Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the stupidest thing you heard somebody you "thought" was clever do

• 25-07-2019 12:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭

I recently heard about somebody who needed to pay a landlord over 1000 euro, and he put cash in the post and posted it.
    He was amazed when it didn't arrive.
    I couldn't believe how stupid he was.

There must be loads of such stories.

What's the stupidest thing you heard somebody do? Keep it light hearted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

How is he sure the landlord didn't get it?
    A know a few guys decide to light their pubes.
    Try and snort a tea spoon of tequila and end up in hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭jiltloop

My girlfriend is really smart and intelligent but everyone has their moments.

My favourite of hers was when we were in the Japanese gardens and had consulted the map on the board and then went whatever route we decided to take.

After a while we got a little lost and decided to check the map on the pocket guide that we had picked up earlier. She was looking at it confused for a moment and then asked me "where's the bloody YOU ARE HERE marker?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I recently heard about somebody who needed to pay a landlord over 1000 euro, and he put cash in the post and posted it.
    He was amazed when it didn't arrive.
    I couldn't believe how stupid he was.

There must be loads of such stories.

What's the stupidest thing you heard somebody do? Keep it light hearted!
    Stupidest thing was you believing that story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Read about someone (could have been on here) who put the toothpaste on their electric toothbrush and turned it on before putting it in their mouth.
    Was v frustrated that toothpaste flew everywhere, but kept doing it until some actually saw them and explained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Read about someone (could have been on here) who put the toothpaste on their electric toothbrush and turned it on before putting it in their mouth.
    Was v frustrated that toothpaste flew everywhere, but kept doing it until some actually saw them and explained.

What a fool. Everyone knows you squeeze the entire tube into your mouth and then put the toothbrush in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

You just have to look at Facebook to see some of the crap "intelligent" people share and believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭kg703

I'd consider myself of somewhat reasonable intelligence, did well in school, finished college, have a good job.

However.

6 years ago in a restaurant in Paris with my now husband we had a lovely meal and at the end the waiter brought out a silver platter with two little white flat circles. He poured water and they grew bigger and he offered one to me. Me, thinking, oh what a neat trick, wondering if it was a mint of some sort popped it in my mouth. The soap immediately gave away that it was a towel. Waiter gasps and laughs and says 'don't eat that, that's a towel!'. Himself howling at me while I remove the towel from my mouth.

Have never lived it down, he tells everyone especially new people I've just met.

Weirdest part was a few years later we were watching some awful Melissa mc carthy movie(don't judge me we just stuck it on) and she did the same thing. So either my plight is famous or I'm not the only one who has done this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,591 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Getting married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Alot of people I had once considered Inteligent and who seemed to excel in school have totally fallen for the various leftwing lies, I recently seen one of their facebook and it is basically just full of vitriol of hating both Trump, Boris Johnson and various different raving statements about climate change and how all white people are such racists. Easily influenced and brainwashed and certainly not intelligent at all now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

When myself and my friend were kids and experimenting with cigarettes, we were always afraid of getting caught especially by her brothers because they'd go mad so we used to use a peg to hold it so there'd be no smell of smoke on our fingers.

We looked stupid but I still think it was quite clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

A relative of my OHs got a littering fine for leaving a cracked plate on top of a bottle bank bin , pretty stupid thing to do but what he did next was challenge the fine by asking for a copy of the CCTV from the owner of the car park the bins were in.

He also spoke to a Garda freind of his who gently suggested he pay the fine of 150 euros because if it got to court a judge could have a field day and fine up to 3000 euros.

He didn't dispute what he did but felt he was being unfairly treated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭randd1

Anyone who believes in angels, crystal cleansings, tarot readings and other supernatural remedies/beliefs. Regardless of intelligence, this automatically makes them guilty of a stupid (and completely pointless) occurrence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

He can't be sure. And he certainly can't prove it.

Which is why you would send a bank draft or cheque. Use registered post. Or easier still pay by electronic transfer.

One of my otherwise smarter extended relatives was cleaning his ears out with one of those blue stick cotton swabs which people tend to use for that purpose. He left it hanging out of his ear for whatever reason - and noticed in the mirror that it looked mildly amusing to him.

So at this point he decided to leave one hanging out of the other ear to match it up. Which itself while childish is not particularly stupid.

For whatever reason however instead of transferring it to the hand on the side with the target ear - he decided to reach over his own head to put it in. Thus hammering with his arm the other already hanging one into his ear drum. Hospital visit ensued blood down the side of head.

One of my otherwise smarter extended relatives was cleaning his ears out with one of those blue stick cotton swabs which people tend to use for that purpose. He left it hanging out of his ear for whatever reason - and noticed in the mirror that it looked mildly amusing to him.

So at this point he decided to leave one hanging out of the other ear to match it up. Which itself while childish is not particularly stupid.

For whatever reason however instead of transferring it to the hand on the side with the target ear - he decided to reach over his own head to put it in. Thus hammering with his arm the other already hanging one into his ear drum. Hospital visit ensued blood down the side of head.

Mother of Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

When I was battling a chip pan fire in the kitchen and let roar to the wife call the fire brigade and the response I got left me wondering if I should just let the place burn.

"What's the number for the fire brigade?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Out for a meal with a big group. When it came to paying, a friend decided he wanted cash so he got everyone to give him their share of the money, probably a couple of hundred, and he put the entire meal on his card.

He promptly lost his wallet, and all the cash, later that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I paid for 2 different life insurance policies for a year. After getting my mortgage, I didn't realise what they were asking me did I want was life insurance and only when I got renewal from a second policy did I cop it.

Frynge wrote: »
    When I was battling a chip pan fire in the kitchen and let roar to the wife call the fire brigade and the response I got left me wondering if I should just let the place burn.

Is she related to the idiot with ear bud bursting his ear drum ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Is she related to the idiot with ear bud bursting his ear drum ?

I can only assume not. She actually has 3 degrees but no leaving cert and is in a very good job.

Her brother on the other hand asked a very special question not too long ago.

"Why are work asking if I want to sign up for an old folks home?"

Eventually we figured out that this 38 year old man understood a pension to be an old folks home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 fqollere

Knew someone who reported dumping to the litter warden and ended up being fined themselves.

The husband had fired out rubbish onto waste ground without telling the wife and she was complaining about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I once stayed in a friend’s house. Woke up in the morning to loud banging in the kitchen. Went in and found the friend’s sister with her little finger in the door of a kitchen press, and my friend violently banging the door against it. Before I got to ask what the hell they were doing, they go to me “here, you do it”.

Turns out it was a gloriously sunny day, and my friend’s sister (a nurse) wanted to call in sick to to enjoy it. But her boss lived 2 doors down, and was off that day herself, so they decided that it would be too risky to claim the usual stomach bug or migraine, as she wouldn’t be able to sit out in the garden in the sun, in case the boss saw her.

So they reckoned that the best thing to do was to generate an injury that would definitely get her off work, but also allow her to relax outside, drinking in the sunshine. In their mind, a broken little finger seemed like the perfect solution. And no, I didn’t help them, and she ended up going to work after a couple more failed attempts.

My own story of stupidity: One night after leaving a pub with mates, I saw a large black cable on the street. I bent down and picked it up to do that whip thing where you shake one end and the wave ripples along it. Just as I did, I realised the other end was still connected to an electricity pole. I didn’t come to any harm, so it was either disconnected or actually a phone cable, but it was a particularly stupid thing to even risk doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I don't understand the thread title

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

I'm pretty much a genius up there with Stephen Hawking but one day I got myself an ice cream cone and just outside the door of the shop I saw a penny lying on the ground so I bent down to pick it up with the cone in my hand. Hilarity ensued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

One calm summer's day, I was driving through the Midlands and past the wind turbine farm. Girlfriend turned to me and asked "why aren't they turning? Are they turned off?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

The stupidest thing I ever did was buy kids a case of mikes hard lemonade in the USA

And when I say kids I don't mean 16/17 year olds - closer to 12.

I was 21 and there working illegally.
    Idiotic doesn't even begin to describe it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Frynge wrote: »

0118 999 881 999 119 725

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

I never thought she was clever but my ex-flatmates did, so I guess that counts.

Back when I lived in London, we were advertising for a flatmate to fill a spare room. One of the candidates (from mainland Europe) told us that she had just been scammed. She had seen a room on the internet and transferred the deposit and first month's rent for it, then realised it was a scam and was shocked that the police weren't overly bothered.

I thought she was an utter moron and told them I didn't want to live with someone so bloody thick and sheltered because she could be a liability. They told me I was being judgemental, that she was a PhD student and that everyone makes mistakes.

Fast forward three months, after she's moved in. At this point, she's already gone out to university and left the front door unlocked all day ('didn't realise' you don't do that in London), left the communal milk out of the fridge multiple times, refused to let the gas repair man in because he had 'dark skin' and she thought he must be a fake repair man. The final straw was when she met some random in a pub and brought him home to have sex, then left for university the next day, leaving a total stranger alone in our flat. He of course robbed us all blind and she was shocked and told us he 'seemed really nice'.

I no longer allow people to dismiss my concerns. If I think someone is a cretin, I'm almost always right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Many years ago in my nightclub nights,3am, sat night,starvin,into chipper,curry/coleslaw chips, served and standing there eating from a tinfoil tray,a mate walks in and asks what time is it? Drunken Djimi flicks over his wrist and sends the tray of food all over the floor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I know a lad from Fermoy who stuck a firework up his ars'e and lit it, apparently for a dare.......

Ended up in hospital for the bones of a week, lying face down on a bed with 3rd degree burns around his butt cheeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I know intelligent people who fully believe in star signs and it just boggles my mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

My brother catching me having a joint at the folks house, he runs through and says to the folks, 'Niall was smoking some incest', we laughed him out of it.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

wakka12 wrote: »
    I know intelligent people who fully believe in star signs and it just boggles my mind!

They fall for the cold reading crap, show them this ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

randd1 wrote: »
    Anyone who believes in angels, crystal cleansings, tarot readings and other supernatural remedies/beliefs. Regardless of intelligence, this automatically makes them guilty of a stupid (and completely pointless) occurrence.

Dis me! :)

They fall for the cold reading crap, show them this ...

Im not listening Im not listening!

My brother catching me having a joint at the folks house, he runs through and says to the folks, 'Niall was smoking some incest', we laughed him out of it.

I know someone who ground up incense and actually smoked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

xabi wrote: »
    You just have to look at Facebook to see some of the crap "intelligent" people share and believe.

I'm going to go out on a limb here and guess that it just happens to be the opposite of what you believe?

If "intelligence" is measured by how closely you follow the orthodoxy of the day, then I can tell you now that we are ****ed as a species.

I know someone who ground up incense and actually smoked it.

jaysus, what was it like ? apart from the coughing fits ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

That is next-level deviancy.

jaysus, what was it like ? apart from the coughing fits ?
    Well he had smoked a load of weed beforehand so ....he was pretty chilled.

I don't think he enjoyed it. He smelt very sweet though! :)

Brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭HBC08

One calm summer's day, I was driving through the Midlands and past the wind turbine farm. Girlfriend turned to me and asked "why aren't they turning? Are they turned off?"

I was driving past a wind turbine farm with my girlfriend and same thing....they werent turning.She thought this was amazing and was scrambling to take a pic....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Using a ride on lawn mower to pick up leaves around a house that had gravel running up to the door. In 3 mins he had broken outer panes of glass on 2 double glazed doors and chipped paint off 2 cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Dis me! :)

Jesus Christ on a merry-go-round, would you stop admitting this? I am trying to help you ffs!

It could be worse I could be in denial!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭BobMc

misus always tells a great story of a japanese visitor to her last job, in the canteen at lunch, he proceeded to tuck into one of those babybel cheses with the wax coating, wax and all was being chewed !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

A know a few guys decide to light their pubes.
    Try and snort a tea spoon of tequila and end up in hospital.

how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

theguzman wrote: »
    Alot of people I had once considered Inteligent and who seemed to excel in school have totally fallen for the various leftwing lies, I recently seen one of their facebook and it is basically just full of vitriol of hating both Trump, Boris Johnson and various different raving statements about climate change and how all white people are such racists. Easily influenced and brainwashed and certainly not intelligent at all now.

iWKad22.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

kg703 wrote: »
    I'd consider myself of somewhat reasonable intelligence, did well in school, finished college, have a good job.

However.

6 years ago in a restaurant in Paris with my now husband we had a lovely meal and at the end the waiter brought out a silver platter with two little white flat circles. He poured water and they grew bigger and he offered one to me. Me, thinking, oh what a neat trick, wondering if it was a mint of some sort popped it in my mouth. The soap immediately gave away that it was a towel. Waiter gasps and laughs and says 'don't eat that, that's a towel!'. Himself howling at me while I remove the towel from my mouth.

Have never lived it down, he tells everyone especially new people I've just met.

Weirdest part was a few years later we were watching some awful Melissa mc carthy movie(don't judge me we just stuck it on) and she did the same thing. So either my plight is famous or I'm not the only one who has done this!

Watching a Melissa McCarthy movie is a lot more stupid than putting a towel in your mouth, I would have led with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭GRACKEA

A friend of mine from college accidentally drowned her hamster "giving it a bath" in the sink when she was a child, and her mother (a practising barrister) figured she could revive it by giving the poor thing a quick blast in the microwave.