Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Irish historical would you go for a pint with?

• 28-06-2019 7:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭

In my case, it would have to be Michael Collins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Somebody from the 1700's, maybe Jonathon Swift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The Duke of Wellington

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Arthur Guinness, the drinks would be on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,062 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Charles Stuart Parnell.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭WengerOutIn

Cuchulain, first hurling All-Star, Ulster man, Celtic Achilles, one man army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Fanny Flutters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DVD-Lots

Fionn mac Cumhaill, sher he'd be full of useless info after eating that salmon. Hours of pub entertainment right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭WengerOutIn

Putting things on file in a filing cabinet!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Bobby Sands for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

Collins.

Aodh Mór Ó Néill (1550-1616) or Dáibhí Ó Bruadair (1625-1698).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

Gerry adams.

Say he'd be mad craic after few beerz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Tom Crean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

Maud Gonne.

She looks like a right craic..

220px-Maude_Gonne_McBride_nd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Which Irish historical would you go for a pint with?

Irish historical what?

What is with people using adjectives as nouns all of a sudden? It's like this new marketing trend that has appeared recently. I can just imagine the haircuts that come up with this stuff.

-"We want to say that we support brave people"
    -"Let's just say "We're backing brave"
    -"But that sentence doesn't make sense?"
    -"What's your point?
    -"My point is that I hate stupid"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Sky King wrote: »
    Irish historical what?

What is with people using adjectives as nouns all of a sudden? It's like this new marketing trend that has appeared recently. I can just imagine the haircuts that come up with this stuff.

-"What's your point?

I meant to say Irish historical figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Tom Crean

Ernest Shackleton

Adrian Carton de Wiart (half Irish - always found him to be fascinating).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Bobby Sands for me.

SF/IRA would not let him drink pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Queen Maedhb.

I'd say she'd be the epitome of a "sure why not? drinkies Prosecco" wan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

razorblunt wrote: »
    Queen Maedhb.

I'd say she'd be the epitome of a "sure why not? drinkies Prosecco" wan!

You’d end up being shot by some bogger for trying take his cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Bobby Sands for me.

Just don't shake his hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,243 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Daniel O'Connell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Brendan Behan

brendanbehan.jpg

He'd drink a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Bobby Sands for me.
    Ye could go for a kebab after. I'd say he would murder for one

Con Houlihan

con-houlihan_w800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

_blaaz wrote: »
    Gerry adams.

Say he'd be mad craic after few beerz
    He would bore for Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Oscar Wilde, although I don't how much absinthe I could take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Countess Markievicz.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Oscar Wilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

James Connolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Phil Lynott

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Matt Talbot

Matt would probably have a coke, or water

Myles na gCopaleen or Flann O'Brien - I can't make me mind up.

image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

branie2 wrote: »
    Matt would probably have a coke, or water

So would I these days, it'd be mad craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Sky King wrote: »
    Irish historical what?

-"What's your point?

01bc72c015c5c793f819e986c337218900cddd9be5c6c57440b31d3ab7226c05.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

is_that_so wrote: »

Room for one more at the table? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

DVD-Lots wrote: »
    Fionn mac Cumhaill, sher he'd be full of useless info after eating that salmon. Hours of pub entertainment right there.

Any auld lad sitting in the pub on his own on a Tuesday night could give you all the useless info you'd ever want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

is_that_so wrote: »
    When Wilde went on his lecture of the United States, that of his famous "I've nothing to declare but my genius" quip, he included venues in what was still then the "Wild West".

Guided by their first impressions, the inhabitants of Leadville, Colorado offered Wilde a miner's supper. With each course being a shot of whiskey they jokingly thought it something beyond what they assumed to be his delicate constitution.

The rough-hewn miners of the Rocky Mountains were fascinated by Wilde, but nothing interested them more than his ability to down impossible amounts of whiskey as he drank them under the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Arthur Guinness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

George Bernard Shaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

The same Micheal Collins. There should be statues of him in every big city in the Country. He is the hero of Ireland.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭fiveleavesleft

James Connolly.

Teetotaler.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Teetotaler.:)

I'm not though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,297 ✭✭✭Be right back

He would be at the top of my list too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

Probably Collins or Griffith to ask them lads why did yis sign that bloody treaty!

They had no choice

jcorr wrote: »
    Probably Collins or Griffith to ask them lads why did yis sign that bloody treaty!

I heard they got back-handers.

jcorr wrote: »

Griffith had a painful inferiority complex while over there. It's really heartbreaking to read his letters and how naive he was about their promises. He was defintely the weak link in the Delegation. Collins is in a different category.