Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All we hear is....

• 31-05-2019 10:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭

I'm almost exclusively a Newstalk listener (yeah I know, leftie nonsense, we get it). I also acknowledge the owner isn't exactly admirable but I enjoy the station, not him.

Plus, I cannot stand to listen to anything else other than Lyric FM, as I find the music to be bullsh*t.

So what radio station/shows do you listen to?

PS: is Adrian Kennedy's show still as nuts as it used to be? I remember years ago when I lived in Dublin it was all about young lads joyriding in Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭Odelay

Thread titles ending with ...... should be shot.

Lyric FM, with the exception of Marty. Allergic to waffle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 335 ✭✭.Charlo

Radio gaga?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I listen to Morning Ireland on RTE as the Newstalk morning guys are unbearable but Ivan is ok in the evenings. I just try and listen to whatever station Sarah McWhateverthef*ck isn't on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Morning Ireland on the way to work, and Yeatsey on the way home. He’s a top class broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Listen to Newstalk primarily but the two lads doing breakfast make me switch off.

Wall to wall we need to help the less fortunate in society and never a second of accepting that a lot of people game the system. Drives me demented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Morning Ireland on the way to work, and Yeatsey on the way home. He’s a top class broadcaster.

Soviet era radio as Michael O Leary calls Morning Ireland.

Kinda see what he means. It's drap and dreary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Odelay wrote: »

It sucked you in though didn't it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Yates is the biggest pain in the hole ever, much like yourself Johnny.

He ruins any interview with anyone interesting as he always makes it all about himself.

Smug cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

.Charlo wrote: »
    Radio gaga?

That is the only acceptable text for the opening post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Yates is the biggest pain in the hole ever, much like yourself Johnny.

He ruins any interview with anyone interesting as he always makes it all about himself.

Smug cnut.

Less of the personals, my friend.

You hungover or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Radio gaga?

Radio Goo-Goo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

valoren wrote: »
    Radio Goo-Goo?

Radio what's new?

Less of the personals, my friend.

You hungover or something?

Apologies Johnny. I'd six pints last night, not enough to get me locked but enough to put me in bad form. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Pat Kenny in the morning, then podcasts until Moncrieff, maybe a bit of Ivan or Drivetime but probably more podcasts. And then god damn do I love me some Creedon of an evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,728 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I listen to LBC on the app. It's talk radio where they discuss the day's issues and take calls from the public, experts and stakeholders. Most of the callers are interesting. It's usually good chat. Mix of left and right leaning hosts.

Nick Ferrari in the morning for "pull your socks up. This is PC gone mad".

James o brien for the left leaning perspective

And Jacob Rees Mogg and Nobel barrage have an hour a week where they take listener calls.

Good station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Radio gaga?

OP already mentioned Newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Joe Duffy all the way for me, god I love listening to people complaining and giving out and feeling sorry for themselves, I'd listen to him all day if I could....

Pat Kenny in the morning, then podcasts until Moncrieff, maybe a bit of Ivan or Drivetime but probably more podcasts. And then god damn do I love me some Creedon of an evening.

It's unfortunate Kelly & Creedon are in direct competition with one another, an RTÉ bungle.

I know! Dopes.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Kurupt FM is all I listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Allinall

Odelay wrote: »

How would you shoot a thread title?

Would it be word by word in quick succession?

I’d say you’d want to be a crack shot to get the .....s

Joe Duffy all the way for me, god I love listening to people complaining and giving out and feeling sorry for themselves, I'd listen to him all day if I could....

Heard his show the other day for the first time in years and it is pure entertainment. His snide comments to callers under his breath are the best bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I do listen to Galway bay fm for the death notices.
    They do a great death notice section.they turn it up louder than the news and sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Marty Whelan on Lyric until 9am, Pat Kenny until 12, a bit of Moncrieff in the afternoon, Yates and Off the Ball in the evenings. That on the days I get to listen to the radio.

Most Irish radio is utter tripe.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Morning Ireland, then over to NewsTalk for the bauld Pat. He's fecking great at current affairs radio. Sean O'Rourke if I'm off.

Cannot bear Ivan "I'm incapable of not interrupting" Yates. Not a huge fan of Drivetime or The Last Word anymore either, but alternate between them.

Otherwise night time music/arts shows and podcasts.

I do listen to Galway bay fm for the death notices.
    They do a great death notice section.they turn it up louder than the news and sports

The bit of music at the end is definitely a perfect accompaniment to the soul of the lately departed ascending to heaven. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭Problem Of Motivation

I just try and listen to whatever station Sarah McWhateverthef*ck isn't on.
    Sexy voice though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭kal7

Listening to Galway bay Fm, particularly the music selection always makes me feel like I am back in the 1980s.

I like Moncrieff on Newstalk, different and interesting topics, gets away from the common sad/illness stories on other shows.

Joe duffy as guilty pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Mid - Northwest Radio FM FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I like Newstalk in general, breakfast slot has become very meh though, and that Ciara Kelly wan is an awful whinge at times with an agenda on many things.

Like Pat Kenny - one of the best.

Moncrief - the format of the show is a bit muddled at times, and he sounds like he's been on the helium balloons, but I like his style in interviewing guests etc.

Yates - have to agree with previous poster - one of my favourite broadcasters at the minute, I especially liked his living with Lucy episode.

Gas man but takes no ould sh1te either.

Couldn't agree more about Ciara Kelly, Johnny. Its like listening to 3 cats fighting.

Moncrieff is a legend though, loved him since The End back in the day.

The bit of music at the end is definitely a perfect accompaniment to the soul of the lately departed ascending to heaven. :D

Fully agree.its a top class dead person music track. “DO DOO DOO” outro

Manys the row I saw in manys the country house where people were talking with someone trying to hear the death notices and it would kick off.
    You don’t be talking with the death notices on.
    Let a couple of shhhhh out of you to let them know you’re serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

This really is a bungle. They are the two best shows, and one has to make a choice at some point. Love them both. The two saint Johns of sanity.

I cannot listen to any news programs of any sort for more than a minute, don't know what has happened to me these past few years but I find it all to be spin nowadays. Not a single word that comes out the mouths of these people seems trustworthy to me, or even fecking remotely interesting. The same could be said about radio adverts - the just mostly annoy me with their selling fake lifestyles. Advertising chemical sh!te like it is manna. Meh. We are so far away from a natural life that I find the radio is like some kind of score to the a make-believe world. Might listen to Today FM if driving, Dermot and Dave can be funny and cheering, and it's nice if there's some good pop music as one drives along but feck me if there isn't a lot of nasal sounding drivel on there. And those hysterical mincing DJs usually make me turn off.Love if i have to be driving at night listening to Creedon, makes me happy. But at home, the radio if on at all is tuned to Lyric turned down low, just because it's the least potentially annoying.

Haha what a curmudgeon I've become :p

Does RTE radio not have a playback feature?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Does RTE radio not have a playback feature?

It does, I usually listen to John Kelly on the next morning after his show on the laptop.

Zorya wrote: »
    It does, I usually listen to John Kelly on the next morning after his show on the laptop.

Ah good. I actually wouldn't even be surprised if they hadn't gotten round to it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

I don't listen to much of the radio unless I'm in the car. I'd flick around the usual stations (2FM, Spin 103.8, FM104, etc.) but usually end up on Classic Hits most of the time

I'd listen to Radio Nova a bit. They have a very irritating show during drivetime called 'Pat Nav.' A play on words with the presenter name.

There's always salt o' de eart Dubs ringing in with traffic updates and having forced 'craic' with aforementioned Pat Nav.

Abject sh1te.

"Alexa, play Capital Radio London"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I'd listen to Radio Nova a bit. They have a very irritating show during drivetime called 'Pat Nav.' A play on words with the presenter name.

There's always salt o' de eart Dubs ringing in with traffic updates and having forced 'craic' with aforementioned Pat Nav.

Abject sh1te.

Nova is a great station if all you listen to is “Thin Lizzy” and “AC/DC”.

Every so often they’ll throw on one of them “Drive” CDs shops try to shill for Father’s Day so you might get to hear something by “Boston”, “Fleetwood Mac” or “The Doobie Brothers”.

Complete waste of airwaves.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

RTE Drivetime is awful.

I think they gave up even trying to be impartial some time back. Very much an agenda with the news, to generalise, a 'progressive socialist' one.

The other evening Mary Wilson had failed euro candidate McHugh on and it was like a girly chat. Zero hard questions. RTE's poll had her down for a seat of course.

What are they doing interviewing a failure? Where is the interview for other failed candidates with no political track record? Surely the seat winners are the ones who should be on.

If the guest's worldview coincides with theirs -> easy ride, no hard questions.

Fine if it was a private operation running off ads, but our tax is funding this propaganda.

Nova is a great station if all you listen to is “Thin Lizzy” and “AC/DC”.

Every so often they’ll throw on one of them “Drive” CDs shops try to shill for Father’s Day so you might get to hear something by “Boston”, “Fleetwood Mac” or “The Doobie Brothers”.

Complete waste of airwaves.

There's a bit of potential with it. I personally do not like to hear the same Dire Straits songs on rotation constantly however. It's an alternative to the sh1t pop music that the young people are listening to today.

Dublin needs another Phantom FM type channel, that plays decent music that is alternative to what's on now.

8 Radio is a good internet radio channel that intermittently can be gotten on FM.

All this talk of sh*t pop music is giving me flashbacks of the days of Atlantic 252.

I put on Atlantic 252 last week in the car messing and it’s radio 1 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Pirate radio is where its at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Pat Kenny in the Morning, then quite time until the afternoon and maybe Steve Wright or RTE Gold, Ivan Yates until 6 and that's my radio for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

When I was a teenager:
    The Saturday Show with Will Leahy, 2fm.
    Ryan Tubridy when he did the full Irish on 2FM.

4fm for me but I really miss Gareth o Callaghan as I loved his show and he played loads of my favourites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I'd flick between Pat Kenny and Sean O'Rourke in the morning, then Moncrieff in the afternoon and Creedon in the evening. 8Radio is good too - great for discovering new music, just like Phantom used to be. I can't bear to listen to Ivan Yates, Matt Cooper or Ciara Kelly.

I like a bit of Radio 4 too - I'm Sorry I haven't a Clue, Just a Minute, The News Quiz, The Unbelievable Truth.