Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So my Saturday was ruined as I ended up having to spend six hours in A and E

• 23-06-2019 9:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,431 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

Not fun I can tell ye. I did get to see some interesting and strange characters do. One lad must have thought he was in the cinema as he was stuffing himself with crisps and bars but was also making a constants throat noise but was hard to tell what was wrong wit him. Maybe something to do with breeding or throat but eating crap and then going for a smoke will not help that.
    Another poor women came in with her husband with a bleeding forehead as something had exploded in front of her. She was there after me and got seen to before which only seemed right. Then there was a couple with there young son who looked to me in agony poor kid Something to do with his belly althogh after seeing the nurse he was a little better and asking for a McDonalds. I hope he got sorted. There was another kid about 12 who looked like he had broke his wrist playing football. He was there with his parents. There was also a young one there with a denim mini on that must have had her day ruined too. She was with her mum. I think she had got dizzy and fainted during the day. She had one of them things on her arm that put on you to take blood. They were there before me but seemed to be gone or at least must have got to go see a doctor after I had been called.
    There was also a few lads there on crutches.
    One had his wife bring him a sandwiche and some cake and not long after got out. He was there at least 6 hours as well do.
    As for me well a big dog decided my hand looked like a nice sandwiche.

When was the last time you people were in A and E?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭uptherebels

AMKC wrote: »
    Not fun I can tell ye. I did get to see some interesting and strange characters do. One lad must have thought he was in the cinema as he was stuffing himself with crisps and bars but was also making a constants throat noise but was hard to tell what was wrong wit him. Maybe something to do with breeding or throat but eating crap and then going for a smoke will not help that.
    Another poor women came in with her husband with a bleeding forehead as something had exploded in front of her. She was there after me and got seen to before which only seemed right. Then there was a couple with there young son who looked to me in agony poor kid Something to do with his belly althogh after seeing the nurse he was a little better and asking for a McDonalds. I hope he got sorted. There was another kid about 12 who looked like he had broke his wrist playing football. He was there with his parents. There was also a young one there with a denim mini on that must have had her day ruined too. She was with her mum. I think she had got dizzy and fainted during the day. She had one of them things on her arm that put on you to take blood. They were there before me but seemed to be gone or at least must have got to go see a doctor after I had been called.
    One had his wife bring him a sandwiche and some cake and not long after got out. He was there at least 6 hours as well do.

Last time in ireland, about 13 years ago, 12 hours for an x-ray on a broken elbow. Finally told they can't see the break on the x-ray because of the position my arm was in due to the swelling. Told it's broken, given a sling and some painkillers.

Not fun I can tell ye.

No better summary.

A few months ago, clattered the head and become dizzy with nausea. Timing was off, the 'cousins' arrived en masse - battered and bloodied from a cultural exchange of differences. Another scuffle broke out in A&E, chanced two paracetamol and made my exit stage left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Sorry op.

Are you ok?

Get better soon.
    xx :)

Last time was for a seizure. I have virtually no memory of the experience to be honest. And some of it is 'fake memory'.

About 6 months ago. Had a car accident and went down with some shoulder/neck pain.

I'd say i was the only one there that needed to actually see a doctor. Everyone else (about the dozen or so people that came and went whilst I was there - seemed a quiet night) looked like they were just acting the bollocks or out of their heads on drugs. I'd rather be homeless and get kicked in the face each day than work as a security guard in there.

EDIT: Took me a swift 9 hours to get seen. Then about an hour after that I was out the door. Longest night of my life. Never, ever again, unless I'm actually on the verge of legitimate death, will I go to A+E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I had to go to Emergency in Faro about two weeks ago as I fell and hurt my ankle. It was 10.30pm on Saturday night so I was dreading it. It turned out to be a breeze. I was seen, x-rayed, and put in a cast within 90 mins before being sent back to the hotel. Very few people in Emergency there compared to what you’d see back in Ireland.

When I got home, I went to the Emergency department at the Beacon where I got it all checked out again. The Portuguese doctor had thought I might need surgery to put a plate on the fracture, but thankfully that’s not required. More x-rays and a new, lighter fibreglass cast. Total time was under 2 hours.

Hopefully it will be quite a while before I’ll need to go to Emergency again.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Last time I was in it took 12 hours just to be taken in. I was referred by a GP. They eventually put me on a trolley and I fell asleep only to be woken up by a doctor (I was fairly disorientated at this stage) barking at me asking me what I took. I hadn't taken anything. I suppose it's a standard question. Before I was taken in a girl and her boyfriend stumbled in during the early hours of the morning. She was hysterical and covered in blood. Looked like she had taken a bad fall. The hardest thing during the whole thing for me was the boredom. It was hard keeping your mind occupied with a flat phone and nothing else to distract yourself. Thankfully I wasn't in any pain, it would have been a different story then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Probably three quarters of the staff were new Irish or whatever the phrase is. The system would collapse without them. I saw a doctor introducing herself to the nurses, who had no idea who she was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

Try having adult circumcision, now that hurts I can tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Pissartist wrote: »

Where did it hurt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

The OP is exactly the reason that I'm delighted to be a VHI customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Kidney stones a few years ago. 9 hours waiting to see a doctor. To be fair when I got through to see the doc I got great care. Immediately taken for a cat scan and the staff were lovely (james).

Loads of junkies in and out in various states of distress and a good few kids who got seen fairly quickly. I didn't mind waiting as I'd been given strong pain relief and the staff seemed to be under enough pressure without me adding to it.

Funny story....As I had been seen, the doctor had to fill out a questionnaire for me. Usual questions...Age, marital status etc. One of the questions was my sexual orientation...Gay, straight, monogamous etc. The next question was "do you have an active sexual relationship"?...I answered with "well I'm married so you can put down No"!!
    We both got a laugh out of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

6 hours? You must have got the VIP treatment. A friends elderly mother had a bad fall recently busted face and arm. 11 hours only to be told the face had healed too much to stitch it up so she'll hace a scar now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

In January with a baby....I nearly cried at the "waiting time - 7 hours" handwritten (scribbled) on the whiteboard in Temple St waiting room.

Three years ago in Beaumont A&E in November with himself.He punctured a lung (discovered after he went to Beaumont).Carnage didn't begin to describe it.Two days on a trolley with a tube in his chest before being moved to a ward (and he was lucky...he had a trolley).In those two days his trolley was swapped for other trolleys three times-some trolleys apparently have better mattresses or ...I don't know...up and down functionality...than other trolleys.You couldn't write this crap.The porters will always give you more information than the medical staff.The place was overflowing with elderly people in those chairs they stick in every free corner of the place, winter season was in full swing.I was very angry by the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Private A&E for me, fcuk the cost it's worth every penny. The last time I did damage was on a Saturday evening, I waited til Monday morning and went to the mater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭pummice

A couple of years ago had a colonoscopy, all seemed to go ok then I was let go home. Half an hour at home felt seriously unwell, rang the hospital, they said come back in through a&e. Went to a&e with bad tummy pains, other half had to pay €100 to get me in. Thankfully seen quickly by triage, by then I was vomiting. Was released later that day with painkillers. Spent the next 2 days in bed at home with severe cramps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,899 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

About 8 years ago, in the UK. Broke my finger. Got a taxi to the hospital, went to the desk and was put to the front of the queue (my finger was pointing sideways across the rest of my hand).

I waited about 20 mins and was seen by a doctor who have me the gas pipe while he dealt with something more urgent. Half an hour later he came back, popped it into place and sent me for xrays. Nurse bandaged the hand and doctor looked at the xrays. Made an appointment to see a surgeon a few days later and got a taxi home.

The whole thing took about 2.5 hours. Great service. It shows what can be achieved if the service is properly staffed and funded by government. Unfortunately the Tories are doing their best to starve the NHS to the point that it looks like privatisation is worth a try. Real shame. The NHS might be the thing I'd be most proud of if I were British and it's being whittled away.

Hopefully the Irish people come to support the measures necessary to fund the Irish medical service and fix things like A&E. The stories sound dreadful.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Why would you present to an Emergency Department for circumcision?

My work brings me to the ED on a daily basis, I have learned to zone out from what’s going on in the melee and focus on who I’m there to see. The current set up in primary care isn’t designed to keep people out of the ED, it’s a disaster but that’s another story for another day.

Last time I presented to ED as a patient was last August. While I was technically walking and talking (just about) I was seriously ill, it was promptly recognised and treated appropriately as the emergency it was. From registration to triage was only about 20 minutes and I was brought directly to the treatment area, got a bed on a ward about 11 hours after initially presenting. This was in a public hospital (not the one I work in, in case anyone would suggest that the care I received was preferential or anything other than proportional)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Yourmama

Makes no difference in a&e tbh. Friend of mine was left waiting 12 hours to be seen and vhi policy wasn't making the process any quicker

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,345 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Does it make a difference queueing in A&E? It didn't for me, nor do I think it should.

Went in with abdominal pain, eventually turned out to be a 'burst appendix'. Waited from 1pm to 9pm to be seen, lots of nomadic folk up supporting some young one who had got a bent finger somehow. They were hogging loads of seats. A young man who was propping up the wall (because they had taken the seats) suddenly became very grey in the face and slipped to the floor. Out burst a battleaxe style older nurse and shifted the supportive friends and we all got a bit of peace. Young man got whisked away.

I ended up getting treated with IV antibiotics and admitted for 10 days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

OP, what type of dog was it?

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Caller,what type of dog was it?

Is that you, Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Yourmama wrote: »
    Makes no difference in a&e tbh. Friend of mine was left waiting 12 hours to be seen and vhi policy wasn't making the process any quicker

Shouldn’t make any difference in public Emergency departments. They’re handled on a triage system for all.

But people with insurance can access private Emergency departments (as can anyone who’s willing to pay), or can use the private clinics e.g. Swiftcare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Insurance makes no difference in terms of access to public hospitals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

I’ve had a few recently with herself, her Mam was also sick back in October and the oul lads missus was also sick, I have spent way more time in hospitals in the last 12 months than I’d like. The Mater, Beaumont, blanch James’s you name it. Every hospital is a different experience but last time A&E was about 4 months ago, she fainted and was having a few other issues, we were advised to go to A&E immediately after getting her bloods checked that morning by her GP.
    The GP (I **** you not) faxed a letter to Blanch A&E for the missus to get seen to. 13 hours we waited went to hospital at 2pm on a Tuesday seen doctor at 3am and home at 4am Wednesday.
    We just felt defeated by the time we got to the doctor it felt like a big waste of time. Thankfully it wasn’t. But the doctor seen us after 13 hours (brilliant doctor btw) or whatever and then told us she needed to refer us to another team but we will have to wait maybe 3 hours or so, we called it a day. I had work the following morning at 8, she obviously stayed at home and stayed off work. I HATE hospitals. Going private next year after I buy me house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

I had an ingrown hair in my bum crack. It was a cyst about size of a golfball. Went to the doctor. Gave me a letter to go straight to a&e.
    Went to Beaumont. Couldn’t sit down with it. Was waiting 20 hours in the waiting room. Yes 20. Lying down on the floor. Getting very odd looks. Eventually got brought into the main bit in a&e and spent a further 10 hours lying on the floor. Least the nurses understood why. They didn’t have a bed free.
    Eventually got one and straight into surgery. That was unexpected. I didn’t know that was coming. 4 days in hospital then.

A&e is no craic at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,606 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I've had a couple of admissions via A+E over the last month.
    In UHL, a brand new "state of the art" emergency department.
    1st visit, with GP referral. Seen by triage nurse within 15 minutes. Then assigned to one of the treatment areas immediately. 3hrs to be seen by a doctor and then at least I got some quality pain relief.
    A+E doctor admitted me and referred me to Urology and another @4hrs before the registrar's were out of surgery.
    Reviewed, admitted and finally on a trolley @ 7.5hrs after 1st presenting.
    That night in UHL, 69 patients on trolleys.
    Now the standard of care and attention from the staff and nurses was excellent, but it was offset by the lack of privacy and basic dignity afforded to many patients when their treatment is being carried out on a crowded corridor.
    Was in A+E for @ 36hrs before discharge.

I was admitted again via A+E 2 weeks later for the same issue, similar experience in A+E another 36hrs in A+E on a trolley before my trolley was moved to a different ward @2a.m where I spent another 12hrs on my trolley before being given a bed.

The really mad thing was I got talking to a nurse who had served 25yrs in a European military including multiple active deployments.
    He was aghast at the triage and patient management in operation.
    He couldn't understand how a service such as the HSE could spend so much on equipment, facilities and staff yet not have any coherent admission or bed management plan.

A&e is no craic at all.

Hope your own craic is recovering well tho ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭This is it

Brought my Nana a few weeks ago after a dizzy spell. A&E for about an hour and then sent to the main hospital to see a consultant, there for about 4 hours total, not so bad.

Last time I was there myself it was about 12 hours and lots of waiting around but I wasn't in a terribly bad way so I didn't mind, triage system seems to work for the most part from my, admittedly, little experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

dudara wrote: »
    I was seen, x-rayed, and put in a cast within 90 mins
    Which is how it work here too, if people treated the emergency department as an emergency department. And not ‘the doctor’.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

The brother was sitting in a chair for 7 hours with a broken leg. Was given the occasional ice pack.

endacl wrote: »
    Which is how it work here too, if people treated the emergency department as an emergency department. And not ‘the doctor’.

Just on that. GPs always refer you to A&E.
    Anyone know why that is? Always wondered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

My last time was cellulitis in my face, excruciating pain, face swelled to twice the size after getting hit with a slate at work and needing 15 stitches on my head, my appearance alone was enough to get me in and on antibiotics straight away, I spent the week in hospital with it, it was more than enough for me

I've had the need for stitches several times since and my doctor has stitched me up, unless its hanging off I'm not going to A&E

Pro tip if you ever break any bones and live in Dublin.

The mater have a rapid injury clinic in Smithfield. At the top of the square opposite the cobblestone.
    It’s really swank and you’ll be seen in no time regardless if you’re on a medical card or have insurance.
    It’s a completely different experience than the hellish waiting rooms of the mater proper or Beaumont or James’

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Private A&E for me, fcuk the cost it's worth every penny. The last time I did damage was on a Saturday evening, I waited til Monday morning and went to the mater.

We have private health insurance.A punctured lung won't wait.
    The instant he was x-rayed, he was sent to straight to A&E, waited ten mins, was called and treated.But hanging around for a bed took two days.
    They then tried to get him to sign for his insurance to cover the bed.We have semi-private insurance.He was placed on a high-dependency ward of 10 beds due to his problem.Not even near semi-private.
    Total scam.

shesty wrote: »
    The instant he was x-rayed, he was sent to straight to A&E, waited ten mins, was called and treated.But hanging around for a bed took two days.
    They then tried to get him to sign for his insurance to cover the bed.We have semi-private insurance.He was placed on a high-dependency ward of 10 beds due to his problem.Not even near semi-private.
    Total scam.

My mates a nurse and says the same about insurance being a scam. It makes no difference at all you get the same care according to him and he’s in the job 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

St Vincent’s A&E about 3 weeks ago on a Thursday. Hurt ankle playing football. Got in about 9pm. Triaged about 9:15 x-rayed by 10 and saw doctor about 11ish. Wasn’t broken just tendons so let go home with painkillers about 11:30.

Busy night in there. Must have been about 10 others with sports injuries. Couple of ankles, 2 dislocated shoulders by the looks of them and a bunch of finger injuries. Mix of sports too soccer GAA and Tag from the kit.

As well as that a bunch of people who was hard to identify what was wrong. Steady stream of ambulances as well.

All the staff I interacted with were great.

Last time was in February with my grandmother as she had a very bad kidney infection (only has one kidney and is 95). Was in there for hours. She didn’t get into a ward until the evening after.

Last time (and only time) I was admitted myself was when I was a teenager and dislocated my kneecap. Was horrendous! Arrived at 6pm, was lying on a trolly with a dislocated kneecap until about 1 in the morning. They could only give me a small bit of morphine as I was too young, did nothing. Brought me for an X-ray while my kneecap was still dislocated and had to manoeuvre it around, will never forget the pain! Finally got sedated and they popped it back in. Was in a cast for 6 weeks after.

Both times were in Tralee general (hell).

Total scam.

I'm in the strange position of having a medical card due to a long term illness aswell as HI thru work.
    Same situation on my last admission, finally got into a bed @2days after admission.
    2 bed semi private room, when someone from admissions comes up to get me to sign the Laya form.
    Said nope, was admitted as a public patient and happy to stay that way.
    30 mins later I was moved to another bed on the surgical assessment unit.

HI is great for accessing queue jumping for tests and treatment but IMHO serves no real benefit when admitted to an acute hospital.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

My mates a nurse and says the same about insurance being a scam. It makes no difference at all you get the same care according to him and he’s in the job 20 years.

A male nurse, not sure I could do that myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

About 2 months ago. Last time 20 years ago.
    Arrive at the desk. Got a taxi up.
    Said my heart feels weird pain in shoulder.
    Sit down. Full of all sorts. Drunks and Junkies. Quite busy it was Thursday night. I’m like this is of a waste of time. Going to be here for hours. When I see the nurse I’m out of here.

About 5 minutes later. I’m called to the nurse. Nice casual chat about how I feel. Sticks an ecg on me. “Your not imagine this” he said to me. The look on his face.
    Boom all hell breaks lose. I’m wheeled outside. Nurse’s and doctors around me.
    “Your heart is beating very fast. You can only sustain this for a short period then you can go into cardiac arrest. We need to put you to sleep and shock you. And we need to do it now”
    I’m like WTF.
    All in all between getting to the hospital and knocked out and shocked was probably less than 15 minutes.

My heart went into VT. It was going 228 beats. Possibly for 3 hours. My naivety could have killed me and I kept thinking it would go away. I’m healthy enough.

A male nurse, not sure I could do that myself

It’s a thankless burn out job. He’s told me horror stories. Mostly about patients families being absolute bastards.
    They should be all paid treble what they get. They do the real work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Total scam.
    If you need to be on a high dependency unit then that's where you'll be. The type of insurance you have does not dictate the level of care required. And 'semi-private' is just health insurance jargon for a ward. It doesn't mean sharing with only one other person. It means you are not covered for a private room. The number of people still taken in by that phrase is baffling to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,899 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

mikemac2 wrote: »
    This thread is a great advertisement for health insurance that can get you into the private clinics *shudder*

I was hoping it's an advertisement for paying the tax to fund the public services we want to have.

Both cases require everyone to some more money on health care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

About 2 months ago. Last time 20 years ago.
    Arrive at the desk. Got a taxi up.
    Said my heart feels weird pain in shoulder.
    Sit down. Full of all sorts. Drunks and Junkies. Quite busy it was Thursday night. I’m like this is of a waste of time. Going to be here for hours. When I see the nurse I’m out of here.

About 5 minutes later. I’m called to the nurse. Nice casual chat about how I feel. Sticks an ecg on me. “Your not imagine this” he said to me. The look on his face.
    Boom all hell breaks lose. I’m wheeled outside. Nurse’s and doctors around me.
    “Your heart is beating very fast. You can only sustain this for a short period then you can go into cardiac arrest. We need to put you to sleep and shock you. And we need to do it now”
    I’m like WTF.
    All in all between getting to the hospital and knocked out and shocked was probably less than 15 minutes.

My heart went into VT. It was going 228 beats. Possibly for 3 hours. My naivety could have killed me and I kept thinking it would go away. I’m healthy enough.
    That was a close call! Glad they got to you in time. Hope you're OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Was late last year, I had a gynaecological emergency and went into the Rotunda, not pregnant though but I was quite literally bleeding close to unconsciousness.
    Was seen after 8 hours by some young condescending piece of sh1t doctor. I have a history of gyn issues but he managed to be incredibly dismissive of them.
    Was fine then.
    What was interesting, it was only the same 10 women waiting in the A&E, at various stages of pregnancy. You had the odd lady in labour coming in and they were just moved to the ward straight away. But it wasn't busy or anything, was actually really quiet, I swear it was really only 10 women. But they all waited 8-10 hours, god knows what they were doing in A&E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

spurious wrote: »
    Does it make a difference queueing in A&E? It didn't for me, nor do I think it should.

Went in with abdominal pain, eventually turned out to be a 'burst appendix'. Waited from 1pm to 9pm to be seen, lots of nomadic folk up supporting some young one who had got a bent finger somehow. They were hogging loads of seats. A young man who was propping up the wall (because they had taken the seats) suddenly became very grey in the face and slipped to the floor. Out burst a battleaxe style older nurse and shifted the supportive friends and we all got a bit of peace. Young man got whisked away.

I ended up getting treated with IV antibiotics and admitted for 10 days.

Was referring to having access to the Swiftcare Clinic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

How many dozen travellers were there?

Doesn't matter if only grandma Julia was in with bunion trouble, the entire extended family must show up en masse and walk around with faces suggesting 9-11 just happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭facehugger99

6 hours isn't too bad.

Brother spent 14 hours there with a broken ankle 3 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Programme on More4 the other night about. Dublin Hospital.
    Only got the tail end of it but they were going through the chart of all the people waiting in A+E. The times they had been waiting were all twenty, twenty four, twenty two hours.
    The folk in corridors were the lucky ones,the rest were left sitting in a chair for this time.

Just on that. GPs always refer you to A&E.
    Anyone know why that is? Always wondered

Because the primary care services are not well enough equipped to deal with many things that probably could be managed in the community or if you have an issue which requires specialist expertise and it’s too urgent to wait for an outpatient clinic, you’ve to go to the hospital via ED.