Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which cars will go in excess of 240 kph?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

my old 2005 e60 535d would do 250km/h (and at that was governed to that speed by a limiter, the actual top speed was 186 mph or 300km/h).

And that's a near 15 year old diesel repmobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

All of them which have enough power and suitable gearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I also had a z32 300zx that would exceed the 240.
    And a 1982 Rolls Royce. And a '68 plymouth that would exceed it (but not for very long as there was no fuel gauge and it did sub 7 mpg)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Amazingly I had a 2.2 old style Xtrail and it topped out at 220kph which surprised me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Micky 32

OSI wrote: »
    Was stated elsewhere the car was a 2018 Merc E220d,

Not bad for a heavy ish 2.0 diesel with a modest 194bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

I haven't got the balls to do it in my A6 so don't know:-)

_Brian wrote: »
    Amazingly I had a 2.2 old style Xtrail and it topped out at 220kph which surprised me.
    I had similar, an 05, 2.2 diesel 2wd which given the rattle over 100km/h, I'm surprised if it would get anywhere near 220! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

ELM327 wrote: »

Autobahn eater more like!

I think quite a lot would do it. Even in the 'normal' car range. My e46 325ci would *supposedly* hit 240kph and the 330i would hit the limiter at 250km/h. I'd say 200bhp and the right gearing is what's needed, well so long as it's not too heavy or brick shaped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

my old 2005 e60 535d would do 250km/h (and at that was governed to that speed by a limiter, the actual top speed was 186 mph or 300km/h).

I'd forgotten about the 250kph imposed limit! Not to many 535d's about owned and driven by mammy, not here anyway with the high tax rates

OSI wrote: »
    Was stated elsewhere the car was a 2018 Merc E220d, I would suspect most cars with around 200bhp or more would be able to hit 240.

How feasible is it to have been driving it at the max speed it's capable of?

Quite a few cars it seems capable of it but not to many of them common on Irish roads

Autobahn eater more like!

I think quite a lot would do it. Even in the 'normal' car range. My e46 325ci would *supposedly* hit 240kph and the 330i would hit the limiter at 250km/h. I'd say 200bhp and the right gearing is what's needed, well so long as it's not too heavy or brick shaped.

Not your typical non car enthusiast cars I would think of that you get around Ireland.

I'll have to get an underdrive pulley for the mini to clip that 200hp and 240kph figure :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

I also had a z32 300zx that would exceed the 240

Always loved those.

I'd say the list of cars that can exceed 240 is fairly large, a lot of German cars should be able to.

230 ish is the closest I got in the DC2 with the mish mash gearbox in it.
    On private roads, of course.

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Always loved those.

I'd say the list of cars that can exceed 240 is fairly large, a lot of German cars should be able to.

230 ish is the closest I got in the DC2 with the mish mash gearbox in it.
    On private roads, of course.
    Sold her on to a fellow boardsie!

Yes, you'd find any recent hot or warm german car will have the 250km limit and reach it with ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

It's worth pointing out that the speed figure in the headline comes from the accused's own admission of driving between 220 and 240km/h, so it might have to be taken with a pinch of salt.

However, seeing as everyone is in that sort of mood, an indicated 270km/h on the A61 Autobahn between the Nürburgring and Stuttgart earlier this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

My e39 530i reached 250 kmph indicated on the speedometer once. Tried it once and only once. Wouldn't go anything above 160 or so these days although I'm sure my car these days could do 250.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭CorkMan_

I have a Citroen C6 2.7 V6 and I've seen a video of someone in the same model doing 246 kph on the Autobahn. I haven't tried it myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Maxed out the Punto the other day at a GPS reading of 221.
    It was screaming at that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭CorkMan_

Jaysus bear1! Rather you than me!

CorkMan_ wrote: »
    Jaysus bear1! Rather you than me!

Only clear stretch of the autobahn I could try it.
    130 horses so I was still surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

He nicked mammies car, and smacked it into the back of a squad car (armed response unit??)
    , as well as having a garda helicopter in the air after him,
    Who pays,?? Not an insurance job because he stole the keys, so uninsured drivers fund...?
    Do the Gardaí get a new car out of it??

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Markcheese wrote: »
    H
    Who pays,?? Not an insurance job because he stole the keys, so uninsured drivers fund...?

The insurer of the car still has to cover the 3rd party... I think ..(hope??)

Interesting thought though, be good to see the answers to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

I haven't hit the limiter in my 2007 BMW 530d yet. Saying that, it gets to 240km/h with ease.

He nicked mammies car, and smacked it into the back of a squad car (armed response unit??)
    , as well as having a garda helicopter in the air after him,
    Do the Gardaí get a new car out of it??

What did you do...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

The insurer of the car still has to cover the 3rd party... I think ..(hope??)

Interesting thought though, be good to see the answers to this

Why should the vehicle insurer pay. If your car was stolen and caused damage to my car,would you expect your ins co to stump up for the damage to my vehicle ?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

07’ R32. I haven’t had it anywhere near this but the guy who owned it first before me said he had it up to 278kph before he backed off.

Why should the vehicle insurer pay. If your car was stolen and caused damage to my car,would you expect your ins co to stump up for the damage to my vehicle ?

I wouldn't expect it, but i think the law might? that's why I said it was interesting.

Isn't that what the uninsured drivers fund covers, and that's funded by a levy on your car insurance..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Isn't that what the uninsured drivers fund covers, and that's funded by a levy on your car insurance..

Perhaps, I just thought it might be a bit more muddied seeing as the car had a policy on it.

Twas you who asked the question initially wasn't it?

bear1 wrote: »
    What did you do...?

I told you, I nicked my máms merc, smacked into the back of a squad car and.....

(alright I did about 160 in a hiace...)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Maxed out the Punto the other day at a GPS reading of 221.
    It was screaming at that point.

Is that a non standard punto?
    I remember a lad in college had one and dropped me home the thing was roaring at 120 on motorway. Can't remember engine but I'm sure it would have been the smallest one available at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

F10 520D with performance pack, 244km/h

I remember a lad in college had one and dropped me home the thing was roaring at 120 on motorway. Can't remember engine but I'm sure it would have been the smallest one available at the time.

Standard. 1.9

Is that a 1.9 diesel?
    The one I was in would have been a 1.0 to 1.2 petrol whatever they were at the time. Fair play to you I'd say it was a hairy experience doing over 220 in any of them.

Is that a 1.9 diesel?
    The one I was in would have been a 1.0 to 1.2 petrol whatever they were at the time. Fair play to you I'd say it was a hairy experience doing over 220 in any of them.

Yeah the multijet engine.
    Not bad engine but wired to that awful ****e of a gearbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

all hire cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

BMW 30d and 35d have a limited top speed of 155 mph which translates to 250 km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

I don’t know many reps who drive a 535d!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

New-ish 320ds even would come very close to 240k. They'll certainly do an indicated 240 anyway. Mk7 Golf GTD would be close aswell. I don't really think it's a rarity these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

millington wrote: »
    New-ish 320ds even would come very close to 240k. They'll certainly do an indicated 240 anyway. Mk7 Golf GTD would be close aswell. I don't really think it's a rarity these days.

Officially 235 km/hr on the 320d and has been since the E90. (146mph).

I'd say an awful lot of standard cars can do 240 km/hr.

Anything near 200bhp should do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

I've taken the RX up above 8000rpm in top gear on a straight bit of road outside the State.

It was still just about going at that point.

It idled a lot smoother when I slowed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Capra

No chance. I just watched a few videos of them doing top speed runs. They are starting to run out of steam well before they hit their limiter. They just about creep up to 250kph. There is no way, even derestricted that one of them is getting another 50kph. I doubt the gearing would even allow it. A quick car but nowhere near a 300kph car. Not many cars can do 300kph. You need serious power to overcome the wind resistance. Even an M3 can't hit that with an extra 150bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭deceit

I hit the rev cut off in 6th in a 2015 Golf R a few weeks ago above 280 on sat nav last I looked, it easily went past 240 :rolleyes:. It was a panicky moment as I never hit the rev limiter before (don't launch the car or drive hard usually). I only drive my car on occasion but it seems to be long drives when I do.
    Their are a fair amount of them around Ireland atm so would easily hit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

First car I went over 240 in was my old bora. Well able for it and a bit in reserve too.

Most modern stuff will now do it easily as long as they are not small capacity engines geared for efficiency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

It's easy to do it in a straight line.

And, there's no point going fast, if you can't stop.

Been there, Done that... Never stopped to buy the t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

Had 2 Calibra Turbos back in the day, a stock one 200ish horses would max out at around 250kph. Other one was well over 300 ponies and delimited, had a 280kph speedo in it. In this one I'd shift to 5th at 200kph and 6th around 260, the needle went past the 280kph mark then stuck.

Car was still accelerating at that point but if anything it was drag that limited its top speed not power or gearing.

Slowing down from that speed to say 160 kph felt like doing 50. :D

I did a Garmin nav indicated 240kph + a tiny bit more in a golf gti a few months ago.

Speedo was at 250+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Had my turbo starlet hit 230kph which wasn't a nice experience

Augeo wrote: »
    I did a Garmin nav indicated 240kph + a tiny bit more in a golf gti a few months ago.

Speedo was at 250+

I had mine at 243kph on the speedo but the gps was at 235 IIRC.
    Felt like it had more to give but I was running out of road (+nerves!).