Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal boy racers showing their true colours once again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭selectamatic

4 arrests for dangerous driving and 4 for drink driving. That's not that bad really when you consider how many people were there. Most of which probably weren't from Donegal at all.

The vast majority of arrests were relating to people on the beer in the town which has very little to do with "boy racers"

Good outrage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,684 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Sure they know the roads.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

And they'll call the guards scum etc, would they not just leave the young lads alone???

The sooner these scum fests are gotten rid of the better.

I would hazard a guess that if if this event was held in ant other county there would be a similar amount of arrests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

It’s considered impolite to say it, but Donegal people are the most backward in the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I would hazard a guess that if if this event was held in ant other county there would be a similar amount of arrests

Yeah, when it's held in Kerry it attracts scobes in shïtmobiles like flies to shyte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

They're a disgrace up there, and then they come down this far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

What action do the hardheaded, no-nonsense pragmatists of after hours recommend so that we can deal with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

People who follow ‘the rally’ tend to be knuckle-dragging mouth breathers anyway. Lads with the signs of foetal alcohol syndrome in bootcut jeans and jackets. Stumpy little fat women with bleached blonde hair. Dutch techno music is the soundtracks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

What action do the hardheaded, no-nonsense pragmatists of after hours recommend so that we can deal with this?

Blast them with piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

I seen snapchats from few lads i known were at the rally

Looked some craic and a wild AF night :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

The guards are disappointed. They're not angry, just disappointed. I hope those lads are happy now.

D9vJ984XsAErHiT.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Pkiernan wrote: »

Where does it say they were from Donegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

It’s considered impolite to say it, but Donegal people are the most backward in the Republic.

Navan is perfectly backward to be fair...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Where does it say they were from Donegal?

The cars mustn't have had tax or test. It's a dead giveaway of Donegal ownership.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Is this the official Donegal bashing thread for today?

Just before I start can I ask if anyone has the statistics for the number of arrests in Dublin, Belfast, Limerick and ehhh ahem … Cork last night? I would like to know. I can tell you there was a lot more than 41.

Given that last night was the shortest one the country has seen all year I am actually not too surprised. The fact that there was an international car rally would indicate that it is highly likely that Letterkenny cut loose on the wheel spins. There is nothing new to see here, it happens every year at the Donegal rally.

Up Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Kerry, Roscommon and indeed parts of my own county Mayo would like to have a word.

Also some Dubs should really stay in the Pale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Klim

As someone who lives in the town, can I just say the article does not reflect reality.

It's worse. Neanderthals descend for three days, a large portion of whom don't watch a single second of the rally. Litter, wreck,, drink and diff on every square inch they find. I cannot stress how much the majority of locals cannot stand it, but 'sure it's good for the local business, let them be'.

I don't know how the guards do it.

Today's news will be a sobering reality check for many when it breaks though.

I thought that was "Dubliners" a few months ago? Or was it people with "Planter surnames"? Or "Protestants"? or "Tesco workers"?

Not for the first time, I get the distinct impression that you meet more "impolite" people than anybody else on this website meets. Must be all that charm and that really culturally odd (to put it mildly) interest you have in excrement.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Klim wrote: »
    As someone who lives in the town, can I just say the article does not reflect reality.

It's worse. Neanderthals descend for three days, a large portion of whom don't watch a single second of the rally. Litter, wreck,, drink and diff on every square inch they find. I cannot stress how much the majority of locals cannot stand it, but 'sure it's good for the local business, let them be'.

I don't know how the guards do it.

Today's news will be a sobering reality check for many when it breaks though.

Something to do with this?

https://www.rte.ie/news/ulster/2019/0623/1057029-donegal-rally-crash/

Yep. Some awful, horrendous news coming. Saying nothing till its officially announced.

A desperate day up here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Yep. Some awful, horrendous news coming. Saying nothing till its officially announced.

A desperate day up here

Drama queen post that.

A competitor has been killed

The crash happened at 12.30pm on Super Stage 15 on the Fanad Head Loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭theguzman

The Rally of the Lakes in Killarney is the same, an absolute knackerfest, every inch of tarmac burned with donuts, idiots driving and the noise is a disgrace. The Donegal Rally is much bigger and worse and it promotes the boyracer culture which has kept the coffin makers of Donegal in business. Both Rallies should be banned and all Glanzas, Twins Cams and welded Diff BMW's etc rounded up and crushed, ideally with the occupants still inside.

gctest50 wrote: »
    Drama queen post that.

Eh? Think you'll look a right tit when the news breaks at four, tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

theguzman wrote: »
    The Rally of the Lakes in Killarney is the same, an absolute knackerfest, every inch of tarmac burned with donuts, idiots driving and the noise is a disgrace. The Donegal Rally is much bigger and worse and it promotes the boyracer culture which has kept the coffin makers of Donegal in business. Both Rallies should be banned and all Glanzas, Twins Cams and welded Diff BMW's etc rounded up and crushed, ideally with the occupants still inside.

What are your hobbies and interests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Eh? Think you'll look a right tit when the news breaks at four, tbh.

That was according to de radio :

http://www.highlandradio.com/2019/06/23/competitor-killed-in-donegal-international-rally/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Country lads having the craic. Bit of noise and messing one weekend of the year, hardly an epidemic?

If you’re appalled and outraged at what happens at the Lakes or Donegal you’ve little to bother you tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Bulls**t wind-up post. It'd be like that every weekend if it was Donegal fellas causing the trouble. It's because Letterkenny is full of people from all over the country. Doesn't take much thought to realise this

gctest50 wrote: »

Its exactly what I was referring too, so how was I being a drama queen?

I know exactly what and who was involved, which is why it is such a tragedy.

There will be official confirmation at four. Its absolutely devastating news, that's not being in any way dramatic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Build a race track put a show on every Saturday ...let them race for money we can all watch ....be class

Enough of the nanny state!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭corks finest

Ano ppl here on this forum ref Donegal road deaths are anyone including myself when I pointed out total disregard Donegal boy racer driversgave for the highway code, and for the population of the county far too many( way above what it should be)young ppl driving at speed/ drunk or impaired/ without seat belts/ speeding/full of dope etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

There were a large number of fines for disorderly behaviour while driving at the Killarney, and from the list, none of those had a Kerry address, they came from all over the country, down for the rally, they should stay home if they cannot behave themselves, and handed a good cash fine when caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Build a race track put a show on every Saturday ...let them race for money we can all watch ....be class

Enough of the nanny state!

Also i want a rodeo!

And no I am not trolling.

Give them somewhere to race??

There will be official confirmation at four. Its absolutely devastating news, that's not being in any way dramatic

Was it a rally car and a driver/co-pilot by any chance? Competing in a dangerous sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Bulls**t wind-up post. It'd be like that every weekend if it was Donegal fellas causing the trouble. It's because Letterkenny is full of people from all over the country. Doesn't take much thought to realise this

Everyone knows that Donegal roads are lethal, especially at night.

Every year there's horrific accidents. It's our equivalent of US school shootings. Nothing done about dangerous drunken boy racers.
    Just thoughts and prayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,513 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Blueshoe wrote: »
    What are your hobbies and interests?

I'd say phoning the Joe Duff show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭corks finest

And ppl here on this forum ref Donegal road deaths are anyone including myself when I pointed out total disregard Donegal boy racer driversgave for the highway code, and for the population of the county far too many( way above what it should be)young ppl driving at speed/ drunk or impaired/ without seat belts/ speeding/full of dope etc etc
    goat2 wrote: »
    There were a large number of fines for disorderly behaviour while driving at the Killarney, and from the list, none of those had a Kerry address, they came from all over the country, down for the rally, they should stay home if they cannot behave themselves, and handed a good cash fine when caught
    Yes but the difference is Donegal has had some of the worst fatalities ref young drivers in the country,they don't learn, parents need to take responsibility aswell

Also i want a rodeo!

And no I am not trolling.

Give them somewhere to race??

You would think there are no racetracks in the country where you can compete, or simply attend a track day in your own car.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Was it a rally car and a driver/co-pilot by any chance? Competing is a dangerous sport?

Oh, sorry, my fault. I'll just text his family and let them know. Be grand now, cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Its tragic, but rallying is a dangerous sport and the competitors know this better than anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Everyone knows that Donegal roads are lethal, especially at night.

Every year there's horrific accidents. It's our equivalent of US school shootings. Nothing done about dangerous drunken boy racers.
    Just thoughts and prayers.

Still not revealing how you think Donegal drivers caused all the problems last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

I take it your from donegal then.

This, it's tragic news but by the time of some of the posts I thought a few spectators had been killed as well or something like that.

You are all making out as if I'm defending the cursed thing! I despise every aspect of it, and having to endure it every year, near making me prisoner in my own home.

But some things are bigger, like today's news. Its rocked everyone. Remains to be seen if it has the same effect on the diffing gimps around the town mind you.

It could be a tipping point though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭masit

I was up there for the weekend. Driving around Letterkenny you see all the boys and girls that are in there late teens early 20’s. Most who only go for the messing around the town and ever watch a second of the rally. There is a live report from the end of stages and the pubs would have these on, so needless to say, they don’t have to leave the pub. McDonalds car park was full of them, everywhere you looked there was some kind of boy racing car. Out of all the arrests, only 4 related to road offences. The media love to jump on all the bad things related to rallying and now with the accident involving the competitor they’ll have a field day. From a great first 2 days rallying related to a dark day for Donegal rallying this morning. RIP.

Motorsport in this country is sadly getting to the stage were it is becoming unsustainable. There's a perfect storm of increasing costs, insurance etc., and onerous red tape. Just to top it off you then have the "fans" who give events a very bad rep with their disgusting loutish behaviour.

You are all making out as if I'm defending the cursed thing! I despise every aspect of it, and having to endure it every year, near making me prisoner in my own home.

But some things are bigger, like today's news. Its rocked everyone. Remains to be seen if it has the same effect on the diffing gimps around the town mind you.

It could be a tipping point though.

Road racing is always dangerous for bikes and cars. They have multiples of the power of the machines that competed over half a century ago, yet the roads haven't changed much at all.

I feel bad even pointing this out, but it's almost expected nowadays to have serious injuries and worse at these events.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Road racing is always dangerous for bikes and cars. They have multiples of the power of the machines that competed over half a century ago, yet the roads haven't changed much at all.

I feel bad even pointing this out, but it's almost expected nowadays to have serious injuries and worse at these events.

The technology didn't just advance the speed of the cars you know. Smh

Rallying has never been safer than now. But of course the popularity of the sport is proportional to the amount of danger, it is not a coincidence that the sport it had its hayday in the group b era of the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭recyclebin

The Donegal and Kerry rallys attract the roughest of scum. It gives such a bad name to motorsport in Ireland. Most normal rally fans avoid them and go to to the regular rallies throughout the country where you don't see any trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

Don't you know its the curry chips brigade.. Sellthick supporting, up the ra chanting, dole sponging ignorant thicks..which that county is full of.