtf? News to me. It has good pubs and I've sampled many but it's getting out of Dublin where you find the best pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

This is how civil wars start.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

No sure where you're getting that impression OP. The best pubs are in neither Cork nor Dublin.

Okay but I think most of can agree that Cork does have better pubs than Dublin at least. That might be setting 'the bar' a bit low for some of ye, but that's all I'm saying.

I wouldn't go that far now. Both are average. Not that it matters in the grand scheme of things.

Average compared to where? Don't be coy buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Here’s a novel thought there are cracking pubs all over the country and if you think pubs in one county are better than pubs in another county then really your just playing a ridiculous game of where I’m from is better than where your from.

salmocab wrote: »
    a novel thought there are cracking pubs all over the country and if you think pubs in one county are better than pubs in another county then really your ju

You'll agree to disagree so. Thanks for your contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Only if you're into suppin' slock, best pubs are no where near Dublin or Cork. Wash your mouth out!

You'll agree to disagree so. Thanks for your contribution.

Yes I do disagree, pubs are pubs some great some crap most okay. Not based on geography though.

Hitler’s in Ballincollig is a great pub.

It's a bit like going back in time. Last time I was there someones wife rang that his dinner was ready.

I'm more a Mary O's man myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

What an insecure post, what are the chances anyone would have asked are "Dublin pubs better than Cork pubs", not much. Because Dubs neither consider or care for such childish questions.
    In answer to your question excluding the Wetherspoons swill Dublin has great pubs and couldn't be arsed going to Cork pubs to hear about how great the place is! Get a life and do not be divisive.

Average compared to where? Don't be coy buddy.
    Average as in average. Not hard to comprehend.

Buddy???

Bye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Galway has the best pubs in the country.

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

What an insecure post, what are the chances anyone would have asked are "Dublin pubs better than Cork pubs", not much. Because Dubs neither consider or care for such childish questions.
    In answer to your question excluding the Wetherspoons swill Dublin has great pubs and couldn't be arsed going to Cork pubs to hear about how great the place is! Get a life and do not be divisive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭qm1bv4p8i92aoj

Dublin pubs are average with a lot very like your typical English pubs lacking in character, too spread out from each other on a night out and you have to get taxis all the time on a pub crawl.

Corks pub scene I could take it or leave it. Last few times out there I got and saw a rough vibe down there. Lots of people with an arrogant chip on their shoulder as well, all this real capital bullshít.

Galways pub scene is where it's at. Hopping 7 nights a week with a great mix between trad pubs and modern late bars. Everything is basically on one big long street so it's easy to navigate on a night out with a huge selection of pubs to frequent. Rare you'd meet anyone that didn't enjoy a night out in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Cork has some of the best pubs in the country; a Sunday stomp around town is probably the one thing that would bring me back there.

Dublin pubs are average with a lot very like your typical English pubs lacking in character, too spread out from each other on a night out and you have to get taxis all the time on a pub crawl.

Corks pub scene I could take it or leave it. Last few times out there I got and saw a rough vibe down there. Lots of people with an arrogant chip on their shoulder as well, all this real capital bullshít.

Galways pub scene is where it's at. Hopping 7 nights a week with a great mix between trad pubs and modern late bars. Everything is basically on one big long street so it's easy to navigate on a night out with a huge selection of pubs to frequent. Rare you'd meet anyone that didn't enjoy a night out in Galway.

Where in Dublin are you on about? The city centre has loads of pubs of all types, you wouldn't need a taxi.

work wrote: »

Jesus lighten up. Sounds like you're the insecure one. And I was just having a laugh about the pubs. You're actually taking pot shots at the character of Cork people. Not the brightest are you.

Average as in average. Not hard to comprehend.

Buddy???

Bye.

Don't let the door hit you on the way out buddy :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Cork pubs close early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Here’s a novel thought there are cracking pubs all over the country and if you think pubs in one county are better than pubs in another county then really your just playing a ridiculous game of where I’m from is better than where your from.

The best places are those that are both 1) Parochial and 2) Pretentious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Galway has the best pubs in the country.

/thread

Galway has a hell of a lot of drinking going on.

Of good pubs though, very few.

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    The best places are those that are both 1) Parochial and 2) Pretentious.

Parochial is great when your from the parish otherwise it’s a bunch of drunks who know each other with nicknames shouting. Unlike my local where we all carry ourselves with decorum in front of outsiders.

Galway and Cork have far better pubs than Dublin. No pub in Dublin stands out as being anything special to be honest whereas I’d live in some of the Galway and cork pubs if I could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

There's probably more of a variety of types of pubs in Dublin and there are a lot of gems. But it has to be said, there's an unpleasant amount of Dublin to get through travelling from A to B so Cork has the edge on that front.

Maureen's is a nice newish spot for anyone who hasn't been in a while. And I haven't been myself but a lot of under-25s won't shut the eff up about Impala.

It's probably not a great model that one man owns about half the pubs in town but feck it, gives us something to begrudge about over our Beamish :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

What I like about both Cork and Dublin is the humility of the people.

Galway and Cork have far better pubs than Dublin. No pub in Dublin stands out as being anything special to be honest whereas I’d live in some of the Galway and cork pubs if I could.

Which pubs in Galway, Nox?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

What I like about both Cork and Dublin is the humility of the people.

And the fact that there's no other pubs worthy of mention in the rest of the country.

I'm from Dublin , Dublin pubs are the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭The Bollocks

"Are Cork's Pubs Better Than Dublin's"

They are in their bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Guarantee noxs experience of Dublin pubs is 90% flannerys, Coppers and quinns on a match day......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Mr.Fantastic

Ush1 wrote: »
    It's a bit like going back in time. Last time I was there someones wife rang that his dinner was ready.

Exactly that, went in a few times and they knew I wasn't local local. haha

There's probably more of a variety of types of pubs in Dublin and there are a lot of gems. But it has to be said, there's an unpleasant amount of Dublin to get through travelling from A to B so Cork has the edge on that front.

Maureen's is a nice newish spot for anyone who hasn't been in a while. And I haven't been myself but a lot of under-25s won't shut the eff up about Impala.

It's probably not a great model that one man owns about half the pubs in town but feck it, gives us something to begrudge about over our Beamish :pac:

Can second that about Impala anyway, They have a few board games and a lot of nice craft IPAs on tap, gamma ray and garden of eden are two of note.

It is very hipstery though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Do they have more of these wives available ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Can second that about Impala anyway, They have a few board games and a lot of nice craft IPAs on tap, gamma ray and garden of eden are two of note.

It is very hipstery though.

Had my first pint of that on Sat night, pleasantly surprised.

First they came for the socialists...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Dublin mickeys bigger than Cork mickeys

The OP is asking a rather irrelevant question as it is almost impossible to quantify

Ah it's grand, I'm a Dub and the fella at the bar just starting chatting away to me about GAA and Croker.

Never mind the pubs in Ballincollig though, Drumstix salsa chicken wrap is top class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

The Inniscarra bar is where it's at. Wouldn't suit everyone. Real old skool, old timers and locals.
    An experience however, well worth it.

Obviously the Inniscarra Bar beats both of them hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

I agree the pubs in Cork are indeed better than the ones in Dublin, the only downside that I can think of, off the top of my head is the unfortunate fact that people from Cork drink in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,035 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Are they cheaper?

If so, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

They both have great pubs.
    They both have good pubs.
    They both have shíte pubs.

Dublin has all of them in more volume though.

Cork has the Hi-B though!

razorblunt wrote: »
    Cork has the Hi-B though!

Can't believe I forgot the Hi-B. Obviously a Tier I public house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I find it hard to believe someone from Cork would do this. :pac:

Feisar wrote: »
    Had my first pint of that on Sat night, pleasantly surprised.

It kind of reminds me of lemonade, its dangerous in how easy it is to drink, they sell it in the offie on oliver plunket in cans.

Obviously the Inniscarra Bar beats both of them hands down.

Never been but I wouldn't consider it part of Ballincollig it's that far out.