Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you ever miss school?

• 25-06-2019 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,215 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I see the primary schools are finish up in the next few days and I started thinking about when I finished primary school and I was happy enough moving onto secondary because it meant longer Summer holidays and being able to go down town at lunch time. I did enjoy it overall tough.

I was delighted to finish secondary school nine years ago. I couldn't wait to get out of the place. I skipped a lot of 5th/6th year. I just got fed up with the place. I think I went to the wrong school.

I don't think I miss school a lot but I did worry less then.

I don't think I'd like to go back to either for longer than a day.

Do you ever miss school?

Do you ever miss school? 165 votes

Yes, I miss school a lot
    84% 140 votes
    Yes, I miss school a little.
    4% 8 votes
    No, I don't ever miss school.
    10% 17 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I see the primary schools are finish up in the next few days and I started thinking about when I finished primary school and I was happy enough moving onto secondary because it meant longer Summer holidays and being able to go down town at lunch time. I did enjoy it overall tough.

I was delighted to finish secondary school nine years ago. I couldn't wait to get out of the place. I skipped a lot of 5th/6th year. I just got fed up with the place. I think I went to the wrong school.

I don't think I miss school a lot but I did worry less then.

I don't think I'd like to go back to either tough for longer than a day.

Do you ever miss school?

You should probably think about it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Not for a second. I still get ****ing nightmares that I have to go back, or its exam day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Nah it was horrible. Left handed metalhead in a CBS; work it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I’m a teacher so....... no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Not for a second. I still get ****ing nightmares that I have to go back, or its exam day.

Does everyone get variants of that nightmare where they're sitting in an exam hall, with a paper for a subject they never did, and someone telling them they have to pass or else they'll fail everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Bobblehats wrote: »

Sounds sinister :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I miss the friends I made in school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

An idealised version of it, where I have the life experience and confidence and stuff I have now, yeah maybe.

Live the actual experience again, no way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Fück, no.

I played truant a fair bit in the last two years of school. Got away with it because my grades were good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Bobblehats wrote: »

The brothers did not like lefties. The Devil's work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Grayson wrote: »
    Does everyone get variants of that nightmare where they're sitting in an exam hall, with a paper for a subject they never did, and someone telling them they have to pass or else they'll fail everything?

I have one where it turns out I never actually did the leaving cert and I have to retake it next week and if I don't they're going to take my degrees off me!

Weirdly enough in the dream it's only ever really the maths I'm freaking out over, pretty confident in my 12-year-old leaving cert French and biology and stuff for some reason :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Worst experience of my life.....

Hated every minute and very nearly never made it this far.... It was torture every day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

The brothers did not like lefties. The Devil's work!

The antichrist. The leather strap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

School ruined me and left me to be the pitiful creature I appear before you today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I miss the craic a bit sometimes, but then I also don't miss the crappy and nasty teachers. I'd love to be able to call them out on their sh*t, as we didn't have the confidence or know-how back then.

I wouldn't want to be a teenager these days though.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,208 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Like a f###in hole in the head.

Primary, great craic. Secondary, no thanks. Parents sent me to a private school, I endured but never clicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

Just the summer holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I remember when I was in there and hating it I got talking to a lad that was gone from that particular secondary school a few years and studying art, living the dream as far as I felt. "I'd love just one day back there" he'd say. I thought he was nuts. I wasn't long gone when I had the same desire and his one-day wish made sense.

Thing is when you are gone a few years that one day back there seems like fun. The teachers have nothing over you. There is no exam and no consequences. But the reality for the people jumping through the hoops and trying to comply and get that LC on a day-to-day basis is no comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I left school at the first opportunity I could. After the junior cert I decided not to go back after the summer holidays and try to get into some kind of FAS course. After the holidays I went back to get my junior cert results from the principal and to tell him I wouldn't be returning. He told me I was making a mistake and that I was destroying my future job prospects. That was the furthest thing from my mind. I just had to get the fuck out of there because if I had to put up with any more bullying scumbags making my life a misery I honestly think I would have killed myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

No. I'm a teacher so never too far away from it.

I was a teen less than 10 years ago but you couldn't pay me to be one in this day and age. Massive changes in the last few years.
    Social media has a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Nope.

Most of the classes were dull, many incompetent teachers and any amount of inbred illiterate assholes that I had to share a space with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

No..... I still get the chills

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Fück, no.

I played truant a fair bit in the last two years of school. Got away with it because my grades were good.

Did you go to school in England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

If I do, I just stand in the corner with a metal waste paper bin on my head.

If, on the very odd occasion, that doesn't quite do it I get herself to wack with a stick a couple of times while shouting Latin verbs.

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Did you go to school in England?

That term can only be used in the UK? What’s the term for it in Ireland? AH never ceases to surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭patmahe

branie2 wrote: »
    I miss the friends I made in school

Bingo, I think its the seeing your friends every day that people miss. That and the odd teacher who went above and beyond. So the people rather than the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

That term can only be used in the UK? What’s the term for it in Ireland? AH never ceases to surprise.

Lord Snooty on the Beano might have called it truant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭beveragelady

I hated homework and exams but I loved school. I started primary school right after corporal punishment was abolished and for four years I had the nicest lady as my teacher. My other teachers were sound too, but we all loved her. In secondary I had the usual mix of duds and delights but it was a very nice unremarkable rural school. There was a real mix of social backgrounds and in general we were unaware of them. I was very lucky, I had the good sense at the time to appreciate it too. Craic with friends, romances, entertaining classes, the odd stand-out day like a sports day or a trip away. I have talked to friends who were in school at the same time as I was in other parts of the country and it sounds hellish.
    I'm a teacher now and it really bothers me to see the kids who seem to genuinely hate their time in school. I think sometimes it comes from their parents, who might have endured a pretty rough time under corporal punishment or because of teachers' insufficient awareness of special needs. We all love a day off, or even a class off, but I think the majority of today's students will have fond memories, maybe not of me specifically, but of their school days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Nope.

Most of the classes were dull, many incompetent teachers and any amount of inbred illiterate assholes that I had to share a space with.

Some, not all, of the less academically inclined were farmers sons and the messers were usually the sons of business owners who had a family job in the bag anyway.

Teachers, half and half, between really good and really useless dopes. Think the good ones were hamstrung by the shyte outdated curriculum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Hated secondary school. The cruelty of teenagers should not be underestimated, like being in jail sometimes, you just can’t leave no matter how much you hate it.
    Am a bit envious of people who got on better, if you fitted in at that stage you probably had a great time. Probably leaves you in a good place facing into the adult world too.
    But I HATED it:) All in the past anyway and adult life is much better. For kids who hate it I’d advise talking to someone and you should know things will get a lot better if you can find the resilience to keep going until the Leaving Cert. I would actually have been a good enough student, all honours subjects, never in trouble etc, but an awful time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Some, not all, of the less academically inclined were farmers sons and the messers were usually the sons of business owners who had a family job in the bag anyway.

Teachers, half and half, between really good and really useless dopes. Think the good ones were hamstrung by the shyte outdated curriculum.

Nail on the head there, I actually wanted to learn but the messers and mad lads made it virtually impossible in a lot of cases.

If you want to **** around only later to take up a position at Daddy's business, you shouldn't waste other peoples time.

For my LC cycle for the subject of English I had no less than three separate teachers over two years and one of them was a sub which we had for nearly a year and could not teach nor control a classroom. Laughable.

Lord Snooty on the Beano might have called it truant.

Should I just have said ‘mitched’? I didn’t think I needed to dumb it down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭NoteAgent

I actually didn't mind my teachers. It was my classmates. Utter scum some of them. One of them insisted on trying to start a fist fight with me most days. Would love if he turned up dead somewhere tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Whenever someone asks me why I've done martial arts since my teens I half joke that growing up as red curly hair in Ballymun meant I was either going to be an Olympic sprinter or a fighter!.

I fvcking hated school and was bullied horribly throughout, seemed like I was in a fight in the fields at least every other day.

During my teens I went to a Christian brothers school, they were a violent shower of cunts too.

All through that, then into martial arts and 25 yrs as a bouncer I still have no understanding of violent intent, or bullies.

I could nearly write a book on my experiences of bullies.

I actually met one of my school tormentors when I was working a door in Templebar. I hadn't seen him in probably more than 15 yrs, when I seen him first I got nervous (just fleetingly).. But by this time I was 6'2'' and 18 solid stone, he near crapped himself.

I hated school.
    Would love if he turned up dead somewhere tbh

I've a few of those bastards too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I liked Secondary school.

Very good teachers for the most part and decent classmates.

I miss the innocence of it all, drinking for the first time, dating for the first time, the excitement for the future.

Secondary school was a pretty positive experience and I do miss it sometimes. I went back there a while ago for a teachers retirement and it was nice seeing my old teachers again. I was lucky.

Primary school was less positive, an English accent and a teacher who both bullied me and encouraged other kids to bully me because I'm a 'little Brit' has left it's mark on me, probably always will.

Primary school in Ireland, secondary in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

It's almost 30 yrs since I did the leaving but I often remark to myself when I'm sitting down of an evening "Thank fcuk I don't have to face into hours of homework".
    I can still picture that bloody German book and trying to get through it. Deciphering poems and Shakespeare and God forbid PEIG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,215 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

NoteAgent wrote: »
    I actually didn't mind my teachers. It was my classmates. Utter scum some of them. One of them insisted on trying to start a fist fight with me most days. Would love if he turned up dead somewhere tbh

I had annoying classmates and teachers my advantage with the class mates was at least I could tell the classmates where to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,645 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I liked Secondary school.

Very good teachers for the most part and decent classmates.

I miss the innocence of it all, drinking for the first time, dating for the first time, the excitement for the future.

Yes, I can totally identify with that. The idea of the whole of life being all ahead of you.

Doesn't last of course ("Oh yeah, life goes on, long after the thrill of living is gone" - Jack & Diane, was about it being a fleeting moment and then discovering that adult life is boring and mundane).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

No but I sometimes miss the simplicity and security of how life was back then. It'd be nice not to be the adult in the room sometimes. Having to deal with adult crap is wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,215 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was actually thinking about this more and I don't think I'd like to go back to school at all. Not because of social media but the teachers seem a lot more nosy/annoying with all there assemblies/schemes going on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I miss my youth more than I would ever miss school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I drive past my old secondary school every day on the way to work and i miss it.

School for me was great if I'm honest. The majority of the teachers were grand and I had a ton of friends.

There was a group of five of us that were inseparable until our mid twenties and we had such a laugh. I have so many good memories.

I wouldn't do it now with social media and a world full of spoilt dicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

I didn't get to do Geography for the LC (it was a choice between that and Chemistry), but I had a nightmare about five years afterwards, when my brother was sitting his exams. Long story short, the exam required me to go out to the football pitch behind my old school with the plans for a house and a construction crew and get the whole thing finished by the end of the day. I'm not sure where my brain made the connection to Geography papers, and I never did Construction for the LC either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

HELL NO!

I experienced something like that for real.

I didn't do German for the junior cert, and only took it up in 5th year, so early on I knew I'd have to sit the pass paper. All my other subjects were Higher Level (this matters for a particular reason)

On the morning of the German exam, I sort of took the white (higher) paper just out of habit. I sat in the exam hall in a cold sweat for about 30 minutes, before realising the reason I couldn't make sense of it was because it was the wrong level. Major panic. I almost shat myself (things get blown out of proportion in exam halls). For some reason, the invigilator was extremely kind and understanding, and allowed me to take the pass paper anyway, even after having staring at the Honours paper for half an hour.

I can't understand to this day how I was so stupid as to attempt the wrong paper. I can only put it down to stress. Oddly enough I don't ever have Leaving Cert nightmares, I just cringe when I recall my stupidity on that morning, and being the butt of a lot of jokes over those exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

They say "School day's are the best day's of your life".
    I say "The worst thing about been that age is having to go to school".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

If it was like this though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Do you ever miss school?

I don’t miss it, but I did love school and I’m still passionate about education. I was very fortunate in one sense though because my mother was a teacher in the primary school I went to, and my old man was on the board of management in my secondary school.

So that kinda meant I was always held to higher standards than the other children - something which became obvious to me quite early in my school years when I accidentally flicked a pen across the classroom as I was thrusting my hand up to answer a question, and as my mother was rapping her knuckles on my head, my pleading for leniency, “ahh jesus ma, ma!” had the rest of the class in stitches (I can look back and laugh at it now, but at the time I was fairly resentful of their reactions :pac:).

In a way I had a significant advantage over the other children too in that when it was discovered I was dyslexic (or “retarded” as some people at the time referred to learning difficulties), my parents who were passionate about education themselves anyway, pushed me that much harder to ensure I would have every opportunity in relation to my education.

I wanted to pass the same on to my child so when his teacher in primary school remarked that he had the reading ability of a sixteen year old at six years of age, I thought his reading ability was appropriate for his age and that perhaps it was just that the overall literacy standards nationally have dropped since the time I was in primary school. The curriculum nowadays has changed alright, and in a lot of ways standards have dropped, and there does appear to me at least to be not enough focus on children achieving their academic potential in schools, and too much focus on their social and personal development. For me personally, I don’t think that’s a positive development in formal education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I don't miss it, but would look back on it with rose-tinted glasses. I had a generally happy school life.

It would be nice to have that teenage, ache-free body back again too.