Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you celebrate without drinking?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Greyfox

kikilarue2 wrote: »
    That's categorically not true.

If you're with people whose company you truly enjoy, you can have side-splitting laughter and banter at a very similar level.

Of course its true, its silly to suggest otherwise. It's why drink it is so popular. Fact is drink puts Irish people in a better mood and makes them more fun to be around.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,283 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I haven't touched a drop in five years, because alcohol doesn't suit me at all.

Are you saying that generally you think people are equally or less likely to cause drama sober than when they are drunk?

I've found people are more likely to get into a silly row over something small, drink too much and end up unwell (this rarely happens with tea or 7up), sleep with someone they might not otherwise...

i'm sure some people are but i find it best to not associate with people like that. it is entirely possible to go out drinking without causing drama.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

You could I suppose, but why take the chance?

Getting drunk is great fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭kikilarue2

i'm sure some people are but i find it best to not associate with people like that. it is entirely possible to go out drinking without causing drama.

Of course you can go out and have great nights on the last without any drama or hassle. And I have had some amazing nights drinking.

But I've also seen the incredible damage it can do. So overall, I'd love if Irish people embraced more non-drinking celebrations. I'm not a prohibitionist like, but I can see the clear benefits of teaching young people you don't need to be ****faced to have the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Having a nice drink and being merry is a great way to unwind and loosen up. Getting tipsy then makes it merrier. Getting hammered is where it should not be socially acceptable.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I haven't touched a drop in five years, because alcohol doesn't suit me at all.

there is none more zealous than a convert

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Doesn’t sound very zealous to me. Just telling us he doesn’t drink because it doesn’t suit him. Very common here in Ireland. Lots of lads can’t handle their drink. Some lads shouldn’t start, and other lads can’t stop.

I'm not zealous at all, I have nothing against people going out having a good time. I regularly socialise in pubs. But I've lived in other countries that have a much healthier approach to alcohol and to celebrations.

I have no problem with alcohol as part of some celebrations, but I do think the level we take it to in Ireland is extreme; a Christening, a toddler's birthday and a Communion are three occasions I've seen alcohol served at where it really didn't seem appropriate or necessary.

And I've seen the devastation alcohol-related problems can have on families - I hope you never have to deal with that. I have a friend who went to jail for accidentally killing his best friend drunk driving.

The idea that you need to be drunk to enjoy yourself isn't healthy. You didn't need alcohol as a kid or a young teen, you don't need it now either.

no not very zealous but i've heard the term "dosnt suit him" as a euphemism for "raging alcoholic"

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭hgfj

perhaps you need to be drinking with a better class of people if that is your experience.

The more people drink, the drunker they get. The drunker they get, the more likely they are to talk sh*t, throw up, fall down, etc. Nothing to do with class really.

no not very zealous but i've heard the term "dosnt suit him" as a euphemism for "raging alcoholic"

For a start, I'm not a 'he'. I hate to go all "don't misgender me" but Kiki is fairly obviously a female handle :)

It sounds like you're a bit defensive about your own attitude to drinking tbh. All i'm saying is we should make an effort to show young people it's possible to have fun without alcohol - hardly an extreme point of view?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

with a cake. and maybe a bouncy castle

• Registered Users Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

sugarman wrote: »
    I gave up drinking a few years ago on health grounds and I still find I can go out celebrating without a drink no bother.

Its just when it gets to the latter stages of the night when everyone starts to become a bit messy / incoherent / no longer able to hold a proper conversation that kills the buzz and I lose interest. Its usually the decider on when I call it a night.

Ahhhh, the witching hour. When people start slurring their speech and repeating the same fcuking stories over and over again.

Nothing worse.

For a start, I'm not a 'he'. I hate to go all "don't misgender me" but Kiki is fairly obviously a female handle :)

It sounds like you're a bit defensive about your own attitude to drinking tbh. All i'm saying is we should make an effort to show young people it's possible to have fun without alcohol - hardly an extreme point of view?

the only kiki i ever knew was a man called killian. and certainly i'm no kind of role model to young people in any respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,728 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Very judgemental of you there. I know a lot of people who do not drink for various reason as it does not suit them from it makes them sick to they have no tolerance in how quick it makes them drunk. I had not seen anything about been a zealous. Your posts are very judgemental and not tolerant of peoples choices.

In relation to the question I have had great night sober and in the drink. Could I celebrate more then 2 days in a row I don't know. I hope I can

Very judgemental of you there.
    oh get over it

Just pointing out there can be various reason people do not drink without been an zealot anti drink

• Registered Users Posts: 40,283 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Very judgemental of you there. I know a lot of people who do not drink for various reason as it does not suit them from it makes them sick to they have no tolerance in how quick it makes them drunk. I had not seen anything about been a zealous. Your posts are very judgemental and not tolerant of peoples choices.

In relation to the question I have had great night sober and in the drink. Could I celebrate more then 2 days in a row I don't know. I hope I can

suicide_circus is referring to a very specific use of the phrase "the drink doesnt suit him" as a euphamism for somebody who turns into a complete bollix when they get locked.

And if he does not drink due to that I applaud him. That is not what suicide_circus was referring to. He was referring to an over zealous anti drinker.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,015 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The Cool wrote: »
    Growing up protestant, we celebrated everything with tea and Victoria sponge, so

Nothing says celebration like a nice cup of tea and a slice of cake.

5DWDLK1DpTIj9Fi9.jpg

No, for me drinking (and lots of it) is absolutely crucial for celebrating.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

i can but its like going to a steakhouse and ordering the Caesar salad. Why would you have something less good?

as I don;t ear beef ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mdmix

yes of course i can drink without celebrating!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

I would drink non alcoholic beer but its price puts me off. Its nice to have a pint in front of you as you won't get the why aren't u drinkin shyte.

IIRC it was free one time if you were the designated driver. But now most places only have becks which is horrible. For the same price as a normal beer.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,015 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

mdmix wrote: »
    yes of course i can drink without celebrating!

I think you're drinking right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

But I would be out of place if I tended a kids' party... :(