Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Boards Draft Tournament - New Signups!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Damn was really hoping for Makelele this round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,548 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

All time European cup competitions draft
    Damn you KBurke! Really thought I was going to get Maka, couldn't believe Kante went before him (both are absolutely phenomenal of course, just thought Maka was that bit better).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

All time English league draft
    Ha i like everyone was eyeing up Makelele but i might have waited til round 4. Not too surprised to see he didn't last though.

My shortlist for the next 2 pics is shortening. 1 in particular I hope stays around for me

Morzadec wrote: »
    Ha i like everyone was eyeing up Makelele but i might have waited til round 4. Not too surprised to see he didn't last though.

My shortlist for the next 2 pics is shortening. 1 in particular I hope stays around for me

I don't know why I'm even paying attention right now as I'm so far away that absolutely everyone I want will be gone haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭KBurke85

Current Premier League Draft
    Liam O wrote: »
    I don't know why I'm even paying attention right now as I'm so far away that absolutely everyone I want will be gone haha.

Important to pay attention. I'm waiting for when someone tries to a pick a player that's already been picked haha

Only a matter of time KBurke!

What's that you say, Thierry Henry was already taken? Oh no...I meant....eh....Karl Henry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Another suggestion. When you move on you can take 1 player from your opponents team.

I didn't think Alonso would have been picked before my last one but I still had a heart attack moment when I posted last time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

martyos121 wrote: »
    Damn you KBurke! Really thought I was going to get Maka, couldn't believe Kante went before him (both are absolutely phenomenal of course, just thought Maka was that bit better).

Very close between both of them but I think Kante is a little better which is why I went for him first, barely anything between them though and probably the two best defensive midfielders in the draft. Keane up there too obviously but he was more box to box. I think there is a pretty big drop off in quality to the next DM now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Tony Adams a great pick at this stage, Incognito Man is going to have some defence. I'd say the 5 guys after him in the draft are raging, none of them have picked a defender yet so I'd say Adams was on a lot of their lists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,079 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Tony Adams a great pick at this stage, Incognito Man is going to have some defence. I'd say the 5 guys after him in the draft are raging, none of them have picked a defender yet so I'd say Adams was on a lot of their lists.

In truth I wanted Makelele this round so when that went out the window I was looking at Adams and thinking I can't let him slip by really.

I was looking at another DM but I just think Adams was the best player there to be picked.

Adams was the man I wanted, thought he was going to slip through :(

He's a player I don't remember a huge amount about (but I do distinctly remember watching that famous volley against Everton at the end of the 97-98 season), but after reading up about him he really is so well regarded by both Arsenal fans and others. He holds an odd record which I genuinely don't think we'll see broken in our lifetimes - the only player to captain a Premier League / First Division winning team in 3 different decades.

I agree he's an excellent pick at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,784 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Adams is great value, could easily have been a first round pick

Anyone good with tables that could putt together all the picks after each round?

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Anyone good with tables that could putt together all the picks after each round?

I’ll do one up on Google Sheets soon, that way I can keep it updated and share it here. Much handier than the table code here IMO.

Here’s your shiny new table:

484404.jpeg

Any mistakes, PM me. I’ll update it and share after each round when I have the time.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Good man yourself.. but I distinctly recall selecting Keane and Henry so please update accordingly..

Trigger wrote: »
    Good man yourself.. but I distinctly recall selecting Keane and Henry so please update accordingly..

Was that the Italian boy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

I'm not involved but this thread and the picks thread are great reading. Fair play to all involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Owl. wrote: »
    I'm not involved but this thread and the picks thread are great reading. Fair play to all involved.

Yeah really enjoying it great craic.

jayo26 wrote: »
    Yeah really enjoying it great craic.

It's bloody nerve wracking though especially when your shortlist gets decimated with every pick

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

It's bloody nerve wracking though especially when your shortlist gets decimated with every pick

It's like.. oh yeah I'll pick this one now and keep him for... ohh for fùck sake...

Yeah and then you are clinking on timing you have players that no one else will think of haha. Good fun tho would definitely be up for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I misread the spread sheet and just thought, well column one is going to win this easy

I really wanted to pair up KDB with Silva - I think getting a player of the undoubted quality of KDB is a great pick at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Glad to see some of the 90's players like Adams and Desailly being picked, I wondered how much recency bias there was going to be or if some of those players from the early PL days would be forgotten about, good to see that they aren't. Though there have already been a few picks that skipped the older lads in favour of a lessor modern day equivalent, and I imagine there will be more in the later rounds.

Desailly though was a genuinely world class player, I remember him coming into the league and it seemed like a man among boys at times, just a different level altogether.

Thought Petit might have dropped a couple more rounds tbh. Not a knock on him at all as he was very good. Just didn't seem like he'd go so high.

Liam O wrote: »
    Thought Petit might have dropped a couple more rounds tbh. Not a knock on him at all as he was very good. Just didn't seem like he'd go so high.

Very good player who was most definitely on my shortlist but I don't know if I am remembering correctly but felt his Chelsea form was nowhere near what he had produced for Arsenal over a shorter timeframe

His best years were at Arsenal but that's what we picking we are picking players by their peak years. As was said earlier in discussion you could pick out just as many bad years hazzard had to the good years. Petit at arsenal was awesome fantastic midfielder and not many touch him.

Had a feeling Ric would pick 2 of the guys I wanted. Still, just 14 more picks that I'll be disappointed to see :p