Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farmer confronted for mowing hay at 10 pm on a Thursday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Mucky_Tackies

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ioqZ-lTtSFc

As someone said tell him you are going to rent the field to travelers for their caravans.

Video finished too soon, would have liked to see how it ended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Why would you bother stopping for those clowns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

Residential ?
    It looked pretty fieldy to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Buying a house next to a farm and giving out about farmers farming ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

It always amazes me how there are always those that transcend the limits of stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Always loved the way theres no "escape to the country" out this side and better still no sympathy for the like of those that do either.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Buying a house next to a farm and giving out about farmers farming ffs.

My father had a similar incident a few years ago. He was out pheasant shooting on a friend's farm. Arrived back to the van to be greeted by a squad car. A new arrival in the area had called the guards after seeing "men running around the fields with guns" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

The gimpy head on the first fella. Ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Call the cops. Two trespassers with bad hair do's on the field.
    That's a field crime.

As someone said tell him you are going to rent the field to travelers for their caravans.[/QUOTE

That field will get plenty slurry in the future i'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We will see more and more of this stuff.

Farmers are demonised and our society is moving to a situation where they think they don’t need us because cheap food can be shipped on from South America and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Attie Ross

I had a farmer's wife gave out to me for spreading slurry on my own field next to their house needles to say she got short shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 QwertyWerty

I grew up in the country and don’t remember farmers working on the field with tractors at 10pm.

Is that really a standard thing? The only thing I can think is maybe those folks can’t get their kids to bed, and that’s why they’re annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Welcome to the countryside boys

I grew up in the country and don’t remember farmers working on the field with tractors at 10pm.

Is that really a standard thing? The only thing I can think is maybe those folks can’t get their kids to bed, and that’s why they’re annoyed.
    That’s the point, it’s rare.
    I bet that was the only evening all year that tractor was working late in that field, but those selfish petty idiots had to go out and make the lads evening more difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Times have changed.
    Most of that sort of work is done by contractors now and they have to put in the hours when the weather is right.
    This video did not happen in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 QwertyWerty

_Brian wrote: »
    That’s the point, it’s rare.
    I bet that was the only evening all year that tractor was working late in that field, but those selfish petty idiots had to go out and make the lads evening more difficult.

Ahh ok, get it now.

Attie Ross wrote: »
    I had a farmer's wife gave out to me for spreading slurry on my own field next to their house needles to say she got short shift.
    Short shift? very funny image , rolling around in the sh1te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

They sound like Eastend London accents so I'm assuming they are taking the view that this is like the council mowing the park at 10pm.

I spend a lot of time in rural France and we've this holiday home owner from Paris who has major issues with all things agricultural. She quite literally made a formal noise complaint about a rooster and was laughed out of the local Mairie (Town Hall).

Unfortunately you've people who see it as a theme park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Thank God I didn't run into that last week. Was mowing a field from midnight to 0230 behind two houses last Friday. No choice due to weather but was expecting company. Thankfully the locals around here are far more understanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Reggie. wrote:
    Thank God I didn't run into that last week. Was mowing a field from midnight to 0230 behind two houses last Friday. No choice due to weather but was expecting company. Thankfully the locals around here are far more understanding

Could have been my house! Its a negative of living next to a farm but wouldnt bother me. Yeah it can wake kids but an estate would wake them far more often. It annoys me when i have clothes out and slurry is spread or weve had cattle escape and run about the estate but again its just a fact of life.
    A farm next door causes less issues then more estates to be honest.

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Could have been my house! Its a negative of living next to a farm but wouldnt bother me. Yeah it can wake kids but an estate would wake them far more often. It annoys me when i have clothes out and slurry is spread or weve had cattle escape and run about the estate but again its just a fact of life.
    A farm next door causes less issues then more estates to be honest.

I would usually text the two houses backing onto us when we’re going to spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

elperello wrote: »
    Times have changed.
    Most of that sort of work is done by contractors now and they have to put in the hours when the weather is right.
    This video did not happen in Ireland.

UK, the farmers over there say they have to put up with a lot from the public when on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

_Brian wrote:
    I would usually text the two houses backing onto us when we’re going to spread.

That'd be great but to be fair I understand why my neighbours dont. Eight houses back onto it and one would bound to be trying to get him to do it another time.

I spend 1/2 the year in a rural part of England, huge fields ,huge machinery.
    My wife out walking on a public path in a field where the farmer was spraying,
    when he saw her he left the field and went elsewhere and came back when she had left the field
    She said to me afterwards " wasn't that considerate of him"
    I replied "yea it wasn't very considerate of you , considering all the other paths you could have walked"
    Then the fight started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭jay48

Coming from Dublin and now living in a rural area I get woken a couple of times a year when the lads are working in the fields beside the house, usually in to the early hours. The first thought that comes to mind is the poor f####rs out working at this hour and I go back to sleep. I'm sure the lad working in the field there wasn't there for the craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

I reckon the guy had noise in his own head, and that's what was really affecting him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ah Jaysus lads try looking at it from the other side for a change!!

Those poor lads probably had to get up early the next morning to sign on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm not a farmer and live in an estate next to farms in rural Ireland ...

I'll say it simples people....you dont like this kind of carry on ...move to the city ...very simple ...

It's just the way it's got to be .

We wanted to put a wall up at end of garden a few months ago and wanted to bring in digger to dig foundations and take away soil so we contacted farmer ....he gave us a window to bring tractors across his field before seeding ...

It's amazing what having a bit of respect for each other an do ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭older by the day

I suppose it's better to have them coming up giving out to the guy mowing than letting a present in the middle of the field ie 4ft of H iron

Dont even joke about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

I'm not a farmer and live in an estate next to farms in rural Ireland ...

I'll say it simples people....you dont like this kind of carry on ...move to the city ...very simple ...

It's just the way it's got to be .

We wanted to put a wall up at end of garden a few months ago and wanted to bring in digger to dig foundations and take away soil so we contacted farmer ....he gave us a window to bring tractors across his field before seeding ...

It's amazing what having a bit of respect for each other an do ...

Had a new neighbour land in before and put a gate in from there garden to our field. These were polish nationals, vegan and never saw the field before, the auld lad had a job trying to explain how we werent budging remove it asap etc but eventually got through to them. We never badmouthed them but none of the neighbours ever mixed with them afterwards due to the lack of respect they showed to us, i often chatted with the woman of the house i reckon she was thinking 10 years down the line id let them put one in and was sound to me but let me know she despised the fact we stopped them and she hsd no time for my auld lad either. They also reported us for spreading slurry in the field joining them to the council this year the field hadnt seen slurry in my lifetime till now but there was an issue with water quality in the area a few years back and i reckon she just wanted to give the auld lad a bitta hsrdship over it, council inspector just called to the house to inform us of a complaint being made and he had to call out to check but everything was sweet, he also said the person who made the complaint didnt even know our name and that says a lot about them after living there about 8 years.

Better living everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

You can't build a house in the countryside then start complaining about the farming activity. It's the same as building a house beside a busy factory and then start complaining about the noise.
    Its all down to the planning and corruption. It was seen in Ireland a while back when we had flooding. It turned out that loads of houses were built on flood plains where there should never have been one. But its all down to corrupt TDs and Councillors. But hey, if we do find a corrupt TD what do we stupid folks go and do? only have them top the election poll ie Hugh McElvaney, Micheal Lowry etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭893bet

Reggie. wrote: »
    Dont even joke about that

Agreed. Edit it out. Don’t even give someone the idea.

You can't build a house in the countryside then start complaining about the farming activity. It's the same as building a house beside a busy factory and then start complaining about the noise.
    Or a church ,and complain about the bells, the bells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭4Ad

But what do you do when your local farmer finishes milking at midnight ?
    And herds them down the road, shouting at the cows.

Or brings in bales at 4am in the morning ? (It was only til 2zm recently)
    I asked him about that, he said the roads were safer, good logic but not for me who has to get up or work at 6.45am.

Either bad planning or just selfishness.
    He's in his 50's single, might explain some of it..

4Ad wrote: »

I asked him about that, he said the roads were safer, good logic but not for me who has to get up or work at 6.45am.

Doubt he was milking at midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭oneten

893bet wrote: »
    Agreed. Edit it out. Don’t even give someone the idea.

them thats fit to do it, know how to do it , sneaky, spineless, maggots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭oneten

Most farmers consider that a lie in .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭4Ad

Reggie. wrote: »

Doubt he was milking at midnight

I swear to God he does..finishes around midnight..Well known for his farming habits in this area..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭kingdom fan

oneten wrote: »

I had a fine lie in this morning.
    6.15 I was up. Every morning in d winter im standing in d yard at about 5am.
    My neighbour is an old man, and he's up every single day before me. I don't ever think I was up before him.
    I drawn silage well into d night and back up at 4am many times. But it's for maybe one 24 hour spell in d year when I'd have 300 or 400 bales down. And I have gotten **** from people. No one has ever offered to drive a tractor for an hour but when they need straw for a dog, or dump lawn cuttings over a Ditch or ask for a tractor to draw turf or something, tis all grand are r all friends .
    As for noise. I'm on d flight path to shannon, many times I've heard planes at stupid hours, the lazy cun7s won't complain about that.
    And a lot is stupidity of ignorance , but a lot is malicious , in my opinion. .
    A friend and neighbour had cattle poisoned here. It wasn't a tinker from 100miles away that did it. Another neighbour hit a cavity block in a field, one that's cut every year for silage !!!!
    I've had neighbours report me for pollution, inspection found nothing.
    I could go on. And on.
    I'm rambling now.
    D sense of entitlement I encounter is shocking. And complete lack of respect is as bad, not from everyone obviously but it getting worse all d time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭kingdom fan

oneten wrote: »

I had a fine lie in this morning.
    6.15 I was up. Every morning in d winter im standing in d yard at about 5am.
    My neighbour is an old man, and he's up every single day before me. I don't ever think I was up before him.
    I drawn silage well into d night and back up at 4am many times. But it's for maybe one 24 hour spell in d year when I'd have 300 or 400 bales down. And I have gotten **** from people. No one has ever offered to drive a tractor for an hour but when they need straw for a dog, or dump lawn cuttings over a Ditch or ask for a tractor to draw turf or something, tis all grand are r all friends .
    As for noise. I'm on d flight path to shannon, many times I've heard planes at stupid hours, the lazy cun7s won't complain about that.
    And a lot is stupidity of ignorance , but a lot is malicious , in my opinion. .
    A friend and neighbour had cattle poisoned here. It wasn't a tinker from 100miles away that did it. Another neighbour hit a cavity block in a field, one that's cut every year for silage !!!!
    I've had neighbours report me for pollution, inspection found nothing.
    I could go on. And on.
    I'm rambling now.
    D sense of entitlement I encounter is shocking. And complete lack of respect is as bad, not from everyone obviously but it getting worse all d time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Well if your awake anyway why not lend a hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

4Ad wrote:
    Or brings in bales at 4am in the morning ? (It was only til 2zm recently) I asked him about that, he said the roads were safer, good logic but not for me who has to get up or work at 6.45am.

There's no farmer here who has to go to work in the morning of course :-)
    Roads are definitely safer at that hour. Try pulling out on a public road with a loader and bale handler on the tractor during the day and you wouldnt be long switching to the night shift either ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Panthro wrote: »
    Call the cops. Two trespassers with bad hair do's on the field.
    That's a field crime.

A certain Joe I know certainly wouldn't stand for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I spend a lot of time in rural France.

Me too. And when they start to harvest the grapes and transport them to wine co-op they start driving past the house, every ten minutes, at 5am. That's how it works. I put in ear plugs and get back to sleep.

You do nothing or else move. Farmers need to work at these hours at times that’s just the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Thankfully I’ve had no issues with my neighbors so far and we all get on. The road we live on is used as a shortcut for people going to work in a near by pharmaceutical plant. So from 7.45 am to 8.45 am and 4.30 pm to 5.15 pm it’s like a mini motorway. I try plan my day around avoiding the roads at that time.

A few years ago I was traveling along the road with an empty trailer and met a young lady driving fast around a bad bend. I managed to avoid her and she was fine. A hilux came around the bend and went into the back of her. I stayed going and a few minutes later this hilux passed me out and breaking his mirror off my trailer. Jumped out shouting and giving out about it was my fault i hit her. I was a few years young and to be honest a little frightened. Next thing his friend jumped out of the Jeep as well and jumped up beside me. I took out my phone to call my father and take a video of everything. He tried to take the phone off me.
    After he left I rang the guards, reported the incident and the reg, just to have it on file. To this day I still get a little shaken about it. I still meet the same man on the road, and salute him to pìss him off, even make him reverse back the odd time :D I know if it happened now, I’d handle it a bit different since I’m older and a good bit bigger. Hopefully I’ll never have to deal with that kind of situation again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

They sound like Eastend London accents so I'm assuming they are taking the view that this is like the council mowing the park at 10pm.

I spend a lot of time in rural France and we've this holiday home owner from Paris who has major issues with all things agricultural. She quite literally made a formal noise complaint about a rooster and was laughed out of the local Mairie (Town Hall).

Unfortunately you've people who see it as a theme park.

I’m nearly sure your not allowed to have roosters in some cities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Deadlift kid

I grew up in the countryside not from farming family but do know plenty and this is part and parcel off living in the country next to aggricultural land. Blame lays with developers of the housing but what can ya do?

let the man do his job ffs leave him alone and their tresspassing themselves anyway farmers have it bad enough in this country with been S*** upon by government policies we dont support our farmers enough imho expect to produce milk and meat for peanuts...

And then some give out about farmers wondering why cant access the land thats why we've alienated them its an us vs them attitude let the men do their jobs its their livelihood