Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Congratulations to Katie Taylor!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭ted1

She didn’t deserve to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

I couldn’t enjoy the win last night.
    I didn’t feel she did enough. Massive KT fan here but I’m a little pissed at how it all went down tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,432 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ted1 wrote:
    She didn’t deserve to win.

****e fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    ****e fight?

She was out boxed. And another 10 seconds she would have been in the canvas. She was very very wobbly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭touts

Wow. So this is how it feels to be the robber not the robbed. Strange feeling for an Irish person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

She got boxed around the ring, and still won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

This fat bloke beat the incredibly fit looking black guy last night.

Conclusion.

Boxing is a racket.

https://news.sky.com/story/massive-shock-as-anthony-joshua-loses-heavyweight-titles-to-underdog-andy-ruiz-jr-11733281

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

kneemos wrote: »
    This fat bloke beat the incredibly fit looking black guy last night.

Conclusion.

Boxing is a racket.

https://news.sky.com/story/massive-shock-as-anthony-joshua-loses-heavyweight-titles-to-underdog-andy-ruiz-jr-11733281

Conclusion: Joshua is overrated

That fat bloke is 33- 1 . 22 via ko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭corkboy38

Another contentious boxing decision but by god we'll take it. Katie Taylor champ champ

hard to enjoy taylor's success when 90% of commentary on it is people lecturing me about how i should care more about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Really like KT but she very lucky last night. Boxed well for the first few rounds but Persoon had the better of the rest of the fight and I thought KT was going to get stopped in the last round. She had nothing left at that point. Very sporting of her to offer Persoon a re-match. Think Persoon has the beating of her if that goes ahead, unfortunately. The Irish media are being incredibly selective with their reporting.
    Gwynplaine wrote: »
    She got boxed around the ring, and still won.

Recall her Dad talking about the corrupt nature of pro-boxing a few years back. The corrupt nature worked out for her last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

hard to enjoy taylor's success when 90% of commentary on it is people lecturing me about how i should care more about it

It's not, really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Well done Katie, a true legend! She's currently the greatest Irish person alive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Greyfox wrote: »

Bono is the greatest Irish person alive

WTF.

Some awful eejits celebrating two women punching each other around the ring for ‘sport’.

Women shouldn't be boxing for men’s entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Well done Katie Taylor

Blueshoe wrote: »

Bono is up there yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Blueshoe wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Haven't seen the highlights yet but never seen her so busted up after a fight

https://twitter.com/BrianOD_News/status/1135045846209351680

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Congratulations on finally finding a more androgynous looking female to fight against

oh and she didn't win that fight.....it was marginally no chance in her favor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Think she just about scraped it. The fact that Persoon finished so strongly and dominated the finals rounds can make you forget that Taylor took five if the first rounds. Think the ninth was where she won it for me, she did just enough to shade it and that gave her the edge.

There’s calls for a rematch now and my money is on KT winning again

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Thanks for the spoiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

JayZeus wrote: »
    WTF.

Some awful eejits celebrating two women punching each other around the ring for ‘sport’.

Women shouldn't be boxing for men’s entertainment.

You can like it or dislike but they were hardly sold in to slavery to fight to the death in the arena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

There’s calls for a rematch now and my money is on KT winning again

Loose the rematch and then sets up a third and final decider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭Redriddick

I've watched it a couple of times now and I think Katie just did enough. Persoon threw a hell of a lot of punches but Katie landed more. Definitely in the first 5 rounds. Katie got pulled into a dog fight and her corner knew it, she tried to hold her composure and box but when your being set upon with that intensity your instinct is to fight back.

Aska wrote: »
    Loose the rematch and then sets up a third and final decider

And then one more just to be sure to be sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

That match up will have to be a trilogy..

Can we please have one fight in the three arena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Would ya go away and Shiite with yourself!!! Greatest Irish person alive, what utter horse****e. She is a good boxer and she got a lucky decision last night, how in the name of fúck does that make her the greatest irish person alive???

Ah sour grapes and begrudgery Alive and well in Ireland it seems

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Bowlardo wrote: »
    That match up will have to be a trilogy..

Can we please have one fight in the three arena

Not gonna happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

I didn't think Katie did enough to win, was a terrible decision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I think Katie is great, one of the most professional, committed and gifted sportsperson we've had, but **** the state of her face after last night.
    Kind of takes the sheen off of it for me.

Why do irish people always have to diss and down great achievements by other Irish people?

Post colonial low self worth syndrome or something more basic like begrudgery ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

What a fantastic athlete, one of the greatest Irish athletes ever, and only ever a passing mention of her on the mainstream Irish media.

Nobelium wrote: »
    What a fantastic athlete, one of the greatest Irish athletes ever, and only ever a passing mention of her on the mainstream Irish media.

This is it.

If she was male can you imagine the excitement and hype it would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Why do irish people always have to diss and down great achievements by other Irish people?

I'd say it's admirable that they prefer a clear obvious win over a dubious one whatever the person's nationality.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

She’s an absolute legend. What she’s achieved is incredible, she’s easily up there with the greatest Irish sports people ever and makes Mcgregor look like a toddler. She’s had a ridiculous career and she was ripped off at the Olympics undeservedly.
    Anyone who thinks she’s not one of the greatest to come out of the country has no respect for boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Ah sour grapes and begrudgery Alive and well in Ireland it seems

Ah yes, a difference of opinion is the height of Irish begrudgery, Katie is a big fish in a very small pool, theres simply no one to match her and probably won't be while shes in her prime. it's a bit like Celtic winning the Scottish league every year, great if your a Celtic fan but theres no real sport to it

If it was “Kay T Taylor” a male boxer there would’ve been :

Huge street parties in every town and village where ppl who know nothing about boxing stayed up til 4 am drinking to “take in” history

Huge drinking sessions all day and night yesterday so that ppl could fully “take part” in the National glory

Wall to wall media coverage by Orrr Teee EEEE

National holiday declared once he won

Michael d and Leo Veruca over there and bring back the hero on the state jet for a huge party tomorr in Dublin city centre -scenes reminiscent of the Italia 90 homecoming.

All if it was a man and not a woman boxer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Blinky Plebum

Nobelium wrote: »

She's constantly mentioned in the mainstream media she's by far the biggest female sports star this country has produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's a niche sport. Plus she wasn't fighting for Ireland.

Yet man McGregor barely got a mention either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Did you watch it? I watched it along with 3 others who said they didn't think she did enough to win, we were all surprised by the outcome

Huge street parties in every town and village where ppl who know nothing about boxing stayed up til 4 am drinking to “take in” history

Huge drinking sessions all day and night yesterday so that ppl could fully “take part” in the National glory

Michael d and Leo Veruca over there and bring back the hero on the state jet for a huge party tomorr in Dublin city centre -scenes reminiscent of the Italia 90 homecoming.

I don't remember that happening when Steve Collins was world champion.

I don't remember that happening when Padraig Harrington won his 3 majors.

I don;t remember that happening when McGregor won the UFC title.

You're talking ****e man.

Truth is the majority of this country have zero interest in womens boxing and I'd say a large amount hate the idea of women boxing in the first please (justifiably in my opinion as I'd hate a daughter of mine to be doing it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

will you ever go away with the crap, Katie was celebrated when she won Gold medals in the Olympics

if you want Womens sport to have a higher recognition, Women themselves need to have more of an interest watching sporting events

mens boxing is a bigger sport because there are better athletes competing at a higher level

katie is great, shes as good as she can be and a credit to herself. but there isnt the interest in her field for the above reasons.

this is not difficult stuff buck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

She’s an absolute legend. What she’s achieved is incredible, she’s easily up there with the greatest Irish sports people ever and makes Mcgregor look like a toddler. She’s had a ridiculous career and she was ripped off at the Olympics undeservedly.
    Anyone who thinks she’s not one of the greatest to come out of the country has no respect for boxing.

Needs to fight the G.O.A.T.....Charlie Zelenoff... 348-0

I don't remember that happening when Steve Collins was world champion.

I don't remember that happening when Padraig Harrington won his 3 majors.

I don;t remember that happening when McGregor won the UFC title.

You're talking ****e man.

Truth is the majority of this country have zero interest in womens boxing and I'd say a large amount hate the idea of women boxing in the first please (justifiably in my opinion as I'd hate a daughter of mine to be doing it).

You are mistaken

She is the UNDISPUTED champion after last night

No Irish boxer achieved that. Maybe someone can confirm on that???

Collins -Collins was and is a joke and a has been

Needed a feckin hypnotist to get him over the line against Eubanks

As for McTapper there’s a reason why ppl shun him over the years.

You are mistaken

She is the UNDISPUTED champion after last night

No Irish boxer achieved that. Maybe someone can confirm on that???

Collins -Collins was and is a joke and a has been

Needed a feckin hypnotist to get him over the line against Eubanks

Nobody really cares about women's boxing in this country.Women in paricular don't care about it.

and we've had world champions in other sports and people haven't had street parties because of it.