Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

more unadulterated man bashing

• 27-06-2019 8:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

if this utter horse sh1t was published about the opposite sex there would be outrage. But because its about lads, tiz fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I'm sorry, I couldn't read the article due to the astounding victim complex in your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Are you not outraged, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭jiltloop

You're right, it is utter horsesh!t but I don't find it offensive whatsoever. It just reads like an article in a teen magazine or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Is it an insecurity thing? An article like that wouldn't bother me at all. Half the points would seem to contradict themselves and it has all the feel of someone with half an hour to deadline trying to think of any auld shyte to write to fill copy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

I prefer some unadulterated bishop bashing meself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

I'd love a woman to bash me. Any takers ladies?????

Meh. That columnist just makes herself look like a dope writing that kind of clichéd drivel.

Crap like that makes her come off worse than the fictional man she’s clearly fantasizing about anyway. To say nothing of the racist undertones and outdated stereotyping!

I’ll bet she’s a tedious bore in real life. quietly suffered by her family and friends, but quite likely idolized by her equally vacuous social media followers.

Mental floss. Ignore the fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

RobAMerc wrote: »
    if this utter horse sh1t was published about the opposite sex there would be outrage. But because its about lads, tiz fair game.

The hang up some men have about 'men bashing' is utterly laughable. Try moaning about your anti-men complex to any women and she'll rightly and very quickly put you in your place when she asks you how you enjoy enduring period pain / childbirth / menopause .. and thats just what mother nature throws at women, dont get me started about how man has treated women since the dawn of time. Men get an extortionately easy time of it in every facet of life. If you dont like the article dont read it but you have absolutely zero right to feel that as a 'man' you are being, in any way, shape or form victimised because of your sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,887 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Society has gotten so focused on this whole gender issue that any small things enrages either group.
    Anti male article? Pissed off men.
    Anti female article? Pissed off women.
    Both sides will never win the argument so to further enhance non issues to the extreme only makes things worse.
    Sad really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I can't get past the bit about Adil Rami getting the leg over Pam. Fair play.

reg114 wrote: »
    The hang up some men have about 'men bashing' is utterly laughable. Try moaning about your anti-men complex to any women and she'll rightly and very quickly put you in your place when she asks you how you enjoy enduring period pain / childbirth / menopause .. and thats just what mother nature throws at women, dont get me started about how man has treated women since the dawn of time. Men get an extortionately easy time of it in every facet of life. If you dont like the article dont read it but you have absolutely zero right to feel that as a 'man' you are being, in any way, shape or form victimised because of your sex.

So, should I say a couple of decades of the rosary for having testicles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Article seems like it's written by a moron.

Morons are allowed opinions too. By definition , half the world is below average intelligence. She seems to be safely accounted for in that lower half.

Don't get annoyed at it. Just thank your lucky stars that you are also not a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Article seems like it's written by a moron.

Morons are allowed opinions too. By definition , half the world is below average intelligence. She seems to be safely accounted for in that lower half.

Don't get annoyed at it. Just thank your lucky stars that you are also not a moron.

But...I am ..also....a moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Absolute horseshïtë

Childbirth pain has been measured ( ADP to ATP conversion rates )at about 40-50 % of the pain a kick in the bo11ox.
    Evident in real life , as you'll never hear a man say, " I'd love another kick in the bo11ox",

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭chrissb8

If I was her editor I would tell her to get out and only come back with something with substance and not some school magazine quality article.

RobAMerc wrote: »

And BTW OP. Its a piśśtake article.
    Real men see it for what it is.

So, should I say a couple of decades of the rosary for having testicles?

No I dont think men should necessarily have to apologise for their gender but its pathetic to see men whinging about being put upon over an article. Really now, as a gender, women have had an atrocious time of it compared to men, there is simply no argument. If you are arguing the point and feeling victimised then you really dont understand what women have endured and continue to endure.

blah blah blah

Women give birth. It’s not easy or painless and nobody argues it is. Men in general appreciate what women go through and do for society in this regard.

But do we have to listen to or read gutter-tripe like this as some kind of price we pay? Is that how it works now?

We should stop procreating with needy attention whores like that columnist in that case. I suspect that might might be what’s happened to feed her bitterness anyway.

Having children and raising a family doesn’t make you a victim.

/that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The jocund list paints a picture of a person everyone can hate, but who HAPPENS to be male.
    We can definitely unite as a species against #20.
    OP - why not say "challenge accepted" and churn out your list here on the thread of 20 things to watch out for with crazy chicks?

topper75 wrote: »
    The jocund list paints a picture of a person everyone can hate, but who HAPPENS to be male.
    We can definitely unite as a species against #20.
    OP - why not say "challenge accepted" and churn out your list here on the thread of 20 things to watch out for with crazy chicks?

Ill start:

Blue hair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

It's just an extremely awful piece of writing - not having a go at men in general, just a particular type of man.

I agree though, no way would you find the reverse, but it's too terrible a load of rubbish to be that bothered by. Is it in the "entertainment" section or some sh1t like that?
    Be more specific as to which men have treated women badly - hasn't happened to me.

And it's an absolute joke to say that men get an extortionately easy time of it in every facet of life. Like war? Extremely difficult and dangerous jobs? Parental rights? Recognition if they're being or have been abused? Male sex abuse survivors - is life a walk in the park suddenly when they become men? Marital breakdown?

Absolute horseshïtë

Childbirth pain has been measured ( ADP to ATP conversion rates )at about 40-50 % of the pain a kick in the bo11ox.
    Evident in real life , as you'll never hear a man say, " I'd love another kick in the bo11ox",

You're equating childbirth to a kick in the nads ? Totter off into any maternity ward and watch a live delivery ... then come back to me. The arrogance and ignorance is breathtaking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Aweeeee mannn
    Not another man thread...

Since my ban of 3 months has been uplifted it gave me time to realize stay away from gender debate's, it will rot your brain....

Recovering from gender debate's lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,003 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

chrissb8 wrote: »
    If I was her editor I would tell her to get out and only come back with something with substance and not some school magazine quality article.

How about

Katie Byrne: Why can't we separate holiday fantasy from reality?
    or
    Katie Byrne: 'The six wedding dilemmas that every couple encounters'

This one seems different to the rest
    Katie Byrne: Microdosing: 'It gives me the strength to say, I can do this!'

https://www.independent.ie/opinion/independent-journalists/katie-byrne/

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

JayZeus wrote: »
    Women give birth. It’s not easy or painless and nobody argues it is. Men in general appreciate what women go through and do for society in this regard.

But do we have to listen to or read gutter-tripe like this as some kind of price we pay? Is that how it works now?

We should stop procreating with needy attention whores like that columnist in that case. I suspect that might might be what’s happened to feed her bitterness anyway.

Having children and raising a family doesn’t make you a victim.

/that

A great illustration of how a man reacts to an article he doesnt agree with .. he calls the writer a 'needy attention whore'. Would you use the same terminology if it had been a male author writing an article that incensed you in equal measure. No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I think the article has a point.

It's just an extremely awful piece of writing - not having a go at men in general, just a particular type of man.

I agree though, no way would you find the reverse, but it's too terrible a load of rubbish to be that bothered by. Is it in the "entertainment" section or some sh1t like that?

Be more specific as to which men have treated women badly - hasn't happened to me.

And it's an absolute joke to say that men get an extortionately easy time of it in every facet of life. Like war? Extremely difficult and dangerous jobs? Parental rights? Recognition if they're being or have been abused? Male sex abuse survivors - is life a walk in the park suddenly when they become men? Marital breakdown?

Lets talk about basic human rights. The right to work, the right to an education , the right to leave the house without a male chaperone, the right to marry the man of one's choosing .... 100s of millions of women globally do not have any of these fundamental human rights. So yes I stand squarely behind the fact that men have it easy and have had it easy in comparison to women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Once there is a number of items in a list form, you know you're dealing with a self-important journalist that the editor is keeping at arm's length.

And it's not make bashing. If it was anti-women the op would be having a go at faminists making mountains out molehills instead of doing it himself

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

What an absolute unbelievable pile of utter horse**** of a post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Lets talk about basic human rights. The right to work, the right to an education , the right to leave the house without a male chaperone, the right to marry the man of one's choosing .... 100s of millions of women globally do not have any of these fundamental human rights. So yes I stand squarely behind the fact that men have it easy and have had it easy in comparison to women.
    But what you say doesn't apply in the West and I think the distinction needs to be made.

Ill start:

Blue hair

A prevalence for throwing cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

No I dont think men should necessarily have to apologise for their gender but its pathetic to see men whinging about being put upon over an article. Really now, as a gender, women have had an atrocious time of it compared to men, there is simply no argument. If you are arguing the point and feeling victimised then you really dont understand what women have endured and continue to endure.

Really, simply no argument? How many men have died fighting in wars in comparison to women would you say?

You're equating childbirth to a kick in the nads ? Totter off into any maternity ward and watch a live delivery ... then come back to me. The arrogance and ignorance is breathtaking.

Look at you diminishing the pain of a kick in the bo11ox. Totter off; i'd suggest growing a pair, but it would require surgical intervention and i cant see how they'd get the neurology right.

I've been present at several births, NVDs, sun roofs etc., and nothing comes close to the abject and total suffering of a good punt in the bo11ox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,898 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The whinging some men seem to enjoy holds no weight with me. It never ceases amusing me to see men who probably consider themselves to be ‘real men’ getting so upset about any article that isn’t complementary of them.

And there are hardships that uniquely affect women like periods, childbirth and menopause. I acknowledge that and I make allowances for my Mrs when she has her period and she appreciates it.

But that doesn’t take from the fact that there are issues that either uniquely or acutely affect men.

For example narrow definitions of what a man is, can be detrimental to blokes who don’t fit the stereotype. Boys are falling behind girls in education. More men due by suicide than women. Probably because boys aren’t given the skills to deal with emotions. ‘Big boys don’t cry’ might be one of the most harmful pieces of advice imaginable.

Family courts are pretty unfair to men. Women are presumed to be the caregiver. That presumption is unhelpful to both men and women in general but in family court it’s specifically harmful to men.

Yes it's slightly man bashing albeit slightly humorously.

Some of the points dont make even sense though.

A prevalence for throwing cats.

Or having two cats.
    One cat is unforgivable, but if theres two in play, run away lads.
    Run, and dont look back

But what you say doesn't apply in the West and I think the distinction needs to be made.

Shhhhh, she's keeping the outrage-level high and making the thread "interesting".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,898 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Absolute horseshïtë

Lol. Tearing from your V to your A is half as painful as a kick in the nuts? I question your science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Sonics2k wrote: »
    I'm sorry, I couldn't read the article due to the astounding victim complex in your post.
    I got as far as number 4 before I remembered there was a fly on the wall to watch!

Lol. Tearing from your V to your A is half as painful as a kick in the nuts? I question your science.

Sssch you, I've got a live one hooked, just trying to land it

Or having two cats.
    One cat is unforgivable, but if theres two in play, run away lads.
    Run, and dont look back
    I want three cats! :P

And yes I am crazy! Stay away!

The whinging some men seem to enjoy holds no weight with me. It never ceases amusing me to see men who probably consider themselves to be ‘real men’ getting so upset about any article that isn’t complementary of them.

And there are hardships that uniquely affect women like periods, childbirth and menopause. I acknowledge that and I make allowances for my Mrs when she has her period and she appreciates it.

But that doesn’t take from the fact that there are issues that either uniquely or acutely affect men.

For example narrow definitions of what a man is, can be detrimental to blokes who don’t fit the stereotype. Boys are falling behind girls in education. More men due by suicide than women. Probably because boys aren’t given the skills to deal with emotions. ‘Big boys don’t cry’ might be one of the most harmful pieces of advice imaginable.

Family courts are pretty unfair to men. Women are presumed to be the caregiver. That presumption is unhelpful to both men and women in general but in family court it’s specifically harmful to men.

Both genders have issues is the fairest and truest thing that's been said so far. A post devoid of outrage and full of common sense and understanding.

You'd know it came from a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭ollkiller

bear1 wrote: »
    Society has gotten so focused on this whole gender issue that any small things enrages either group.
    Anti male article? Pissed off men.
    Anti female article? Pissed off women.
    Both sides will never win the argument so to further enhance non issues to the extreme only makes things worse.
    Sad really.

Maybe it's just idiots wanting to be offended by something. The article in question is stupid. What do i think about it. Nothing. I'm getting a coffee now which is far more important.

The article is a piece of fluff and its idiotic to criticise it imo but this sort of counter criticism is ludicrous too imo. Are you genuinely saying that men in the west can't gripe about anything because women in developing countries, of which we have no influence in terms of government or societal structures, don't have as many rights as men? That's a nonsense...

I want three cats! :P

And yes I am crazy! Stay away!

I dont know what to say. Recommending medical help is against forum rules.

Can you at least have them stuffed or something?

ollkiller wrote: »
    Maybe it's just idiots wanting to be offended by something. The article in question is stupid. What do i think about it. Nothing. I'm getting a coffee now which is far more important.

Well thats not going to help maintain the outrage levels here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

chrissb8 wrote: »
    It's in the style, sex & relationships section so it ticks boxes by being pure clickbait, offers nothing of any substance, it's "self-help" and seems to appeal to an audience with nothing to do except search for such nonsense. So 10/10 I'm afraid! :D

I dont know what to say. Recommending medical help is against forum rules.

Can you at least have them stuffed or something?
    :(

This is why we can't have cute things!

The article is a piece of fluff and its idiotic to criticise it imo but this sort of counter criticism is ludicrous too imo. Are you genuinely saying that men in the west can't gripe about anything because women in developing countries, of which we have no influence in terms of government or societal structures, don't have as many rights as men? That's a nonsense...

Whhhhhhhheeeeeennnnnnn....thhhhheeee...poster talks sh*te about women's rights, thaaaats a nonsense (that's a nonsense)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Can we change this thread into a top 20 warning signs when dating someone (Doesn't matter is if it's a man or woman)
    Ok I'll start:

1: Many kids with many people
    2: Profession is an Artist of some description
    3: FB profile says there job is: "CEO and Department of Soundness" (Or Similar)
    4: Doesn't dress well/wears "Lounge Wear" outside
    5: Gets very annoyed very easy
    6: Watches Love Island (Or Similar)
    7: A really good looking person who clearly got around a bit when they were younger and now are ready to "settle down" with the right person (I don't want that to be me)
    8: A person that asks a bunch of questions, and then asks the same bunch of questions some time later to see if your story changes.
    9: Crazy people
    10: Insecure people
    11: Does LOTS of drugs
    12: People who take over a day to reply to text
    13: Unreliable people
    14: People that want to be "chased" when first dating. (I'm not a f*cking Cheetah or Dog or similar)
    15: Going on a date with said person and their mates (with their other halves) and all the other halves are expected to become mates.
    16: Being asked to do things early on (Pick me up, Drop me there, Can you do me a favour, etc)
    17: Anyone that wants to be an Insta celeb
    18: People with a strong sense of entitlement
    19: Awfully Graaaaaand people that have no concept of the real world
    20: Anyone that says that Motorbikes are Dangerous and starts telling me to not ride them! Those people can f*ck RIGHT off. I'd rather ride me bike than you, ya big annoying dope!