Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Clare Daly hires son of Mick Wallace as her assistant in EU office

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

She is a nasty vindictive cow. Can't stand her. Even looking at her makes me want to throw up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Wheety wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/clare-daly-hires-son-of-mick-wallace-as-her-assistant-in-eu-office-38323569.html

They act like they're so different to the establishment bu they're just the same as everyone else. In it for the money.

Mick Wallace denies he sought MEP seat in Brussels 'for the money'

This would be the son who was also a director of the Wallace firm at the time that the massive VAT fraud was committed; and at the time that worker's pension contributions were being pocketed by the company?

I can see why a good socialist like Ms. Daly would hire someone like that to work for her alright

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 67 ✭✭leitrim4life

She is a nasty vindictive cow. Can't stand her. Even looking at her makes me want to throw up

No time for them but do you really think the penalty points scandal and McCabe would have seen the light of day if they hadn't pushed as far as they did. She was arrested by ags on false charges and ags leaked it to press. Sometimes it helps to have a horrible person asking awkward questions.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Snouts in the trough.

No better than any FG/FF cute hoor candidate. Daly would be the first to megaphone her disgust of this kind of nepotism and here she is no different to the worst of them.

The six figure salary socialists that call themselves Independents4Change...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

If he is experienced enough and can do the job, fair play to him.
    As any employer knows, a good reference can be half the battle.
    No doubt he's the right 'fit'.

If you look closer to home, this sort of thing is rampant.
    Actually, it's usually worse where it is direct relations in jobs.

I don't know the lad, but a quick goole throws up he also has:
    Received a first class honours research masters in philosophy from UCD in 2014, and have been a political researcher since 2013.

That would be most relevant, interesting how the journo never thought to check that...

I used to dislike them both too, but as leitrim4life mentioned, these guys were the only ones asking the questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

Wonder what favour Claire Daily will expect in return from her ‘friend’ Mick Wallace.

What changes are Independents4Change looking for? Bring back nepotism so Mick can hire his own son and avoid charades like this?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Meh, hard to get that outraged about this story. Wallace getting elected in the 1st place is far more noteworthy.

Daly seems to have fallen for Wallace’s curly haired charms. Which is a shame. She was by far the most pragmatic of the socialists, and was very popular with TDs from all parties - a good laugh and a decent skin was the consensus. Now she’s gone down the conspiracy theory route with Ming and Wallace. A right shower of gombeens over in Brussels just when we needed strong representation. Democracy in action I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

whiskeyman wrote: »

Received a first class honours research masters in philosophy from UCD in 2014, and have been a political researcher since 2013.

That would be most relevant, interesting how the journo never thought to check that...

From the op link:

"Mr Wallace previously used his Dáil parliamentary allowance to pay the same son €20,000 for what was described as research and policy formulation work."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I used to dislike them both too, but as leitrim4life mentioned, these guys were the only ones asking the questions.

He wasn't researching for his father, per chance?

Edit: I see from the post above he had. Snouts in the trough.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 123sheepdip

This is why my qualified son can't get his foot in the door in his career in Ireland. Never a truer case of who Ye know ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,215 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

100k a year. That's a nice chunk of change. #Independents4change

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Independents4nepotism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,215 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

No time for them but do you really think the penalty points scandal and McCabe would have seen the light of day if they hadn't pushed as far as they did. She was arrested by ags on false charges and ags leaked it to press. Sometimes it helps to have a horrible person asking awkward questions.

She only asks "awkward questions" if they'll allow her to rant and rave and result in her getting publicity so that she can continue with her snout in the trough. It's not as if she has any qualifications that would allow her to match her salary in the real world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,933 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Don't have much time for the politics of both, while admiring totally some of what they have revealed and campaigned for, but given that attempts have been made to assassinate both their characters by state actors, I would imagine you would be very judicious about who you would trust in your employment.

Just saying.

Don't have much time for the politics of both, while admiring totally some of what they have revealed and campaigned for, but given that attempts have been made to assassinate both their characters by state actors, I would imagine you would be very judicious about who you would trust in your employment.

Just saying.

Best to keep it in 'the family.'

I know I would anyway, if there were spooks out there looking for things they can use to their advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I was watching Private Parts last week (great movie) and when I saw her in the news this morning I thought of 'Pigvomit' - 'He looks like a pig and makes me want to vomit'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

She’s fairly good in committees. Her friendship with Wallace makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Absolutely hate this ****e of appointing aquaintances/family to taxpayer posts. These jobs should be published on public websites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭hgfj

The right fit? Funny that out of a population of almost 5 million the best person for the job just happens to be Wallaces son. I wonder did she even conduct interviews for the position? Was it an advertised position?

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭Moghead

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Absolutely hate this ****e of appointing aquaintances/family to taxpayer posts. These jobs should be published on public websites.

If you were a politician would you want your u assistant to be someone you know and trust or some randomer off a panel appointed by PAS? You could have someone working for you who has a completely different set of political values.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

Happens everywhere, alan farrell the healy-raes even local cllrs. And in many other jobs out there like driving a truck for the local co.co. you have an uncle etc.... working there you get the job quicker that a better established person. Will never change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,574 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

She was arrested by ags on false charges and ags leaked it to press. Sometimes it helps to have a horrible person asking awkward questions.

LOL. Maybe go and have a good look at the actual facts of the case. I'm not going to delve into it here because the bould Clare is very litigious, but suffice it to say I think she was very fortunate with the outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭mikep

She’s fairly good in committees. Her friendship with Wallace makes no sense.

Yeah "friendship"....

They have been "friends" for a good long time...

https://www.herald.ie/news/aer-lingus-probe-as-wallaces-jeep-found-in-free-staff-car-park-28010752.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Not in the least bit surprised.

Won't make a blind bit of difference to the people that vote for them though. As long as wallace and Daly continue to dress like tramps and bleat on about standing up for the peeeeeple they'll keep having useful idiots to vote them in to their champagne socialist positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,222 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Just reminds me why I detest politicians.
    Snouts and troughs.

Just reminds me why I detest politicians.
    Snouts and troughs.

They're all the same. Even the ones who pretend that they are not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Disgusting . A failed airline cook and a failed capitalist builder/landlord who takes money that's not his pretending to be a loony lefty.

What's worse is that people vote for them and defend them . Sheep.

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Wallace is far from perfect but with them both himself and Daly out of Irish politics and now in Europe the powers that be in Dail eireann will sigh a huge sigh of relief. Daly and Wallace deserve much credit for shining a light on the penalty points fiasco before anyone else did plus they drew attention to a company called Cerebus, Namagate and the whole concept of banks in the republic selling distressed mortgages to vulture funds. Their work in those respects has been invaluable. It was also appalling how Daly was falsely accused of drink driving just to blacken her name.
    As far as nepotism goes, theres nobody on these boards who would not do the same thing and give their partner / daughter / cousin the opportunity of earning a good wage, the fact its at the tax payers expense is irrelevant.

reg114 wrote: »
    Wallace is far from perfect but with them both himself and Daly out of Irish politics and now in Europe the powers that be in Dail eireann will sigh a huge sigh of relief. Daly and Wallace deserve much credit for shining a light on the penalty points fiasco before anyone else did plus they drew attention to a company called Cerebus, Namagate and the whole concept of banks in the republic selling distressed mortgages to vulture funds. Their work in those respects has been invaluable. It was also appalling how Daly was falsely accused of drink driving just to blacken her name.
    As far as nepotism goes, theres nobody on these boards who would not do the same thing and give their partner / daughter / cousin the opportunity of earning a good wage, the fact its at the tax payers expense is irrelevant.

Nothing relating to the tax payers expense is ever irrelevant. These dickheads are taking money out of our pockets to line their own.

What planet are you on?

Disgusting . A failed airline cook .

What did she do, poison the crew? ruin the spuds?

If Claire is a 'failed airline cook' can we refer to Leo as 'failed doctor', or Michael Martin as a 'failed teacher'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭blackwhite

reg114 wrote: »

She admitted herself that she'd had a hot whiskey before getting behind the wheel - and then made an illegal turn in front of a squad car. I'm guessing it was some big conspiracy that forced her to do both of those things as well? :rolleyes:

The Gardaí were correct to stop her, and then correct to test her when they smelt alcohol from her.

The disgraceful part was whoever leaked that she'd been arrested before the results of the blood tests were known (which was conveniently delayed from the time of the stop because Daly "couldn't" provide a breath sample).

Daly is another in the long line of hypocrites to pass through the political realm in Ireland.
    Preaches about "corruption" whilst happily engaging in nepotism herself. Happy to ignore tax fraud and stealing from workers, whilst claiming to be a socialist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

What did she do, poison the crew? ruin the spuds?

If Claire is a 'failed airline cook' can we refer to Leo as 'failed doctor', or Michael Martin as a 'failed teacher'?

Refer to them however you wish . I am not a supporter of any political party so yes if you want to refer to them as such, do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,988 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

... yet her supporters and their ilk will be all over social media slagging off other politicians, but can see no wrong in her.

Refer to them however you wish . I am not a supporter of any political party so yes if you want to refer to them as such, do

Interesting perspective. Hope you never decide to change career. :rolleyes:

blackwhite wrote: »

Daly is another in the long line of hypocrites to pass through the political realm in Ireland.
    Preaches about "corruption" whilst happily engaging in nepotism herself. Happy to ignore tax fraud and stealing from workers, whilst claiming to be a socialist.

And sure lets not forget Ming. He had one of the worst attendance records over in Europe at one stage. I believe his wife was sick. That's tough, but i know if my missus was sick and i'd to take time off it would be out of my own pocket. Not out of the taxpayers.

Well for bloody some!

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭IAmTheReign

I think you'll find the journo did bother to check that, which you'd have noticed if you read the whole article.
    Mr Wallace previously used his Dáil parliamentary allowance to pay the same son €20,000 for what was described as research and policy formulation work.

He only has experience working as a political researcher because his dad him a job as one at the taxpayers expense! He must be some hard worker though if he was able to do that while also working two other jobs for daddy Mick.
    Fionn Wallace was listed as a director of his father's now-­liquidated construction company M & J Wallace Ltd.

Last year, he resigned from Wallace Calcio Ltd - the company that once operated his father's Italian wine bars and restaurants business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

If you search for his name + 'policy' you'll get pretty much nothing.

If you search for my name + 'policy' you get the first 2 full pages of results detailing my work in the health policy /research sector.

I'm not saying that to be like "oh I'm great" I'm just saying that if he's been legitimately working as a parliamentary researcher or even something vaguely similar, and is 'highly qualified' for the post, you would get something more akin to my results.

His Masters is in Philosophy and is based on a comparative examination of Merleau-Ponty and another philosopher.

I can't see anything he's published or genuinely worked on that's relevant to this post.

That quote earlier about him working as 'political researcher' comes from his own Academia page, which details nothing else about him, or his career trajectory.

Since politics is often an interest that gets passed down through families I have no issue with someone going into a similar kind of post as a family member - provided that there is a way to demonstrate that his experience is relevant. In this particular case, I have never felt Daly or Wallace particularly genuine people (there are some genuine politicians who are good to work with and who genuinely want to make change in policy etc, although they are harder to find).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

his experience is working for his dad.... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

his experience is working for his dad.... :/
    ...who is a politician.

It's easy to get all shouty about nepotism, but ultimately just because it's nepotism, doesn't mean he's the wrong person for the job.

Is he the wrong person for the job?

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭liatroimabu

Whats new here? Politician spending their entire career shouting about how the poor have nothing and anyone with a half decent wage should prop up the have nots, in the meantime they grab their extortionate salary, gain their entitlement to an extortionate pension and sort out all their buddies and families with jobs. Good old Irish politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

seamus wrote: »
    ...who is a politician.

It's easy to get all shouty about nepotism, but ultimately just because it's nepotism, doesn't mean he's the wrong person for the job.

Is he the wrong person for the job?

I agree, but given the lack of detail in his online presence (unusual), the fact that his academic qualifications are not related to politics, international development or social policy in any way, and the fact he was supposedly working as a political researcher for his father whilst also acting as a director for at least 2 of his large businesses makes me skeptical that he could be better qualified than the innumerable political science/policy/international relations/ research graduates and others in similar posts who would likely be quite interested in working at EU level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Snouts in the trough.

No better than any FG/FF cute hoor candidate. Daly would be the first to megaphone her disgust of this kind of nepotism and here she is no different to the worst of them.

The six figure salary socialists that call themselves Independents4Change...!

That's right, bring back Bertie and Noonan....

It's like finding out you've the flu and saying, 'f*** it, if I'm going to be sick I may as well get cancer'.

I hate nepotism, (even if different by the fact she's in no way related to Wallace's son)...

Somebody gave a job to someone they knew, now I've an issue with that, but unlike the bigger parties there was likely not too many lower rank Clare Daly interns vying for the post.

I know of a case where a chap spent years working with a TD and when a top job came up, her nephew got it, him fresh out of UCD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Moghead wrote: »
    ChikiChiki wrote: »

If you were a politician would you want your u assistant to be someone you know and trust or some randomer off a panel appointed by PAS? You could have someone working for you who has a completely different set of political values.

If I was a politician I would want to be interviewing the candidate to ensure the fit is correct for me and my policy.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

They will still get re-elected at the next election.

As long as you shout a few things about water charges and chain yourself to a few fences, people will always vote for you.

Chancers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Open to correction but I thought a research masters is just pass or needs additional work?

A taught masters has your first class 2:1, 2:2 and the like.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

I genuinely hope Wallace and Daly never get elected to so much as a County Council after this.

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭noubliezjamais

Was he not the one expelled from Oatlands ?

Funny how people said he was the class clown when I went there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,810 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Could you imagine her if Francis Fitzgerald hired Enda's son/daughter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Could you imagine her if Francis Fitzgerald fored Enda's son/daughter?

There'd be a thread much like this with folk telling us she did nothing wrong.