Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do scaldies say “the darts” or “the golf”

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

scotland-yardie-768x1090.jpg

He be probing the scobies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The arts?

This sort of thread is a kind of material that would fill an RTE radio program back in the day called "Wild track 702"

Great entertainment for scaldies and op alike.

I'm no sports fan, but these days rte puts on more sport for time to fill, firtunately

• Registered Users Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Omackeral wrote: »
    The type of people that use the term wouldn't have a lick of Irish.

i know but they say things that are from Irish

What hurry is on you?
    I have a cold on me
    I was wanting to go
    I was only after getting up

All those things are from Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I know a Canadian says 'the Netflix'.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

I'm a university educated upper middle class professional and I refer to "the golf", or "the darts" the latter which I particularly enjoy watching during "the Christmas"
    How did you get over "the Christmas"?

You'd swear that it was like going to the Somme

i know but they say things that are from Irish

What hurry is on you?
    I have a cold on me
    I was wanting to go
    I was only after getting up

All those things are from Irish

Bíonn siad/They do be.

One of my favourites. Had forgotten that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,506 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Sky King wrote: »
    January then: "How did you get over the Christmas?"

I literally don't understand how to respond to this question.

It was quiet. And shure it's just for the kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

People who say 'the twitter machine' need to be taken out.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭sbs2010

A scaldie is a young one in the 1980s who wore a short skirt and no tights.

In the cold this would cause her pale legs to look particularly crappy with red blobs and such. Similar to how they might look if scalded with boiling water.

And so basically a scanger.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

People who say 'the twitter machine' need to be taken out.
    Ooh, are you taking me to The Ritz or The Grand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

How about ‘the sh1ts’ or ‘the trots’, OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

The same “scaldies” only ever wear the same “2 pair eh Jean”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Nikki Sixx

One of my favourites. Had forgotten that one.

Don’t mention doobies

Nikki Sixx wrote: »
    Don’t mention doobies

Or boobies

• Registered Users Posts: 13,285 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I don't know about you but I say the hoorling

If a Scaldy is a young chick that makes sense, but only if you consider all chicks to be hoors, which might be considered a little misogynistic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Litch every scaldy refers to watch the aforementioned games in such a way, the snooker, the football. Every time.

You still haven't told us what the hell ^^ that means :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭NSAman

The same “scaldies” only ever wear the same “2 pair eh Jean”

Shahup ya scaldie bollix..me janes is grand like